Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Yelloh Village Le Ridin

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Le Crotoy > Yelloh Village Le Ridin Reviews

Yelloh Village Le Ridin
Lieu Dit Mayocq
Le Crotoy
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80550
Tel: 0033 3 22 27 03 22
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 03/04/20 - 30/09/20

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigelbanks998 1 review from this member

Loved it. The site is beautiful with lots of flowers etc. The facilities on the site are adequate and the pool was well used due to the very hot weather. The pitch we had was quite a size and had electric and water. What more could you ask for. The restaurant is well presented and the bar staff are very friendly and even offered us free drinks now and again.

We would defo go back. Le Crotoy is a small town which holds markets near the sea. When the tide goes out, it goes missing for hours.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebeeglies 16 reviews from this member

This campsite has clearly had a major overhaul since previous reviews. We stayed here over the May bank holiday - 2 adults and 2 children (age 12 and 15) in a campervan with driveaway awning + 1 man tent which the 15 year old slept in.

The campsite has been recently taken over by Yello! who have clearly invested a lot. It is a 90 minute drive from Calais and arrangements can be made for a key to be left out if you arrive after reception closes at 6pm (we didn't try it but will in future). We received a really warm welcome from the staff who took the time to provide plenty of info about the local area as well as facilities on the site.

Wifi was very cheap (I think approx. €2 per day unlimited devices). The wifi was pretty strong although our pitch was close to reception.

Toilet/shower block was pretty good - always very clean (note - they are unisex). There is a nice play area for younger children with a couple of bouncy castles but not a big area for ball games.

The site is split with a new looking outdoor heated pool and restaurant across the (single track not busy) road which looked really good although weather wasn't nice enough for us to use (and we didn't eat there - they do takeaway as well). Pool opens from May 1st weather permitting. There was also a games room with table tennis/table football and books etc.

We hired bikes from the site (about €5 each per day). They are all bright pink which led to great embarrassment from the children but they were invaluable as the area is very flat and we cycled into the town centre (about ten mins) as well as to the station.

The town of Le Crotoy is charming with interesting architecture, a long boardwalk and fine sandy beach. There is plenty of choice for restaurants and bars + plenty of creperies etc. We caught the steam train to St. Valery which was a picturesque journey to another pretty town with lots of history (William the Conqueror sailed from here to Hastings!).

Lots to recommend the area and this campsite. We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

When you arrive at the entrance, having safely negotiated the long, narrow, ditch lined lane; and missed the potholes that even the tractors swerve to avoid, you gasp in amazement. The skill that is required to place so many chalets in such a small area is breathtaking. Touring pitches are placed in the odd spots amongst the chalets.

The sanitary facilities are kept very clean but are woefully inadequate for the site. 4 unisex showers, 2 dish washing sinks, 1 laundry sink.

They are adjacent to a large, well equipped play area for children, so the cubicles become good places for their hide and seek games. To wash their hands they stand right next to the pissoirs. Just outside the block, by the trampoline, is the chemical toilet point out in the open.

Across the outside road/track and across a bumpy field and next to the working gravel pit, are the facilities. In a dilapidated barn is the TV room/book shelf(containing a French/Latin dictionary!)and animation area. A large paddling pool is provided in the courtyard.

Good points:(1)site drains well afterall it is on gravel!

(2) It is close to the cycle track that goes right round the Baie de Somme.

(3) You can walk into Le Crotoy

(4) the young staff are very friendly if powerless to do anything.

(5) It has well maintained hedges and shrubs.

We stayed here because it has extended acceptance of Camping Cheques prior to peak season.

It is a chalet site and should never be considered as a touring site.

It is a good contender for the worst site we have stayed in.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LSMITH29 12 reviews from this member

This site is about an hour and a quarter from Calais. Its clean, well kept and friendly. The pool was emptied and clean whilst we were there (and got considerable use from my kids!)and the food at the restaurant was good and the staff friendly-and very tolerant of my limited french! The shop has a limited supply of various items and you can order baguettes/croissants etc each day for the following day. There are 2 toilet/shower blocks, both unisex and one newer than the other;these are cleaned 3 times a day. A small play area has swings and slides as well as an inflatable slide and a trampoline.

40 euros are needed on arrival as a deposit for an electronic fob to open the barrier-a bit of a pain if you have to leave early and want the money back before you go as reception doesn't open until 8. 30.

Theres a strict swimwear rule-speedo 'briefs' or trunks for men;bikinis or full cossies for women-not bikini top and shorts!The lifeguard will ask you to leave if you don't stick to it!

The local town of Le Crotoy is lovely-lots of restaurants and little shops. Mussels are aplenty and have to be tried! The historic sites of the Somme WW1 battles are about an hour away.

The site is very 'tight'-pitches are scattered amongst mobile homes and we struggled for an hour to get our twin-axle 'van in, with just enough room for the awning and car.

Facilities were good, but my 9 and 14 year old struggled for things to do but its a great site for younger children.

I would return to this site-but with a smaller 'van and without the children!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John + Jan 13 reviews from this member

Le Riding is ideally situated for a one-night stop, having entered France via Dunkirk. However, Kawan policy impedes this by not allowing passage through the gate except during office hours - and 8. 30 a. M. Is rather late. With Kawan sites, one is dependent on the quality of the staff. We were not best pleased when we were assured that we would get a meal on a Sunday night at the restaurant - only to find it closed.

French campsites are still not awake to the 7-day a week nature of camping (but only for a short period of the summer)

The pitches are also rather small and I would not wish to spend extended time there - or at other Kawan sites for this reason.

The weather was very wet for our visit but we really appreciated the quality of Kawan toilets and showers

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Puptastic 4 reviews from this member

We stayed on this campsite for 4 nights and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly. The pitch was quite a good size with hedged borders,electric & water facilities. The facilities (toilets / showers) closest to us near reception were ok but second block on the other side of the site were more modern. There was a nice play area behind the reception and the swimming pool (heated)& bar where across the road. Here there was also a barn with a seating area, books, games & pin ball machines etc. Our son (5 yrs old) had a great time playing football with Dutch, Belgian,French & English kids of all ages (4 to 17+) - many thanks to all of them we had a great time! The site is close to a working gravel pit which did start early but to be honest didn't bother us! The site is close to nice beaches.

Overall we had a lovely time - mainly due to the impromptu early evening football games!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Touringpair 1 review from this member

We Visited this site for the first time in June 2009. After we had booked we read the reviews and were a little worried. However the site was very good, Toilet blocks clean, Reception staff very very helpful.There are a lot of statics but many pitches of decent size for Caravan and motor homes. Hook up and water tap available near all pitches. Shop at reception has small stocks of cans, beers, wines etc. Bread has to be pre-ordered the day before(this is usual on sites in France) If you take cycles the area has cycle paths within 2 miles of site. Le Crotoy nearby is very interesting its has beaches by the river estuary.Market on Fridays. We regularly cycled to St Valery all along good cycle paths. There are recommended cycle trails available from tourist information in Le Crotoy. Or visit website for Somme Bay, lots of information to download.Would recommend this site and this area. We liked it enough to go back again this year and would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BillyH 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from what looked like a great site viewed on the internet,  well how wrong we were.

Our first venture into France with the new Van, what a let down, wife says she never wants to go back and sorry to say on condition of this site I would not blame her.  

Travel from the ferry port was simple enough and the site was found with no problem just a 1. 25hr trip from the port. Found with no problem I said well its easy just look out for the 2 quarries and the site sits between them.

Take your ear plugs because they can start work from 4:30 in the morning, the noise of trucks loading and reversing , gravel shoots running and even the odd blasting sounds, never mind you will at least have a early breakfast.

Now the arrival. Though informed there is always a English speaking member of staff on duty during the peak season  we never saw  them during our stay. So booking in was a little confusing. Show to our pitches was a adventure also, there is no way you can pitch a van on to most of the pitches with out a motor mover.

On our visit I observed two vans get damaged getting off the pitch to leave due to the tight access to the pitch and roads, I say roads I really mean gravel tracks, which can flood when it rains. Why does it flood  the roads  you ask, well its because the pitches are nothing more than dust bowls. Well used with little grass covering  and all humps and bumps. Set in poorly maintained hedged plots. Each pitch has electric hookup of varying  oltages  from 4 to 10amp of which they charge extra the higher you go, No problem except we pre booked the highest and on arrival was asked to pick any one of the four pitches we booked for our party and  informed  they are all the same  when the others only paid for 4amps with their tents.

Each had it own water standpipe, we had to disinfect ours first and unblock its drain, and the waste water disposal was  down a pipe mounted a foot above the ground. Now  down to the  important bits.

Toilet blocks are  unisex, ( not mentioned ) not kept clean and not many for the size of site, and though one block  is a lot newer than the other they both were not up to standard, seats missing and lack of cleaning. Same with the showers they are all in the same blocks. The laundry is a single washer and dryer token operated an cost about £8 to do a wash and dry load.

The swimming pool off site across the road next to the restaurant/bar which if the noise of the quarry does not stop you sleeping the noise from the late bar will.

The advertised peak season kids activity club well I am still waiting to see one.

There is a very small park  with bouncy castle  and so called football pitch across the road, and a table tennis table under a old shed.  

The surrounding area around  the site  was great, fantastic cycle paths, local villages and the local sea food restaurants are to die for.  And a visit to the Somme WW1 memorial battle fields is a place I would not have missed, what a  visit, just breathtaking.

Please do not stop visiting this wonderful area just be careful where you pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie22 1 review from this member

We booked this site independently and reading up on it, it looked a great site. When we arrived we found the pool to be across the road and bar. Our pitch was o.k, the site appeared to home mainly french static vans, obviously privately owned. The site was just down the road from a gravel pit and at 6oclock in the morning we were a woken to reversing lorries beeping, gravel being dropped. The pool however was nice for a few days, but it appeared to never be cleaned out - there was scum round the edge of the pool not a nice thought when your children want to go in it. We also had problems with the toilets the one block was closed for a few days, also I felt that they could of been cleaned out more often

However we did have a nice holiday as we met some good friends

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Columbia 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a shortened holiday in France, staying at Le Ridin at Le Crotoy It was shortened because we didn't sleep for three nights! Very loud music blared out to the early hours and we then had the pleasure of listening to the French revellers returning to their chalets/tents and sitting outside and talking loudly until gone 2 a.m. If that wasn't enough the quarry site next to the camping site started work at 4.30am with all the noise that goes with it i.e. Tons of rubble being loaded into large vehicles that then transported their loads over a very bumpy, poorly maintained road.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Le Crotoy      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder