Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Share Discovery Village

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Co Fermanagh > Share Discovery Village Reviews

Share Discovery Village
Lisnaskea
Enniskillen
Co Fermanagh
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT92 0JZ
Tel: 028 6772 2122
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family of 5 campers 2 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of camping. The camp site is well run. We had a fantastic holiday here and the kids (10, 8 and 6) all really loved it and our 10 year old gets bored really easily.

You are allowed to pick where you pitch your tent. There is some electric available on a first come first serve basis.

The toilets are clean although the showers could be kept a bit cleaner. You would definitely need to use your flip flops in them. There is also a couple of plugs in the toilet block and kitchen area which is also kept clean. In the kitchen area there is a fridge for all the campers to use although we didn't use it.

The kids play area is near the tents which is handy to keep an eye on the kids whilst you do the cooking.

There is plenty of daily activities you can pay for to keep the kids amused which is very useful for the older children who get bored easily.

There is also an indoor leisure facilities which has a pool which is fantastic for the kids. We ended up using it three times a day. It is a bit pricey but well worth it. The showers in it are very clean.

The share centre is a great base to tour around from. You are near the marble arch caves and national trust properties or you could even go on some lovely drives which have really breath taking views or even go across the border.

The camp site is very quiet during the week but it is noisier at the weekends. The site manager came round each camper at the weekend and requested everyone to keep the noise down later on at night which was adhered to.

We would definitely go back to this camp site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dg077 5 reviews from this member

The Share Holiday Village gave us the worst experience on a campsite ever in over 2 decades of camping and caravanning.

The facilities are adequate even if fairly basic but the noise on site late into the night was unacceptable and the security on site was almost non-existent. As a family with young children, we did not feel safe here.

Our first night wasn't so bad as it quietened down around midnight, but the second night the noise went on until about 5:30am. There was no security on duty and no one to call if you have a problem during the night.

To be fair we had the family from hell next to us, but it was clear to us that there are no procedures to deal with loutish campers.

I have 4 issues with the site:

1) They allowed 2 families on one site and allowed them to spread out with large awning and then a windbreaker to come right up to our caravan.

2) They did not enforce the quiet rules - you are supposed to be quiet from 11pm to 7am.

3) They provide a bar which only fuels bad behaviour and then have no way of dealing with the consequences.

4) There was no security on site and seemingly no procedure for dealing with badly behaved drunken campers/ caravanners.

The families next to us sat inside their windbreaker very close to our caravan and continued drinking and generally being loud right up to 5:30am. At 3:30am I asked then to keep it quiet but they ignored me. 15 mins later I asked politely again and one of them threatened me with violence. Straight away I went to seek help but there was no one at the office, no security, no one at all in authority. They partied on till 5:30am getting louder as the drink was consumed and getting more and more explicit in language. In the end there was nothing we could do having been unable to get on site help.

The next morning we spoke to a manager on the site, who listened sympathetically and allowed us to stay on a few extra hours to catch up on the lost night of sleep. I never heard anything more from him or of any change in procedures.

Overall my impression is that this should be advertised as an adults only site. It is not suitable for children because of the drunken behaviour that is seemingly tolerated and also the lack of security. Our kids had to listen to foul language, very sexually explicit chat and threatening language and behaviour from our neighbours all night.

We were very disappointed, especially given the otherwise good work done by the volunteers at the site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dnahaehs 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a week at Share Centre and we thought it was great!

We were impressed to see free electrical hook ups in the camping area. As the previous reviewer states stay away from the middle! its a bit muddy!

Toilet block is a little dated but it was always clean and everything worked. We really appreciated the free hot water for showers etc. Campers kitchen seemed a bit basic with only a small fridge and two sinks for washing-up, but it was always clean and always had hot water, the fridge did come in very handy!

Great place for kids, the playgrounds are close to the camping area and for rainy days the pool in the leisure suite was good, the kids loved it!

The 'Big Room' as we called the communal room was available all the time for use by all, great for rainy evenings, the Wii set up to keep the kids entertained.

The staff were always helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Lisnaskea is the closest town and has a great selection of shops, restaurants and pubs.

Our only real gripe is that there was no soap dispenser or hand dryer in the toilet block, but you can cope with that once you remember to bring soap with you!

We will return to Share again no problem and look forward to it!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuesdayschild 1 review from this member

The Share Centre is a place with an ethos. It's aim is to provide residential facilities for disabled and able-bodied folk alike. Therefore there's a lovely atmosphere at Share like a big family.

The campsite is close to the main reception, and the large communal area that serves as a living room, library, TV room, with picnic tables just outside glass doors. The main campsite is all grass, mostly level and has some electricity points around the edges. There are picnic tables around the site, it's just a matter of manhandling one of them to the front of your tent. There's an amenity block, which are kept fairly clean (I've come across better, but also far, far worse)and the main buildings have toilet facilities dotted around so you'll never be too far from one.

The lowest point of the campsite is prone to muddiness in wet weather.

One complaint I have is that in the kiddies play area there is a toy drum. First time I camped there it drove me up the wall. The second time a pitched on the opposite side of the site.

Groups of scouts tend to use the site in summer months, culminating in a kids disco on the Friday nights. As the Share Centre seems to have a 'everybody pitch in' type of policy it's easy to include yourself, and great fun.

Activities, either land based sports (rock wall climbing) or water based (banana boat, canoeing, windsurfing - wetsuits supplied) are held twice everyday. Sessions are at 10am and 2pm, well instructed and supervised. Not too expensive either about £6 per person depending on activity.

There is a lovely modern swimming pool and gym suite. But of all that I like about Share is when the sun goes down over the lake. Just remember to take some bug repellent!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frome 8 reviews from this member

It's selling point is the atmostphere which is very special at the Share Centre. It is mainly run by students and voluntary staff in the summer with a small full time staff. As a result there's a very laid back atmosphere.

There is a real sense of camaraderie here as everyone pitches in. I've been there when I had to tell the staff I'd been there for a few days and owed them some money, which appeared to be news to them. I love the lounge which is a hang out zone for campers when the weather isn't being co-operative. I love going down to the jetty just to watch the boats. I really do love this place.

The toilets aren't first class, they're ok. The showers are communal which means I go at odd times so I can have the place to myself. The centre of the field is in a dip which means if you have the kind of summer there was in 09', don't camp in the mud bath. And certainly don't take the car in there.

I do however wish they'd get rid of the kiddies play drum in the play park. It's incredibly inviting to youngsters at 11pm, and has influenced which side of the camping area I now go to (the one furthest away).

The Share Centre is popular with Scout Groups and as such there is often a teenage disco on a Friday night. One of my fondest memories is getting an invite to the disco by one of the scout leaders and that sense of being included in things is what makes the Share Centre such a great place to go to.

When I was a teenager I worked there myself as a volunteer. Then everything was brand new but that was 20 years ago. There has been some development of the site (with an updated reception/lounge/cafe facility and a brilliant state of the art climbing wall etc) but some of the facilities are looking a bit dated. The biggest tragedy of this year is the flooding of the leisure suite which I'm sure will take some time and much funding to fix. This is a place I shall continue to support and when people ask me about camping around Northern Ireland I always tell them about the Share Centre.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matshan 3 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site? On the one hand there is so much to do, kayaking, canoeing, banana boats, sailing, archery, go carts, swimming pool, gym, sauna, the list goes on, the available activities are excellent, £6 to £10 for 1-2 hours with tuition, my sons loved it.
On the other hand the on site facilities were really appalling. The toilet block was cleaned once a day (and closed for over an hour while this was done) and never looked at again until the next day. With the result that often the block was filthy with no toilet roll. No soap of any description was ever available, neither was there any way to dry your hands, meaning I had to set off to the toilet every time armed with toilet roll, soap and a towel. Not ideal and not what I have come to expect from campsites. Add to this the fact that the ladies loo only has communal showers, not my idea of fun I must say, I thought I'd given up showering with my friends when I left school!
There is plenty to see and do in the area, lots of towns close by also Marble Arch Caves are fabulous.
I would say that this site caters more for groups than families and for that reason it can be noisy at night, with no-one there to keep things in check. Also for that reason and the others mentioned I can't see that we will want to visit again in the future.

Reviewer: Topdazzle 5 reviews from this member

July 2005
The Share Centre Holiday Village is situated on the banks of Lough Erne in County Fermanagh (the Lake District of Northern Ireland) - it's a combination of chalets, mobile homes, touring pitches and a tent / touring caravan field.

Due to the location of the site, watersports are very high on the agenda making this the ideal spot for a bit of canoeing, banana boat riding, rock climbing (on the climbing wall) or dingy sailing - all of which are offered as tutored activities by the centre. They all cost £10 each for a 2 and a half hour session with instruction and are booked the day before at reception.

The site also houses a lesiure suite which residents on the camp site are entitled to use for a small fee (£5 for a weekend pass and £3 per visit for adults and over 5's per weekday). This suite really is first class and houses an indoor swimming pool with built-in jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and small gymnasium - totally pampered!!

So, what's the camping like? We were pitched in the tent field - there are 2 electric hook up points each capable of servicing 3 units but we didn't use these. The field itself is spacious and you can pitch where you want. There's a bin in the middle of the field for waste and this is emptied every day. The field is also slap bang in the middle of 2 play parks which provide good fun for the kids (even if the equipment could do with a bit of "modernising").

We stayed during the "July fortnight" right in the middle of the marching season - probably the busiest weekend of the year and had plenty of space with no cramping (and we were able to pitch the Royal which is a big tent).

There are wooden picnic benches and tables scattered liberally around the field which you can move to right outside your tent - very handy.

There's a good vibe on the site - it was opened in the early 80's as Ireland's largest outdoor recreation centre and was designed to integrete disabled and able-bodied visitors. As such there is excellent wheelchair access everywhere (even the swimming pool has a ramped access). However, the site at night really runs itself with little or no presence from staff which can make it a little noisy depending on the visitors.

In addition, the toilet and shower block were not of a very high standard - they are cleaned once a day but even so, I didn't fee that comfortable using them (or maybe I'm just fussy!!).

The weekend that we were there averaged high 30's with a high of 33 degrees on the Sunday (as a result you'd be hard pushed no to have a cracker time) but even so, this was probably one of our favourite sites so far. We have 3 young children (the oldest is 5) and they were all too young for the activities but still had a ball. Superb!!

The nearby town of Lisnaskea (approximately 5-6 miles away) has good facilities (banks, shops and a Lidl) or you can drive the other way to Derrylin which also has a couple of grocery shops, pubs and petrol stations. The site is also perfectly placed for sampling the other delights that County Fermanagh has to offer and is very close to the Republic and County Cavan.

Summary - highly recommended for outdoor pursuits and plenty to do, stunning setting with high-quality leisure suite and good disabled access. Poor amenities block and can get a little noisy at night. £8 per night for a 2-man tent, £12.50 per night for larger tents and touring cravans - EHU free.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019