Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Findhorn Sands Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Forres > Findhorn Sands Caravan Park Reviews

Findhorn Sands Caravan Park
Findhorn
Forres
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV36 0YZ
Tel: 01309 690324
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Lodges Only
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter brockie 1 review from this member

 This site is now closed to touring caravans as it is becoming a chalet and static site only.

What a loss to the touring community!

Our family have been going to this site for last eight years and found it to be a great place to let the kids go and explore. My wife spent her childhood holidays there too, so we really enjoyed the time we had there.

Its pity that the site has now closed to tourers but that's the way things are going now. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

 Came to this site on a recommendation that the shower/toilet facilities were excellent (sad but true but it makes or breaks a site for us) but quickly realised that it wasn't quite our cup of tea. The touring area is a bit like a mini estate, too many in a small area, no views of anything and was very popular with dog owners and families with young children being close to the beach (beware of fast cycling youngsters careering around the site roads and dogs left to wander at will).

The toilet/shower facilities, although spacious and clean were nothing to shout home about. Despite their size, disappointed there were no privacy cubicles and you needed a key to get in to all facilities, even washing up rooms (only 2 sinks, not enough for such a large site) and the chemical disposal.

Check in is brief, reception seems to be permanently locked and no information was given on the site or what the area has to offer, basically given a pitch number and left to your own devices. Be aware that this site does not have card facilities for payment, it's strictly cash only and there is a £10 deposit payable for a key. Check out time is a late 1pm but regardless, no one polices this and on arrival after this time we found ourselves and a couple of other arrivals having to wait on random pitches till the allocated ones became available.

If you needed to ask anything you had to ring the doorbell on reception to get in and anyway local information stuff was a bit sparse, got the impression the owners didn't want the bother of people calling in.

On a plus note the pretty village of Findhorn is just a short walk from the site. There's a well stocked grocery shop, harbour, pub and beach facilities. Do seek out The Kimberley. The food is excellent and the ambience and views from the outside seated area are brilliant. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blakey28 2 reviews from this member

 I found this site to be an excellent place to spend a weekend. The toilets and showers were plentiful and clean. The pitches are all grass but it is hard and it would take a lot of rain to cause flooding.

The site was very quiet, however, there is a huge static site or area which is part of the same park and it may liven up during the summer holidays with children.

You are within walking distance of the beach and the village of Findhorn. In the village there is a conveyance shop that is well stock and next door to that is the bakery which also serves meals etc where you can sit outside with the dog if you are a dog owner.

There are also two very good pubs in the village which I found hard to pick which I preferred, they were both very good. They are both dog friendly and serve excellent food both for lunch and evening dinner.

I found the people who run the site very friendly and helpful and generally let you just get on with it unless you have a problem. It cost £20 a night which I suppose is quite expensive for what you get but you are paying for the area. For a very peaceful and relaxing time I would recommend this site and we will certainly be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevorandfiona 11 reviews from this member

 This was our first time in the area and this site had everything we wanted. I had to work on one of the days of our trip so my wife was left all day without a car - no problem here as the beach and and village of Findhorn are only a couple of minutes away on foot and she didn't need to go anywhere. The village has some good pubs, cafes and an excellent and well-stocked convenience store barely a minute from the site. The interesting Findhorn Foundation, with it's eco-village and brilliant food shop are a lovely 20 minute walk along the sandy beach.

The site owner was very friendly and helpful and let us pitch up more or less where we liked. The site is spacious with plenty of power hookups. The toilets are clean and the shower cubicles are enormous! Might be a good site to go to if you have to use a wheel chair.

Overall a wonderful site that we will be visiting again very soon I hope!

One point worth mentioning though - they don't accept tents anymore, so be aware! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Torryloon 15 reviews from this member

 Brilliant place to be, I stayed here 4 nights and really enjoyed. The park was not busy so I picked my pitch where I wanted, they are all flat grassy pitches

The shower block was good standard and clean. The kids of all age groups would have plenty to keep them happy here, grown ups have 2 good pubs serving top grub. Mini market / post office, couple of cafes

This is second to none for beautiful scenery, kinloss RAF base a mile down road but in 4 days I heard 2 jets take off, whether I was lucky I don't know

I'll be back here for sure, so relaxing. There is good golf courses around this area, also good for cycling as its flat around this area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garbitash 7 reviews from this member

 Had a weekend here and would recommend it.

Good points:

Location, location, location. Fantastic. Right on the beach. Right in the village. 5 mins drive to Forres, 10 mins to Elgin.

Touring site has flat grass and is well drained on sandy soil.

Showers are enormous. The cubicles are probably 7'x6' and there are 6 of them on both m/f sides.

Bad points:

There is a lack of electric points for the size of the place. When you arrive, you will see plenty of nice quiet spots among the dunes and think, great, let's head for one of these, park your van and start setting up. And there you will find the problem. The electric point will be miles away and all the ports will be full already. We arrived at 630pm and got the last one. Anyone arriving any later in the evening, as people did on both nights we were there, will be hard pushed to find any electric point and certainly not in an area where you want to pitch.

At night the site is moving with rabbits, so the grass is covered with their droppings, to the extent that you cannot avoid walking on them. These will tend to stick to your footwear, so its very easy to drag said droppings into your accom.

Whilst palatial in size, the showers are sadly lacking in pressure. I was the only one in but the showers were still only a trickle.

None of this would stop me recommending this site, simply because its in such a great locus. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fenlons 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site a number of times and always enjoyed our stay no matter what the weather. When it is sunny the beach walk into the village is stunning, often seeing seals along the way. Another good walk is across the dunes towards the windmills and this brings you out into the Foundation village which is fascinating to walk around. The area is good for cycling too.

Satellite reception is a bit hit and miss. The site does get full and it is best to book in advance during the peak season. We tend to visit in the autumn and the peace is thoroughly appreciated. The Kimberley pub in the village (10 minutes walk) serves great food and real ale.

The Crown next door has a good large TV screen for watching the important sports events through the year. We love it here and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Fsdss 5 reviews from this member

 We looked around this site with a view to booking next year. So we didn't actually stay.
From looking around a number of sites this appeared to be one of the better locations, literally minutes walk away from the golden sandy beaches. The site appeared well maintained, very tidy with good sized pitches compared to the other 3 that we looked at.
The staff were very helpful and gave us all the info that we needed. There was a small play area for the kids
The local shops and pubs are within a few minutes walking distance.
The best bit was sitting watching the dolphins playing in the water near to the site 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 43 reviews from this member

 What a great site just a few mins from the beach and the village. Excellent toilet and showers, though could be a bit crowded in high season. Could do with more dish washing facilities.

Thoroughly recommend this site. Good eating / drinking places in the village.
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madnotstupid 4 reviews from this member

 This site has the most fantastic location - two minutes walk from a great beach.  Toilets and shower block kept really clean.  The village shop is about 5 minutes walk from the furthest away point on the campsite.  It's a really friendly site - managers really helpful.
 
We were there in July at the height of the season and the only complaint I have is that the pitch were a bit tight, particularly if you've got a big tent.  Also the facilities weren't really coping with the number of people on site - not enough dish washing sinks and a queue for the shower.  I think it was just a bit too full to work.
 
This is really a minor complaint - but I think WHEN (not if) we got back, we'll go at a time when it's not the height of season. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Findhorn Sands Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Findhorn Sands Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Findhorn Sands Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Forres      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement