Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Lodge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Newborough > White Lodge Caravan Park Reviews

White Lodge Caravan Park
Penlon
Newborough
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL61 6RS
Tel: 01248 440254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 50 Reviews
                7/10 from 50 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaxcats 1 review from this member

Just a note for Motorhome users that there is no facility to drive to a drain to empty your grey waste, also not all the pitches have their own water pipes.

On the plus side the toilet block is new and very clean.

Lovely walks to do from this site.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chazmummy 5 reviews from this member

Just had a fabulous long Easter weekend here. The weather threw everything at us but after 12 hours of continues rain the sit was only a little flooded and we had no trouble getting out. It is great for the beach for nice long walks. The newly refurbished toilet block is warm and looks great.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil marston 1 review from this member

What a lovely site! The plots are divided with fences and are roomy. Plenty of shelter from the west winds with a high tree hedge. Toilet facilities clean, and we never had to wait for a shower. Owners couldn't be more helpful. Views of Snowdonia are fantastic. Only a couple of miles to the beach, with great walks through the dunes. Didn't have a meal at the restaurant, but will definitely book a table early next time we stay here. Thank you Chris for a lovely stay. See you next year.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barleymoo 2 reviews from this member

This is a small clean family run campsite with spectacular views and good sized flat pitches. The owners are friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower block is currently portakabin style but is well maintained and clean - with flowers in the ladies toilets!The reception provides basic supplies and there is a shop in Newborough itself for anything else Newborough Forest is a short stroll away allowing easy access to a lovely beach. A visit to 'Holy Island' is recommended although it should be noted that dogs are only allowed in the winter months. We ate at the Marram Grass Café ( adjacent to the site) - which was fabulous.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Charlievan 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights and found the site excellent for our needs. A small friendly mainly grass site with fences separating each pitch. Friendly owner who gave us directions to a number of local walks and beaches and who made our dog very welcome too. Can't comment on the rating for children as we do not have any but the site does have a well equipped play area. Had a meal in the restaurant next to the site which we had booked in advance as we had heard that it gets booked up due to its popularity. The meal and service were very good and was well worth what we paid. The orange and carrot soup and fish dishes were amazing! Toilet block looked clean although we use the facilities in our caravan so really can't comment. The walk to the stepping stones, sand dunes with ponies roaming free and the beach and forest walks were all easily accessible from the site. Access to the site is good and the pitches are all flat. Well worth a visit! We will definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gm54 1 review from this member

This site is well situated for visiting Newborough Warren though the beach is a couple of miles away. Nice mountain views and well marked out pitches. Friendly staff.

However I have to agree with other critical reviews. We paid £24 without a hookup when the general price on Anglesey seems to be about £10-£15. The toilet block is barely fit for purpose and has been described in other reviews. I would also add that there is an air of lazy neglect and some basic care would make the showers more pleasant. E. G. Replace rusting shower curtain rails, level the urinal in the gents so it empties and does not stink, lick of paint. (a couple of days work). I would not be prepared to visit again. Their sister site up the road is better but still expensive.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamhacker 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights from 21 May 2016 - on the basis of Julia Bradbury's visit.

At £30 a night we were expecting a much better kept site. There is definitely a lack of tlc, with grass in need of a cut, especially strimming around statics. The showers are old and poor. The male disabled shower was out of use and there was no bucket/mop. A long hose was required for the single water point. No information was provided on the beautiful surrounding area which was the highlight for us.

The restaurant was good, but very expensive £80 for 2 meals incl glass of wine!

We are spending 2 weeks in the area and this is the most expensive one. The owners seemed more interested in their restaurant than the camp site

Anglesey is beautiful and full of pleasant surprises, but this wasn't one of them!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

We chose this site for its location (close to Llanddwyn Island) and on a friend's recommendation. I suspect it's some time since his last visit as it's now rather tatty and run down. The shower/toilet building is shabby and in need of maintenance. It was very chilly and the single wall mounted fan heater did not work. One of the two fluorescent light tubes had been removed so one end was dark. Hooks in the washing area were positioned about 2. 5 feet off the floor, in front of the wash basins. Were you to hang clothes or your towel on them, they would be soaked from splashing water from the basins and would also soak up any water off the floor. The main door had no handle, just a couple of holes to open it with. The urinals were dirty, and appeared to leak. The showers worked but were rather cramped and you would not want to use them in cold weather due to the chilliness of the room.

The pitches were not clearly numbered and there was no one available to greet us when we arrived at the agreed time of 1 pm. When booking, we got a answerphone message. Our message was not returned. We had to make four phone calls before being able to confirm our booking.

There is a well equipped children's play ground. If you don't enjoy country walks there is nothing to do nearby. The beach is a two mile drive away.

The site has a cafe/restaurant on site and we also had to make several phone calls to make a booking for our first night. The service and food in the restaurant were disappointing and rather expensive. There were also too many tables so it was cramped. Their only local competition was a pub in the nearby village (half a mile away) and this showed in their rather arrogant attitude.

We will visit the area again for its outstanding natural beauty but will not be using this site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Garrycharnock 2 reviews from this member

White Lodge campsite sits in a beautiful location with views over Snowdonia and walking distance to the sea and a short drive from the gorgeous Newborough Beach. The site is small and flat with good size pitches individually marked. The most remarkable facility is the on site restaurant which is the best my party have found on a campsite anywhere in Europe. Booking is essential and locals and other tourists flock to the restaurant. It is fairly priced for the remarkable cuisine. Food is available all day from breakfast (high season) to lunch and dinner.

The site itself is lovely and has good power hook ups and well marked pitches. The only niggle we found is that the showers could do with an upgrade. They are clean and tidy but the water temperature can vary widely when there are several users and it would not be wise to allow a child to shower alone.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Notreehugger 1 review from this member

Lovely view and shortish walk to beach.

Children love the play area and feels safe as site nice and small

Attached cafe not owned by campsite is extremely good and recommended.

Really do not like recycled portacabin now used as shower and toilet facility. Lucky to get warm water and peeling paint and mould. Hope these are improved soon they are worse than previous facilities. Do not feel viable for more than a very short break unless you have your own facilities.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019