Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Invernahavon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Newtonmore > Invernahavon Caravan Park > Reviews

Invernahavon Caravan Park
Glentruim
Newtonmore
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH20 1BE
Tel: 01540 673534
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2022 to 10/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Missteree 28 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site and excellent service from start to finish.

Prompt communication from Kerri about our pitch and reasonable cost at £54 for 2 nights in high season with EHU on grass.

Site was busy but is very large and spacious. We liked how caravans, tents and motor homes on grass with EHU were mixed rather than separate.

It had a lovely feel about it and was quiet through the night. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful with our EHU issues (all our fault, nothing to do with the site)

Modern, clean toilets and showers with plenty soap and hot water.

Only 2 sinks for dishwashing which were rather busy but timing is everything as seasoned campers will know!

The site is well maintained, grass cut short and the views are amazing - just remember your midgie repellent for the evenings. After all you are visiting the Highlands of Scotland!

There is lots to do nearby. We visited the Highland Wildlife Park, Landmark Forest Adventure Park and the Highland Folk Museum. All within 30 minute drive.

Local shops are short drive away in Newtonmore or Kingussie.

We havenít done much camping recently due to joining the world of caravanners for a while but we had a great time and would definitely recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Natali 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved the place,

Stunning view,

Great location, safe environment,

Great toilet/shower/washing facilities.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, was able to accommodate us in short notice.

Definitely come back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynda Hannam 1 review from this member

 This was the first time we had stayed at this site but it will not be the last.

It is ideally situate just off the A9, and in a great spot. Having arrived there from a site where caravans were almost on top of each other, it was wonderful to have such roomy pitches.

The site itself is kept immaculate, this includes the gardening, reception and washrooms. There is a laundry room where washing machines hold a plentiful load.

In the centre of the site is an area specifically for tents which provides picnic tables. We found the staff very friendly and amenable on the occasions that we need information or advice.

It felt a very safe site and is surrounded by an abundance of walks. There are several places in the local towns of Newtonmore and Kingussie to eat and drink, we went to The Glen several times and were not disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Digby13 10 reviews from this member

 I don't know if the showers have been remodelled since the 2018 review describing them as 'miniscule', but they aren't! In fact they are bigger than most club site showers, and I have stayed on a LOT of club sites!

Apart from that it's a very nice spacious and well maintained site, probably reflecting it's Club origins. They pricing structure is nice and simple and not excessive for a private site. The views are great. The Highland Folk Museum in Newtonmore is well worth a visit.

Sandwiched between the A9 and a river it's probably more of a stop on a journey than a base. You are aware of traffic though it's very much background, and is much quieter at night. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jakki54 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site, we visited out of season whilst exploring the wonderful surrounding lochs and mountains. WiFi still a little hit and miss but better than it used to be. We always use satellite for TV coverage.

Good facilities on site such as washing up room, laundry well equipped albeit expensive if using drier! Shower areas ok but sadly not much thought for the user though. Miniscule cubicle, make sure you hang clothes and shoes otherwise they will get wet, shower curtain keeps blowing inwards and sticking to you while showering plus all showers are at an incredibly high position without adjustment!

Therefore if you are short or if showering children you might feel as if you're drowning - really stupidly high but could be easily rectified. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magsie 54 reviews from this member

 A very spacious site, with generous hard-standing pitches and good facilities including washing and drying machines. Formerly a Caravan Club site, it is now open to all campers, including tents. Convenient for a night halt (less than half a mile off the A9) or a longer stay to enjoy the wooded scenery. There are even three well-equipped 'gipsy caravans' for glamping.

The free WiFi worked well across the site. However, there was no TV signal and very poor mobile phone coverage.

The nearest shops and cafes are 3 miles away in Newtonmore, which has a Highland Folk Park, as well as bus and train links to Inverness or Perth.

National Cycle Route 7 (Sunderland to Inverness) passes very near the site on a separate cycle path, making it easy to ride into Newtonmore or beyond. Also plenty of opportunity to walk or fish locally. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vintagekate 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very spacious pitches which you choose yourself, reliable electric and clean, heated shower block with good shower cubicles, and plenty of hot water.

Woods and river to explore right by the site, and a backdrop of a beautiful mountain. No entertainment or club etc but this for us was to the site's advantage as we were looking for quiet.

Small park for children, though ours were more interested in den building in the adjacent woods. Wifi on some parts of the site, more so closer to reception but it didn't reach as far as our pitch which was fine by us!

Can't comment on tv as we didn't bother taking one. Very helpful staff throughout (we emailed as the reception is not always open, and got prompt replies always). Loved it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gkkad 19 reviews from this member

 Really pleasantly surprised by this camp site and one that we will definitely go back.

It is a surprisingly big site, with pitches well spaced out and of a good size.

Toilet blocks are fine and look as if the sink areas have been upgraded, possibly for this year. I noticed from other posts complaints of no shower curtains - these are now in place along with clothes hooks.

Don't rely on getting anything from the shop though - my wife made the mistake of picking up 4 toilet rolls before quickly pitting them back ( £4. 99 for 4). Co-ops in Newtonmore and Kingussie, good chip shop in Newtonmore - the one as you go out of town is best and also at a good breakfast in Dalwhinnie at the snack shack 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 A last minute decision to try this site as an on-route stopover, rather than going into Aviemore. How lucky we were to drop in on the siteís last weekend before winter closure, Iím sure we will be back.

So conveniently located, just ľ mile off the A9, but so quiet! Big hand-standing pitches with TV points and power hook-ups. The site itself is edged with trees and has views up to the hills.

While the toilet/shower block is un-heated, itís clean, sufficient for the number of pitches and thereís lots of hot water (and mops for showers).

I can't really give a full review after just one night at the very end of season, but I will be back ! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Archie is great 1 review from this member

 Good Points:- Trusting warden, we hadn't realised it was cash only and didn't have enough, we were told to park and the next day would be fine to pay. Large pitches, plenty of room for a car, caravan and awning. Grass areas kept tidy, toilet block clean, nice dog walk once you'd climbed up the hill at the back of reception.

Bad Points:- States toilet block recently refurbished but seemed very old fashioned to me! Only one plug all week in the dishwashing area which could have been a problem if the site had been busy ( however was very quiet for height of season), poor stock in 'shop' but probably wouldn't have mattered as 'shop' was also reception which wasn't open too often.

No private sink areas in toilet, no information on site offered on arrival/or on payment, eg apparently there was WiFi available but we weren't informed of this or of the availability of a tv booster cable that we could hire or buy. I feel this site could be much improved with a little injection of cash and enthusiasm. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Invernahavon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Invernahavon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newtonmore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3028 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement