Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of White Lodge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Newborough > White Lodge Caravan Park Reviews

White Lodge Caravan Park
Penlon
Newborough
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL61 6RS
Tel: 01248 440254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gmmj13 2 reviews from this member

 Clean flat site. Views of snowdonia. Good location for visiting different sites. Near to fabulous beach.

Facilities were fine for our needs. Covid info pre visit.

Given pitch plot before arrival. However on arrival messaged owner let them know we had arrived.

Did not receive any contact from the owner via text or on site to check if everything was ok. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marypie999 2 reviews from this member

 We received a phone call the day before we were due to travel giving us our pitch number and that was our only contact with a member of staff throughout our stay.

The place was like the Marie Celeste! Toilets and showers closed, restaurant and bar closed, site office closed and nowhere to dump grey water. We stayed at seven campsites on our holiday and this was the most expensive of all. Only one other had no facilities at all and was £20 cheaper.

We were trying to find the beach and had to ask a householder in his garden if he could direct us. Not keen on giving negative reviews so I emailed the owner on my return. Still waiting on a reply three weeks later! Do yourself a favour, use another site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jaxcats 1 review from this member

 Just a note for Motorhome users that there is no facility to drive to a drain to empty your grey waste, also not all the pitches have their own water pipes.

On the plus side the toilet block is new and very clean.

Lovely walks to do from this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chazmummy 6 reviews from this member

 Just had a fabulous long Easter weekend here. The weather threw everything at us but after 12 hours of continues rain the sit was only a little flooded and we had no trouble getting out. It is great for the beach for nice long walks. The newly refurbished toilet block is warm and looks great. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil marston 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site! The plots are divided with fences and are roomy. Plenty of shelter from the west winds with a high tree hedge. Toilet facilities clean, and we never had to wait for a shower. Owners couldn't be more helpful. Views of Snowdonia are fantastic. Only a couple of miles to the beach, with great walks through the dunes. Didn't have a meal at the restaurant, but will definitely book a table early next time we stay here. Thank you Chris for a lovely stay. See you next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barleymoo 2 reviews from this member

 This is a small clean family run campsite with spectacular views and good sized flat pitches. The owners are friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower block is currently portakabin style but is well maintained and clean - with flowers in the ladies toilets!The reception provides basic supplies and there is a shop in Newborough itself for anything else Newborough Forest is a short stroll away allowing easy access to a lovely beach. A visit to 'Holy Island' is recommended although it should be noted that dogs are only allowed in the winter months. We ate at the Marram Grass Café ( adjacent to the site) - which was fabulous. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charlievan 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights and found the site excellent for our needs. A small friendly mainly grass site with fences separating each pitch. Friendly owner who gave us directions to a number of local walks and beaches and who made our dog very welcome too. Can't comment on the rating for children as we do not have any but the site does have a well equipped play area. Had a meal in the restaurant next to the site which we had booked in advance as we had heard that it gets booked up due to its popularity. The meal and service were very good and was well worth what we paid. The orange and carrot soup and fish dishes were amazing! Toilet block looked clean although we use the facilities in our caravan so really can't comment. The walk to the stepping stones, sand dunes with ponies roaming free and the beach and forest walks were all easily accessible from the site. Access to the site is good and the pitches are all flat. Well worth a visit! We will definitely be going again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gm54 1 review from this member

 This site is well situated for visiting Newborough Warren though the beach is a couple of miles away. Nice mountain views and well marked out pitches. Friendly staff.

However I have to agree with other critical reviews. We paid £24 without a hookup when the general price on Anglesey seems to be about £10-£15. The toilet block is barely fit for purpose and has been described in other reviews. I would also add that there is an air of lazy neglect and some basic care would make the showers more pleasant. E. G. Replace rusting shower curtain rails, level the urinal in the gents so it empties and does not stink, lick of paint. (a couple of days work). I would not be prepared to visit again. Their sister site up the road is better but still expensive. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grahamhacker 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights from 21 May 2016 - on the basis of Julia Bradbury's visit.

At £30 a night we were expecting a much better kept site. There is definitely a lack of tlc, with grass in need of a cut, especially strimming around statics. The showers are old and poor. The male disabled shower was out of use and there was no bucket/mop. A long hose was required for the single water point. No information was provided on the beautiful surrounding area which was the highlight for us.

The restaurant was good, but very expensive £80 for 2 meals incl glass of wine!

We are spending 2 weeks in the area and this is the most expensive one. The owners seemed more interested in their restaurant than the camp site

Anglesey is beautiful and full of pleasant surprises, but this wasn't one of them! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for its location (close to Llanddwyn Island) and on a friend's recommendation. I suspect it's some time since his last visit as it's now rather tatty and run down. The shower/toilet building is shabby and in need of maintenance. It was very chilly and the single wall mounted fan heater did not work. One of the two fluorescent light tubes had been removed so one end was dark. Hooks in the washing area were positioned about 2. 5 feet off the floor, in front of the wash basins. Were you to hang clothes or your towel on them, they would be soaked from splashing water from the basins and would also soak up any water off the floor. The main door had no handle, just a couple of holes to open it with. The urinals were dirty, and appeared to leak. The showers worked but were rather cramped and you would not want to use them in cold weather due to the chilliness of the room.

The pitches were not clearly numbered and there was no one available to greet us when we arrived at the agreed time of 1 pm. When booking, we got a answerphone message. Our message was not returned. We had to make four phone calls before being able to confirm our booking.

There is a well equipped children's play ground. If you don't enjoy country walks there is nothing to do nearby. The beach is a two mile drive away.

The site has a cafe/restaurant on site and we also had to make several phone calls to make a booking for our first night. The service and food in the restaurant were disappointing and rather expensive. There were also too many tables so it was cramped. Their only local competition was a pub in the nearby village (half a mile away) and this showed in their rather arrogant attitude.

We will visit the area again for its outstanding natural beauty but will not be using this site. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is White Lodge Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Lodge Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is White Lodge Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder