Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Brightlingsea > Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site
Promenade Way
Brightlingsea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO7 0HJ
Tel: 01206 303421
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 38 Reviews
                6/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melmel74 33 reviews from this member

 We regularly visit Brightlingsea and know the area well. Having recently moved from tent camping to a small Eriba we decided to stay here to make a weekend end of it. Pros- great location, level and dry ptches all with ehu, great for seeing the stars on a clear night, clean facilities.

Cons - confusing booking system - can book online via their website. The phone number on the site is a different company which I think owns the static park across the way. You then get given a mobile number for a warden. When we arrived there were no wardens on site but a queue of people by reception all calling the same mobile number. Didn't see a warden at all. There is no barrier and anyone can walk into the site which I found a bit concerning.

All in all we will be back as often visit the area, just think it would feel better with a warden and more security. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boldie42 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed here many times but first time since hard standings have been put in, on arrival we were told to park our caravan with the door to the left why I don't know as this would be a massive problem if you haven't a mover or your not too good at reversing, we would have to have pulled onto our pitch and had to go over very soft soil with our car a impossible task, I explained to the very nice warden lady and she saw my point so am sure the problem will be sorted.

Cant comment on the new toilet block as it was closed. Also there was glass mixed in the soil on the new seeded awning areas so be carful, looks like the soil has not been screened. Hope these problems get sorted as its very dangerous.

The site is in a great location in this lovely town. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dofeccles 1 review from this member

 After reading past reviews about the toilets on site I was concerned about booking but took a chance. When we arrived the site looked very pleasant and manager very helpful. He explained that they had only just taken over the site and had just got the grass cut down from 3' high. After a shaky start no hot water, and electricity tripping it settled down to a very pleasant 11 night stay. There was a marked improvement over the stay and will return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights and the site is attractively placed for walks to the harbour (pretty and a good restaurant), the village (two pubs, a community hall with weekly entertainment), the foot ferry to Mersea Island, the Lido (very near and attractive) and Batemans Tower (excellent cafe).

Earlier reviews had warned of some aspects of the site itself and the new owners have a long way still to go to bring it up to scratch.

The pitches are not marked. You just choose where on the mown field you want to be. The Manager is helpful and conscientious. The toilets remain a disaster area, covered in weeds and cobwebs. The showers have dirty tiling with mouldy grouting. There is no security whatever; anyone can just step over the wire fence or use the stiles at either end to gain access.

All in all, a very good location but poor value at £25 per night for the current lack of facilities and security. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonywr4 1 review from this member

 Just visited the campsite, we stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children. The pitches were nice and flat, we pitched right next to a large boating lake.

There is an excellent beach nearby, Coop and Tesco express nearby.

We had an electric hookup there were plenty of these.

The site was clean and tidy and well maintained, the toilet block however was in need of modernisation. We would not use the site again due to the standards of the toilet blocks, I camped in the 1980s with more modern facilities.

The warden was a lovely old guy who said it was onlt a temporary job (that's lasted 37 years).

As ideal a location as it is sadly unless it recieved modernisation to the toilet block we could not visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lesliehs 13 reviews from this member

 We wanted a short local break and this site seemed worth a try, lots going for it, not least the location. We pre booked and the gentleman was very pleasant, on the phone and when we arrived. At £22 per unit it is not the cheapest site but with little competition nearby and the delights of Brightlingsea I guess he can justify it.

I would describe the site as 'old school' no frills but everything you needed. While we didn't use the loo or the shower block they seemed adequate, and clean, with toilet paper!

The pitches are all grassy and mostly level, with electric points to many and ample water points, Motorhomers note to take an adapter as it was not fitted with the usual screw on adaptor, it was a push and wait tap while you fill.

The real plusses of this site are the location, minutes from the sea and the sailing club and it overlooks a lovely lake, which has model yachts on it on a Sunday. A co-op, a spar and a Tesco express just minutes away in the town. 5 mins walk away is a great cafe, Batemans, serving some great food and right near the beach. We will be going back for sure. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cldxc32 3 reviews from this member

 Tend to agree with most other reviewers. Great location. Through the dinghy park and your by the sea. Take a walk up to the lighthouse. You will pass a lido and a very affordable cafe by a nice family friendly beach. Site is next to a lake used for model boating, and wildlife. Shops including a well stocked co-Úp just a couple of mins walk away. Run by an elderly couple who seem friendly enough but unable to contact when they are not on site. Very frustrating if you turn up and they are not there!

The toilet block needs a complete refurb. The toilets are cleaned daily but the window sills looked like they were cleaned once a year. The showers were a dribble and the cubicles had no shelves, just a hook behind the door and grubby looking. Lighting in the block was on a timer but seeing yourself shower at dusk was almost impossible and not that much better when the lights are on. Campsite lighting was mainly old and broken so take a torch for your night trips to the loo. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil.C 5 reviews from this member

 What can I say about this site.

When I phoned to book directly with the site I was led to believe that I was coming to a friendly, well managed and organised site. How far from the truth this could of been.

When we arrived I was duly informed that I was a day late for my booking, and that I should of been there the previous day. Not a good start considering I had asked them to send me confirmation of my booking, and any details about the site they could provide. I received nothing of the sort.

I had also given them all the details of what I wanted on mp pitch, one sleeping tent, one day tent, and a pup tent for my two boys two sleep in. Once I had erected the pup tent the owners/managers of the site then demanded another twenty pounds per night for the extra tent, needless to say I took it down, much to the disappointment of my two teenege boys. It must also be noted that I was not provided with a receipt for payment for the duration of our stay.

As regards the site itself, it is a beautiful little campsite, as previous reviews have written, the only huge downside was the toilet block, which I have to be honest in the day and age is nothing short of a disgrace, poor facilities, very out-dated and not even kept clean. So much so that the boys used to go to their aunts house to use her facilities, not good for what is quite an expensive site.

I have to be honest this was not the site I thought it was, and will not be recommending it to fellow campers. A shame, as it has a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leeze 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Pitched right by the boating lake where, on Sunday morning loads of really lovely model boats were going through their paces. Sat watching them whilst eating breakfast. Brilliant.

Great pub near Marina with good food a short distance away.

There was a party going on on Saturday evening at the nearby sailing club, however we were warned beforehand about that, but it all went very quiet shorty after 11. 30pm, so no problems there at all.

Plenty of hot water in the showers; with adequate washing/toilet facilities and no queues :-)

A lovely break on a great site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Wilcox1 1 review from this member

 We went to Lakeside last weekend and it was a beautiful site. As its name suggests it was situated beside a lovely lake with lots of swans, ducks and other bird life some of which came into the camp which was interesting.

The warden was really helpful on arrival and all amenities were good.

Brightlingsea itself was a short walk away and had lots of attractions including 8 pubs.

There was a brilliant cafe nearby where you could get reasonably priced cooked breakfasts and other meals/snacks. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Touring Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brightlingsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2685 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement