Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ugthorpe Lodge Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Ugthorpe Lodge Caravan Park
Guisborough Road
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 2BE
Tel: 01947 840518
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 125
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Les123 3 reviews from this member

Site had not long opened this year so the grass had recently been cut so our shoes had to come off before we entered the MH, lots of grass.

Checking in was easy and quick 2 nights with electric £48 not bad.

Give an electric card to open and shut he barrier, no deposit required, box on the gate for when your finished your stay to leave the card in.

Lots of info inside when checking in, where to go, who to contact and sold bits and pieces, I think things people had left or didnít want anymore.

Given a leaflet on rules for the site, straight forward.

Eldon point, water point, bins for rubbish all located nearby, easy to find and use.

Toilet block a bit out dated but the shower was hot.

Games room with a pool table- not used by us.

Pub on site not ran by the site, very good and if you have a dog itís dog friendly.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Margaretsmith2 1 review from this member

I have just had a lovely week at this campsite. On arrival my family were made to feel very welcome by the Warden and our children loved the sweet shop paying regular visits throughout the week. Bingo night in the lodge was enjoyed by all and the Sunday carvery is a must. The only thing that lets this site down is the toilets are a bit dated but I understand a new toilet block is to be built next year. My family will be paying this site another visit this year.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mollysmith 2 reviews from this member

We booked this caravan site after several friends had been over the last few years. They had told us how nice it was and how friendly and helpful the warden was. Well unfortunately the warden who had been there for several years has now left the site and a new warden/ owner has taken over, and what a difference it makes to the site. The shop wasn't stocked as it usually was. There are lots of rules and the warden is very strict and enforces them all! The site was a bit like a building site and work that was due to be finished still wasn't. The toilets were basic and dated. Although a new block were being built. There was a small play park for the kids but it was nothing special. It's a real shame as this site is in a beautiful place and ideal to explore the Whitby area.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Den1345 2 reviews from this member

We have been to this site a few times over the past few years and have always had a really great time. This year has been totally different. There is a new owner although it is still in the same family. The site fees have gone up from £16 per night including electric to £19 per night. If you have an extra car you have to pay £5 extra per night and awnings are now £2 per night. There are no extra facilities on the site to take into account the price increase. I understand that fees go up but it's an extra £4 per night for a caravan electric and awning. The shop is not as well stocked as it used to be and is not open as long as it was. The whole atmosphere on the site has change from a friendly happy site to a place where we feel really uncomfortable. We loved this site but now we are looking elsewhere for our summer break.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Modenalee 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to Ugthorpe lodge. Really nice quiet site with a lovely old pub on site. The showers and toilets are a little basic and dated but clean. Pub is welcoming for families and there is also a lovely pub nearby in Ugthorpe itself called the black bull. A little isolated as far as location goes but within easy reach of Whitby and Grosmont to catch the fantastic steam trains there where you can visit Heart beat country and pickering etc.

Nice and safe for the kids as traffic in and out of site was minimal and plenty of open space for them to run around and be 'kids'.

Would definitely return if in the area and at £68 for 4 nights over the bank holiday in the school holidays is a bit of a bargain for a tourer, awning and 2 adults, 2 children :D

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 98Scott 1 review from this member

I was a bit confused by the website saying no tents but obviously they do accept tents as we were one of 6 tents located on the campsite. I loved the on site pub which we visited for our dinner and the peaceful and friendly campsite. We had a great time and will be back later in the year when the temperature rises.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Haztaz 1 review from this member

9 of us booked and went to Ugthorpe for a week in August. The Warden was very accommodating, pleasant and helpful. He went out of his way to make us comfortable so we could enjoy our 'holiday'. We have since been back for a last minute weekend (rang at 6pm - arrived at 7pm !) and again - felt welcomed and wanted.

The facilities are clean and tidy and the views are bootiful ! The Lodge pub is on site and has bingo, pool table and meals.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M n M 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3-night stay (Thurs to Sunday) at this site and were very pleased with it. On arriving there we were met by the warden, who was very helpful, taking us to our pitch and helping us to reverse in. The pitch was spacious, and relatively level.

The site was quiet, clean and family friendly (although the only thing for smaller children to do is a table tennis room). The toilets are not exactly far, but I wouldn't have wanted to be caught short in the middle of the night had I been in one of the tent pitches, as in the dark, with no lighting to speak of it would have seemed far! I would describe the washing and toileting facilities as 'no frills', however they were clean and the water was hot, free and copious. There is a small shop on site and a pub which we popped into, it was ok as pubs go, pleasant and friendly, adults enjoying a drink.

All in all I think this campsite is excellent value for money. It is a ten minute drive to Whitby, a little longer to Robin Hood's bay. Ten minutes in the opposite direction to Staithes.

There is a Sainsbury's in Whitby and a Co-op too and plenty of things to do in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dlmbt662 1 review from this member

Stayed here for two nights. very friendly staff. manager showed us to our pitch and offered assistance if needed in setting up.

There was a little shop and Bar / Restaurant on site which was dog friendly - food was good and larger was well kept -

Dog walk on site. Showers hot and clean

Good base for Whitby and North Yorkshire moors railway -

Great value for money very difficult to say anything negative about this site. The only small niggle was that when we booked we were unable to make debit or credit card payment for the deposit over the phone, this had to be paid in person at the site before the visit or postal payment by cheque in advance

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mojo-69 7 reviews from this member

Had a lovely stay at this camp site, had a old friend come and visit which was nice, showers hot and clean, plenty of things for kids such as place to play ball games, a playground and also an indoor games room. Meals were gorgeous.

Only problem we had were noisy neighbours but the owner was very helpful in sorting it for us. Will be returning again ideal for whitby. We also visited heartbeat country which is well worth a visit and robin hoods bay. Overall I would give it 9 out of ten.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!