Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of The Old Post Office Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Holmrook > The Old Post Office Campsite Reviews

The Old Post Office Campsite
Santon Bridge
(lake District)
Holmrook
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1UY
Tel: 019467 26286
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 1st March-5th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eleonor 3 reviews from this member

 l tried to contact the owner before arrival, but my calls were not answered and mails only after several mails from me.

The site is ok, but there is not really a reception. The showers and toilets are dated. You have to pay for the showers. And there are only 2 toilets and 2 sinks in the ladies which isn't enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robinwarwick 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a site. Perfectly located for the Lake District attractions. About 10 pitches are now level hard standing all fully serviced, with grassy areas between them and a table/bench. Pub only a few short paces away.

Facilities were were spotlessly clean.

The Owner was friendly, helpful and put our caravan on the pitch with his tractor. Saved a lot of hassle.

As the nearest shop is the petrol garage about 3 miles away, it would be helpful if milk, bread etc were available on site but we realise that might not be practicable since the Owner seems to run the site on his own.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tillydog 2 reviews from this member

 Gareth was very welcoming and showed us to the pitch he apologised for the wet areas but we can't help the weather and our pitch was well drained.

He offered to help us with getting the caravan pitched and explained where all the facilities were and said to call him if we needed any help with anything else. The facilities were nice and clean and it was worth 50p for gallons of hot water in the showers.

This is a little jewel of a site and will certainly be returning.

The site is ideally placed for both walkers and the less energetic visitors like ourselves who got addicted to the homemade ice cream from the cafe with the cow in the nearby Seascale. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 This site is relatively small by Lake District standards but of good quality. Most pitches are grass so there tended to be more tents than caravans. Electric Hook Up is available. Cars can be parked next to your tent. Wooden picnic tables were available.

A small river runs on one side of the site. It is shallow but unfenced so you will have to keep an eye on small children. The facilities were clean and adequate.

Showers 50p, hair drier 20p. Plenty of pubs serving good food in the area including one next door to the site!

Walking straight from the site - everything from woodland strolls to the high hills. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alangas 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site, perfect for families and those of us with no children, the site is well maintained and the toilet/showers are spotless.

The site was very quiet at night which is something we really appreciated and would encourage us to return.  

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed my second stay at this family run campsite based in the pretty western lakes. I wanted a good location for an early morning climb up Scar fell Pike. This campsite has a lovely fresh water stream running alongside which is the true hub of the site.

Children, adults and dogs all play in the water. There are excellent well maintained toilets and 50p operated showers. I was able to park my car next to my pitch which was great.

There is a no noise policy at night which is adhered to. This is a great site for all. If you have any queries, simply talk to the friendly owner. As a solo camper with a dog, I felt very safe here.

There is a great pub down the road called the Bower Inn which is dog friendly and serves great homemade burgers with hand cut chips.

The resident camp dog named George was so friendly and patient with all the children and other dogs. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loreal 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay here. Wonderful campsite. Showers and loos were clean and worked well at any time we used them. Clean washing-up area. Clean all over the campsite. Friendly owner. Very friendly owners' dog! There was a small office with freezer facilities and sockets to recharge devices if needed.

Beautiful place to pitch a tent - we chose to be right by the riverbank which entertained the children easily. It was a great location for us to get to Scafell Pike, WastWater and Whitehaven and we could easily have explored the area immediately surrounding Santon Bridge if we'd had more time. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alis0n 12 reviews from this member

 Wow - best located campsite ever!

Pub just outside the entrance did nice food, including takeaway fish and chips.

3 miles from Wastwater and Scafell Pike.

15 minutes drive from Muncaster castle

Also a tea room 5 minutes walk away (we did not go here though).

The site itself is well maintained, with a picturesque river running along the side.

Site facilities were good, 2x washing up sinks, freezer for ice blocks, washing machine.

Ladies had 2x showers and 2x toilets and despite the campsite being full I did not experience a wait.

There is a hairdryer in the ladies, (20p)

Showers were 50p a pop, but you did get approx 10 minutes.

Minor cons - the campsite was really full, as I said, the facilities seemed to cope, but if you like to get away from it all this may not be the site for you (or, put up with it for the excellent location)

Also, the campsite manager, whilst a friendly bloke, really sticks to his arrival time of 12noon. We arrived 15 mins early and had to sit in the car, another woman had been waiting an hour with a load of kids. Not a problem, just don't leave home too early!

Would I go back? Definitely 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AuntieB 1 review from this member

 A meticulously maintained small site in a picturesque setting, 50 yds from the pub, which sells excellent food.

The campsite itself is well groomed, there are plenty of pitches with electricity; the showers/facilities are spotless and regularly maintained (showers cost 50p for 10 mins/hair dryer 20p for 3 mins); the site is quiet (rules about noise and behaviour were observed the whole time we were there); DOG FRIENDLY; excellent amount of information about nearest doctor/vet/hospital as well as tourist information about the surrounding countryside; within 10 mins drive of well kept, dog friendly beaches at St Bees & Ravenglass;friendly welcome; nearest large shopping centre is 25 mins away at Whitehaven.

The cost represents good value for money, I don't mind paying to use the showers when they are kept as beautifully as they are here.

The only possible downside: some may find the location a little remote. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave14 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite next to a river. Very clean toilets and showers. Showers 50p for 10mins hairdryer 20p. Friendly owner and a pub across the bridge. Booked for 4 nights enjoyed so much stayed extra night. Well worth a visit. Great area for walking and very close to scarfell. Don't miss a walk along the lake. Views out of this world. 3 miles from nearest well stocked shop. Would recommend this site. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Post Office Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Post Office Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Post Office Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holmrook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements