Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheddar Bridge Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > Cheddar Bridge Touring Park Reviews

Cheddar Bridge Touring Park
Draycott Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3RJ
Tel: 01934 743048
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March 11th - November 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 183 Reviews
                9/10 from 183 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  183 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kaza520 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept quiet small site, good clean facilities,

Within walking distance to Cheddar Village and the Gorge walks, national cycle path at the back of the site also leads into the Strawberry cycle path. No need for a car you can easily bike and walk to all amenities.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JuliaHandscombe 1 review from this member

 Cannot fault Cheddar Bridge. Fantastic site and spotlessly clean. The flowers all over the site are beautiful.

I cannot fault the site at all. Owners are so friendly.

We will certainly return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrstevewilliams 2 reviews from this member

 Great welcome. Excellent facilities. Nice and peaceful. Everything worked as it should.

Would highly recommend.

Will visit again at some point in the future. Shame about the weather though! 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 Arrived after a long journey from the lake district to a warm and friendly reception. We were able to choose our pitch. Lovely site with a river running through.

Easy access to Cheddar, 10 minute walk into the heart of the town, 15 minutes walk to the foot of the gorge.

Facilities on site were 5 star, my only bug bear was the push button showers.

Spring maintenance, grass cutting and pitch gravelling, was in full swing but wasn't really intrusive.

We are members of the CAMC which has a site next door but we found Cheddar Bridge site more intimate, better value for money and more aesthetically pleasing. Would we go again, probably not but only because we did and saw everything we wanted to in the area and for no other reason. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site in torrential rain so we were glad it was a hardstanding pitch, however the adjoining grass area seemed to drain very quickly.

Very welcoming at reception.

Shower/toilet block was very clean and grey waste and Elsan point were also clean.

Sainsburys and a Tesco Express are a short walk away and the Gorge can be reached in about 20 minutes at our slow pace.

Television reception was good on the van aerial as was mobile reception (Virgin).

There is a Chinese takeaway ( Dragon House) that delivers to the site which we didn't use but others raved over their food.

This is an adults only site which suits us.

The Cheddar football club is a few steps away through the side gate boasting the cheapest beer in Cheddar for those with a thirst on.

We would definitely return but I think it would pay to book in advance

As they seem very popular and were full for the five nights we were there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 24 reviews from this member

 On the face of it, this adults only site should score an easy 10/10. It offers flat, hardstanding pitches, many with electric hook-up and some on the bank of the Cheddar Yeo river. It has big, clean showers and a laundry room, plus fresh scones were available at reception on our arrival.

The location of the site is good too. It's an easy 10-minute walk to Cheddar village - where the food and drink at the Bath Arms pub are delicious if a little pricey - and a further 15 minutes or so to the bottom of the gorge.

And yet. We didn't love it.

I've thought long and hard as to why, and think there are two reasons. The first is that the entrance to the toilet and shower block is within sight of reception, the site entrance and the road outside, and that the walk to it also involves passing right in front of some static caravans. Do this in a dressing gown and you can't help but feel a little exposed.

And the second reason is the pitches, which vary in size but many are too small and too closely-spaced to really feel comfortable. After we had parked our caravan - minus awning - on the pitch we had selected, we barely had room to get our car alongside.

Only later did we notice that there were separate car parking areas away from the pitches. This is the sort of thing that we're happy to accept on a family-friendly CL site, where the intention is to create a safe environment for children. However, on a large adults only site the intention can only be to squeeze some more pitches in and make more money.

I quite understand that a campsite is a business and have no problem with this. But the best sites - indeed, the best businesses - are the ones that make you feel that you, the customer, matter more than your money. This one doesn't quite manage it. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Homebrewstermatthew 13 reviews from this member

 This was a great site. Good facilities ; toilets in good condition, great size showers, 2 areas for washing up, fridge if you need somewhere to store milk etc and even a microwave! The site was well maintained and people were very respectful of one another in that it was a pretty calm and peaceful place.

It was a 10 minute walk into Cheddar and the nearest pub (Bath Arms) which served good beer and excellent food. The gorge was a 25 minute walk away.

It was well located to get onto the Strawberry Trail although we missed the sign so went round the houses (literally).

This is an adult only site. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nomadengland 12 reviews from this member

 Loved the site and the owners were very friendly. We were very unfortunate though on our visit that we were surrounded by people with dogs, whose owners thought it was ok to let them bark and yap at anything that moved within sight! One lady on her own had a pretty dog with a particularly screeching bark, and shut it outside constantly from morning till evening if she was present on the site. It screeched for ages at everyone moving within sight and she did nothing to stop it! That then set off a Jack Russell in front of us and one in the field behind us! Constant noise! We had friends visit with two dogs who were absolutely silent all day!

The site is situated conveniently for Cheddar and the Strawberry Line, although you do have to go along the main road for a short distance before starting the trail. Cheddar Reservoir is beautiful and there is a lovely walk around there.

We will probably visit again but hope that we are lucky to have more responsible dog owners around. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jencox21 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site!

Booking in from midday allowed us to pitch our tent and then go and explore the local area. Choose your own pitch in the tent field and for most of the week we had a car space on either side of our tent between us and neighbouring tents. Washing up area and fridge/freezer located close to the field - there was also a microwave in this area and the fridge freezer was large enough to hold everyone's milk (and other items!). 2 toilets on edge of camping area, with more toilets, 4 showers and washing facilities near the reception (approximately 3 minute walk from camp field). The site was well maintained and communal areas cleaned daily. Camping pods were popular and looked amazing, definitely keen to return and stay in one.

Owners were friendly and helpful, when about on the site.

Approximately 8 minute walk to Tesco/ Bath Arms and a further 20 minute walk into the gorge. This site was well located for hiking and venturing further afield. We were keen to walk about and cheddar walkers website provided River Yeo loop, which could be picked up on the route into the village. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nanny 22 7 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant adult only site. Check in was polite but not particularly friendly. Told to chose our own pitch. Pitches vary in size and although ours was fairly large the ones either side were quite small. Toilet and showers were very clean and although there are only 2 showers I never had to wait. Very conveniently situated in the village with a Tesco and Sainsbury within walking distance. The site is next to a church and the bells chime every 15 minutes which did not bother me but O/H found them very disturbing at night. Dogs bothered me more. There are signs stating dogs to be kept on leads at all times but most people seemed to think this didn't apply to them and just let their dogs run loose. Not a site we would return to for these reasons. 


Previous     183 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheddar Bridge Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheddar Bridge Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cheddar Bridge Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement