Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Islawrffordd Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Islawrffordd Caravan Park > Reviews

Islawrffordd Caravan Park
Taybont
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL43 2AQ
Tel: 01341 247269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 04/02/2024 to 04/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Elitel 1 review from this member

 Very highly recommended. The site was amazing just a short walk from the beach.

It was really well laid out, spacious and everywhere immaculate including an impressive toilet and shower block.

The whole experience was so seamless and the staff handled all the booking in including covid restrictions very well.

We were lucky as the swimming pool had reopened and this was another great thing well above our expectations.

This is definitely a site to put on your must visit for a great experience. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ct955 50 reviews from this member

 Covid restrictions applied, leisure facilities and pool closed. Only 15 touring pitches. Large number of statics and seasonal pitches.

Very busy at weekend. Facilities were spotless but push button showers! Never saw a staff member on touring section.

Our pitch had clearly not been checked before our arrival. Bollard had been tripped and a few items of rubbish around pitch. 3 of the pitches had dogs off lead all the time.

Now the good points, fantastic location for the beach, restaurant and fish and chips were good.

Small supermarket on another park. Excellent play area.

Well located for numerous tourist venues. Be aware the approach road is VERY narrow. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asfc70 47 reviews from this member

 This 5 star site has direct access to the beach. Excellent food from the 1957 restaurant.

Shared shower block is cleaned to a very high standard. We did not use the brand new personal shower block which is available at 5 per person per night.

We missed the pool and sauna closed due to Covid 19. Was disappointed with Billys chippy fish n and chips.

Barmouth is a 10 minute drive away. Playground is only accessible with the fob so is very secure.

The site tariff is not cheap but worth every penny.

The owners re-invest in the site every year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hymervan 24 reviews from this member

 A real gem of a site. Cannot find fault. It's an immaculately kept place, a credit to the Family run owners. Able to walk directly onto a large sandy beach with dogs, alongside beach there is a long path walk.

There is a well equipped play park again pristine & safe condition. There is a key fob activation for showers & park entrance ( deposit payable at reception).

There is an indoor swimming pool with a steam room & sauna all included in the price of the pitch. We stayed between Christmas & new year so limited times of opening, but still such a bonus.

Onsite there is a very smart restaurant, havnt eaten there as yet, but looks really nice.

Pitch sizes are large, so not too close to neighbouring units, we stayed on a super pitch, needed to use TV aerial cable to their post as TV reception not brilliant.

Cannot fault this place at all, definitely worth a few returns! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K + C 1 review from this member

 Just a warning to anyone wanting to stay here with a tent, Islawrfordd no longer have hookups for tents - they have turned the pitches into hard standing for caravans etc, you can still tent on the bank without electricity. Not brilliant 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 47 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one week and on the first night had a fantastic 50th birthday meal in the refurbished Nineteen 57 site restaurant. Lily looked after us very well. Food was Michelin standard.

Visited Harlech and enjoyed a lovely quiche in the courtyard of shops.

Barmouth is only a five minute drive and we enjoyed a great Ploughmans lunch in the sun trap terrace of The Tilman.

Did the 3. 5 mile Precipice Walk in Dolgelleau on the hottest day of the year. 33 degrees. Madness.

Took the train from Talybont to Machynlleth. 1. 5 hours each way for 10.

The site pool must be booked a day in advance. 3 hourly slots available.

Site facilities are very good, only no shop for food and papers, etc.

Beach access brilliant. Toilet/shower block very good,

Did complain about the noise from an unbelievably inconsiderant tourer who arrived on our final night and left his dog in his awning. Barking and howling the whole night, did tarnish an otherwise wonderful stay.

Would return. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ken247 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights just after the schools went back, so was quiet.

Couldn't fault the site for cleanliness with level fully serviced pitches, indoor swimming pool, bar and restaurant on site, take away on site open around tea time most days. Has a shop on site but the sign in the window indicates it's been closed since last year. Only a short walk to the beach and the dog is allowed on the beach.

A bit expensive at 37 per night but as we stayed for 4 nights we were charged only 30 per night. We will visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lewiss22 7 reviews from this member

 Perfect site, pitches excellent, shower block excellent, bar clean meals ok and chippy very very good, pool small but very good, close to beach and estuary for dogs to swim safe (beware of the swans though!) Been coming here for many years my kids love it even our 19 year old, when the weather is good its better than anywhere. We Love It

Only thing is it is getting expensive per night think it is now 35 pn. But it is always booked up and family run sites will always come back here. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beautylass 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived after spending a week at another campsite in Anglesey which I didn't think any other campsite could beat but this one did. As well as a very well maintained site the toilet/shower facilities are the cleanest I have experienced! There is a direct path on to the beach and having no dog restrictions was great having two large dogs. They absolutely loved it. You can walk into Barmouth on it when the tide is out.

There is plenty for kids to do with the arcade and bowling alley. The crazy golf was a bit of a let down but certainly didn't spoil our stay as the site has virtually everything else. The fish and chips from the on site shop were also lovely! I have to say I didn't think the prices for them or the drinks in the clubhouse were over priced either. The super pitches are spacious and I think value for money.

If you are into water sports this is definitely the site for you! Kids certainly will not get bored on this site as there is plenty to do and the pool is lovely with one free swim per day. We shall be returning again next summer, if not sooner 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roverphil71 6 reviews from this member

 Next to the beach with private access directly from site. All the facilities associated with a holiday park and nicely presented with a touch of class. The park is family run, and this is evident in the little touches and presentation which is often overlooked by bigger chains. An indoor swimming pool, amusement arcade, bar, takeaway selling what I have to say is the nicest battered fish I have had in some time - done to perfection! The ambience of the site is one of well kept tidiness with neatly cut grass, hydrangeas and palm trees.

There are two toilet blocks, one of which is a newer shower, wash and toilet facility with music playing and big shower cubicles. Key fob entry to the facilities (20 returnable deposit at check in). This helps to keep the facilities for campsite residents only as there are a few sites neighbouring. Staff are very friendly.

The touring pitches are fully serviced with water, waste water & elsan point, tv point on each pitch. My first experience of a serviced pitch and it is a luxury not to have to fill and empty the water containers. (I bought the accessories required in advance but there is a caravan accessory shop in Barmouth should you forget something) We really enjoyed our stay here and will return.

Not cheap, but very nice.

What's bad?

The only downside is the main shower block closes at 9pm until 7am each day. I think on a summers day after a long day spent at the beach, trying to get showered before it shuts can be a rush, 10 pm would be better. The other toilet only block remains open 24 hours. This is the only reason I've not given 10 out of 10 overall. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Islawrffordd Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Islawrffordd Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Islawrffordd Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Islawrffordd Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement