Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Verwood Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Verwood Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Verwood Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Sutton Hill
Woodlands
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH21 8NQ
Tel: 01202 822763
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zippy9 2 reviews from this member

This rating is just for the tent pitches at the top of the site.

Camping at the edge of the site you are fewer than 10m from a noisy road with cars going past at 60mph+. It's noisy during the day, quietens down a lot at night but then starts again early morning. You're not going to get a great night's sleep!

If you want to camp here, make sure you are in the other area for tents lower down the hill.

The rest of the site was up to the usual high standard of CCC sites.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Allun13 16 reviews from this member

Arrived at this wonderful site at 5pm totally stressed after having the SatNav lie to me for an hour. The staff at this site were great. They really got our mood and our needs and found us a great pitch. We settled in after being shown were everything was and had a restful night. The next morning, a member of staff came to see us asking if we'd like to stay longer as they had moved a few people around to accommodate us. Cant believe how great the staff were.

The site itself is a typical C&CC one. Truly excellent. Everything about the site oozes quality and camping experience.

A very enjoyable stay.

Thank you very much.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam 7 reviews from this member

A great site, good, clean facilities, very friendly staff who were really helpful. There is a recreational room (we didn't use) and a fish & chip van that visited twice week (didn't use) there is a play area for the children and clearly signed dog walking route. We arrived on 31st Aug, Bank holiday (BH) and the B3081 wasn't that busy. Due to the adverse weather of previous days we were given a choice of where we pitched the tent as parts of the ground was sodden. We were on the bottom field facing the exit as we had EHU. Choose your pitch carefully as most of the site isn't completely level but only after we'd pitched did we realise there was a slight slope, but nothing major. Take a spirit level and don't rely on your eye to see if your pitch is completely level :)

The site is ideal location for beaches on the south coast.

If you are disabled and have a Blue badge, some of the car parks you have to show a tax disc to say that you're exempt to get free parking, if you no longer have a tax disc, you have to pay! Look online to see if you can register with the council?

I would recommend this site and we'll visit again but the only downside for me being in a tent, it might be different for caravans/motorhomes is the B3081. On the Tuesday morning after BH this road was really busy and at times very noisy and continued to be throughout our stay. There were several occasions throughout the week when a group of motorbikes sped up and down the road together and they didn't have the quietest of exhausts, this happened at various times of the day including early morning. My point is that you think its a country road and it'll be quiet but it wasn't and this also includes early hours of the morning, I only noticed the really loud bikes/vehicles and not every one. This didn't ruin my holiday in anyway. From what I saw of the site, if you don't require EHU you can go to the other site of the field away from the road where your perception of the noise maybe completely different.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SGEO 12 reviews from this member

Had a great few days here, kids liked the playroom, great facilities, playground was ok for my two girls.

The day we arrived we could choose our pitch we had a choice of two places, we decided to pitch on a slight rise under trees just by the camping pods. After the rain of the night before and thunder and lightening it was dry but the rest of the pitches seemed muddy and waterlogged. My only complaint really is we were right by the drain for the toilets and showers. It stank!

But we did have a great week stay, we went to peppa pig world and The New Forest wildlife park to name a few places we visited.

Maybe the site staff can maybe be a bit tolerant to families with toddlers rather than tutting when they have a bit of a paddy because mum said no to sweets which were at the perfect height for a toddler to reach, and I heard one lady tutting when my youngest who has lower limb disability was crying in pain because we'd had a damp night.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oldwolf 8 reviews from this member

We booked a Jumbo pitch with Electric as we have a large set up. This is the first time we have been hemmed in on all sides - 6M rule enforced.

The facilities - Toilets / showers / Laundry / games room all kept to a very high standard.

As seems common with C&CC sites - the all weather pitches for Caravans and Motor homes close to the facilities, with tents / non EHU pushed out to the outer reaches of the site.

We camped over the Whitsun holiday and the single facility block could get crowded at peak times, it was also a long walk when you have small kids that need to go often.

The site is crying out for a simple toilet block at the bottom of the site.

The staff were very friendly.

Would I go again - definitely yes - but would probably take our own toilet tent.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarksFamily 3 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site! This was our first time with the CCC and this site was a treasure find. We were situated near to the dog walk which was quite close to the road. The traffic noise began around 7am but it really didn't worry us. The facilities on site were excellent. The toilets were immaculate at all times and the showers were a great set up. We used the laundry which was also fantastic, along with the washing lines as the weather was fab.

We had friends that came for the day and our children had a great time using the games room and outdoor boules, bowls and Jenga.

We had great weather during our 10 night stay which made a change for the UK!

There no unpleasant smells during our stay and thankfully all visitors were sensible and looked after their children so we had no difficulties.

The staff were excellent and a big thank you goes to them for being able to fit our jumbo tent in! They have thought of almost everything.

Would definitely like to return at some point in the future!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

Second time we have been to this site, although last time was 2008.

The site was excellent previously, but now it is even better than before. A very warm friendly welcome from all of the staff who remained very attentive throughout our stay.

Facilities are excellent with recently refurbished amenities blocks.

Highly recommend this site as an ideal location for the New Forest. Within a short drive of Bournemouth beach, Sandbanks beach or slightly less and slightly further afield but worth the drive Lulworth Cove.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Topshelf 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here last year, very good well run clean site, and it was the same this year, Moors Vally Park is well worth a visit even 2, good base for the local area, looks like the morrisons is being extended in the village. The local pub is about a 10 min walk but there is no footpath and a lot of traffic use it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

Firstly we would like to thank everyone, staff and fellow camper and caravanners for helping secure everything when our awning decided to break free in the aftermath of the recent hurricane remnants. We were out for the day, came back dreading the worst following a call from the site staff but were so grateful for the help we received. All was salvageable.

Unfortunately, this help from the few was in remarkable contrast to the attitude of parents who think that it is perfectly fine to inflict their offspring's noise, bad behaviour and general obnoxiousness upon others who wish for only a peaceful holiday. We were pitched close to the playground and I do not recommend this. Despite children being cleared from there at dusk, some felt it was their right to return. We did ask site staff for help but there are only so many times you want to do this without feeling that you are causing another problem! The site has great facilities for children and so attracts some parents who wish to abdicate any responsibility for them whilst there. More responsible parents were as exasperated as we were (and we had two teenagers with us so it's not as if we are anti-children, more anti bad parents!)by this minority that spoiled the atmosphere for the majority.

Another problem with this site is that the major A roads are heavily congested every day (at least at this time of the year) and it does take the gloss off travelling to the many lovely places that in theory are close by in terms of mileage.

The facilities were reasonably clean and the B road outside didn't pose any major noise problems because we couldn't hear it over the noise of the feral children. It is however, a road I would not recommend taking your children cycling upon. It's very busy. We cycled along there several times but considered that it was an unpleasant part of any ride that we did.

There are ample shopping etc facilities nearby and for emergencies the site shop is reasonably stocked.

We will not be returning here, the first 'friendly' club site we've been to where we've felt this way. We like peace and quiet and this was sadly lacking. A busy summer site does not have to be noisy as Hereford proved this time last year. The rather all pervasive foul sewage smell that is present every day also needs to be dealt with. Apparently there are no sewage treatment works nearby and the muck spreading by local framers had not begun so it must be a site problem. It is quite disgusting.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jhnjspd 1 review from this member

Good site well kept, Good base for searching local area.

The facilities are excellent the showers always clean and hot whatever time of the day.

Site shop is good for basics, but opening hours a bit restrictive. Very good Morrisons in local village.

Pub half a mile from site in village friendly and food ok, recommend a visit to Three Legged Cross pub five mile away from site where food is excellent.

Cannot agree with other reviews about site wardens, we did not find them very friendly, maybe their smiles fade towards the end of the season.

All in all we are not put off by this and we would use the site again.

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019