Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oaks Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Oaks Caravan Park
Chapel Road
Bucklesham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP10 0BT
Tel: 01394 448837  or  01473 659637
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: March To 15th February

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 20 reviews from this member

Excellent staff in reception, a very knowledgable lady. Only 6 touring pitches which are in the shade from about half two onwards, remainder are seasonal pitches. Toilet block is old but does the job, very clean with hot water. Push button showers which are only 60cm square so not for big blokes. Toilet paper and soap at the sinks. Dog walk out of the sites back gate and up a long straight track. Very peaceful adults only site, shame the pitches are not better placed in the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DazandSueMelbourne 1 review from this member

Lovely Adults only site, great location for exploring Suffolk. The site is flat with grass pitches. The toilets and showers are very clean, it's just a shame that they are cleaned between 8 am to 9. 30am which is when you probably most in need of them. One little item of complaint is that most of the site is seasonal pitches and the only touring pitches are under big oak trees which shade you area in the late afternoon evening and cover your van in debris. Wifi not very good and not worth buying. Other than that, perfect.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Supersooty 11 reviews from this member

My review reflects the tone of the previous reviews. A lovely site with easy access and close to the A12 and A14 to discover southern Suffolk. All facilities are clean and well maintained. Whilst we were there we had a lots of overnight rain and a thunderstorm. It was pleasing to note that the pitches and roadways are well drained. We were on pitch 27 which was under a large oak tree nice for shade but, during the rain and thunderstorm we had lots of small branches drop on our new awning but, worst of all a Cuckoo decided to invade the Wood Pigeon nests and throw their eggs out to smash on our awning. The yolk takes some elbow grease to remove! Obviously nothing the owners can do about this, that is natures way. All the other campers seemed happy and were very friendly. There is much to see in the area and we would recommend Sutton Hoo (NT) and Snape Maltings.

We will definitely be back but, we will ask for a different pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Duncanamps 6 reviews from this member

Quiet, adult only park. No shop/ bar/ restaurant here and nothing within walking distance, so transport is essential. 5 minutes from the A12 so this is a great place to use as a base for exploring Suffolk.

Pitches have the right amount of shading and are well maintained. Toilets are very clean, showers are hot and powerful. Staff are friendly and helpful. Well recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Uncle lolly 1 review from this member

Lovely Quite Park. Very friendly. Owners of the park always helpful. Nice pitches. TV reception no t brilliant. Showers are clean. Great washing up area. Good laundry block. Nice pitches. You have to drive to shops close by, too far to walk. Pubs are not walking distance but nice quiet country area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judipearce 20 reviews from this member

Just back from a week here and what a brilliant site. Good directions to get there, really great help from Caroline when I booked and asked for a pitch away from others (our dog loves to greet anyone passing which tends to tangle his long lead). Wonderful greeting on arrival and really useful info sheet with site map. All pitches are large and flat set well back from paths. The site is very quiet with swipe card to get in and separate exit.

The whole site was immaculate, with flowers and lots of hedges for privacy. Everything you could want with toilets and showers always clean. I never had to wait for showers (3 in the ladies) and water was warm and plentiful on a push button system. Lovely washing up and laundry areas too. Hair dryers at 50p more expensive than many so use your own if you can. Lovely central info hut with magazine/book library and seating area. Papers can be ordered from neighbouring site.

Altogether a fabulous site and not expensive compared to others we've used. Only problem was connecting to wifi which didn't automatically default to login still it wasn't expensive and worked well once you were on.

We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

Just found this lovely site in Suffolk. Recently acquired by new owners who seem to know exactly what people want and are working hard to achieve this. Easy to find and very accessible from the A12 & A14. Very reasonably priced for an adult only site and dog friendly.

The site itself is very well landscaped with lots of trees bushes and shrubs. The grass pitches are very spacious and set well back from the roadway. There are a lot of seasonal pitches and the caravanners are very friendly as are the owners who are very helpful and not 'in your face' working hard to make your stay enjoyable.

The toilets and showers are kept very clean throughout the day with plenty of hot water available. There is piped music in the toilet block which is a nice touch. The hot water heater did fail one morning but the owner was there in an instant to get it repaired and working again in a couple of hours.

Entrance to the site is with barrier card and there is easy access to all of the pitches.

With very easy access to the A14 it makes sightseeing around Suffolk is very easy with major supermarkets and retail park only about 10 minute drive away.

Only downside perhaps is that there is nothing within walking distance of any interest but that did not bother us.

Wi-Fi is available at very reasonable cost and we found television signal acceptable with a little fiddling with aerial.

All in all you will not be disappointed if you choose this site for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickidevine 10 reviews from this member

We had 2 quiet nights here last weekend, seemed to be a lot of units there but not many people around. Told where to pitch at arrival and pretty much left to your own devices which was nice.

Showers and toilet clean and plenty of hot water.

Easy access on arrival.

Would recommend if you like nice quiet sites with no children.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Topbrink 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week's holiday based at this campsite. It was our first visit to Suffolk and we would definitely return to both this site and the beautiful county.

We were impressed by the size of our pitch with plenty of room for our awning and car plus room to sunbathe. The pitch was flat, with well mown grass and access to water close by. Although surrounded by trees, we had no trouble with satellite reception for our TV. Wifi was available, at a cost, but we tended to get reception in the awning rather than the 'van.

The toilet block was clean and well appointed with 3 showers (push button but with plenty of powerful hot water). There are hooks on the doors but no bench or chairs on which to place clothing etc. Having said that, the shower itself is enclosed by folding doors so nothing outside gets wet. The wash basins are open rather than in cabins. I particularly liked the piped music.

Entry to the site is by swipe card for which you pay a 5 returnable deposit. The pitches are set around a circular roadway with the exit being the opposite end of the site from the entrance. The site has many seasonal 'vans but there is still plenty of space for the tourers. The site is peaceful and attractively presented.

The nearest village is Bucklesham which didn't appear to have any shops and every time we passed through, the Shannon pub was always closed. We did have an excellent meal in the Fox in nearby Newbourne and returned there for drinks. Being just over a mile from the Ipswich Ring Road it was easy to find all the major supermarkets and made getting around Ipswich fairly easy.

We visited Felixstowe, Southwold and Walberswick plus the National Trust properties of Ickworth, Dunwich Heath and Flatford Mill. There were other places and trips we would have liked to have made but there wasn't enough time so we would certainly return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobbieRedcote 10 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and to be honest only because the usual site was fully booked. And how lucky this was because this was an absolutely fantastic site. An adult only site, so no noise, wonderful layout, well established with many trees and shrubs.

Very secure site, with card only entry.

60 for Friday, Saturday and Sunday night, in July is very good value, and for an additional small fee stay on last day until 6:00

We were on pitch 27, very flat and tidy with the waterpoint about 50 yards away, toilet and shower block 250. Showers (3) and toilets (3 cubicles) were spotless, with plenty of hot running water. Grey water and Chemical toilet situated adjacent to Shower block.

The site owners very friendly and informative, and nothing too much trouble. We were given vouchers for money off at local pub, the Shannon, about 1. 5 miles from the site with excellent food. We were also recommended to the Maybush in Woodbridge, about 5 miles and again an excellent meal over looking the river.

The location is excellent with Framlingham, Aldeburg, Orford, Walberswick and Woodbridge all with half hour drive, so even though we did have 2 mornings of rain this did not stop us visiting many places and having a good time. Sutton Hoo, National Trust, is also very close and this is really another great place to visit.

All in all, a very enjoyable 3 days and I would recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing time on a very well laid out site.

Will certainly return.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019