Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodland Waters Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Woodland Waters Ltd > Reviews

Woodland Waters Ltd
Willoughby Road
Ancaster
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 3RT
Tel: 01400 230888
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Ebrownie89 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love woodies.

The site is always clean, everyone is friendly & thereís a bar /restaurant on site.

Toilets & showers are kept clean and tidy. Dogs welcome 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gadgie1 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with older but we'll maintained shower blocks. 4 family shower rooms are quite new and available for use by anyone which was our choice.

The site is lovely and as described by others. A coarse fisherman's paradise. But not for a sea angler such as myself.

The bird life is lovely to see. Best pitches are without doubt those with front row lake views.

The bar was a disappointment as our drinks were expensive in comparison with our previous site as well as the beer being unpalatable to me. But others may like it.

The area is nice as is the local NT Belton Estate property. Do not miss the restaurant in the Belton Garden Center. It is super. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Watty2020 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed on the weekend of Northern soul event and a bit mixed review to be fair. The actual pitch size and pitch services are okay, the lakes are lovely to wander around and bar/restaurant is okay.

The facilities were a bit less satisfactory and that may have had something to do with the large number on site for event, which whilst fun for people watching, was not something I would rush back to do again.

Overall okay but probably would not return as not on a par with others of a similar cost and not a lot else to do or see nearby. 


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jennypegs 27 reviews from this member

 Three couples in three Motorhomes. This booking was a Fatherís Day gift from my son, who had been before.

Booking was real good. Very pleasant staff, so helpful asking where we would like to be pitched and getting us all together.

Easy to find the site apart from a big sign making us arrive at the exit and had to reverse on to road in order to get to entrance. We were told that loads of people do that. Surely a sign to say arrivals half a mile with an arrow would have been good.

Lovely campsite with walks around the lake with dogs. Really beautiful surroundings.

Toilet blocks immaculate and warm at all times. Great to have family rooms it would suit parents and children. First class in our opinion. As were the elson points.

No children with us but noted (we intend to return with grandkids) children enjoying the small park.

We intended to dine at the restaurant two nights. The staff were lovely. However after being dissatisfied with the quality and high prices of meals and drinks on night one we didnít go again. Left us disappointed but enjoyed cooking ourselves so that was ok.

If you are thinking of visiting Woodland Waters go ahead. You will enjoy it. It has everything campers need and more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hoopersdog 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, very clean and peaceful, good amenities,

Lovely restaurant and bar, dogs loved the walks in the woods,

Easy drive into Grantham.

Pitches were clean and spacious.

Dog friendly site 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 36 reviews from this member

 Hi

Traveled as mature couple with granddaughter, and Dog.

We stayed on Hard standing pitch 122. £27 a night. Great value at this time a year.

The pitch was hard standing with a tap between 2 pitches. And 2 rows in from the main road to Sleaford / Grantham, although very busy, we found it not intrusive, but may be different in summer with windows open.

Andy the warden was great from arrival to leaving.

Woody's bar was clean, great staff, and dogs welcome inside and out.

The children's play area is dated but ok, and from what I seen was, well used over the weekend.

There is plenty of fishing on offer with a well stocked tackle shop.

Plenty walking on and around site, both in woodland, and around the lakes, with the granddaughter enjoying cycling in the woodland.

Wild life in abundance, and lovely to hear the birds, including a woodpecker at 5am above our caravan lol!

A garage was just across the road from the main entrance to the site, a Premier grocery shop, plus some caravan parts for sale.

Sleaford, and Grantham are 6 miles either way so close to explore.

Ancaster Village close by with Karting, paint balling etc for those who fancy being energetic.

Toilet and shower block, even being a bit dated, had good facilitates and always kept clean, elsan point is ok, same a bit dated.

Overall we found it a great site, well presented, looked after.

If any ball games etc was played near caravans, the park staff soon put a stop to this.

Yes we will go again, and will stop on a hard standing area in front of the lake. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janeba 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and dog in a small caravan. The campsite was nice and spacious with plenty of lakeside views.

