Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bodfan Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Rhosneigr > Bodfan Farm Camping Site Reviews

Bodfan Farm Camping Site
Llynfor
Rhosneigr
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL64 5XA
Tel: 01407 810706
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisas28483oxf 1 review from this member

 Just home from Bodfan farm. Visited after peak season. Several camping fields lots of walks from site. Lake/ nature reserve at the end of field. Dogs allowed round no problem.

Several cracking beaches 10 mins walk all dog friendly and very quiet. Little water inlets cutting through them so you can watch dog off after being on sand.

Weekend get busier on site as you would expect and on beaches but all very spacious. Coastal paths good views. Can see snowdon range from site. Rhosneigr is a small seaside resort. Only tried the oyster catcher restaurant for food which served large portions.

Great choice of food and beer. Excellent views over dunes. 15ish mins walk from site. Watched starlings mermerising opposite oyster catcher at end of nature reserve. Lots of people on beach at weekend kite surfing, kayaking etc. Horses but still never too busy.

No real food shops nearby just newsagent and small spar type shop. Small souvenir shop. A pizza takeaway/ cafe and a few other diners/ cafe bar toe places. Fish and chip shop too.

Showers on site adequate 20p for 6 mins but advise getting most of clothes off before put money in on outside wall. Used it quite a few times. Clean and tidy little old but fine. Toilets fine too always plenty of paper and clean again older type block but fine.

Toilets and showers separate blocks. I would definitely go back just so peaceful and relaxing. Laid back. Owner leaves name on your pitch number so just drive on and he'll come round in van in own time to collect payment. Full of information 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Taylorrobe 1 review from this member

 Very well kept campsite, good facilities and friendly owner.

Because we were not needing the electric hook up we didn't need to book, we just turned up and pitched. The price is good, 8 per adult and 4 per child.

The showers and dish washing hot water is on a meter but is very cheap, 20p / 6 mins.

The shops and beach are only a very short walk away and the beach is good for surf.

The only thing I would say is you are better off in a caravan or motorhome due to the wind, although I think this is the case for the most of Anglesey. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vjcv 1 review from this member

 Having first visited this site aged 13 (again at 14, 15, 16 then aged 20), I returned last year (2018) some 40 yrs later and found it was almost exactly the same - albeit upgraded a little - and was just as I remembered and liked.

I re-visited again this year (a 9. 5 hr drive away) and it was worth it. UK campsite states that shop and watering holes are 1 mile away but they are closer than that - so don't be put off. The shop stays open until 9pm (Spar).

Holyhead has a large Tesco/Morrisons with competitively priced fuel. The A55 North Wales Expressway is a dream road - making the trip to 'the shops' enjoyable. If you like all-singing/dancing sites with entertainment and a pool - then you're out of luck - but if you want a site that is what camping is all about - this is the one. Alwyn, the site owner, is brilliant.

Don't forget to clean-up after your dog - VERY important - respect Alwyn and the other campers. You can pitch where you choose for non-electric or book for a hook-up. Alwyn comes round every morning to collect the fees. 20p gets you 6 mins of hot water in the shower.

The site fees are very reasonable (see their website for fees). Fortunately, it was only 7. 5 hrs drive home. I hope to visit again. Thanks Alwyn 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Welshone 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem this site is! So tidy, clean and welcoming. Great location for everything from beach to shops!

Will definitely use again. Seemed to be nice people staying here too. Not over run with families, while being a great base if you have kids.

I just have dogs and they loved it too 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fuchsia 3 reviews from this member

 This really is a lovely proper campsite. Loads of space and you can pitch anywhere. The site is on a sloping site but you can always find somewhere flat to pitch due to the size of the site.

It has enough toilets and even at bank holiday there is never any queue.

The showers are 20p. I never mind spending on the shower. 20p gives a long enough shower and does stop people spending 20 minutes just wallowing in the hot water.

Excellent washing up room with a dryer and freezer for anyone's use.

This site is just a short walk from Rhosneigr and its beautiful beaches.

Some people complain about the jets going over the site. They fly so fast they are actually over the site in 10 seconds and I really love the thrill of them flying over.

Finally a massive thanks to Alwyn and his wife. My husband is wheelchair bound. Alwyn went over and above to ensure we had a necessary electric hook up at last minute with a site very close to the toilet facilities. They are not disabled toilets but easily accessible by a zimmer frame.

Thank you Alwyn and thanks to his wife for searching the internet to find out what was going on in the area that weekend.

Both went over and above for our weekend. We will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sirjona 2 reviews from this member

 Really glad that we chose this site as our first ever caravan holiday, lovely and quiet with everything you could want in a fiver minute walk.

The owner was very friendly and comes round every morning to collect the previous nights rent although you can pay all in one go if preferred. Facilities were basic but clean and showers nice and hot although make sure you have spare 20p as my first got stuck.

Lovely and peaceful at night although site was not full, already planning our next trip as there are local beaches with no dog restriction's. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campjulie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 5 days at this lovely site with my partner and our 3 kids (1, 7 & 15). I chose this mainly because of it's simplicity as we like 'proper' camping! It did not disappoint! Surrounded by beautiful countryside, stunning views of Snowdonia and right near some of the best beaches in the UK (in my opinion!).

It's a big site and even though we arrived on bank holiday Monday, there was still plenty of space to choose where we wanted to pitch. When we got there, I realised I'd forgotten to draw cash out to pay, but the lovely lady owner was very laid back and told us to get pitched and settled in and pay tomorrow! We even ordered eggs and they brought them to our tent freshly laid!

There was lots of space in the fields for the kids to run around and play- without being mithered for money for the clubhouse or any arguing over a play area. There were lots of families playing ball games, frisbee etc.

The facilities were clean, with plenty of toilets in the toilet block, 3 showers each for men and women and a pot wash room with a free small spin dryer, 2 pot wash sinks, a tumble dryer (think it was 20p) and a free chest freezer for ice packs.

There was a tall mirror in here too with a plug socket to do your hair. The pot wash did take 20p for hot water- we just boiled the kettle and did it in the tent. The showers were lovely and hot and took 20p for 6 mins. 40p was plenty to do my hair/shave my legs etc.

Rhosneigr beach is fab and you can see it from the camp site entrance. To get to the village centre, go straight ahead out of the campsite and turn left at the end, it's about 10 mins walk. There's a pizzeria and a chippy, both of which were lovely. The main entrance to the beach was here too. There's also a convenience store for essentials, but there's a big tesco and morrisons about 20 min drive in Holyhead.

We found the RAF planes really interesting and there was even a Red Arrows display while we were on the beach one day. But be warned - they start at 8am so there's no chance of a lie in!

Would def return here! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DeeCon 4 reviews from this member

 Great views, space for the children to play but no designated play area, over priced at 20 per night. I have been to better sites and paid as little as 13 per night and for an extra 5 been able to use the gym, sauna and Jacuzzi.

There is a 20p charge for the showers, the shower I used No 2 lasted for about 2 mins I must say the water was hot enough, this meant I had to go outside the cubicle naked to put in another coin as I didn't want to use my towel as it would of got wet, as it happened it got wet anyway as there is no dry space to put your clothes inside, as I opened the door my clothes got wet as the door swings open into the path of the water.

These showers are not disabled friendly no seat or hand rail if you need one, no shelf to put shampoo, shower gel or anything else. There is no hot water tap just cold in the toilets. So not sure how your meant to wash your hands adequately with out it, thinking of tenter's, no mirrors.

There is a sign up saying dogs on leads. This does not always happen as a un-leaded dog took a poop outside our van and was not cleaned up.

Beach near by Shops, bars and eateries near by.

Would not visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brotherbung 9 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at this site, very relaxed atmosphere and reasonable pricing. Site facilities are basic but clean. The camping field is huge and basically you pick your spot and stay there.

The nearby airbase is noisy but you soon get used to it and by all accounts is closing next year? There are lots of things to do on Anglesey and this is a good base to find them from.

If you are looking for a lively all action site, this is not the place for you. Ideal for families who want to relax and unwind. No doubt we shall visit again.

The toilet/shower blocks do need rebuilding, very basic and small for a park of this size, but they are clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pennine penny 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 2 nights at Bodfan and found it a lovely peaceful site, the RAF planes going over was very loud but interesting as its not something you see at home everyday! Just a short walk to the beautiful beach at Rhosneigr.

I would recommend this site if you're looking for a relaxing break. (Don't try and nap during the day though as sometimes the planes take off quite often!)

The only downside we found was that the toilets only have one sink for about 6 loos, this seemed a little odd and even though they are well stocked with loo roll there is nothing to dry your hands with (after you've used the 1 sink!).

As we were only there for a short break we didn't use the shower block but they looked fine. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bodfan Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bodfan Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bodfan Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhosneigr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement