Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scotch Corner Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Scotch Corner Caravan Park Reviews

Scotch Corner Caravan Park
Scotch Corner
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL10 6NS
Tel: 01748 822530
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 96
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 32 Reviews
                6/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

This site has so much potential but the toilets are in desperate need of a refurb, or at least a good clean and a light bulb, and the owners are very rude. We felt extremely uncomfortable the whole time we were there. The lady would 'clean' the men's toilets (with a dirty mop and dirty water) every time my son and husband were trying to shower or wash, highly inappropriate! The male owner told us off several times for ridiculous things like parking the car in front of the caravan instead of alongside it, and when we asked if we could be pitched next to our relatives who were camping with us he replied 'that's where you've been put and that's where you'll stay', despite all the pitches around us being empty! This is also the most expensive site we've ever stayed on at £64 for 2 nights without an awning or anything. Needless to say, we won't be returning. If you are looking for an overnight stay close to the motorway, you don't mind using your own facilities and money is no object then this site is ideal, otherwise I wouldn't recommend it I'm afraid.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eclectus 30 reviews from this member

Stopped here for one night en route to northumberland. Wanted a short stop over to break the journey.

Must admit was very apprhensive about stopping here after reading the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised.

Ok the major downside to this site was the toilet facilities - they really do need a major overhaul but certainly serve a purpose, but very dated. This site could be so much better if the facilities were just tidied up a bit. A key is needed to use the facilities from the reception - deposit required.

The good points are without doubt its location to the A1. It is just off the A1 - easy to find and easy to rejoin the A1 when leaving.

We had a nice level grassed pitch with electric hook up. Surrounded by very pretty trees and the noise from the a1 was not a problem at all- in fact never noticed it. There is an excellent dog walking area on site which our dogs loved- especially with an abundance of rabbits in the early morning. There is a public house near by just off the site. - didn't use so can't comment.

Could comment about the surrounding area as only stopped for one night

The site owners/wardens were very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely use again. Thank you for making us feel welcome

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kennetts 1 review from this member

We have just come back from this camp site and we had a lovely stay we used it as a base to explore the area which was lovely so we did not spend a lot of time at the site itself

Yes you can hear the A 1 at night but this did not bother us at all

The toilet bock is old but it is clean and there is plenty of hot water for the showers but the showers are a bit slow

My boys thought that is was very funny to watch the owner running around on her golf cart but she was very friendly and helpful

We would go again as it is a good base to explore the area

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PGB314 2 reviews from this member

My daughter and I have stayed here under canvas each September for a number of years to do some walking and as a base for me to drop her off at the start of the Great North Run. We bought a caravan this year so have now stayed in this a couple of times.

The site is fairly quiet with all the basic needs and is kept clean and tidy by the very friendly and helpful couple who own it. There is a pub nearby that does food and you can walk to from a back gate of the site but unfortunately we have not tried it.

The site is dog friendly as long as you keep it on the lead, however you can let it off in a large dog walking area which is also provided with a suitable bin at the exit/entrance.

This will continue to be one of our regular sites.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Danboy5864 2 reviews from this member

Very disappointing. Field was like a bog. Even just to walk to the car became an ordeal resulting in mud everywhere. Toilet block was from the ark, as were the owners. Nothing to entertain the kids. Little wonder why we could book up at last minute for bank holiday weekend. In summary, only use if you are about to fall asleep at the wheel and need somewhere to hook up your caravan for the night.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 10 reviews from this member

We have just spent 2 nights at this site. The site is quite level but they have a rabbit problem and there are pock holes here and there where the rabbits are starting a new warren. The toilet block lighting left much to be desired, they are activated on movement and as I was alone in the block all the lights went out. Needs longer on the timer. The lads said the gents were dirty and they would not use the showers, the ladies showers were lukewarm and not very clean. We went with friends and although there was plenty of room we were separated although not too far away. The owners were very helpful, sometimes overly so. There were a few people with children but they were were well behaved and weren't a nuisance. The site is situated next to the A66 and you can hear traffic most of the time. We walked to the local hotel 'The Vintage Inn' we found everything overpriced and the decor very dated. There was only one other couple having a meal so we had one drink and left. Richmond is a short drive away but worth a visit, there are lots of shops and pubs to have a meal. There is also the Castle and the DLI museum and a market on certain days.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PGB314 2 reviews from this member

We have been visiting this site for a week each September for a number of years using it as a stepping stone for the Great North Run and have found it to be ideal. The owners are friendly and helpful and keep the site in good condition; like any site you could pick fault if you wanted to.

On site there is a dog run with a waste bin at the entrance; the site facilities are fairly reasonable and clean. You can hear the A1 a little and occasionally there may be a military exercise but it has never been enough to bother us, even in a tent. As we have no children with us it would be unfair to comment other than we have seen no specific facilities for them.

There is a pub and restaurant close to the site though we have never used it. Being near the A1 it has easy access to nearby cities and Richmond is just up the road where you can get most of the things you need. We obtain our obtain our working boots and repairs from the boot makers Altberg in Richmond as they give emergency service and military discount. There are a great number of walks in the surrounding area and a few visitor centres, so plenty to keep you occupied.

We have now bought a caravan and will be visiting the site more often. For our needs the site scores highly but it all depends on what you want or expect.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Traveling seniors 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 2nd visit to scotch corner.

First visit was to attend a wedding in richmond but two days before my partner had a bad fall so could not walk very well even with a stick so the owner put us really close to the ladies toilet so she did not have far too go.

Our 2nd visit was to visit places she could not see on our first trip. On returning from shopping one day the owner told us we had a puncture & they would be round with his compressor to inflate the tyre. After problems to undo wheel nuts he told me of a garage in catterick where it could be repaired. All part of the service he told me. So for all you people who have not been to this

Site just ignore all complaints about the toilets & showers, there's nothing wrong with them. If you want to walk your dog turn left at the gate & you can walk it to darlington or turn right to richmond, plus you can also get the bus. The owners are 2 of the most pleasant people you could meet& they don't deserve all the bad reviews put on this site. We will be going back. The vintage hotel serves superb fish& chips.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JTNILES 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the first time in August for 2 nights, If you are looking for something quiet then this is the site, it is not to big, we did notice that it does not cater for children (no play area) however this did not bother us as we did not have our grand children with us. The owners are very nice people.

This site is an ideal stop over, off the A1 north and south bound.

I did find 2 problems with this site,

First is the toilet and shower block, very dated and not up to standard. (you do have to pay a £2. 00 deposit for a key if you want to use them which you get back on the return of the key)

The second the field we where on was very wet when we arrived and there hadn't been a lot of rain that day, so dread to think what it would be like if we had 2 days of rain.

Other wise a lovely site.

Would consider going back if they up dated the toilet block, That is a big must!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crispycat 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Scotch Corner Caravan Park.

Managed to get booked up with ease, 4 days before the bank holiday. Wonder Why??

Unfortunately, 3 days of rain over the August Bank Holiday weekend marred what could have been a great break. There were no hard stands available.

On arrival, we were greeted and shown to our pitch. As a seasoned caravanner, I don't take too kindly to being told how to reverse my unit. I imagine the help would benefit some. So, caravan on the grass and not level, I dared to suggest I would level up with the mover. I was told by the site owner that's where I want it and you won't use the mover.

Similar stories from other's too. Site owner stood and watched to make sure caravans weren't moved after being sited.

Toilets are a bit dated and would benefit from refurbishment. When asked if there was an easier way of emptying the waste, I was told no. So with a bad back, the waste master has to be lifted 5 bricks high to empty it. A bit of a health risk here.

A separate large dog walking area is provided, with mown edges to walk on. This is a welcome facility for dog owners. However, if your dog slips it's lead or practices escapology from your caravan, be prepared to be shouted at for not keeping your dog under control.

Access to a local restaurant is via a gate in the field. We didn't use this, but imagine it is ok if you get the weather. Out door seating was available.

Security was the owners car parked across the entrance from 10pm - 8am. Unlucky if you pop out for a takeaway and are not back before 10pm.

This site is perfect for overnight stops and is ideally placed on the A1 for travelling.

In summary:

1. If you are looking for a great stop over site - tick.

2. If you are looking for reasonably well kept site - tick.

3. If you want a site where customers come second to the money - tick

4. If you like to be told how to manouver your outfit - tick

5. If you like to be told you cannot level up your caravan - tick.

Or did I catch the owner on a bad day? Who knows. I won't be returning.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019