Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Aberdare > Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site
Dare Valley Country Park
Aberdare
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF44 7RG
Tel: 01685 874672
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 55 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to make use of the MTB cycle track,

Really good site excellent facilities, toilet and showers warm and clean and working properly,

A cafe and a coffee bar on site, the food in the cafe is excellent and there is a pub called the Ton Glwyd Fawrabout a mile and a half walk into the next village which serves excellent food and is really friendly.

We had a great time while at this site, we also cycled from the site into Aberdare which takes you along a lovely traffic free route.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 4baker 1 review from this member

 This was an amazing site

We were allocated pitch 13 but this was already occupied so we took a free pitch

Large grass and hard standing

Very clean

Very organised

Shower and toilet facilities the best we have ever been to

Fab views and walks

Fab cafe

Fab staff

Great site

Very peaceful no noise

Lots of dogs and rooms with cats 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Paul1507 3 reviews from this member

 What a place! Nicest/cleanest shower block I have seen so far.

Dog friendly.

Great flat touring pitches.

Excellent parks for the kids.

Great walks.

Pleasantly surprised 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dawnmarieb 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting.

Facilities all clean, well looked after site.

Canít believe how quiet it was whilst we were there.

Didnít see any wardens whilst we were staying there.

Shops just down the road in the village. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Djh1066 4 reviews from this member

 We wanted to stay here because of the locality, but we had problems with booking on. Took 2 weeks and three phone calls because the receptionist was getting back to us with information and didn't. I had to chase her. We wouldn't have stayed here because of this but needed too (personal reasons). We booked and again the receptionist wasn't even professional when we turned up. She told us where we were parked but didn't give us a map or tell us the code for the gate, and seemed to be not interested in her job. The sad thing about it, is that the campsite itself & the area is stunning. We felt like there was so much going for the campsite but it was being promoted or advertised well. There are three camp pitches for tents, all on a mountain side, but done in steps with stunning views with EHU and all flat. The caravan park where we were, was tidy and kept well. The shower/ toilet blocks were basic but had all that was needed, including hairdryer. There was a washing machine and an area to wash clothes and dishes. All EHU, some pitches smaller than others, and if it was full I think it would be cramped, because it wasn't we sat outside with wonderful views. It has a horse riding centre, water sports, combat area, a lovely cafť that does food through lunch, but doesn't cook from 4pm for some reason. This again was not good for tourism because parents brought kids up for a run after school but there was no meals, one mother took her child to McDonalds instead. There is 3 lakes and 3 dedicated walking routes, however you are free to walk anywhere you can. Lovely wildlife, lots of locals used the park. We would love to go again because so much to do, but never seen the warden once and on the Friday night 8+ lads turned up about 6:30pm with tents, pitched up got a large BBQ out the van and started drinking plenty. I wasn't sure if they had done this officially or not, as they packed up early and left. But we were not even given a number to contact anyone out of hours so there was nothing that could be done. We feel as this is a beautiful place with lots of potential if managed correctly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boocatos 1 review from this member

 Great site, pitches are allocated and as we have kids we asked to be really close to the fantastic play area. It seems a lot of locals use the site which is a good sign. Not the quietest site as there can be functions in the visitor centre. Camp area seemed quieter than the caravan park area. Good clean toilets and showers. You may have to ask for the hot water to be switched on. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrelreef 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Dare valley for one night just to try it out to be honest as a friend had recommended it to us.

The reception area was very clean and tidy and the lady who took our booking and booked us in was very friendly and helpful.

The camping area is on a small hill and is 3 level tiers of around 20 units per tier all serviced with electric hook ups (which is included with the price per night) and a water point at the entrance to each tier. It was all clean, no rubbish etc.

There is a brilliant playground at the end of the 1st two camping tiers which the children absolutely loved although it got very busy in the day as it is open to the public and there is a public footpath behind which is used by a lot of walkers and cyclists.

We thought it was going to be a bit of an issue as the site didn't seem private enough and we don't usually choose to camp near such public areas, but we had no issues at all and the park and footpath went very quiet after around 6pm. The night warden came around at about 8pm to introduce himself and let us know how to contact him if we needed to.

The toilet and shower block are located just opposite the camping areas and are always locked and secure and are accessed by using a key code on the door which they gave us when we booked in.

They are basic but were very clean with good showers.

The site is within walking distance down a steep hill to aberdare town which has plenty of shops and pubs, and there is a tesco just a few mins drive from the site

All in all the site is very good with good walks nearby and the chance to spot wildlife. We would stay here again for sure 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyholetsgosd 12 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site and views of the hills when you arrive. From the town the road to the site is east, not clearly marked and up a very very steep residential road with cars parked all along the road.

When you arrive the gates are locked and you need to go to the park warden which is a pain but very polite service and after paying a deposit for a key to open the gate we were in and settled quickly.

Wide Pitches, only complaint would be about bits of litter blowing around the edges of the field and had been there for a while.

Toilet block very clean and free hot showers fab.

Great location with a cafe within the visitor centre if you require refreshments. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gemma Christie 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite is within a national park, and alongside the road in. So, it's a lovely location, but there is a steady stream of non-campers flowing by which is a little odd when you're walking to the shower still in your PJs being watched by fully clothed strangers. And there were arguing drunks very slowly walking by in the small hours.

The loos and showers are very. Swimming baths style. Grotty really. The shower cubicles don't have anyway of showering you without showering your towel or clothes too. Also, there's an impossible to remember the combination keypad to get into them. So when you forget to take the slip of paper with the code on, you have to walk back to get it.

And finding it? Not easy either.

Then finding the park ranger to let you in? Nope. Although when we did find him, he was very nice.

It's rather clear that this site is a means for a little extra funding for the park that is clearly underfunded in an unloved area.

On our tour of Wales, this was one of the most expensive sites too 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping Dad36 3 reviews from this member

 Ok, just got back from my second stay at this site,

Showers, awesome, didn't matter how many were on they came belting out, not dribbling like last time, however , they were way too hot, nearly melted, could hear kids screaming due to the temperature,

Pitches - Since I was here last, they seem to have changed the pitches around, as in I couldn't go on the tent pitches as they thought my tent was too big, they only allow 4 man tents on the top tier of the pitches,

They tried to offer me a refund, but we were looking forward to it so they moved us to the caravan park, which we were grateful about, however, grasscrete is a nightmare to pitch on and the small grass areas between the grasscrete are too small to pitch on, so we were half on and half off

The thing that peeved me more was that the large pitches were only half used and the so called small pitches, which I stayed on last year had bigger tents on than mine, so we could have stayed on these pitches,

They have reduced their bottom pitches by extending the car park so less people can stay now

The parks are still good fun for the kids 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dare Valley Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberdare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement