Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Willow House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Willow House Caravan Park Reviews

Willow House Caravan Park
Willow House
Wigginton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 2RH
Tel: 01904 750060
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

A couple of nights here on this adults only Site over a weekend. We had a pitch on the non CL part of the Site; very level with lots of space. Staff were very helpful on arrival, offering us a choice of pitches and showing us all the facilities. The Site was very quiet with a mixture, mainly we thought, of permanent and touring caravans. There are also some camping pods and a well stocked farm shop. It is less well set up for motorhomes as we couldn't find a grey water disposal drain and water taps, although there are several, were in the middle of the grass area, fine for filling a caravan drum but less so for a motorhome. There is lots of space in the showers but they get quite busy in the mornings.

There are buses every hour to and from York from just outside the Site and the Clifton Moor Retail Park is easily accessible by footpath - watch out crossing the Ring Road!

All in all, a good Site we'll be happy to revisit.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tilly26may 10 reviews from this member

We stayed in the CL section, it had a cosy cul de-sac type formation surrounded by hedges and bushes offering a degree of seclusion. The owner comes across as old school no nonsense type but is generally friendly. The CL facilities are very good, the toilet block although not on your doorstep exactly, was warm, very generous in size and clean but do avoid the second most furthest away shower cubicle as it has poor pressure and it constantly rotates around the temperature range from cold to scalding hot without being able to control it. At night you can hear the road noise but not bad enough to keep you awake. The access is good and the site is easy to find and only 20 minutes from York centre is it in a good location. It is not possible to walk to Wigginton from the site and didn't really experience it, but did go for fish and chips to Millers which was excellent value and quality and the queue reflected its popularity but please don't be put off by my saying that as they are super speedy at serving. Would I go again? It's definitely a maybe ☺️

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Edwa43 6 reviews from this member

First trip away in the caravan chose this site for its location. Arrived and customer service was as expected.

Very pleasant.

Given an option of a couple of pitches. Lovely laid out and very spacious plots.

Electric and water right near the pitch.

Toilets and shower block great. All disabled access. Clean, mop available to clean up after yourself too.

Very close to shops, which we used as this was the maiden voyage there was loads we needed.

Easily a bus ride in to York itself, perhaps too far to walk comfortably.

Very lovely site. Will certainly return

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger148 10 reviews from this member

We stayed on the CL part of the site, which was well maintained with all normal facilities.

The CLs Toilets were kept immaculate during the time of our 3 day day visit and the Gents Showers were a generous size.

The surrounding grounds were all nice and tidy and as others report there is a shop where limited items can be bought. This building also contains a cafe.

At the site entrance there is bus stop with an hourly service to and from York City centre.

Would certainly go again to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 20 reviews from this member

We had stayed at this site before and find it really handy for York with a bus stop at the gate. The wet room block was new to us and saved a long trek to the old loos. However the toilet bowls were all unpleasantly, badly stained. I have researched the products for toilet cleaning compatible with septic tanks and there are several on the market, so this could be addressed.

The site is quiet and we were delighted to see moorhen chicks beside the pond. The farm shop is disappointing, not even stocking fresh bread. Mixed feelings then but on the whole would recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 21 reviews from this member

This was our third stay at this site.

The site has a great shop and cafe on site, which serves a to die for Full English Breakfast.

There are numerous pitches for tourers and spaces for tents at teh bottom of the site near the pond. Great for dog walking at the bottom of the site.

Two toilet/shower blocks which are okay.

Little tuck shop serving chips in the evening is a new thing but they were not very good.

Bus stop immediately outside for the 20 minutes journey into York.

York has everything and the highlight for us was the Dungeons, the actors are surely worth Oscars for their brilliant work. Pubs galore, the Guy Fawkes Inn is brilliant, shops galore, Roman history galore, lovely river banks, theatre.

Also vitsited Thirsk which has a lovey Town Square on a par with Delft

The site has no playground for children just nature which is in all around at this site.

Main retail park 2 minutes drive away.

Will return again

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davie T-boy 17 reviews from this member

Great location, just off York ring road, and lovely site. Very welcoming and helpful Lady Warden, decent facilities, with farm shop, hair/nail parlour and pet grooming shop on site. Great for fishing (wish I liked fishing!), and would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marspain 2 reviews from this member

Our second stay at this site and whilst we enjoyed our stay and the dog walking facilities, I'm sad to report that the washrooms are looking a bit shabby with missing toilet seat (surely its not a toilet if you can't use it?) and a lack of bleach, or the environmentally friendly equivalent, for the loo. They were cleaned daily but only with mild detergent with the resultant staining.

Beware of the pitches nearest the toilets as they get flooded. After two hours of moderate rain we returned to find the pitch hard standing under water and as we had the awning up, it caused quite a mess with about 4' of grey/muddy water covering the awning matting. You had to wear wellingtons as it was too deep for shoes. We moved pitch and although not as bad, it still flooded after heavy rain. I suspect a problem with drainage.

On the plus side, the washrooms are good to use with all facilities in one room. The shop/cafe is just as good and very friendly staff.

We'd have put up with the issues around the washrooms, but the flooding did cause problems and could have resulted in water damage to our personal effects.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DeeDee13 3 reviews from this member

We arrived around lunch time to begin our 5 night stay. Willow House was very easy to find from directions. Check in was quick and easy. There is a small area for Caravan Club members as you enter the park. The reception is well marked. Before entering the main park there is a farmshop and cafe. You are given a code for the barrier. There were quite a few caravans on an orderly site. Camping was at the end. We did not have electric hook up so could go a bit further from the caravans.

We were the only tent for a couple of nights. We found Willow House very peaceful. You could hear road noise in the far distance.

The facilities were at the beginning of the Park so was a bit of a walk past all the caravans. There were 4 bathrooms with Shower, Toilet and Basin. There was one chair in each and all were quite spacious. There are 2 separate toilets. A wash up area was at one end of the facility block. I see on the website there is a laundry but we were not told about this on checking in, luckily I had no intention of doing a wash.

The whole park was kept neat and tidy, bathrooms very clean, would have preferred all of the toilet seats to have a lid, to put extras as some hooks were broken. Lots of people had dogs, there was a dog walk but lots of caravaners walked through the tents with the dogs. The site seemed mainly set up for caravans.

We used the cafe for a breakfast, it was very good, the cafe was very clean, coffee very good.

Outside the Park is a bus into York (number 40) which took about 8 minutes. It came at 42 mins past the hour and was £3. 20 return. Much cheaper than £2. 40 per hour parking in York. Return time was 05 mins past the hour, last bus at 7. 05pm. Parking in York after 6pm was £2 until midnight.

York itself is fabulous, I loved all the narrow little streets, very old buildings, different squares with beautiful buildings, lots of independent shops and coffee shops. Lots of places to eat. We visited the Georgian House owned by the Fairfax family. The staff are very knowledgeable about the house and made it all the more interesting.

We visited York Air Museum, probably about 15 minute drive. Very interesting. Quite emotional reading individual stories.

We spent a day in Harrogate, about 30 mins away. Had a lovely lunch in Le Deli in Beulah Street (the toilets were up a large flight of stairs). We stopped to view a battle site on Marston Moor (on the road to Tockwith) of the English civil war, Easy to imagine it with the detail of the battle on the site. I found it very atmospheric.

There is a Tesco just a few minute drive from the site.

I would recommend Willow House as it is an Adult only site which is nice during the summer holidays and more so York itself.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bumblebush 4 reviews from this member

A fairly small site that as far as I can see is split into three sections the first is a CL site for Caravan club members, secondly there are the camping pods and thirdly the main body of the caravan site, given over to what looks like people who leave their van here for longer periods, resulting in most of the park being very quiet.

There is a shop on site selling limited provisions and an attached café, for hot food and snacks, both close at 4pm. On a Friday the side of the café becomes a takeout selling fish and chips they are well worth a try.

The site is long and thin resulting in an avenue of vans; we were down the bottom of the site and had to walk the full length of the site for showers and to empty the waste, not ideal. The showers or wet rooms were very large and free to use with a controllable electric shower, these and the toilets were very clean and well kept.

The site boasts an electric link up it was not fully serviced with standpipes offering water and grey waste drain below this. You cannot link your van to the water supply. The water pressure was also quite low for a site this size and our drain was blocked.

This is not a quiet site during the day with constant traffic noise in the background, only broken by little boy racers, bikers and ambulances.

Around about there are numerous things to do and see with plenty of large name shops and outlet stores. Eating can be done in the on site café or at the shopping outlets, there is no local pub. Use the park and ride for York it’s great.

Will I go back? Because of the lack of serviced sites, only one toilet/shower block for approx. 30 vans, sorry No.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4201 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019