Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cliff House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Cliff House Holiday Park Reviews

Cliff House Holiday Park
Minsmere Road
Dunwich
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 3DQ
Tel: 01728 648282
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 35 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site and the showerblock was open during coronavirus "lockdown" so was really pleased that they had made that effort. The restaurant was open as well but we didn't use that. Shame that the children's playground wasn't open. I know some places arent opening playgrounds though.

After we arrived we walked over to the steps which led down to the pebbly beach and couldn't see any life whatsoever! So we were a bit concerned as we had booked 3 nights here.

We got our bikes and cycled just under 2 miles to the village where there is a large car park by the beach with a tearoom there. There is also another lovely tearoom called Dingles which is not far away.

Dunwich village consists of 2 tearooms, a restaurant, a church and a museum and a few houses so don't expect a seaside resort like Southwold or Aldeburgh. As the beach is all pebbles I was a bit puzzled why people would take children there especially when the playground wasn't open. We walked down Dunwich Heath to the Fishermens Cottages which is a shortish pleasant walk then next day we cycled to Dingle tearoom, had coffees and tied the bikes up there and walked to Walberswick which is 3 miles up the coast from Dingles. Collected some lovely pebbles on the way.

Walberswick has more sand on the beach so nice for children and has a pleasant village green with a tearoom and a few nice little shops and a pub. Southwold is just over the estuary from Walberswick and we visited Southwold when we left Dunwich.

I really liked Southwold. Its quite retro! 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jeffandsteve 1 review from this member

 The site if you are travelling via A12 should direct you to the B1122 at Yoxford this is dual road to the Westleton turn off few miles down road, however the web page tells you to turn onto Westleton Rd which is a hair raiser if you are towing we have a 21ft and good job it was a Sunday early morning because road just wide enough for caravan and no passing places for 3. 5 miles big error on Cliff House.

The other shocking think was on site notice to say in one part which had wood blocks piled high, a notice on ground saying (Adders live in this wood pile) not very good advert considering site is family and dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TDR500 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff, short walk to the beach, clean facilities, quiet and a surprisingly good on site bar (2 real ales) and restaurant.

Handy for the finish of the Dunwich Dynamo.

Will try to come back for a longer visit as right next to RSPB site plus woodland walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 Loved this site site in so many ways, the location is fab, close to beach set in woodland and close to open heathland.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The pub was modern and friendly we can not comment on the meals. The pitches are mainly level and all different.

The only thing that slightly lets the site down is the showers & toilets which although functional were shabby and grubby. At 27 a night would have expected cleaner. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Triggertheone 1 review from this member

 Nice site, nice people, very helpful. Beach close at hand walked into Walberswick partly along beach. There are good views to be had towards Southwold from cliff tops. You can see the light house flashing at night.

The only down side for me was you had to be off site by 10am and they choose to clean the toilets around 9 am when most people want a shower. So I never got my shower before leaving.

I would use this site again but only in the winter months as you are in the trees I think in the summer you would not see much sunlight. But then again I like the sun maybe you don't. All in all good site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acornis 27 reviews from this member

 This site fell into our 2 hrs from home search (just) for a few days away. We were given a friendly and informative reception, best walks places to visit etc. All the pitches were generous in size but the site is very shaded by trees.

There's access to the beach and the village of Dunwich is a short walk in one direction and Minsmere heath the other way. Not so much to do in the way of shops unless you venture a bit further to Southwold.

The site has its own bar and restaurant which we we used and had a couple of decent meals. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Going to give them a second visit in the spring. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights while visiting Minsmere RSPB. For a large commercial site, it was very well laid out with well separated pitches mostly amongst trees.

The facilities were fine as was the bar/restaurant.

The site was almost empty for the first two nights but filled up completely on the Friday night but was still peaceful. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The site is a bit pricey for us (but we got low season age discount).

The are plenty of good walks from the site on Dunwich Heath - important for us dog owners. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fradford 2 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a site that was open in the winter months, not too far from home to try out our new tourer caravan and Cliff House fitted the bill. Booked to go for two nights, very reasonable price as it was out of season.

Arrived New years day so there wasn't anyone manning the reception but they had left the relevant info for us on the reception door. The park attendant was on hand when we pulled up on the pitch and was very friendly and helpful. The pitch (electric hook up) was nice and level with plenty of space to manoeuvre.

We took a walk around the park and noted there were quite a mix of pitches, some with lots of tree cover and some in more open areas. There was good access to the beach. We didn't use the parks toilet block so can't comment on those. We went into the pub on site (12 Lost Churches) for a drink - again very friendly staff, free Wifi available. Our children enjoyed their brief visit to the play park (it wasn't really the weather for playing out!).

The caravan park was within walking distance of Minsmere nature reserve and Dunwich (although we chose to drive into Dunwich). We spent a lovely morning walking around Dunwich forest and visited the lovely tearoom nearby. A beautiful area of Suffolk to visit and we plan to come back to Cliff House to explore the surrounding area some more. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickscum 8 reviews from this member

 We are a family of 5 & have a 9 man tent. We arrived later than 5pm at the site & so had to find our own pitch as the reception was closed. Luckily, we did so no problem as the pitches have numbers on & we knew what one we had been allocated.

The pitch was a good size & we had a lovely view through the trees of the adjacent beach, which you get to by walking down many steps. Keeps you fit coming back up again! The children loved the beach & we were very lucky with the weather.

The shower block was kept clean, but there were only 3 showers. For such a busy site, more would be beneficial. 2 of the cubicles themselves are really rather small & it's a job to find room to put everything, really. The 3rd cubicle is a nice size.

The children (twins aged 11 & a 9 year old) loved the playground. We thought (as did they!) that they would find it too young for them, but they didn't! They spent many an hour in there!

There is a giant Connect 4 game that we made use of outside of the bar area & a couple of pool tables. They have entertainment sometimes & we saw they had a talent show on one night.

There are washing up sinks inside & out. We had to wash up in the dark one evening as the lights weren't working for the outside ones.

We would definitely return. The campsite is in lovely surroundings & being so close to a quiet beach is a real added bonus. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 183 reviews from this member

 This wooded site is great for cyclists, walkers and nature lovers. A very peaceful site although it was mid-week, no noise from the bar area and found the bar staff very friendly.

Nice meals available there too for around a tenner for mains and a couple of real ales to wash it down with. Reception ok but not overly so. Toilets/showers clean and functional. Plenty of walks around, we walked along the beach to the Ship Inn, Dunwich and retuned via the road and public footpath.

Also did a circular route which took in Minsmere bird reserve. Dunwich Heath itself holds plenty of wildlife, saw Dartford Warblers there by day and an evening walk revealed Nightjars over our heads at dusk. Perhaps a bit dear at 25/night but I guess its the location. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cliff House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cliff House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cliff House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement