Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lodge Club Presqu Ile De Rhuys

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Sarzeau > Lodge Club Presqu Ile De Rhuys Reviews

Lodge Club Presqu Ile De Rhuys
Domain Le Bohat
Route D Arzon
Le Bas Bohat
Sarzeau
Brittany   (Browse area)
56370
Tel: 00 33 02 97 41 29 93
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 225
Open: 29/03 To 29/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

Arrived to what should have been a very quiet site. Should have realised on arrival when barriers were up and building contractors vans parked in late arrival area. Franceloc have now taken over this site and we were subjected to daily deliveries from fleets of low loaders all containing 3 static caravans, along side this a new pool slide complex was being built and building, assembly and deliveries of this was done on a daily basis. Plus the new statics were being sited and decking, plumbing, digging and re arranging of items was done with a tractor unit and fork lift truck beeping and driving around all day. When site is completed by July 2016 it will be a Butlins abroad affair. There was also a large Camping and caravan rally going on and because of all the building work we were all packed into 1/3 of what should have been a large site. Not for us and certainly not what it said on the web.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyb113 1 review from this member

Here for second visit to this Camping and Caravanning club rally, we came back because it was so good last year.

We are on a camping and caravanning club site so the site fees are a little less than just booking from a web page, there are dates that this rally is on the clubs web pages.

Great site ! Showers very clean & HOT. Large sectioned area for only you to park in ( I Have out my full pull out awning plus a clip on blow up tent and still have room to park my small car)

As we are on a rally we have two camping & caravanning club stewards who organise the day to day trips out, games nights and everything that you would want to do or not, you can just lay back and enjoy the day. Again there is plenty of room for you and your family to enjoy the site, go swimming play sports

Or just read a book, the area around has plenty to offer, last night we went on a long walk along the coast, today we have been to a antique fair and a farmers market at Sarzeau and all before 12. 00 am

Tonight we are all dinning out at a local resturant, so it gives my wife a day off( not forgetting she is on holiday as well ) we traveled via Portsmouth to St Malo overnight then the road trip was 2 1/2 hours

The roads are great and my sat-nav took me door to door. There are folks here that have been coming for over 10 years so I will be joining them by booking for next year, this site is GREAT and you should try it, my only regret is I did not come here sooner. The reason I gave only 9 out of 10 for value for money was, I got charged for my small car that I pull on a frame behind my Motorhome, but every site will do the same, but I Still donot like it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulineandsteve 2 reviews from this member

This was a clean well kept campsite with very good facilities including swimming pools for different age groups two of which were under cover. There was also an on-site bar and restaurant which included take away meals. The staff were helpful and friendly. There were plenty of beaches nearby which could be reached by car or bike. Cycle routes were brilliant. All nationalities were to be found on this site. The nearby town of Sarzeau was well equipped with shops and had a good market. Vannes which was not too far away was also a good place to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lletyrwennol 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time with the family at this campsite.

Welcome was friendly and efficient. Receptionist spoke excellent english.

Mobile home was in a shaded location with plenty of space to park and store our 4 bikes. We had a large decking area and the mobile was small but well equipped.

Fantastic pool complex for all ages. It was busy at peak time but very quite early on and possible to get some length swimming done.

Other amenities were very good. Large playground sunken trampolines, table tennis, basketball/5-side football pitch, bmx track and horse ridding. Plenty of surfaced campsite tracks for kids to cycle. Yes some of the amenities were busy at certain times, as would be expected mid august.

Fresh bread, croissants etc could be ordered at bar for next morning. We did have one meal at the bar and the service wad a bit slow. Evening entertainment was ok, although as a family we tend not to take part in organised activities. Music was a bit load one night.

Cycle tracks outside the campsite were excellent, 15 minutes to Sarzeau, 30 mins to the coast. Plenty of supermarkets and tourist shops in area. Château de Suscinio is worth a visit and thebeach next to it. Some lovely villages in the local region. Further afield Branfere zoo was brilliant.

We would return to this campsite again plenty more to do in the region we didn't get a chance to do.

Good weather mid 20's it did rain on our last day.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jedzi 11 reviews from this member

We spent 2 weeks and had a great time. The site was fairly relaxed and a good mix of French / Dutch / English when we arrived in mid-August, and maybe 60% Brit by the time we left over the August bank holiday weekend. The site had emptied out a lot by then.

We were allowed to choose our own pitch (probably as the site wasn't full). With hindsight we wish we’d looked round a bit more and chosen one of the further pitches on the shadier side of the site (Plage Ker Combre)

As others have mentioned, they’re renaming the site & and are going into the mobile home market, but I don’t see that'll be a problem. There was still loads of room for tents & caravans & no-one we spoke to had a feeling of being squeezed out. Following-up on the previous review the slides & trampoline were fine when we were there.

Pros

- The swimming pools & water slides were a big hit with our kids

- Generally relaxed atmosphere

- There was a good programme of events for younger (eg 5 – 8) and slightly older kids.

- We hired a fridge and also a table & chairs without a problem

Cons

- There were some minor irritations in the wash block, eg taps that trickled, lights that didn’t work, showers & sinks that were cold

- One of the evening acts in the bar was really loud (although it did finish by 11pm).

It’s a good area for a family holiday, with more than enough to do. Maybe the beaches weren’t as good as North Brittany (near Dinard). Parc Branfere was a big hit (esp the climbing nets). Some good markets (eg Arzon, night craft market in St Gildas).

In short: would we go back? If we were in the area: yes.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithey 3 reviews from this member

We enjoyed this site as it were our first visit to France. The area is beautiful the beaches are clean and inviting, just be aware that it only seems to be the beaches on the Atlantic that seem accessible.

There is little to no night life in this area of France. Most people seem to be French or Dutch we did not find this a problem but if you are expecting to see english writing or people speaking english you will be disappointed. Carnac were geared up for the typical British tourist.

The site wasn't the easiest to find especially after a long drive. This site were going through a name change when we arrived and looked almost like a garden centre when we arrived at the entrance. The WC, showers, sinks and water points are all at the same sex buildings the main one was nearly always busy, the were ok for hygiene for the amount of use they got.

The pitch was well used on very dry/worn grass, this wasn't a problem for pegging only when it rained the water didn't drain to fast but when the sun came out this seemed to dry it up. Sarzeau seemed to have its own micro climate it rained every day, sometimes only for half an hour but then turned hot quickly with the sun.

The pools were great for the kids (6&7) they loved the slide. This area got a little busy but we always got a chair or a bed to sit on. The only gripe I had with this was the French teenagers being to boisterous with no consideration to the younger children in the pool, this then turned to anger when we realised that these teenagers (4 of them) worked at the site.

The play area on an evening was very busy with kids of all ages but were pleasant enough.

The bar sold bread in the mornings and the beer were ok, we were told the food is nice but we never ate there (just ice cream).

The reception staff were helpful, one spoke perfect english.

All in all we had a good time here spending a lot of time exploring the area. Would we go back? Mmm, no I would pay a little more and go to a site next to the beach and one that hopefully were better managed.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rae_t 23 reviews from this member

The area beyond the campsite is beautiful. Port Navalo, Port Crouesty, Arzon, Sarzeau etc are worth a visit. There seemed to be a micro climate of it's own here, warm and sunny, now the campsite.

Every French person we met asked us where we were staying and the typical response when we said Bohat was 'it used to be nice, now it's Dutch'. This is no disrespect to our friends from the lowlands, staff were very efficient and facilities were (mostly) clean but it did feel like I was camping in Holland. Apart from the odd English accent there were mostly Dutch holiday makers.

As mentioned in another review the site seems to be moving more towards statics, safari tents and chalets and tents seem to be being squeezed out. Our pitch was tiny, our car was squashed against the tent to fit on and we were far too close to our neighbours for my liking! We also ended up near the toilet/shower/pot washing area which was very busy and noisy from 7am until way after midnight. There was also not enough toilets and showers. This is a big site with around 250 pitches for families and around 20 toilets ensuring that the surrounding greenery was well watered!

The kids loved the pools and slides but they were always packed and you were unable to swim properly or indeed at all, having to avoid the various rotund bearded Dutch gentlemen who somehow thought it was ok to dive bomb the pool when there were kids swimming past. The trampolines were ripped and the playground slide was broken, the bar was friendly enough but heaving and loud. After two days here we made sure we went out early and came back late to avoid the facilities on this site that had originally attracted us to it!

This site is too big and I'm equating that the bigger the site, the worse the camping experience. Thank you Bohat, but we won't be revisiting you.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wolfman 4 reviews from this member

We drove down from Calais, which is quite along journey, using the trusty satnav. It took us straight to a campsite. Nowhere did it say Domaine le Bohat, I programmed in Bas de Bohat. I walked up to reception and asked where Domain le Bohat was, and I was as told 'it is here' They had changed the name.

Our pitch was a good size and we pitched happily under apple trees.

The swimming pool and slides were good, but one day were flooded with flies and debris, because the filter came off. My 12 year old daughter fixed it.

The bar was ok, some people one night had to wait 2 hrs for their food, and I felt the lady behind the bar couldn't cope and looked stressed at the best of times. It wasn't until the second week that they decided to number the tables outside, to make it easy to deliver peoples meals.

The bands were ok, the weather was great the first week, and it is a lovely area.

My friends had a chalet, the gas ran out. It took 2 hrs to replace it and then the cooker still wasn’t working. The staff didn't seem bothered by this.

Probably wouldn’t stop here again due to the fact that there are many other places we could stop at in France.

Toilets were clean and fine and water was hot most of the time.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lunar Zenith 4 reviews from this member

Went to this site end of May/ beginning of June 2012 for 1st visit to this site. As with previous review we had to wait for 15 – 20 mins until someone turned up to open reception (1130am), and as before after the 3 hour drive down from Roscoff, this was disappointing.

Anyway new owners who are a young French family. The lady is very friendly and seems to run the place most of the time. We did see the husband who just about forced himself to say ‘bonjour’ how very French!

As said before, the site is moving more into the mobile home market with about 70 – 80 new pitches set up with electrics & plumbing. I guess there must be a market for them over there, but I personally don’t think the site facilities (swimming pools, playgrounds & bar/restaurant) will be able to cope with this extra influx of people once they are up and running.

Previous reviews said about men having to where speedo type swimming trunks, well don’t think that is the case anymore as I and most of the other blokes there just wore normal swimming shorts, shame I went out and bought a pair before I went.

The pools are great and very well designed. The main big indoor pool has a big plastic covering over it which concertinas back on itself when hot & sunny which is nice as it does get very hot in there. The other indoor pool is a toddler’s pool which is in a brick building which keeps the sun off the kids and keeps it nice and cool for them, and again there are doors that open when hot to keep the heat down. The play parks are also very good with the extra of 3 trampolines sunken into the ground and a nice court for football & basketball. They were just digging out a small BMX track when we were leaving. No pony rides or animal encounters as previously reviewed.

The local area is very nice, great cycle paths all over the peninsular which are accessed right outside the site. Beaches all along the Atlantic side are lovely especially at Port Crouesty (10 mins) and Port Navalo (15 mins). Had good food both at the campsite and whilst out & about. Local speciality is Mussels & French Fries.

Vannes (30 mins) is very historic and worth a visit if at a lose end. The zoo at Branfere (30 mins) was worth every penny, big open zoo with loads to see and do. You won’t be disappointed…

The main problem we had, which is no reflection on the site, was a Camping & Caravan Club rally was on whilst we were there and they had block booked the field with all the shade on it, which was unfortunate as we have young children who would of benefited more from the shade than the ‘Blue rinse brigade’ that were always sunning themselves by the pools. We found these older people very rude and spent one evening in the site restaurant with all of them, we all came out with headaches. Either they enjoy trying to talk over each other or they are all practically deaf.

Also we found them going in & out the kitchen with a blatant disregard for health and hygiene very despicable. We will be staying away from their rallies in the future.

On the whole we enjoyed the area, but feel with the changes being made to the campsite, we probably won’t head back there.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missbou 1 review from this member

We are a family of four with 2 young children aged 2 and 4 years, stayed for 2 weeks at the end of June. On arrival we had to wait at reception along with several other new arrivals for 25 mins as nobody was there, not what I would expect after a long journey or at 3pm! Using ACSI card due to low season so worked out very good value for money.

Site was quiet due to early season, had large choice of pitches although several were bumpy which isn't good with a tent, found a large pitch near toilets, secluded with hedges which was good. Very few tents on site, mostly caravans and mobile homes. Toilets/showers areas always clean and never had to wait to use facilities, remain open during cleaning. Dish washing etc also god although water not always hot for this.

Pool areas amazing, we used all the pools LOADS while we were there, all safe for children, heated, mostly clean and on occasions we were the only ones using them which for our young children was fantastic. Great play areas as well including trampolines, all well maintained.

Site undergoing some changes which I'm not sure how it will alter the atmosphere etc in the future. One field has been equipped for chalet type homes with plumbing etc there awaiting people to purchase the chalets and select pitches. Site now has a new name Lodge Club so appears to be rebranding itself. I believe the plan is to change more of the fields in the coming years so moving away from being a traditional campsite which wil be a great shame. However at present I would highly recommend it to anyone especially with children as it is a great place to stay.

Small bar/cafe serves good food, only open a limited times as low season but we did use it and the food was good and well priced. Shop is a store cupboard and very limited in what it sells. Bread etc can be ordered each day for the following morning.

Plenty of supermarkets nearby so not a proble, hired bikes from bike hire in Sarzeau which was good was to explore area. Some nice beaches within 15mins drive.

Weather variable when we were there but it has been all over Europe so not a true reflection of what June is probably usually like. We still has days with sun but also has 2 days of drizzle, rain a couple of nights and wind several days however it did not spoil the holiday.

We would probably not return however this is more for the reason as we rarely return to a site as there are so many new places to visit/explore.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019