Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Heaven Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Uckfield > Heaven Farm Reviews

Heaven Farm
Furners Green
Uckfield
West Sussex   (Browse area)
TN22 3RG
Tel: 01825 790226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 55
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alise 2 reviews from this member

Lovely location on an old Sussex farm but poorly serviced. EHU hanging from a tree in pouring rain! We only found 2 showers. 1 was ok, the other really poor; no hot water out of tap in sink, weak flow in shower, tray drain blocked so overflowing, generally dirty, very old, floor covering peeling up, main door wouldn't close. No bespoke toilets and shower for campers, they are the ones for the cafe during the day; hence signs saying don't shower between 10am and 5pm. Washing up area dirty. Parked on the car park, which was very muddy. We were out of season but paid 20 for one night which we thought was far too expensive for the facilities provided. Certainly not our idea of heaven!
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrigill 1 review from this member

Just spent a lovely week at Heaven Farm, lovely tearoom, so handy for a meal, and farm shop with lots of useful things and again food if you need it. I had two dogs and it was lovely being able to walk them in the bluebell woods. Think I picked a quiet week as I had the place to myself most of the time, so showers and toilets were always available. Owner very friendly, was like stepping back in time, no hustle and bustle. Beautiful area. Would use again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacippit 8 reviews from this member

If you look back you will see I reviewed this site originally in 2006 and I'm delighted to say this site has not changed. If you are looking for a well manicured site with first class facilities then look somewhere else. If you want a big slice of living on a farm with minimal facilities then this is your site. You must remember this is a working farm with the camping run by Mr and Mrs Butler who are old school country folk, show respect and you will have a friend for life.

After not being for 10 years Mr Butler still remembered us at the time of booking (it helps we have a wheelchair :-D) and gave us a 'level' pitch. Remember to stop as you drive in to check the board on the wall to see which pitch you are to use. Our pitch was level but only big enough for the van, the ramps and awning would have been going down hill. So I turned the van through 90degrees and pitched like that so the van awning and ramps all on the level. Mr Butler didn't mind at all. We where right next to the toilets and chickens and hence a lot of people passed close to our van but this is a small price to pay.

he toilets are basic, but my wife managed the disabled one no problem in fact we didn't use the van's one all week. However when its gets busy the queue can be large. The on site shop is lovely and friendly and lets be honest if you need pegs etc then you have not planned correctly (SK Camping about 30mins away down the A22 towards London). The tea room is great and doesn't mind dogs indoors (we had 3, 2 of which are greyhounds) a big bonus.

In an evening the Coach and Horses in Danehill is not cheap but fantastic food. Once you get to know the Butlers and treat with respect they are very accommodating, we had fresh duck eggs one day for free and with Mr Butlers permission I had use of the nature walk for the dogs for free early mornings and evenings.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ukhaja1 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, quirky farmer and his wife made us feel very welcome, great cafe/restaurant on site which does lovely breakfasts! Facilities are a little basic, but clean, being unable to use the showers between certain times because of the cafe customer's use was a little inconvenient with our grubby toddler, but we managed.

They have a lovely nature walk (extra admission cost), where you can see Wallabies and the bluebells are beautiful. Great little farmshop on site too, and an antiques shop. Good location for bluebell railway and national trust gardens. Happy to take our 3 dogs (as long as they don't eat the ducks), which is always tricky to find somewhere!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adriano61 1 review from this member

Heaven Farm has a nice family feel, with a butcher come shop and tea room. There are chickens roaming around which give it that added farm feel. There is also a woodland nature trail, (this not free), to visit. There are two tent fields. A very small one and a large field which has a a nice central area of long grass for children to play in; however this field is on a slope and consequently so do the pitches. The large field has approximately sixteen pitches that are quite close together, so this might be a problem for those who like some space between tents.

The facilities are very limited for the amount of people that could turn up. There is one event toilet in the large field and a very small toilet block, one shower one toilet and two urinals in the male section and three toilets two showers in the female block, which is also signed posted as unisex. Add to this the limited time of when you can take a shower, before 10:00 and after 17:00 then it's a bit of a push. There is only one washing-up sink on offer to all campers. The owner was hard to find when we needed to pay up and there was a stream of people trying to find him for various reasons.

You can hear the main road from the site and being close to Gatwick some aircraft noise can be an issue too. The location is quite good, as there are places to visit near by, Bluebell Railway and a few National Trust places. The fact that you can be washing your teeth and there be someone sitting to use the toilet behind you is enough to postpone a further visit to this site. Ok location poor facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend at Heaven Farm - stunning weather, great company and beautiful countryside.

We made use of the farm cafe for lunch and breakfast, sitting in the sunshine on the benches outside - it was great to have to this on site. We also had a lovely walk to the Coach & Horses in Danehill for a delicious lunch in their beautiful garden.

The only downside was that the beautiful Sussex farm buildings do not lend themselves to the best shower and toilet facilities. There were just two shower / toilet rooms for the ladies and one extra loo, so there were queues in the morning. Also you couldn't shower during the day when the loos were needed for cafe / nature trail customers. They got pretty grubby too, during the course of the day.

The washing up area was OK, a bit tired and not enough hot water for the number of people needing to wash up. Lastly, it was a shame that there weren't recycling bins on site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lrlamb 3 reviews from this member

Disappointing stay. Not child friendly. The children were told off for playing in the woods behind the camping field by the owner. What a waste of a beautiful resource!

We spent half an hour trying to check in on arrival. Unable to find the owner, we looked every where and took the advice of the shopkeeper as to which field to pitch in. He were not happy as apparently this happens all the time.

We later found out there is a board that tells you where to pitch, but we were not on here either. Very disorganised. We then got into trouble for pitching in the wrong area, disrupting other arrivals who were on the board.

Not having access to the showers between 10. 00 and 5. 30 so that visitors to the shop/ museum could use these was a bit of a pain as we needed to wash very a very dirty child at 4pm and couldn't get access. It also meant that we had to cut our jog short in order to be back by the 10am deadline. There were definitely not enough showers and ladies had to share their facilities with the men, who had their own loos.

My husband got told off twice by the owner, once before he had managed to close the lid of the large bin 'don't leave that lid open', and secondly on leaving the toilet 'don't leave that light on!'.

When we checked out, the owner had no idea how many of us had stayed and how many had not. They do not accept card payments, so take cash. Beautiful area, but try another site!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mecg 2 reviews from this member

We found this campsite recommended in an older edition of Cool Camping and managed to get a last minute booking. The owner was very helpful and accommodating.

The campsite in on a farm in some outstanding scenery on the South Downs, about 20 miles north of Brighton. As well as the tent field there is a small caravan field plus a tea room and shop. The tea rooms and shop are open to the general public and are busy but this is a little away from the camping areas and did not disturb or negatively affect our stay.

The farm also has a nature trail through the woods, again open to the general public, and some wallabies and small deer. The area by the tea shop also has chickens and ducks running around.

The camping field is huge and surrounded by woodland. Only one edge of this huge field is used, which allows a massive amount of space for each pitch. From our camping experience this is very unusual and on some other campsites this field would have been packed with hundreds of tents, rather than the 17 pitches used here. A definite plus, although the lower end of the field is on a bit of a slope.

Free showers and no problems with hot water, although there was sometimes a queue for them.

We visited a couple of the local pubs (there are quite a number) which were excellent, plus the Bluebell railway which is also good. Brighton is about 40mins drive away.

It might be worth stocking up on provisions as there are really only garages within easy driving distance selling a limted range.

Some minor niggles:

* The toilets were clean but could do with some updating. Plus there were only 3 shower units with limited opening times (could not use the showers between 10am and 5pm).

* We felt that the shop was aimed more at the public coming to the tea rooms rather than for the campers as it only has limited essentials and what it did have was very expensive. It sold more items like scented candles and baking equipment rather than more useful camping stuff like tent pegs and matches.

Overall a very friendly relaxed campsite situated in a lovely area. Recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Caravan 1 review from this member

We booked this site after looking at their website and reading other peoples reviews. Perfect location for a long weekend and the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

the booking is a bit hit and miss, we booked a caravan and three children but were put on pitch in an adult only field, which is for Caravan Club Members, which we are but we have kids! We then spent the weekend worrying that the kids would annoy those who thought they where booking an area away from children!

There is also a no bike rule which is not stated on the website, nor are there any signs on the site. We took our children out of the site for a bike ride in the evening and my daughter was later told to tell us not to ride through the site.

I am sure Camping in the big field is a bit more relaxed just beware - No bikes and the caravan club site is for Adults only.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Periwinkleblue 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here with friends one weekend in September. On arrival it appeared there had been a mix-up with our booking and there were not 2 pitches with electric hook-up as requested. However, the owner offered us alternative pitches next to each other which were quite generous in size.

Facilities were basic but kept scrupulously clean and there was always, hot water, toilet paper and soap. One complaint would be that there were not sufficient showers in the Mens block, only one shower for the whole site and only 2 in the ladies. This was further restricted by the fact that you could not use the showers between 10am and 5.30pm while the shop and tea-rooms were open to the public as the facilities are shared.

The surrounding area is what makes this site, with Ashdown forest only a 5min drive away. There are no shops within walking distance of the site however, the on site farm shop sells a selection of local produce including milk and delicious sausages!

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2886 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019