Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - North Denes Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > North Denes Park Reviews

North Denes Park
North Denes
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR32 1UX
Tel: 01502 218393  or  01502 218262
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 181 Static pitches
Open: 1st March To 15 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eamonn 11 reviews from this member

We saw an offer on tickles during the winter £20. 00 for 3 nights including EHU, at that price it would have been hard to resist (we took a quick drive to the site (we only live about 35 miles Away) and although out of season, it looked clean and well presented). We purchased the Tickles Deal, and as we were touring in Aug / Sept, booked in for the weekend of the 31st Aug-3rd Sept.

On arriving at the site were given a pitch, the codes to the shower blocks and some info, a Warning about carbon monoxide poisoning and a voucher to get a free muffin with hot drinks bought In the cafe on site,

The camp shop had a reasonable selection of goods, newspapers etc. ,

The site was basic with just EHU on posts staggered which caused some confusion when people where hooking up,

The showers could have been better in the gents one was cold and the other scalding hot, but were clean enough. The ladies weren't as good with one out of order and on the day we were leaving someone had left the working one in a terrible mess (not the site owners fault, but maybe a few more checks during the day could be in order)

But overall pretty good value for money

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FLINTSTONE 6 reviews from this member

As previous reviewer, we purchased a tickles voucher for a 3 night, 4 day stay at a brilliant price. We arrived with 2 teenagers (and a retired couple in their own caravan.

The staff are brilliant and very friendly. The shop is well stocked with essentials and the voucher for the muffin & coffee went down a treat. Shop staff also very friendly and sell doggy icecreams and are happy to order daily papers for you.

The first problem was the EHU & pitches. It's not obvious where you are meant to pitch up. A site plan or ground marking would help. Also, the fencing didn't go all the way round the public car park, so anyone could get out of their car and remove our pump etc.

The toilets looked brilliant on viewing - nice & new, but in reality, the showers were useless (not the staffs fault). After complaining, the lady on reception got straight onto the plumber/fitter and he was there the same day. I never actually got around to having a shower (good job we have hot water in the caravan and were only there 4 days). It would have been a different matter if we were in a tent. I may have left.

Also, if tenting, washing up would have been an issue.

The area is lovely. I had some lovely walks with the dogs and walked into Lowestoft easily. I enjoyed the site (position & staff) and would return if the showers are fixed, but not with children. There is nothing for them to do. They can't go to the beach on their own, as the attached beach is closed. If the weather wasn't kind (as it so often isn't) the kids would drive you bonkers.

Our friends loved it though and stayed for an extra week - but they did return home for a shower. (We only live about 20 miles away).

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sareyjellies 2 reviews from this member

We spent 2 separate 3 day breaks at North Denes Park and I have to say we enjoyed ourselves both times.

We've been camping 15 years but this is the first time I've written a review of a campsite so I hope I cover everything and be fully balanced, I will include the opinions of all in our party, 4 of us in our tent, with 3 friends in their caravan.

The staff are incredibly friendly. The shop is well stocked and local information including emergency contact numbers and advice is given out which I thought was brilliant.

The pitches are laid out rather oddly, the electric hook up ones have been staggered which can be confusing, they are roomy but they are long and thin which did cause us a problem on our first trip as we couldn't fit our tent so that it wouldn't get flattened by the wind but they were really kind and moved us into what turned out to be a much better location so all good in the end.

We were a bit disappointed on our 2nd trip that when we upgraded to an electric pitch we weren't positioned next to our friends even though the pitch next to them was empty but we were kept close.

The site is very new and needs some work on it's signage, the waste disposal and water points are inside the men's toilet area and if I was alone I wouldn't have found them. That said there is drinking water available from the ladies toilets just further to carry it.

The toilets are quite reasonable, I've seen much worse and better, a family room would be a really nice addition along with an outside washing up point.

The ladies showers were mostly clean and hot water was always available. There is a strong smell in the ladies which I believe to be the drains, I'm hoping that will be looked at over the winter. There was a bit of a shortage of toilet rolls, I admit we didn't speak to the staff about this, instead took our own in with us and it might be noted that the toilets weren't cleaned everyday on the 2nd trip and the mens showers were rather grubby until cleaned, we believe this may be due to a change in staff.

There is no play area on site but there is plenty of space for games and cycling.

The beach is a short walk away as the beach just over the breakers is too dangerous for use, for those who can't walk very far there is a car park a short drive away where one can park and walk straight onto the beach.

