Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Hillsborough > Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park Reviews

Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park
71 Magheraconluce Road
Co Down
Hillsborough
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT26 6PR
Tel: 02892682098
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: Eaer-october

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamPat 1 review from this member

 I just want to say that we have our touring caravan permanently parked on this wonderful site. The facilities are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the owners Harold and Isobel. Everywhere we go we tell others about this beautiful location. It is tucked away on a hill overlooking a lake with the Mourne mountains in the distance. Breathtaking! Strongly recommended ! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nee-Naw Nee-Naw 19 reviews from this member

 The view from this site is lovely and the peace and quiet is great.

The pitches are on a slope, in a semi-circle, with the toilet block and play area in the centre. There are some hardstanding pitches, which would be the most level ones on the site.

The nearest village is 2 miles away and has a small supermarket and post office. There is another village 3 miles in the other direction which is bigger, has more shops and a petrol station.

We found the owners to be very helpful when we arrived, even providing a wooden ramp so we could get the caravan level.

The toilet block is heated and is very clean.

There are picnic tables and garden chairs left for use.

The campers kitchen is well equipped, with a kettle, microwave and gas cooker.

There is also a barbecue for campers use.

The owners provide an iron and ironing board free to use and there is a washing machine and tumble drier, both have to be paid for. Outside there is a rotary clothes drier.

The electric hookups were not obvious and we had to hunt underneath the hedge to find it, but this is one of the 'quirky' things about this site.

Overall we were happy to stay here and would have no hesitation going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobelle 4 reviews from this member

 A nice site situated in a rural location behind a working farm within 30 minutes drive of Lisburn, Sprucefield, and 15 minutes drive from Hillsborough.

No shop on site, nearest shop is about 5 minutes by car. Site has a good shower and toilet block which is cleaned regularly.

It also has a family wash room which I found very useful with 2 small children.

The site has a play park right in the middle of the site which is great as children are within site.

A games room is also available but it's a bit tired.

Staff are very helpful and vigilant of both facilities and patrons. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dixie35 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from this site and will def not be back.When we drove up into the site I immediately said to the wife that I didn't like the look of it, it was basically a square field with a track round it and all the tents and caravans are pitched at the hedges round the edge of the site.

There is a small playpark in the middle of the site, but could do with a bit of a makeover to be honest. I must say that the toilet and shower facilities were very nice and modern but on their website they say there is a tv room with a playstation and books but they must have done away with it.

I needed to get petrol before we left so I had to drive 8 miles to ballynahinch as the small shop in annahilt does not sell petrol.

This would do someone who wants to really get away from everything and be isolated from civilization but anyone looking a bit of atmosphere and some activities should look elsewhere 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philip44 1 review from this member

 My family and I have stayed at the site over a few years now. We keep going back because after you get parked up, settled and have a glass of wine in your hand you just feel that you have escaped the Ďrat raceí. Itís heaven.

The views are to die for; so many parks feel as if youíre setting up camp in a concrete car park enclosed by a wooden fence. Not here! The 360 degree views of numerous mountains, the glorious lake and all the countryside wildlife are in abundance.

We enjoy going at Easter time the most as all the sheep are lambing, sometimes the farmer lets our kids feed the lambs with a bottle of milk. The kids got to see piglets last year as well!

This year the owners have reduced the size of the pillars so driving in now is not an issue at all. I did not particularly find it much of an issue in the past either but I guess it depends on your towing ability. They have also added a lay-by so that meeting someone on the concrete lane isnít a problem either.

The facilities block is great. My wife uses the family room to get our boys sorted and the Campers kitchen is great to get the dishes washed up, especially if you are having a BBQ. Relatively new building which is centrally located, clean, spacious, warm and bright.

I have recently noticed that booking in advance is now required as it is a relatively small site and appears to filling up quite quickly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jimd58 11 reviews from this member

 Stumbled on this site over a weekend when chosen sites were fully booked. Found no access problems, as had previous reviewers, with a campervan.

Facilities block found to be modern in comparison to some others visited in Northern Ireland. There is also a small play area for children. There is a mixture of flat concrete and sloping grass pitches.

The lakeside view makes this one of the best situated sites visited.

No shops or pubs etc., within walking distance.

A great central location for touring Co. Down with Loch Neagh, Strangford Lough and Belfast roughly equidistant and the elegant little town of Hillsborough a few miles away.

The park + ride facility at Sprucefield does not operate to Belfast at the weekends but found city centre parking was not a problem. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheFultons 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for three nights.

As the other reviews have suggested the entrance to the site is very tricky and if you have a large Van it is even harder. You have to go up through the Farm and out the back of it to get to the Caravan Site.

I was happy with the site and the over all facilities. I felt the site looked ver run down and could do with being freshened up (if that is a word). Even just the grass edges tidied and maybe the weeds amoungst the gravel killed and removed.

This site I am sure was a very nice one a number of years ago but needs a new lick of paint as such. Owners took our money and pretty much just left us to it.

I dont think I would return to this site as I like a clean well tidied site, but may suit those who are not concerned about how the site looks like. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigmosmrs 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. We were told of this site by our neighbours who stayed here last year quite a few times.

The entrance is a bit tricky, you need to wait till the road is clear and take a wide swing at it to avoid the narrow gates. You go up through the farm on a concrete single lane path, no room for passing, up an incline and into the site from which there are stunning views over the lake. Some statics on site.

Toilet block is clean and although there are radiators, they weren't on when we were using the facilitles. The showers are hot and free but there is very limited changing space in the cubicle and nothing to sit on. There is also a free hairdryer.

Decent family room and a kitchen with cooker, sink with hot water, microwave, kettle, toaster etc.

There are also good recycling facilities.

We were on one of the concrete pitches in front of the toilet block (beside previous reviewer!) with great views over the lake. We didn't chance the grass as it was very wet and on a good bit of a slope.

Very quiet site which feels like it is in the middle of nowhere, but is only about 15mins from Lisburn! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mam0809 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as a stop over on the way to the ferry (30mins into Belfast city). Easily accessible from the motorway and quite well sign posted once you reach Anahilt. Some distance(3 miles approx) from nearest village with shops etc.

Access to the camp site is through a working farm but the track is made up well with concrete. The road up to the campsite is single track which might cause problems as there is also limited space for turning/reversing back etc.

The campsite itself is well laid out with a mixture of grass, gravel and grass, and hardstandings. Lots of available/accessible hookups and good services for waste water etc.

Shower block quite newly built with lovely clean free hot showers, hair driers and plenty of sinks, toilets clean and blocks centrally heated. There is a camping kitchen with cooker kettle etc, there is also a family room.

There is a small childrens play area and the whole site has lovely views over a lake with hills in the background.

The owner was very helpful and friendly and we would definitely use it again.

Not the site for you if you want a site with a bar and club house but if you want to get away from it all this site ticks all the boxes. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lakeside View Caravan & Camp Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hillsborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement