Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyddyn Du Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Site Reviews

Tyddyn Du Touring Park (adults Only)
Conwy Old Road
Penmaenmawr
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL34 6RE
Tel: 01492 622300
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maddy Old 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, spotlessly clean, lovely toilet & shower block which were also spotless. Very helpful friendly staff who were always there to help, Lovely views out to the sea with beautiful sunsets in the evening.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 64 reviews from this member

Welcomed by the lovely Debbie and shown to our pitch by the owner Pam, she whom has excellent comms when we were asking about staying.

Great pitch with lovely views, possibly the best facilities ever, fantastic Dog walk and simply superb landscapes and flowers etc.

Magnificent views in front and behind with fab walks up the hill behind and into the cute village next door they all abreviate to “Pen”.

Walk to Conwy in One hour 20 or use the great cycle path in less time, Conwy is truly superb.

We had a great time at this site and Pam and her team deserve great credit here.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndJan 2 reviews from this member

Agree with others lovely views over the sea front, site well set out but a little cramped in areas. Site staff were welcoming on arrival.
Went to use loos, had horrible smell, someone had had accident but not cleaned. Did not get cleaned up till late at night.
Was told would have mains drain, but did not get one, had to use motor home service drain, but was blocked with debris, waste water flooded over drive way. The drinking water supply taps were hanging on broken wooden posts and surrounded in thorn bushes.
Toilets had notices stuck all over the place about cleaning up. Not so bad but in gents the taps were loose and leaked over the work tops.
Lighting was terrible showers were very dark. Dont think staff could see to clean properly, dirt on floor all week we stayed. Lighting around toilets to pot washing very poor, need torch.
Only one ladies shower worked, wife had to queue most days.
Got told off because my dog walked over the grass in the car park, (told it wears out the grass!) Noted big rutts caused by vans on grass cased a lot more damage than my dogs 4 paws.
Staff seem to be motoring around on golf buggy van doing gardens but a lot of boulders and edges were weedy and not cut back.
The Wales North Coast Road is at the bottom of the hill, being overlooked by site, a lot of noise at night, lorries, motor bikes and boy races kept us awake, glad to get home for a good nights sleep.
Will not be going to this site ever again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5Bilbos 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a few nights recently.

Great location, fantastic views, beautiful pitches, grounds and gardens. Spotless toilets and facilities.

Bus stop to Llandudno, Conwy and Bangor near entrance. Easy access to traffic free coastal cycle path

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aja2013 1 review from this member

Generally a good site, with excellent views across the sea. However there were strong winds coming off the sea which tests your awning out. Although there is nothing anybody can do about our fantastic changing weather it's worth noting. From booking in to turning up the staff are very pleasant and we're shown to our pitch being hard standing of which you will need to use rock pegs when using an awning. Toilets and showers were clean and we'll kept. WiFi has to be paid for making it cheaper to have one weeks worth, reception can be poor depending on your tablet as my own struggled pick it up whilst my wife's seemed better. We were sited far from toilet block. Try climbing the mountain behind site (biggest one) views are amazing.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dougs1 2 reviews from this member

This site has amazing views and is very well laid out & mainly well kept, although agree with the comments on the toilet block being dark and badly planned. Although the owner seemed quite welcoming we were astonished by the rules and regulations mainly enforced by an aggressive and bad mannered warden. He seemed to constantly be watching us and throwing unnecessary comments which could only be translated as warnings we were berated about being noisy he actually entered the awning to do this & I was in there on my own at the time, with no music or TV on, I felt quite uncomfortable and was shocked by his manner, I'd only stepped out to close the curtains. We were also told to remove our bird feeder apparently it encourages rats, never been told this before must keep my eyes peeled on future caravan trips. Then on the morning of our departure the same Warden gave us a time check and told us to hurry up and take our awning down ! Needless to say we felt as though we were been watched all weekend and couldn't really relax despite the wonderful views - this site isn't for us I'm afraid ! Just for the record we weren't making any noise there was only 2 of us ! All Strange very strange !

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Calllor 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week here - the last week of the season. The site was immaculate and exceptional value for money. Our pitch was superb although a little exposed for the strength of the wind, but the views and weather were really excellent considering the time of year. The site is handy for lots and lots of beautiful places to explore. Such a beautiful area! Pam and her staff were first rate and very helpful in every way. We would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 22 reviews from this member

First visit to this site and was not disappointed. Easy access from the A55 to well maintained and level pitches, some of which have a water point and waste drainage.

The toilets / showers were kept very clean but I think an opportunity to make the shower cubicles more spacious was missed as there is a lot of empty space. 4 toilet cubicles, 4 urinals and 4 showers but only 2 sinks lead to queues at times. The showers were very poorly lit with just one down light positioned midway between the shower and changing area. The water temperature was always very good and you get a decent run of water per push of the button. Squeegee mops are provided to dry the shower floor after use but these were in need of cleaning as they smelled badly being always wet.

The site is ideally located to explore North Wales with Anglesey, Llandudno, Conwy, Betws-y-coed and LLanberis to name just a few places to visit.

The Gladstone pub close to the entrance to the site is a nice place to go for either just a drink or for a meal.

As mentioned in other reviews, the site is very exposed and wind can be a problem especially for lightweight awnings.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely going back. The fact that the site is adults only is a bonus especially during the summer months.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Couple - early 50's - look for peace, quiet and tranquillity, but with a few mod cons. Easy cycling is a massive bonus!

Stayed 3 nights - Fri 12/08 to Mon 15/08

Cost - Grass pitch - 2 adults + Tent + Car + EHU £27pn.

First time at this site, and first in the area for many, many years!

Booked by 'phone on the Monday prior to arrival. Was asked for a £20 deposit, with balance payable on arrival. Not a problem of course, but still a rarity for us to pay a deposit, when booking as late as we do.

The cost was around 50% more expensive than we are used to, but we really wanted to camp (and cycle) in this area, and the site reviews were encouraging, so why not!

We received a confirmation Email, a code number for the outer barrier (gets you access to the car park and reception), and the warning not to rely on the postal post code for directions to the entrance.

The booking process, reception on arrival, and the whole approach from the staff were nothing short of welcoming and impeccable. Just like the site itself. Very well tended to, with plants and flower beds throughout the site, all looking immaculate. After settling the balance payment, and handing over a (returnable) fiver for the access card for the inner barrier (to access the site proper) we were escorted to our pitch (G1).

Average size, nice covering of tidily mowed grass, but sloping down from front to back. Having a short fat tent, and pitching across the pitch gave us the all important 'bum to wind', as it was most definitely windy when we arrived. As a bonus, this also gave us a partial sea view (only available on this first tent pitch, whilst pretty much all hardstanding pitches (The vast majority) offered a sea view. I suspect a long tunnel tent would either face down-slope to the trees at the back, or up-slope to the site (and rather attractive mountain beyond), (which may mean sleeping with head lower than feet!)

Anything deeper than 4' got quite stoney, so I'd advise rock/hardground pegs. Held very well though, without a doubt.

Once pitched (our neighbours abandoned their attempt and left site, leaving us as sole representatives of the tenting community, amongst a vast array of wheeled units), the owner/warden, without prompting, very kindly added their Land Rover as an additional windbreak alongside our own MPV. As the winds were regularly throwing gusts in excess of 40mph (and nearer 60mph later that night!), it goes without saying that that little gesture was very much appreciated!

(For the record, the wind dropped considerably throughout the Saturday, and didn't even merit a mention on the Sunday and Monday morning, so just because it sit's high above the coastline, don't presume it is permanently windy here, as it wasn't!)

Very nice amenities block. Always clean, never busy. Water always hot and plentiful. Lots and lots of 'local leaflets'. No shop on site (suits us!). A laundry and wash-up room, again all spotless.

There was a pub just outside the site entrance, which appeared to be nice. But we didn't try it on this occasion. We would have done if I had my way! Next time, hopefully!

A good 5 minute trundle (on bikes) to get down to the promenade/cycle path, then a perfect (for us) ride East through Conwy, and on around the estuary to LLandudno. 90% traffic-free.

If I had to be negative, we both got the feeling that a small number of guests gave the impression that they considered themselves too high and mighty to raise a smile, or even return a 'good morning' in our direction, wot wiv us only 'avin' a tent, innit. Not really experienced that anywhere else, in all honesty. But thankfully, they were by far the minority, and we did get some lovely comments from others regarding our tent, and it's determination not to be beaten by the elements!

I'm tempted to say it's a little expensive here, but for us, with the setting, the condition of the site, the welcome from, and professionalism of the staff, the location, and proximity(ish!) to our target area of Llandudno, and of course, that there are no kids running about (It was the main summer school holidays) I'd just about say it was value for money. There were enough all round positives for us to be tempted back to the area, and back to this site.

Thanks for having us, and a mega thanks for the loan of your 4 wheel drive windbreak!

Hopefully see you again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blinkie 9 reviews from this member

We have visited here 4 times now. It is a beautiful site with superb scenery, or so I am told (I am blind). From the moment of arrival Pam and her team make us very welcome and take the caravan off the car and manoeuvre it into place. A new addition to the pitches we have been on is a waste water pipe making bringing a wastemaster unnecessary. The toilets are excellent and very clean. I tend to use the accessible room if available and I have a minor issue in the fact that this room is enclosed and needs better ventilation A nice touch is the fact that the drinking water taps have a flexible pipe attached. The wifi signal is good although we now have the facility to pick up BT Open Zone. The site is quiet and the people are very friendly. The site is conveniently located for many areas including Angelsey, Llandudno and Conway to name a few. There are useful shops within walking distance. Penmaenmawr is an interesting town and is quite quirky. It can be very windy on this site and sometimes it seems to come from nowhere. Take advice from Pam about whether to erect an awning or not. We have been twice this year and neither time did we put up our awning.

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!