Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Perran Quay Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Perran Quay Touring Park Reviews

Perran Quay Touring Park
Hendra Croft
Rejerrah
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5QP
Tel: 01872 572561
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 115
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Swift Celeb 4 reviews from this member

Great site in an ideal location, not too far from beach and other sights.

Nice and clean toilet/shower blocks, great on site pub, outdoor swimming pool, kids play area, friendly staff

The only downside some pitches are a bit tight to park, the staff had to help by taking the van off the car and either use the mover or they would push it onto the pitch for you, I think these are the service pitches, the other pitches looked ok

Overall great site, would definitely go back 👍

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plipsurt 3 reviews from this member

First time visiting this site and probably the last but not because there is anything wrong with it. It just didnít suit us. The pitches were a fairly decent size and the grounds are well maintained. The toilet/shower block was kept very clean and tidy.

Pitches are laid out around the edge of each field leaving a large play area in the middle. I can see this is great if you have younger children (we have in fact recommended the site to our son and his family) but we are a couple in our 50s so would have preferred a little more privacy.

The site has a bar and restaurant and a small shop. It can be very tricky exiting onto the road as it is very busy but this is hardly the fault of the owners. Within a few minutes drive to the beautiful beaches and a short drive to Truro. An excellent base for visiting the many treasures that Cornwall has to offer.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gavin Roche 2 reviews from this member

Magnificent campsite

Highly highly recommended !

Beautifully kept and maintained

Easy access

Cornwall's hidden gem, this is a fantastic family run site, beautiful swimming pool, lovely carvery and friendly pub on site.

It is not crammed and overcrowded like most of the summer resorts in Cornwall, Perran Quay caters to all but has more discerning clients. The owners are lovely and take great care of you from the moment you arrive, assisting with every aspect of your stay to make your holiday a special and memorable time.

I got assistance with:

Placing my caravan, water and electric hookup, directions.

What a lovely site, what lovely people, great value

The best holiday Cornwall has to offer

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Motherbear 1 review from this member

What a find. A complete gem. Huge site with all facilities including heated outdoor pool and licenced restaurant. Had the pleasure of staying here over the May bank holiday. The static we had was beautiful with views that I can only say we're breathtaking. This site is very child and dog friendly and the staff and new owners could not do enough for us. We arrived over a couple of days in a very large party and all times of day and night - and we were all warmly welcomed.

It seems to me that nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived and unpacked I realised had not got any oil for cooking and happened to mention this to the owner, I knew there was a shop on site so had a look, but they did not have what I was looking for - but within 10 min there was a knock at our door and the owners son had been off site and purchased the required oil ! Absolutely amazing.

They requested feedback from all holiday makers as they have recently taken over and want to run a really good site, and they are definitely doing that. The bar / restaurant is large and friendly with pool table and seating area which goes onto the pool area - a great hit with the children ! Spread the word folks this a brilliant. We had a look round the site and were amazed at the size of the hook up pitches. The shower block and washing facilities very clean and accessible. Well done to Neil and Cheryl the new owners ! We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Gosling 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a Ten day stay on this great little no frills park. Our party consisted of Four Adults and Two Dogs. Really nice green/Floral site which is very pleasing to the Eye. Good size pitches.

Electric hook up and Water/waste facilities plentiful. Toilets/Shower areas good although thy do get a little messy towards the end of the day (Having said that we did visit in Peak Season) Laundry Facilities Good.

There is also a nice Bar and Restaurant. Did have a drink in the Bar and found it very nice and the Staff really pleasant.

There is a small Swimming Pool and a small childs splash pool, which we found was mostly used by young Children so we did not use. Small Childrens Play ground. But having an all Adult Party didn't use looked ok.

The only let down was the Camps shop, which sold only the barest of bits and pieces, although the Lady who worked in there was a lovely person! all the Staff on this site are so nice and Friendly and so helpful!

We steered away from the Large Camps this year as we do not use the Large array of Facilities they provide for Family's with young Children & are really expensive to boot. Perran Quay is a Wonderful alternative at half the price. And we enjoyed our time there much more than the all singing/dancing places we have been in the past.

We will most certainly be back in the future. A great place.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Berooca 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip ever and we booked this last minute. What a find - it was brilliant. We were on a pitch towards the back of the site which was very quiet. We had plenty of space even with our enormous 9 person tent.

The shower block was very clean and always accessible as were the washing up facilities. The laundry was good with very high tech machines, however maybe could do with another couple of machines and dryers and it was quite pricey. But only a couple of washes needed.

The pool was a good size but with no heating it really was freezing and would be the only reason I have not given the facilities 10/10. The playground was aimed at much younger children but the site is safe enough that they were playing in the field anyway.

The shop is only open for a few hours a day but that is really not an issue as there is a morrisons about 10mins drive away if you really cannot wait. The lady who runs it is lovely and fantastic with the kids so no problems with my 8 year old going there on his own.

All in all it was the most amazing holiday and the reason we have not given it 10/10 is a lack of wifi access. We are quite techie people and also needed to be in contact with home regularly for personal reasons. With a very poor phone signal it would have been handy to have been able to use email via wifi - even if we had to pay for it.

Am now off to book my stay for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen1 3 reviews from this member

Just spent 14 days at this site, very disappointed and will never use again or recommend. There are lots of other sites in the area a lot better than this one.

We were put in an area of 2 large fields with approx 30 pitches in each and at most at any one time there were 3 in use, so very lonely and no atmosphere. The rest of the site was appeared to be mainly year round pitches occupied with mainly empty caravans. The grounds are well kept with the grass cut and pitches clearly marked out. During the second week we were moved by the owners as they were holding a music festival in the field we were in and we were squeezed between the empty residents vans. If we had known about the festival we would not have booked here but we did get some compensation for having to move and we returned home before the scheduled end of our holiday (this is the only time we have ever cut a holiday short).

The toilet block has about 6 toilets and showers. If the site did get busy this would not be sufficient but with so few people there was always plenty of hot water and they were reasonably clean.

The children's play area is run down with broken equipment. There is no amusement area for older children so they appeared to use the toilet block as this when it was wet.

The site shop is a small cafe which opened at odd hours in the day when they wanted. Except for sandwiches it sold very little else.

The bar is actually a restaurant with a small bar area and only opened in the evening.

The sit is well located for Newquay and the surrounding area but so are plenty of others.

Overall the site is clean and tidy but there needs to be a big improvement in the facilities to compete with other sites.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBB23 1 review from this member

Just come back from a great 10 day stay. (3 couples and 8 children!)

Must say that it was the first time that we have stayed on a site with 'residential' stayers there also, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There is a little shop on site which one of the residents run, (a very lovely lady who recognised our daughter birthday whilst we were away)

Stocked with essentials and a small amount of cooked food can be had.

Pitch sizes ok, with hook ups, children enjoyed the playground with wooden climbing, sand and boat to climb over

The toilets and showers are very clean and hot water for both them and the washing up facilities.

The tumble driers and washing machines looked brand new.

The children loved the the use of the swimming pool, maybe a little cool for my liking !

Newquay and Perranporth itself but not too far away. Supermarket (Morrisons/Lidal) was just 10 minutes away.

There is also a pub on site which we used one night to watch the magician act, which we enjoyed, can't comment on the food.

Would thoroughly recommend this site, no controlled entry, and if you do not like road noise you may find it a little difficult in the main area unless you choose to go into the 2 lovely fields at the back, as the main road to Newquay runs past and it starts to get busy 6/7am until 9/10pm

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dobson04 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a six night stay at perran quay touring park. On arrival office was locked and there was no-one around, which was a little strange. However a maintenance gentleman told us where our pitch was from our booking details and showed us directions to the pitch. Our pitch was a generous size next to all the amenities, the toilet block was always clean and tidy although the showers were too hot for the children (a 3 and 1 year old and they turned off every 30-60 seconds, which made bathing the children difficult.

The playground which was situated across the hedge had seen better days and some older children had left glass bottles and cans lying around. After some time in the afternoon the park turned into the young youths hangout which wasn't suitable for small children.

There is a local pub on-site and the food is reasonably priced and beautiful tasting food, with good portion sizes. However the on-site shop was of poor quality and stocked the general essentials required, but only the bare minimum. The opening times were limited and it only opened at 9am which was a bit late if you were in desperate need of milk. However there are 2 local supermarkets nearby about 5-15 minutes away.

The main plus about the site is that it's on the main Newquay, Perranporth stretch, both beaches are beautiful, however Fistral beach takes some negotiating down the long sand dune bank to the beach, with all your beach equipment and children.

The pool which we didn't use, looked lovely and inviting and was used by other children on the site.

The site is quite small but acts as a lovely spot for visiting and exploring the local areas.

The site seemed to settle about 10-11 o'clock at night and the noise from the main road was minimal, however be prepared to awoke by the local cockerel in the morning.

My main negative about the site is the lack of children amenities, no clubhouse, park needs updating.

We won't be returning to this site although lovely due to the lack of stuff for the kids on site, would recommend this site to adults only, or adults with much older children (teenagers).

On the whole a nice break, but will definitely choose a better equipped site next time.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melb2902 1 review from this member

I have just returned from my trip to Perran Quay and I have to say it was brilliant.

It was in an ideal position, ie, not in busy Newquay itself but not too far away. Supermarket was just 5 minutes away which is handy to stock up on, however there is an on site shop which has all you need for the quick fix stuff.

Staff were great with the kids - really friendly.

Near to Holywell Bay, Perranporth and Newquay beaches, all on your doorstep with others a short drive away.

Loads locally to do, Cyder farm with an Ice Cream factory next door too, Railway, Fun Park all sorts.

We called into the Steak House for a meal on our first day which was perfect after a long drive to get there. Service was speedy, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Kareoke and magician were on while we stayed which was great. Otherwise nice pub to relax in with the kids playing.

Showers were very clean and a nice size, same with toilets.

Pitch was a good size with great views.

Swimming pool was great, even on the chilly days we went in!

Would definitely recommend.So enjoy your stay!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019