Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hill Of Oaks

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Hill Of Oaks
Tower Wood
(lake District)
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8NR
Tel: 015395 31578
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st March - Mid November Touring/glamping Pods.

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

Went out of season. Wasnít busy but site is geared towards lodges, pods and statics. These are all situated on terraced wooded hillsides and lakeshore. Itís a nice looking site, not at all rows and rows of statics with no space in between. We had 2 nights but wouldnít stay longer. No way would I go in high season either. Itís like itís own little village! Shop is ok, reasonably well stocked, has beer and wine to but but expensive.

The touring pitches are up a slope in the middle of park (ish). Most are level if not slightly uneven so if you like total level, you might need blocks. We had pitch 17 close to amenities block. You get issued a key but need to leave refundable deposit. Very clean but showers could have been warmer.

Pitches are excellent sizes, all hard standing and have water and EHU. Space for awning but will need the appropriate pegs. There is an easy to access motorhome service point.

No tv reception but you can buy cables from shop, there is connection points at your pitch. WiFi is chargeable but w3 didnít use it. I object to paying for it when the pods get it for free. At high season you can pay up to £40 a pitch, so itís not cheap if staying a week, as expensive as a pod yet they get free WiFi?

If itís an issue of signal, then why pay if itís not good? If this isnít the case, then tourers are signalled out to pay, at least thatís what it looks like.

There is an off lead dog area, plenty picnic spots dotted about lakeshore. Need to use your car/motorhome to explore. No decent parking at Windermere itself for large vehicles.

Itís good for one or two nights stopover, geared to families. Itís dog friendly. Itís expensive

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

Great site in a wonderful part of the world, really good facilities and right by the lake, took our inflatable kayak on the lake launching it from one of the sites jettys.

Well stocked shop on site with friendly staff.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

We were given pitch 19, next to the shower block. This was advantageous and not noisy. However, pitch not entirely levelled and in the shade all day. This pitch does not have lake view. The facilities are clean and free and the shop has a good selection of product but it is not cheap.

Walking from the site is limited: there is a woodland walk (steep and muddy) which out cocker spaniel enjoyed, but to you have to walk off site and crowd the main road. There is nothing else in walking distance.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Although it is a nice site I would say more suited to static and caravan. I probably would not use again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 31 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights here on a full service pitch next to the facilities block-pitch 19. No issues with noise from the block which is superbly appointed. Shower cubicles are the biggest I've seen in the uk-just wish people were more careful clearing up after themselves. As stated before limited opportunities for walking from the site due to its location on a very sy road but we knew that when we booked. No digital tv signal at all despite the reception lady saying it was all ok and had been checked. It didn't really bother us as we were usually don't take a tv anyway-husband wanted to watch the rugby. WiFi available at a cost through Oobi but so unreliable-my advice would be don't bother! Just use the free wifi available at locations in nearby Bowness. Was our wedding anniversary so we treated ourselves to a lovely meal at the Lamplighters in Windermere-can also recommend the Angel in Bowness. As always the chocobar in Bowness was a gourmet hot chocolate delight and we also watched a film at the royalty cinema on the Friday night. Walking wise we took the ferry from Bowness to Ambleside to join up twitch the launch to Wray Castle for the 4 mile lakeside walks to ferry side then returned to Bowness. Very enjoyable and easy stroll on a sunny afternoon.

Overall, the site is a static holiday park with an area set aside for tourers. It's not a specialised touring park so the staff although helpful don't have the same expertise you would find on a CCC site for example. None the worse for that. We met some nice people, but wouldn't go there again. Am not a dog fan and most of the caravanners seemed to have them and with the site geographics, you can't avoid them. But that's my issue not theirs

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandypandyxxx 3 reviews from this member

We were very lucky to get a cancellation site right next to the Lake (Windermere). The view across the lake was super and the plot was quite big and separated by high hedges to give privacy. Electric and water were both available at each plot so this made motorhoming a doddle. There were lots of other plots dotted about the whole site but we did not see what facilities they had. We did not use the showers as they were quite a distance from our plot but there was a very clean loo near to us which was open from 8. 00am to dusk. The rest of the site is very hilly up to the road, which, from the Lake is quite a distance (electric bikes helped with that!) The shop is well-stocked for a site shop and has papers delivered too. There's a bus goes into Bowness until 5. 00pm and a taxi back was £11. There is also one boat which goes from the jetty at 10. 00am which will take you down to Newby Bridge about 2. 5 miles away.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trisherbell 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay in our tourer. We originally booked 2 nights but within half an hour of arrival we decided we needed another night! Luckily there was the one night available, which was booked in no time.

Lovely clean shower block, but if I decided to use the facilities after my husband has gone in the mens - or vice versa - this was not possible due to the fact you get one key. (£10 returnable deposit). A key each would be better.

The pitch was pretty flat, but unfortunately our view was not what we hoped. No view of the lake at all, just trees a few short metres away.

We were looking forward to lakeside walks, but this is not possible on this site.

TV reception is through an aerial socket on the hook up point, but we were not aware of this the first night, bought the long aerial lead for our second which worked, but our last night we had no signal at all. Luckily we do not rely on TV, but for some this could be an issue. The same with WiFi. I paid for access but it wasn't great.

The area is stunning. The site is not too far from places to visit. Maybe our expectations were too high but not being able to see the lake was a let down.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 29 reviews from this member

The clue is in the name of the site - Hill of Oaks - it is situated on a very steep hill leading down to the lake where the reception can be found. You then go back partly back up the hill and the touring site is situated in a clearing between the trees. There is no view at all of the lake or anything else other than trees all around.

Pitches are of varied size and some very uneven. Only a few are actually level. They slope back to front as well as sideways.

The toilet and shower block are immaculate. Each toilet has its own sink, hand soap and hand dryer. The showers are very roomy with lovely hot water and NO push button. Hair dryer is free.

The reception has a well stocked shop and tourist information. You can sit by the lake to enjoy an ice cream but there are no lakeside walks just the area where the boats more up. Walking direct from the site is limited to crossing over the main road and going up another hill before you can walk on the hills.

The bus stop is right outside the site exit and they run too time but are not very frequent. A nice site but not one we would return again

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winstonsax 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend in May 2016 it was great we were a long time travelling but the 8:00pm cut off time is very reasonable and not too much trouble if you are going to be late a couple arrived pretty late on the Friday (13th!) after picking up their new motor home the staff were very helpful. The toilet/shower block was kept very clean lots of hot water and toilet paper, can't fault the site at all the pitches are very large you can get your caravan, car and a boat! all on one pitch. All pitches are on a hard slate/stone/gravel type requiring rock pegs for awning/sun shades canopies etc. We had a lovely little stream running behind us which was very nice unfortunately some children were playing on our pitch in and over the stream before we arrived and wanted to carry on doing so but it was upsetting our dogs and it meant they kept clambering over and jumping on our bright orange hook up lead. Then Friday night was horrendous with the families of the children drinking and shouting upto 1:30am and the odd call out at 2:00am, unfortunately the 'no noise after 10:30pm' can not be enforced on such a big site. I just wish that some fellow caravanners would be considerate when they choose to have a bbq and drinks to keep the noise to a minimum, we never heard a peep out of the children after 8:00pm.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenluisa 1 review from this member

Hill of Oaks has a very picturesque setting, amongst many trees and set against Lake windermere, The Touring facilities are of a generous size, with some privacy from your next door neighbour. The facilities included a big Toilet block with generous showers and individual toilets with a sink, the main reception area had a well stock shop and an information area with places to go. The staff where very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately there was no local shops or a pub near by, this would mean a half an hour drive to kendal for amenities.

Overall a very peaceful, and quiet site- very pretty setting- and helpful staff.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 1608theowens 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay. Glorious stay in glorious surroundings. Well worth the money, considering it was a busy time. Showers great but could do with a bit of updating but still clean. Staff really helpful and cheerful and well turned out giving a great standard of professionalism. Will we return? Definitely with our new addition.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!