Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Hill Farm Holiday Village

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Green Hill Farm Holiday Village Reviews

Green Hill Farm Holiday Village
New Road
Landford
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 2AZ
Tel: 01794 324117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 127 Reviews
                8/10 from 127 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Etaylo 2 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site nothing to dislike.

All facilities are good and very clean.

Nice touch also having a takeaway menu from the local pub.

Can recommend this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rustyw00 1 review from this member

 This is a great site, we will definitely return for another short break one day.

The pitches are all very spacious and lots of space all around, plenty of room to run and roam!

We found all the facilities excellent, and cleaned regularly.

Only little niggle for us is there is only one shower block and itís not near the touring tent/non electric grass pitches.

They also only have 2 washing up sinks next to the toilets in the middle of the camping area, but a lovely 6 sink area, that was hardly touched as itís next to the shower block as not near the camping area.

That said we never had to really wait too long.

But the toilet block near the whole touring area and camping pods could do with being a bit bigger given its high use.

The whole sight is extremely well maintained, and all staff were friendly.

We made use of a couple of bookable activities for the kids, which they enjoyed and very easy to book and pay for via a QR code in our welcome pack.

All activities end at 6pm, which is a bit of a shame as an after dinner game of crazy golf or table tennis is handy for our older children.

The play park is great and handy being right next to the bar area.

The lakes and walks all around are beautiful and we only left site once over the weekend on foot for a trip out into the new forest which is accessible straight from the site.

Highly recommend for families. Couples would probably e joy it most weekdays out of school holidays, only because it is so popular for families. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Simon3 1 review from this member

 Loved it. Ideal weekend camping getaway, can't fault it. Nice big pitches, facilities were great.

Bar area was perfect for watching football with table app service.

Would defo come again, our 2 little chihuahuas had a great time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Larajb 1 review from this member

 Pitch size was great, gave us ample space for us and the 2 dogs. Site was very clean and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Too close to park and bar which meant that the evening by the fire pit wasn't as relaxing. But it was school holidays and great to see kids enjoying themselves.

Found an adults only section which looked great so will book that if we go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Petros678 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights in July in a tent. We stayed on pitch 126 which was opposite the playground. Advantages you can watch the children playing while near your tent. Disadvantages feels like camping in a creche playground, till almost 10:30pm. Curfew seemed pretty slack.

The pitch was slightly sloping so any objects placed on the table inside the tent would slide slightly. Moving the tent towards the level ground meant being closer to the gravel track separating you from the caravan opposite (so little in the way of view). I never asked for a quiet pitch as new to camping, so my mistake. Couldn't use adult only area as had toddler with us.

I would ask for pitch behind the recreation field away from shower block. Better views. The pitches opposite playground are in a slight dip and large trees to the boundary.

There are lots of facilities, crazy golf, trampoline, playground and outside gym. Some are extra.

There's a cafe serving alcohol, snacks and drinks which is next to playground. Covered outside area. Handy for when its raining.

Showers and toilets are clean and plenty of hot water. Not many queues unless cleaning taking place.

Plenty of places to visit nearby.

Plenty of pubs nearby too, for various budgets.

It felt pretty crowded considering it was Covid spacing in operation but this maybe the norm as no expert. Reminded me of music festival camping. Would I visit again. No. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged600 20 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were booked with covid measures in place, we were booked in on the adults only field. We were shown our spot at the top of the field by a warden and set up our van with awning etc.

The field was slightly sloping and a fishing pond was in the same area. The toilets were cleaned on a regular basis throughout our stay. Were always clean and never packed, showers were good and again never having to wait.

There were dog walks within the adult field through a wood or a longer walk around the perimeter of the site which is massive.

At weekends it gets packed with families on the camping field, our adult field also gets packed with some customers disagreeing on the closeness of the vans/tents etc, wardens were brought in to sort this out!

They were doing some building works at the time and it was one way in and the same way out on a narrow road. There's a bar and cafe and each night a different mobile catering van comes on sight with different menus etc, we didn't use either.

The site is a 10 minute walk from the new forest and you can reach the forest on the perimeter walk I mentioned. Beautiful area and we travelled in our car to Swanage and other places some of which I can't remember.

Overall lovely site and location, just gets too packed at weekends in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Andyham648 9 reviews from this member

 Campsite is very well laid out with plenty of space between vans on adults only side.

Down side is lack water facilities near the pitches.

Toilets were closed for refurbishment which meant that it was a fair walk to the families toilet block.

Be warned the prices have been raised quite a bit this year and they also charge for dogs this year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GandM 8 reviews from this member

 Positives

Large spacious site

Friendly staff

Useful for bus (X7) every 2 hours to Southampton or Salisbury. Although not a bus-stop at the top of the campsite drive we found that by putting our hand out the bus would stop. Also on return by asking the driver if he/she would stop at Green Hill Farm it was no problem.

Negatives

In our opinion the site is massively overpriced for Low Season (£25/night in the last week of January) The web-site for 2019 stated it was £21:50. A massive increase for that time of the Year.

Another major problem is the lack of Drinking Water Taps. We were in the Adult Area next to the lake and it was 150 yds to the nearest tap and 250 yds to the one next to the only main shower block that was open. Definately many more water taps required!

TV reception is also pretty ropey. With our aerial fully extended we could only receive BBC1 and BBC2 (no ITV CH4 or CH5). Perhaps some fully serviced pitches would be a good idea with a TV hook-up.

After visiting more than 80 sites in the past 12 years, will we be returning?. No 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dens 8 reviews from this member

 Green Hill Farm campsite is an amazing find. We wish we had discovered it before.

Open all year, the facilities are warm with underfloor heating and controllable hot showers on a cold day.

The pitches are generous and not too close to each other, with great views of the lakes or trees. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Itís peaceful and so near to the New Forest for cycling and walking. There is a great bar on the site.

We will return very soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 9 reviews from this member

 We pitched in the adult only section on hard standing.

The facilities are good, warm and no complaints.

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

There was a small shop in reception and a useful information room.

The bar was open Friday and Saturday, but we didnít use this amenity.

Wi Fi (free) could only be accessed at the bar.

Dog walk and fishing lakes.

Large fields for camping and families, and there is plenty to keep them occupied.

Well situated for New Forest, and all visitor attractions including Beaulieu etc.

Brilliant little Nisa shop at Wellow

We approached from Salisbury on A36 but the sign for New Road in Landford is non existent, there is no brown site direction sign on the road to direct to Green Hill so we missed the turning and had to drive on to Wellow and turn back. Look for the turning to Nomansland.

The postcode directed the sat nav to a car repair, about 200yards short of the turning to Green Hill Farm.

The entrance to the site is good. A £10 deposit gets you a key to the barrier gate, refundable on leaving.

The site has changed hands and whilst all the basics are there it could do with some money spent on it, the chemical loo emptying points were basic and one was blocked, which was unpleasant and almost overflowing, no flushing just a hosepipe with low pressure to swill the pan in both points.

Lots of seasonal caravans, and popular, would we return. Probably not, we prefer touring only sites. 


Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Hill Farm Holiday Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Hill Farm Holiday Village?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Green Hill Farm Holiday Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement