Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Swadlincote > Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes Reviews

Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes
Rosliston
Swadlincote
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE12 8HZ
Tel: 01283 763981
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50 +
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Valeman54 2 reviews from this member

 Overall a nice site with a good wedding venue. Facilities were just adequate,

The large grassed area looked very good but, unfortunately were sited in the paddock area with about 15/20 pitches, almost all were taken, however we felt like Billy no mates, as almost all were semi permanent/ weekenders.

The area adjacent to us is also residential, & whilst admiring flower displays outside a couple of van awnings, we were made to feel unwelcome by a resident.

If you are going here ask to be sited away from the residents area. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nieesha 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, safe environment, cafe, quiet, even with lots children thank you for 3 lovely days.

4 miles out of burton on trent nice shopping, pub and shop in village,

Pitches really large.

Also went with my brother in a tent 8meter loads of room,

Not a lot more to say keep up the good work and we will go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neil Foster 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff. Loads of space for the kids to run around and small play area, ideal.

Lots of nature to explore around the fishing lake and woods. Great cakes at the adjacent cafe. Very quiet at night.

Close to the village for shop and pub, and near the Rosliston Forestry centre for a day out. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Petest 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site to a warm welcome. I was told to park where I wanted to park.

Toilets was clean.

Great views lovely place to stay.

Will revisit very soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jenclibee 1 review from this member

 Great campsite and lovely clean facilities.

Great play area and lovely family feel.

Fishing on site which partner and children enjoyed. Shop on site for small items and code on gate for access to site. Lovely chip shop 5 mins down the road and coop supermarket 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie x 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here. Very nice setting and reasonable sized pitches. Only one toilet/shower block area which was filthy at both ends of the day. Didnít look like it had been cleaned in days. Only one tap to get water which was a trek. Area for emptying chemical toilet was grim. Started emptying toilet and waste started coming up a nearby drain right next to our feet. There were a few fire points dotted around with 2 or 3 buckets, most were empty or water was stagnant and green. Clearly not checked very regularly. Play area was nice and it was nice that they had kept a large area of grass in the middle of vans and tents for children to play.

At £25 a night I would expect more, will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phirefly 1 review from this member

 All in all we really liked this campsite. We selected it based on its proximity to home, the fact it allowed firepits and has a children's play area. An almost unexpected bonus was just how picturesque it is. The photos on the site really don't do it justice. The tree-backed glades have a continental feel and the site is tidy and well maintained. The lake adjacent to our field was a lovely backdrop. We never ventured off site but Rosliston is a nice village with lots of facilities.

We chose pitches in the bottom field as it was my understanding that firepits were only permitted here. During our stay we noticed that people were having open fires all over the site, and this was either not noticed by site staff or the rule actually wasn't in place. I didn't mind so much as the lower field is certainly the quietest and most picturesque, but I did feel a bit misled. There was some debate among our group whether we'd book the lower field again were we to return. On arrival, the pitches we had initially booked right next to the lake were literally covered in bird mess from the resident waterfowl, literally the size of dog mess. Every couple of feet or so. One of our group requested a shovel or other implement to clear the pitch as we have small children (and even if we didn't, it was very unpleasant). The site staff had nothing for us to use but said we were welcome to select alternative pitches. Just a short way back up the lower field there was no bird mess whatsoever. We pitched there and it was fine. I would have liked to have been right next to the lake though but so be it.

Another downside to the bottom field is it was a real trek up to the amenities. Probably the furthest I've ever camped from a toilet block. That wasn't the end of the world but worth bearing in mind for those who prefer not to have such a long walk. They could do with a composting toilet or something in the bottom field. The facilities themselves were regularly cleaned, if a bit fusty. The toilets often didn't have enough water to flush. The water ran out in two of the family shower rooms while members of our group were using them and was off for an hour or so. I never had to queue for a shower/toilet even though the site was quite busy. The showers were hot and well maintained, 50p a shower but the water went on for ages.

There was a nice atmosphere on site. It seemed to attract friendly like minded groups of families. We did have an issue with a group on our field who sat up and talked loudly ALL NIGHT. Had we reported it I'm sure the site staff would have intervened and the next day someone did report them and the site staff asked them not to do it again. The woods we backed on to were great fun for children but the family next to us allowed their very small children to run around unaccompanied screaming through the woods (and running between our cars) until past 11pm. We suspected that had we spoken to the parents we probably wouldn't have had a favourable response so left it in the hope they'd tire out in time. Both of these situations could have been avoided if there had been a 10. 30 patrol of the entire site by staff to ensure people were adhering to a respectable noise level.

On balance, It is a pleasant site and we'd definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Altory 2 reviews from this member

 Beehive Farm is an excellent site, very well located with loads to do, Fishing, Walking, Play area for kids and large playing field for families. Site also looks after the adults that require a bit more peace and quiet with their adult only area. Staff are always pleasant and welcoming, in fact they do what ever necessary to make your stay a pleasurable one. Facilities are cleaned daily and there are a number of water points conveniently positioned throughout the site and a clean waste facility.

We highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JuliaNeil 3 reviews from this member

 A large site with some great open areas for children and good walks for dogs direct from the site. The shop stocks basics and the facilities are good, however on our visit they seemed to only be cleaned twice during the week we were there.

We spent a week at this site in the Paddocks, the Adult only section. The units are very close together and we could here all the dialogue on our neighbours TV.

A warning - day visitors are allowed and the unit next to us had children during the day, every day (remember this is the adult only section).

This was drawn to the managers attention, he was very co-operative and did say they should not have been allowed in the adult only section, but in spite of this, the children returned the following weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovepeakdistrict 3 reviews from this member

 A spacious family friendly site with lots of space for the kids to play. Nearby you can walk into Rosliston where there is a local pub, fish & chips, Co-op with the Rosliston Forestry Centre on your door step which is a great location for kids. Plus the National Arboretum in Alrewas is not far to visit. The toilets can be a long walk depending on where your pitch is. Apart from that - a good site! 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Beehive Farm Woodland Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swadlincote      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3856 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement