Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kaims Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Kaims Country Park
Bradford House
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7JT
Tel: 01668 213432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Statics Only Now
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 33 Reviews
                6/10 from 33 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note this site no longer has any touring caravan, motorhome, or tent pitches. Statics holiday homes only now!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zzzzoe 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site twice, early May Bank holiday weekend in 2009 and 2010 and both times have had a nice stay without issues.

Staff friendly and helpful on booking and arrival, especially grateful for them going extra mile to locate and return an item our daughter left in shower block on last day.

Shop well stocked for essentials and holiday treats (especially for children). Haven't used cafe, so can't comment, but range and price seemed okay.

Playground on site is fine; 5-10 min walk max, and field area in middle of touring area great for playing in if site quiet.

Peaceful site, touring area surrounded by beautiful gorse and bunny rabbits. No traffic sound. Owls can be a bit rowdy at night, but no issues with humans.

Toilets and showers regularly cleaned and water hot.

It is apparent walking through the static area that they have a loyal regular customer base of owners who take great pride in their vans and surrounding plot. Also quite a few seasonal pitch tourers.

It is quite easy to locate from A1 - Turn off onto B1341 and there is a sign after the level crossing.

We did not go to the Family Room but there were posters up in the Touring Area shower block about activities (bingo, race and games nights) so assume touring guests are welcome.

We have had no problems with electricity.

Excellent location as a jumping off point for fabulous excursions into Northumberland.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baz+linz 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here Easter weekend, the more people who camped here the the worse it became. Example - a pot of 1 minute beans took 6 minutes to cook in microwave, george foreman was a waste of time all due to the fact we were not warned about the drained electric supply ! That didn't include the blackout we had on the first night, it cost us 80 to camp for 3 nights which is expensive for what you get. We could have stayed in much better places for the money. Toilets clean, showers hit & miss, no hand drier in mens.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JJRS 3 reviews from this member

Went here for the weekend and we were quite disappointed.

The park was a nice size with swings slide and other activities, there was also 2 tree swings but would not recommend for young children as it is not very strong and stable. The shop had the basics in such as pop, bread, sweets and the reception was in the same building. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Good points: You can have a nice walk into bamburgh but is 3 mile by foot and 10 minute drive to the sea houses. Toilets are clean and have a code to get in them. Park is good and lots of places on the campsite you can mooch to.

Bad points: Electricity is terrible as we had a power cut on the very first night there and whole campsites were out for about 1 hour. It is also very weak as I put a microwave meal in the microwave and it was suppose to take 5 mins but it just wouldn't cook because the electricity was so low and eventually we had to put it in the oven so a 5 minute meal turned into a 40 minute meal. The showers were very cold and took adges to warm up and you had to keep pressing the button for the shower to stay on. Also campsite has loads of statics on and camping grass is very bumpy and uneven. Good dog walk and would be recommended site if you do have a dog.

All in all campsite was ok but wouldn't come back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mutla 2 reviews from this member

Overall an ok site, its not that well sign posted but we found it ok.
Toilets/shower block clean, most pitches level(ish), well sheltered if windy as it is surrounded by trees, handy for the nearby towns of Seahouses and Bamburgh.
On site shop very good and serves breakfast's and some hot meals. Didn't get any hassle from anyone which I like, not too noisy later on ( I have 2 young kids )overall nothing special but I would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bubbles10 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from Bradford Kaims and we now know why this was the only site with availability! Very disappointed. Firstly, the site was hard to find as it is not sign-posted from the main road between Lucker and Bamburgh and we ended up being directed over the phone. After driving between endless static caravans we found the touring site in what looked like an old sheep field right at the end. They have obviously recently put in extra ehu's as there are still open trenches around the edge of the field and mounds of earth through the middle! Why wasn't this done out of season? The grass was so long it was virtually impossible for our youngest 2 children to ride their bikes. As there was often rain at night this meant only wellies could be worn at all times on site as the long grass never dried out, even after a day of sun. After 2 nights of rain a lake appeared in the middle of the site that we could easily have used our canoes on! We had to clear up dog muck from the pitch we chose before we set up and there was evidence of what looked (and smelled)like sheep poo too! The facilities were pretty good but 2 showers for each is not enough. The water was actually so hot that we couldn't let our children in on their own as the constantly changing temperature would have meant third degree burns! Also you have to press the button every 10 seconds to keep the water going - my husband got very good at showering with one hand by the end of our holiday! During our 10 days at Bradford Kaims it became apparent why the warden needed a full sized tractor - we saw 3 units towed off site due to the water, long grass and very poor drainage. We were very grateful for our 4 wheel drive or we would definitely have been on the end of a tow rope as well. The warden was a nice guy but very elusive. Probably because there is far too much work for 1 person. No-one around when we arrived so we just set up and hoped it was ok. The toilet/shower block had a keycode which we were unable to obtain until much later as there was no-one around to tell us. The shop on site (nearly half a mile from the touring area) was very basic and kept odd hours. The best thing for our kids were the rope swings (the little play area being under water most of the time) that they discovered through the gap at the top of the touring field. Aside from the disappointment with the site, we found this a truely lovely area though. Many beautiful beaches and lots of castles. Newcastle an hour away. Alnwick Castle half hour drive. Good boat trips and fish & chips from Seahouses. Buy a parking permit for the area for a week for 12 from the Tourist Information in Seahouses. We didn't and wished we had! TI will also give you a tide timetable so you know when you can get over to Holy Island. Good area for cycling and walking but buy an ordnance survey map first - lots of little lanes. Nearest place to Bradford Kaims is Bamburgh (10 mins) which is lovely. Good butcher / baker /deli and lots of nice places to eat/drink. Will definitely return to Northumberland but not to Bradford Kaims. Their little brochure which arrived with our booking confirmation showed photos of a well kept site with mown grass and hardstandings - not so! The leisure club which is shown on their website and says is for use by all their guests IS NOT for those in the touring area! Could be a nice site but much work needed first.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joeholmes 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first trip out with our caravan.

We had a very peaceful bank holiday weekend and although all the hook up pitches were taken (24no in total) there was no noise whatsoever

We must say that as our van is quite large we had no trouble at all as the site and pitches are fairly level, and the awning went up well.

We visited with our two young boys who had a great time as there was a huge field for playing ball games etc (and chasing rabbits)

The site is very sheltered with hills all the way round (you cant see it from the road and dont rely on the post code for sat nav directions). Should you wish to use this site ring up and get directions, as someone apparently wiped the sign out last winter and it has not been replaced

It seems as the toilet block next to the touring field has the water heated by solar power during the day, therefore is is only just warm at times, but dont let this put you off as ant night and in the mornings a gas boiler takes over to supply ample hot water. Failing this you can go yo the other shower block adjacent main reception for a nice hot shower for a small fee of 20p.

Dougie was very helpful and when asked a question he said he would get round to it - and he did.

The only complaint I would have is that if people want to take pets with them, make sure they clean up after them as one left a deposit on my hook up lead.

We would definitely go back to this site as it's only 1 hour from home and in a beautiful part of Northumberland

Keep up the good work and hope to see you again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dhaysi 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site and was our first camping trip so don't really have anything to compare it to, but on the whole we found it a really nice site.

On Arrival we were told to make our way to the camping ground and pitch wherever we liked (we had ehu) so found a nice pitch which was fairly flat and pitched our tent.

The site was fairly quiet (we arrived on Monday 13th)
We checked out the shower block which was clean and tidy, there were only two showers one much smaller than the other and the water wasn't too hot although you could if you wanted go to the showers near the reception area and for a charge of 20p have a HOT shower.

The warden (Dougie) we found very very good and as there were a couple of rowdy groups a little later in the week he took no prisoners and evicted them immediately - playing music until 4 in the morning which was one group and the other a group of lads that used foul language and scattered thier pitch with lager bottles were evicted too.

The washing up area is nearly finished (there is only one sink at present) although this didn't cause a problem at all it seemed to run quite well and we only had to wait once for a few minutes to wash our pots.

To sum up we found the site very clean and tidy the toilet and shower block always clean and well stocked with toilet rolls and hand-wash and the bins emptied regularly.

We will definitely be revisiting Bradford Kaims.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toots17 2 reviews from this member

We are just back from a two night stay at Bradford Kaims. We haven't been camping long but all our previous campsites have allocated us a place to pitch, this was a pitch where you like and as it was very busy it was difficult to find a decent flat spot.
The tourer area did look very tidy and there were a number of toilets and a couple of showers. The water didn't stay hot for long as they used solar panels. It was a very noisy site, we have children and we found it quite difficult to settle them. I called the reception at 9pm asking if the had guidelines on how loud and how long people could play music. They said anything goes until 10.30 - 11ish. This was not good news as we had a bunch of men next to us who had the football on from 2 till 6, then the radio till 10 and then a telly for more football on until 11. We had never experienced this level of noise before so it did spoil it for us. The site still only has one sink for washing dishes so people used the toilet block.

All this apart the surrounding area of Bamburgh was beautiful. The castle is well worth a visit as is the lovely beach. I am sorry to say that we won't be back to that campsite it's a shame because it does have potential. One other thing - it is a nightmare to find we got very lost!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottfrobson 2 reviews from this member

This is a nice campsite, we took dogs and there was plenty of places around the campsite where we could go. After reading the reviews we thought that we would give it a try.

The shower block is new and looks nice inside but the showers let it down, they go from freezing cold to warm at best, the shower cubicles get flooded every time you go in, and there is no where to get changed.

The shop has everything you need but does not say what time it closes, worth asking on the morning.

After all this problem still managed to have a good time as only 5mins drive from Bamburgh, but cant complain as it only cost 16 per night. But wont be rushing back.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!