Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Archdale Caravan Park & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Co Fermanagh > Castle Archdale Caravan Park & Camping Site Reviews

Castle Archdale Caravan Park & Camping Site
Irvinestown
Co Fermanagh
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT94 1PP
Tel: 028 6862 1333
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 108
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kennyo 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this brilliant site. Staff are super friendly and the on site facilities are superb. Stayed on the lower hard standing and could not complain. The child playpark kept our son amused all day long. Will be back again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samanthani 2 reviews from this member

We camped at Castle Archdale last weekend and had a very enjoyable time. I booked online, but the pitches could have been more clearly explained. The price per night was a little expensive, and pricing for tents seemed a little unfair (tents are charged based on the capacity of the tent, so deluxe pitches for caravans can be much cheaper per night).

On arrival, the welcome was friendly, but I was very disappointed that pitches weren't allocated. However, there are lots of EHU points dotted around, and I managed to find a spot quite near one of these. Water points weren't as plentiful, which was somewhat inconvenient.

On first view, I initially thought that the facilities weren't great for campers (eg small washing up sinks). However, on further exploration, I found better sinks (with a bin nearby), with plenty of hot water. The newer toilet block is very good, with private washing cubicles and spacious wet room style showers. The underfloor heating was a welcome treat!

The children's play area was very good, with a large inflatable bouncy 'pillow'. There are signs that advise that there is a charge to use the play facilities, but I'm nearly 100% sure that this isn't for campers.

There is also a shop, cafe, takeaway and bar on site.

Nearby, and within the Castle Archdale estate are loughshore and forest walks, the marina and WWII sites. We were only staying for 2 nights, so hardly saw anything outside the immediate site.

I would return, and recommend the site and area, but would phone and try and book one of the numbered grass pitches (there seemed to be a few).

For caravanners and campervans, the basic site is pretty horrible - pay the extra £5 for the deluxe!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gewi6410 3 reviews from this member

Just home from a 2 night stay in Castle Archdale. Toilet facilities were very good and the showers were excellent. However I found being charged £30 a night for a muddy patch of grass a bit of a rip off when it costs the same for a Deluxe touring pitch. Local towns of Kesh and Irvinestown are 4 mile away and have all your essential needs. I don't think I'll be back mainly because of the price. Theres plenty of other great sites at a lower price.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AOKane 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 night stay in Castle Archdale. We had a great time.

It was a bank holiday weekend so it was a really busy site, lots of people, kids on bikes, late night chatter but it’s such a family orientated, friendly place that the noise didn’t bother us at all. Our kids loved playing in the forest and making new friends. In fact they want to live there!

Facilities are clean, plenty of toilets and showers. On site shop, play park, chippy and pub! Which initially put us off but we needn’t have worried as it was empty when we peeked in. I think most people were enjoying a wee glass of wine in their awnings instead.

Lovely forest walks and ice creams at the marina. We had no reason to leave the whole weekend.

We’ll visit again if they’ll have us.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jrod 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Castle Archdale. No complaints at all about the site, its location, or its facilities. One major problem this weekend, and indeed on a visit to the site last year. The site rules remind everyone about not making a noise after 11pm, and indeed you are asked to sign a document confirming that you understand this and other rules when you check-in. However, a number of people, some whom appeared be in groups of caravans, made a racket until well into the early hours of the morning. What is the point in having rules, when no attempt is made to enforce them ?

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AuntieHeather3 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from Castle Archdale & have to say, best holiday in a long time!. Site was very clean, dry, hard ground to pitch on, excellent toilet & shower facilities in the new block. Shop, chippy, restaurant, laundry, campers washing up sinks & BBQ area all there for campers use. This was our first return to camping after 35 years away & what a difference! Electric hook ups mean you can use hair dryers, heaters & lighting in tents. With proper caution for fire risks of course. Great lifestyle for outdoor couples & families. No mobile phone connection meant time away from wifi except around the bar area but that was a good thing. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shedhead12 1 review from this member

Cannot find any reason for the high cost of the pitches, yes the deluxe are private sites but the same price super site pitches are very close together and for £5 less you can use the hard site which was part of the old WW2 army camp and even more crammed with no way of pegging down your awning.

Looking online I expected a lot more from this site. We visited the site over the last bank holiday in August, 2012 thinking that the facilities would all be open but to my surprise the pub and takeaway only opened at the weekend and not Bank Holiday Monday

Facilities are overall Good but the site has no campers kitchen and only outdoor washing faculties which have no bins for the rubbish so they can get very dirty quickly. Site also has no TV/ Kids room only a kid outdoor park that needs updating

This could be a much better site it’s just too expensive for what you get. Should have realized this when I booked last minute on the Friday and was told they had plenty of space.

Cannot recommend this site at £ 25/30 per night.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmph 2 reviews from this member

First time staying here and our first thought was that this site is very over priced.

The site was packed out and quite a few campers had lit fires in the camping area which I thought would have been a big no considering it is in a forest.

The ground was very hard which made a job of trying to drive in awning pegs.

Plenty of activities for the kids, clean toilets and showers.

Playpark could do with updating. Good pub and take away on site.

Loads of forest walks which kept the kids entertained for a few hours. Plenty of watersports available.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nitpicker 1 review from this member

We have been using this park for over 10 years, started off camping, and now with a touring caravan. The facilities are really good and have been updated over the last few years. The new toilet and shower block with individual shower rooms and washrooms has underfloor heating, but sadly it is now minus shower racks and coat hooks in a lot of the cubicles, and hairdryers are no longer available as they obviously have been vandalised. The showers have always plenty of hot water; some too hot at times, and toilets adequate toilet rolls. A very spacious disabled shower/toilet room is available for both genders.

The improved drainage on the super sites is excellent, but the remaining areas tend to get very wet and mucky, so welly boots are recommended.

We have looked at most of the caravan sites all over Northern Ireland for somewhere else to visit, but we are always drawn back to Castle Archdale. The super sites have water, waste, electric and T. V. Hook up. The park has a bar with weekend entertainment during the summer months, a playpark for small kids, a chippie, restaurant, shop for milk, bread, groceries, confectionery, cigs, toys and miscellaneous items such as gas cylinders and bits and bobs you might need being away from home.

The downside is they have raised their prices too high, as this is the first year we have seen the park vastly underused. We had to book before or we ran the risk of not getting a site. Previous years we would have used the park quite a lot, but this year because of the price hike not as much. Other campers and caravanners we met, all voiced their opinion on the price hike.

One thing that grates is they still charge the same prices even when the facilities are closed.

One year they used to do specials which were very keenly priced, like an off peak week for £50. We also use to leave the caravan for a set fee and return the following weekend for a break then they started to charge the full fee per night to leave the caravan.

It's a beautiful area with lots of water sports and places of interest to visit. Belleek Pottery is a must see as is the Sheelin Lace museum, Marble Arch caves (wow) and beautiful historical properties. Enniskillen and Irvinestown are within a few miles for shopping and browsing. Go see the Glencar waterfall in Sligo. Well worth a visit. This area has good picnic seating and toilets.

We never tire of the scenery. When the park is in full swing it's a wonderful holiday. The ducks at the marina come up close, especially if you have some bread and scraps for them.

I've noticed a bin at the dishwashing sink area has been removed which leads to a build up of food scraps being left in the sinks.

Throughout the park, bins are regularly emptied and the toilets kept very clean. Office staff are very courteous, and security walk the area from 10pm and nip any disturbance/noise in the bud.

Other caravan parks haven't pushed their prices up quite so much. It's so sad as the area has so much to offer.

We'll go again but the prices mean not as much.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alana mulholland 1 review from this member

Just back yesterday from camping here in a tent. We all had a fantastic time. Staff around camp site constantly cleaning and lifting rubbish toilets and showers spotless.

Facilities brilliant loads to do for the kids we went with 17, 12, 11, 10, 8 years old. My mum, dad niece 20 yrs and hubby and all had a brilliant time.

Bring wellies when wet very mucky but we are in a camp site after all. Friday and Saturday in the wee nook fantastic entertainment karaoke and disco nice surprise after all we are camping.

Chip shop on site and a wee cafe giving a good alternative to the old b. B. Q.

Well recommended actually planning to go back again in august.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019