Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel L Orangerie De Lanniron

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Finistere > Castel L Orangerie De Lanniron Reviews

Castel L Orangerie De Lanniron
Chateau De Lanniron
Quimper
Cedex
Finistere
Brittany   (Browse area)
29000
Tel: 0033 02 98 90 62 02
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 28/03 To 15/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flickthechemist 10 reviews from this member

We visited this site because we wanted to be close to a town with access to bars and restaurants. When we arrived it was pouring with rain. We hadn't booked but the man on reception (who was happy for us to try our slightly rusty french) gave us a pitch number but said we could chose another if we wanted. We found it hard to find our pitch as the bushes and trees dividing the pitches were very overgrown and when we did find the pitch we couldn't find the electric hookup (a hunt on a later date when it wasn't raining discovered it hidden in the undergrowth). We chose an alternative but having pitched discovered the hookup wouldn't take our standard plug. We went back to the reception with our new pitch number but felt that the man hadn't recorded the change, despite me pointing it out clearly to him on the map. This proved to be true as the next day someone turned up expecting to pitch there! We also paid a 50 euro deposit for an adapter and he failed to record this on the system so when I came back at the end of our stay it took them ages to find my money!

Fortunately the weather improved and we were able to enjoy our surroundings a bit more. The wildlife was delightful with jays darting around the site although we didn't see any red squirrels.

The nearest toilet block was old and poorly maintained so mostly I walked down to the newer toilets at the south end, which were excellent, with loo seats, toilet paper and soap and controllable shower temperatures. We used the nearer block for washing up though and found the area generally a bit grubby and not very well set out. There were no plugs in any sinks so you had to used your own bowl.

The swimming complex was great, with bubble beds, water flumes, lazy river and so on. There weren't very many sunbeds however and no shade or parasols, so we generally just walked up for a quick dip as it was so hot while we were there.

The bar/restaurant was small and a lovely barn conversion, but we went up to watch England playing their world cup matches and felt it was a bit of an intrusion on the people in the restaurant. We ended up not eating in the restaurant because there were various special functions going on, plus world cup matches, so we were never sure when it would be a good time to go.

The chateau does weddings and there was one while we were there, which we were supposed to have warning about, but all that happened was a notice went up in french the day before - we certainly weren't told when we arrived. It was quite a disturbance with groups of people walking back to their accommodation talking loudly at various times throughout the night. The cars leaving were also very loud as you are low down in a camp bed and they sounded quite alarming from that angle. On another evening there was loud music from a live band outside the bar which went on long after 11pm, when the campsite was supposed to be quiet.

The town was great to wander around and we had a fabulous meal at

La Feuillantine, all very French and quite delicious. However, it did take a good 45 minutes to walk in, so not ideal. It would have been considerably shorter had we been allowed to use the gate nearer the camping pitches but this was padlocked.

The takeaway was ok but expensive and the menu not very imaginative given that it was provided by the restaurant - no dish of the day or anything.

You could order baguettes for breakfast but they were just the BYO variety and not particularly good so after the first morning we didn't bother. The shop was very poorly stocked.

All the facilities for campers (pool, bar, shop, laundry, reception) had been moved from near the pitches to the entrance, and seemed to be serving the golfers more than the campers. I got the feeling that the owners weren't really bothering too much about the campsite any more.

Although we had a good time here, there were too many negatives for us to want to return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: TheClods 1 review from this member

This was our 4th time staying at this campsite as it has become our regular last pitch before the ferry home. The campsite is set in beautiful grounds with lovely paths to walk around. The staff are all very friendly and speak perfect English, but are also quite willing to allow you practice your French if you wish.

There is a nice restaurant and bar area beside the pool, where you can order your bread for morning. The pool is a decent size and has plenty of loungers around it. The pitches are all grassy, a decent size, with hedging around the sides for privacy.

The toilet and shower areas are well maintained. Average price per night is about 15 if I remember correctly. There is some eurocamp cabins at the back of the campsite as well as the many pitches for tents and caravans. There is a large Carrefour supermarket and shopping centre just a 2 minute derive from the campsite.

There is a cycle/ footpath at the entrance to the campsite which runs all the way into the town and is very safe. It took us less than 10 minutes to cycle into the town in the evenings for a bite to eat. The town of Quimper is lovely with plenty of great places to eat and shop. We love staying here for a peaceful end to our holiday.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 6 nights during some very wet weather. The pitches are all grass and became very boggy by the end so we had some difficulty moving the van even with a motor mover. We booked a castels pitch through the caravan club but shouldn't have bothered, as the fridge was in a terrible state as were all the others we could see-obviously had not been checked at all.

The site is very attractive -lots of fruit trees and hedges-mostly supplied wth electricity, some with water and drain.

The walk into quimper town centre took us nearly 45 minutes but bus line 1 goes into the centre every 12 minutes until about 7 pm. Plenty of cafes/ creperies/ restaurants to suit all tastes, and there is a coffee shop across the road from the site gate. There's a bakery about 10 minutes walk away and a big carrefour about 30 minutes away but we went in the car as the traffic wa quite heavy and not a nice walk.

Site staff were few and far between but there was always someone at reception with no big gaps in the day.

Clearly the end of the season, no shop, bar open only when dinner being served, I don't feel we saw the site at its best and wouldn't go again.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian-james 14 reviews from this member

Pleasant welcome when we arrived and the lady at the desk was very informative about the area.

A very attractive site, with grassy hedged pitches amongst trees, and plenty of water points. Lots of bird life and red squirrels. The site is part of an estate and you are free to wander round the grounds and, when there is not an event such as a marriage on, around the gardens. The disadvantage is that people who visit the grounds are free to wander around the camping area and stare into your van, presumably thinking you're included in what they've come to see. This also means the site is not very secure. The site was very quiet, only four units on it when we visited. The men's san facs were closed and everyone had to use the ladies', but it's not unusual in France to have unisex facilities. The san facs were okay with loo seats, paper, soap and drier. The wash-ups were a bit grubby and it was obvious that they weren't cleaned at all between our arrival and when we left 2 days later. Because the san facs that were in use had no laundry facilities people were washing their clothes in the wash-up sinks, and there is also a baby bath in with them. It's a long way from reception to the campsite and as the laundry facilities are at reception it's not practical to use them unless you want to hang around with a book or whatever. The bar, shop and cafe are around this area too, though they weren't open when we visited. Phone reception is poor, wifi is available and is fairly fast but expensive at 8 for a day. There's a MVWP that was okay for us but big motorhomes might find it awkward. We paid 20. 10 with an ACSI card.

It's a pleasant walk into Quimper through woods and then alongside the River Odet. The site's details say it's 2 km but to reach the main part of town it's nearer 4. Quimper is an interesting city, with lots of shops, museums and creperies, and it's enjoyable walking around the old streets.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bensonsire 4 reviews from this member

On arrival greeted by very friendly English speaking young lady who was very pleasant indeed. We were using the ACSI discount card which was readily accepted. Allocated a very large pitch for our caravan which had shared water supply with 5 other pitches but as we were the only one in that area we had water and drainage to ourselves!The electricity was standard CEE(3 plug)system with normal polarity so we did not need to use 2-pin converters. The whole site is in former woodland so there are plenty of trees around which makes it a very relaxing ambience and most pitches are separated by hedges for privacy. The swimming pool was still in use and this is a fantastic pool with slides and fountains, surrounded by rock formations. Water was heated to 23 degrees so very pleasant in the warm September sunshine. The bistro was still open for lunches and we had a lovely brown grain crepe with ham, cheese and egg filling. Again, the young lady waitress was very pleasant indeed and found the time to chat to us. We looked at the restaurant menu but found it quite expensive so did not eat in there. As usual at this time of the year when it is fairly quiet the second toilet block was closed but we found the remaining one(about a 200metre walk away) very modern, clean, and well presented. They were separated into male and female showers/loos. However, this lead to the only negative comment about this site. On an open weekend when the chateau was opened to the public, they closed all the male toilets giving access to 'visitors' only. This meant using the ladies facilities which then became over crowded. I actually got told off by a French lady who ushered, me towards the male loos until I told her 'Hommes ferme!'. We felt at this time to be treated as second class citizens to casual visitors when we had paid good money for the facilities. The walk to Quimper took about 15/20 minutes and could be taken through a lovely woodland walk or along the main roads. I suggest the former as a more pleasant experience. Quimper is a lovely city but the downside was that the beautiful cathedral ( I am told) is undergoing major renovation and was completely closed off by large hoardings so you could not see anything. The market on Tuesday is fantastic with plenty of stalls selling almost everything. There was even a local brass band parading through the market with jugglers, stilt walkers, mono bikes, etc. , creating a really festive atmosphere. Don't miss the lovely town of Douarnenez on the coast. It has a marine museum where you can see many old boats including a Thames barge. The walk around the bay is fantastic and there are lovely sandy beaches if you fancy a swim in the sea.

Altogether, a lovely site with good facilities and one which I would recommend. Just one minor point to mention. The actual camping area is a very long way from the front entrance and reception, restaurant, pool, bistro, etc. , which could be a handicap if you are less mobile. However, on the positive side there is plenty of parking in this area so the car can be used if necessary.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewdoddsuk 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4-night visit.

Tent, pitch with electric and water. 2 Adults and 2 kids.

Arrival - we were with Eurocamp Independent, who don't seem to have their act together to be honest, Reception sent us to Eurocamp who sent us back, all at 7pm after 15 hour's travel. Needs sorting out.

Apart from that, reception were fine. Pitch was good, flat, sheltered - we were lucky to get fairly close to the play area and toilet block; I can see that some of the more distant pitches could mean a lot of walking. All very child friendly, though. Kids loved the playground.

Toilets and showers were clean and functional.

Walking around the grounds is pleasant, you can explore around the house and the local woods. But you do have to drive if you want to go far outside the site.

The shop was a bit sparse but perfectly acceptable, and there is a big supermarket about 3 minute's drive away. The pool was great fun, but quite cold (has to be said that the weather was unseasonably cold as well).

Overall we'd stay there again, especially if it was a bit warmer!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CaliforniaKid 5 reviews from this member

This campsite was recommended to us by a number of friends and relatives - great for kids, stunning location, etc, etc.

As we arrived via an industrial estate, we checked in and were given a very small, uneven pitch that also doubled as an access point for other cars. We called reception (which was a good quarter of a mile away) to change it and got a better spot.

We then checked the pool and shops - the latter is a nice looking design but freezing cold with all waterslides switched off. The shop and bar were both closed so we walked all the way back. When the shop did open (very short opening hours) it was almost empty.

We looked at the playground - overgrown and very tired looking. Our kids tried the trampolines; fun until our daughter, aged three fell through the netting (it hadn't been tied at the bottom so it's very dangerous) and very nearly broke her arm.

The atmosphere too was very Home Counties/Golf - a wee bit snooty, lots of claret cords and brand new Audis. For reference we have a pretty new VW California campervan but still avoid anywhere snooty like the plague.

And the location - we'll happily walk miles but 'walkable' to Quimper is stretching the point rather far. The nice buildings - all private and almost inaccessible. The river frontage showed on the marketing materials - the same.

The facilities are clean and all work fine but it just felt rather tired overall.

So despite having paid for two nights, we left after one. This site clearly suits many but for us, it did nothing for the kids and nothing for us.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ArtTurning 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite! Large site in the grounds of a chateau on the banks of the Odet. Huge pitches in orchard/garden-like setting, with some hedging between. Two loo blocks, one newer than the other (read blue & white as opposed to red & green!) but both cleaned regularly. Good showers with the usual presta 'timer' button and not scalding hot. Washing up and laundry facilities good too. Reception, bar/restaurant, shop, laundry and pool (with slides and fountains and 'lazy river' constant flow as well as a toddler pool) are grouped together and around a 5/7 minute walk from the camping area. Another smaller pool and kids playground within the camping area. Beautiful grounds for an evening stroll or early morning run.

We went for a premium pitch so had hookup, water nearby, a table, chairs, BBQ and fridge included. If you have a 3-pin electric hookup block and hire a fridge you'll need to have a converter from French to UK 3-pin plug (Seems obvious, but we'd not thought this through and had to bodge a shaver adaptor).

Order your Croissants, Pain, etc the night before. English, German, French (!) spoken.

Oh, and a 9-hole golf course, driving range and practise putting greens. There are keycamp units here too, as well as cottages for from 2 (by the river) to 10.

Please don't go here, you may get 'our' place next year. ;)

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bunny72 12 reviews from this member

We last visited this site in 1973 with 6 children and a tent. We have a campervan now and the children are all adults so it was a different experience! The reception was excellent and fluent English spoken (if required). At this time of the year most facilities were closed so I cannot comment on such as the pool. The toilet block is very good but a considerable distance from the pitches-the nearest about 125 metres and you could possibly be 400 metres away. The pitches were hedged and grass based and almost level. The electricity was continental 2 pin but with the converter worked excellently. There was a water point but ours did not work but the one adjacent did. The restaurant was excellent put not cheap-2 courses with wine about 50 euros. Again a long walk-about 500 metres behind reception. A quiet pleasant site-2 adults with van 60 euros but worth it.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Didlick18 1 review from this member

We have just returned from Camping De L Orangerie De Lanniron and have had an absolutely fantastic 2 weeks and already looking forward to next time.

The staff were very welcoming and supporting when we had a slight problem in a local store when we purchased fresh fruit that was not fit. This could happen to anybody, anywhere but it was made more difficult with the lack of our French language skills. Staff at the site listened to our complaint, phoned the store and then wrote down our complaint in French for us to take and offered further support with telephone communication. Well and truly beyond our expectations. The store were also grateful to have a clear picture in their own language.

The owner of the site rode around on her bike often and stopped for a chat to make sure we were settled and having a good holiday.

When we arrived we were offered a selection of full service pitches and although some had large trees and therefore unsuitable for our unit there was a good choice. The pitch was grass and well kept and had some privacy with hedging. The pitch was large enough that you could pitch up sideways with an awning if that suited the position better. We were not able to get satelite TV but some pitches managed this - but it was sporadic so I would recommend asking which pitches are better (less surrounding trees), especially if this is an important part of your holiday.

We have the French Map in our Sat Nav and although it did not recognise a few new roundabouts on the whole it was brilliant and took us either straight to or very close to our destination. Traveling was good with decent roads but as in any country the locals were slightly faster than us !

The toilet blocks were very clean and a lot of 'free' hot water in the showers. Only issue was that when a wedding or private event was being held the toilet block was limited.

We did not use the large pool near the bar but it looked great, very clean and seating close by. However we used the small pool near the shop and this was adequate to relax.

The shop was small and not well stocked but had essentials. We would recommend ordering bread and cakes as these were fresh and delicious.

We did not use the children's facilities but there was a decent sized play area with lots of equipment. There were also notices for a Kids Club but due to the time of year we did not have a lot of children on site.

The golf course was dissapointing, but this was only because we prefered a full size course. It is a 9 hole course with short holes for golf enthusiasts. It is very well kept and there is a driving range and practice area to keep you busy inbetween. There is a wonderful golf course (18 holes) within 10 miles - Golf De Cornouaille - ( but we would recommend booking a tee as this can get very busy) English speaking staff are helpful. The site has an agreement for discount and 18 holes costs 44 Euros per person.

There is a walk into Quimper from the site that takes around 15 minutes but make sure you get clear directions as we got lost on our first trip out. Public transport is easy and frequent. The Cathedral in Quimper is worth a visit. The town is mainly designer shops but there is a food market everyday and the cafe's are reasonable - and we found out that they do not mind if you share 1 large portion.

Unfortunately we booked for the end of the season and therefore some of the entertainment and events were closing down but this did not spoil our stay as staff were friendly.

Overall we would recommend this site which is very peaceful and an ideal base whatever your taste in holiday events may be.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Finistere      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019