One thing I would urge the management to change is the very early leaving time of 10am - it's horrible to have to get up at 7am on your holiday to pack up a tent and almost spoils the trip, please please change 'chuck out time' to half past eleven and make entrance time later.

I would also urge them to change their wording on single sex parties of over 2 to 'No raucous parties' instead to avoid putting off single mums and their friends or multiple gay couples and I'm sure that's not what it means.

Another thing that I believe ought to be considered for 2013 is site security, there is no fence, gate or anything to stop people wandering around anywhere including at night and we did have a brief incident where a group of teenagers wandered onto the site in the middle of the night and their squealing and laughter woke us all up.

Just behind the site is a beautiful park which in the summer features musical entertainment as well as small museums and cafes, well worth a visit as is the North Denes Park which I think will keep improving as it becomes more established.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dtbuk 2 reviews from this member

I went to see the airshow at lowestoft and stay at this lovely clean friendly site. Non hookup was £15.00 a night

Loads of space and staff really good. Close to sea, and easy walk into town centre.

A great place to stay and easy to get too. Its really great. Used to stay in a friends static on old site this site is really good and will def be going again this year I love then and love it now too.

Just give it a try

Toilets are clean and showers are really good and clean.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

Decided to take my children for their first camping trip to my childhood site for one night only. There are 12 EHU pitches & 12+ (12 marked pitches but more land if needed) non EHU.

I pitched between two markers as others had already and noticed the drainage from the sea wall went directly between two markers, which I questioned at the reception office, to be told the pitches are meant to be used as the EHU hookups, ie marker central to tent, however there are no boundary lines.

Pitch cost was £10 for my Gelert Atlantis 5 however a larger tent would probably need two pitches (additional £3 'awning' charge) as they are quite narrow.

Toilet/shower block has 6 digit entry code, recently refurbed so nice and was always reasonably clean when we used them. Ladies consists of 5 toilets, 2 sinks, 2 small shower rooms & a room with a butler sink on the floor. I didn't use the shower rooms as I only stayed 1 night

There were no hooks in the toilet/shower block.

Disabled toilet & laundry facilities were still being refurbed.

The beach opposite the new site is closed but a short walk towards the old site (north) and the beach is open, sandy enough for sand castles and quite a few pebbles for decoration

All in all its still a good friendly basic site, not ideal with small children but if they open a 'family shower room' problem would be solved.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 116 reviews from this member

As I live overlooking North Denes, I noticed numerous caravans, campervans & tents now on the newly laid out touring location, so I took the opportunity to speak to the lady in the office, get some info and have a look around.

For those who remember the ‘old’ North Denes site, it has moved a few hundred yards south towards the Birds Eye factory and is much smaller than before.

Directly in front of the facilities block is a row of 12 fairly tightly spaced EHU pitches, and, over by the sea wall, 20 equally closely spaced non-EHU pitches. The site is not enclosed in any way, which means that it is entirely open to anybody who wants, for example, to walk their dog through the pitching area. This lack of any boundary / enclosure might present a security issue to you dependent on how ‘risk averse’ you feel.

Whilst you are a stones throw from the sea, there is not a sea view due to the height of the sea wall.

The facilities block is convenient to both EHU and non-EHU pitches. The interior has been newly fitted out to a high standard and includes washer and dryer.

Current pitch fees are £15 / night with EHU increasing to £22 / night during Easter, School Holidays and Bank Holidays. Non-EHU fees are £10 / night.

Campers receive a 10% discount at the cafe / restaurant in the nearby Sparrows Nest Park. A little way along Whapload Road is the Lighthouse Cafe which serves excellent traditional British breakfast fayre. (You will love the inch thick toast!)

To sum up: Great for those wanting a base for some sea fishing, but me it would be OK for a stopover.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vikki9 1 review from this member

We came to this site last year and was devestated it was closed down. I for one was heart broken as my whole childhood holidays were spent on this wonderful campsite right on the beach. It hadnt got very much and the toilet block wasnt very good but the fact it is directly on the beach made up for all that. First class destination I love it and would be so very happy to hear if its to reopen

Reviewer: 

June 2005
Closed until further notice.
The owners, Waveney District Council, are apparrently seeking a purchaser. Until a purchaser is found, the campsite is closed until further notice.

Reviewer: Peter Hanlon 1 review from this member

August Bank Holiday 2003
Large site with plenty of space, right on the seafront. Site was very busy over the weekend with maybe 400 vans and tents but plenty of room between each group.
Toilet block is nasty and busy. People were already queuing for the showers at 6:10. Only one block which means it could be a long walk if your at the far end of the site. Its cheap but you get what you pay for.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3729 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019