Shower blocks very clean with lots of hot water, beware the showers can be too hot at times! Lots of wildlife with flocks of geese, so take your shoes off before going in your caravan.

Great handy petrol station with plenty of food/drink supplies.

Limited local sightseeing in the area but only due to having a dog. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lindymac 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. Showers and toilet facilities were spotlessly clean.

Plenty of water taps near our tents. Restaurant and bar were very good. Lovely friendly staff.

Great for dogs, the lakes were amazing.

I would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairen 7 reviews from this member

 Following up on the other reviews of this site, I wanted to add my own.

We stayed during the heatwave in August 2018. My expectations were quite low due to the many comments about noise in other reviews. We stayed Thursday to late Sunday (as we decided to pack up late on Sunday afternoon to avoid the heat of Monday morning!)

It is a pretty and well care for site with some lovely walks and spacious areas. The site was virtually full but there was still lots of room between pitches, in my opinion and relative to other sites Iíve stayed at. The ďno ball gamesĒ rule close to pitches was enforced by staff, much to the annoyance of my kids! But there is a large area near the lake where we played a family game of cricket one afternoon.

There are 2 large toilet and shower blocks which had good facilities, clean, lots of hooks and I never had to queue at all. I have seen newer facilities but Iíve also seen much worse facilities.

Woodyís Bar is in the centre of the site and did host weddings on both Friday and Saturday of our stay. Yes, you could hear the music but as we were prepared for this, it wasnít too bad. We just pretended we were in France, where we had stayed last summer and had heard much louder music as part of the campsite entertainment programme!

It didnít really bother us as we were a small group that stays up till 11 ish anyway to chat, have a drink and play cards with the kids. The rest of the time the site was relatively peaceful and the traffic noise didnít bother us either. There were lots of families and groups of friends enjoying their stay but as far as Iím aware, this didnít hinder the enjoyment of others. I found most campers quite friendly.

Woodyís Bar did sell ice creams which was great in the heat! There is no shop on site but there is a Londis at the fuel station opposite the entrance. The restaurant is quite fancy looking for being on a campsite. We didnít use it but for very personal reasons Ė my son needs a gluten free diet as he has coeliac disease.

The gluten free options were very limited and on asking about this, I found the staff member not especially helpful. But as I say, this is quite unique to us and did not deter from enjoying our stay. There is a Dominoes in Sleaford which only took about 10 minutes to drive to and we got great gluten free pizza from there!

I didnít use Reception much, only to check in. There didnít seem to be much info about whatís on locally, but then we tend to use the internet for that now. It was so hot we didnít want to do much anyway! We walked to Ancaster where a village fete was happening and that was good fun for our family. There is a Co-op about 1 mile away in Ancaster which we used several times. There are also supermarkets in Sleaford and Grantham.

There are also 10 rooms on site, like hotel rooms and I believe these are quite new, they certainly looked new Ė bed, ensuite bathroom, and tea and coffee making facilities. My inlaws stayed for one night in one of the rooms and they loved it! It meant they could enjoy some time with us at the site without having to camp, which isnít there thing!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and it was a great location for our needs. If you like a very quiet site with lots of space and minimal noise, this is not the place for you, but if you are a typical family with kids that like to run around and you enjoy the social side of camping and caravanning then do go and donít be put off by the other reviews! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

 Well after many visits to this place it's time to say goodbye.

If you want to run the risk of your van being dinted by kids and adults playing ball games, if your not bothered about very late night noise from campers and from the clubhouse that hosts weddings most weekends, if you want to be cramped together like sardines on the pitches behind the clubhouse then this is the site for you.

Very ignorant woman in reception. Reported ball games very close to vans an no one come out to look.

If they put as much emphasis and importance on telling campers about ball games and riding bikes between vans than they do about hammering home how 'you must put your jockey wheel on the slab' then the place would be a lot better.

We normally camp there as a group due to location but we are all prepared to travel a bit further now due to how things have gone.

The showers are looking very grubby and tiny with those horrible curtains that stick to your body as you try and shower.

Will never go again. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woodland Waters Ltd child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodland Waters Ltd?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Woodland Waters Ltd dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement