Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llanmadoc Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Llanmadoc Touring Caravan Site Reviews

Llanmadoc Touring Caravan Site
Lagadranta Farm
Llanmadoc
Gower
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1DE
Tel: 07837474084
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Orangeapeman 1 review from this member

Awesome location and the new owners Wilma and Alan who have inherited the site from Wilma's Dad are kind, caring and devoted to giving visitors a lovely stay. Thank you for your warm welcome and efforts to give our family (parents with 3 children) everything we needed to have a lovely Easter camping holiday! We will be back for sure!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshred 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Llanmadoc campsite and bowled over by this little gem of a place. We got there late as we'd had to leave Bristol post-work and the people who run the site couldn't have been more helpful and welcome. This continued throughout the weekend - including the creme-de-la-creme for my partner who had asked for gluten-free muffins from the site cafe/shop and finally had them given to her free of charge on the last day! Lovely gesture.

As for the location and the facilities, everything is here. Five minute walk across the sand dunes to a breathtakingly beautiful long, long, stretch of beach looking across to the Carmarthenshire coastline and as far down as Pembrokeshire. There's the coastal path round the headland to Llangennith Sands if one wishes although we didn't get round to it this time, too much swimming and sunbathing and walking along the sands. There are adequate showers and toilet and washing-up facilities on the site, and the whole feel and vibe of the place is nice and relaxed, with families and couples just enjoying themselves in a really perfect setting.

Up the hill (about a 15-20 minute walk) in the village of Llanmadoc is The Brittania Inn, a refurbished old pub doing superb food and a really nice ale called Gower Gold.

Been to several Gower sites and they're all good, but this is special. We'll be returning a lot I think.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Katydoll 1 review from this member

Just visited this site for the first time, spent a long weekend there. The staff were friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

Although it was very busy there was plenty of room and you were not on top of each other, however, it would have been better if the grass was kept shorter. The shower/toilet block facilities are due to be enlarged and modernized this winter which will be a good improvement, especially the washing up area which is far from adequate, but on the plus side there was always plenty of soap, hot water, and the toilets were cleaned regularly.

There is a little cafe/shop on site which provides a very good standard of food both to eat in or take away.

To be able to walk straight out of the site on to the sand dunes and being 5 minutes walk from a large beautiful beach is fabulous.

Once you have visited this campsite you will want to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K8yll 1 review from this member

The location is amazing, right on the Gower beaches and absolutely stunning ! The facilities could do with updating however the toilets are clean and suitable for a camping holiday! We had a great time and will be looking at returning in the summer holidays. If the sunshine returns!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missbluepeter 1 review from this member

I hope everyone reads the bad reviews on this site and stays away from one of the most relaxing, beautiful unspoiled, uncommercialised areas of the coast!

The site is on a working farm, the very last farm you can drive to on the long, narrow winding country lanes into the farm. Yes it is old, not modern and needs a little updating- BUT it has essential requirements and as a camper I don't expect all mod cons on a campsite. Yes there are strict rules, but if you adhere to the rules you will have a great stay even if it rains- because the countryside is fabulous.

The showers are open at set times- only because non camping beach users were showering off sand and leaving terrible mess for the paying campers. The toilets were clean ( and cleaned daily). There was toilet paper in the toilets and soap but most people bring their own ( and toilet rolls do run out!). You will need your torch, not only for the toilets- because there are no lights on the site at night( its a farm!).

We had a hook up. There seemed to be plenty available but also lots of field to camp in. No play area for children but open fields and beach for the asking. There is a nice craft shop at the top of the lane in Cwm Ivy with hand made items. The Siop Y Poble is perfect for a coffee break( especially the famous Gower Brownies) and the Brittania pub is excellent for a meal. It is a good stretch of the legs, but perfectly walkable in 15 min's at slow pace. You have to go to Penclawdd for a proper shop but you can buy fresh fruit and veg from roadside tables in the lanes and bread and milk from the shop. Only one car per piitch and you will pay 3 for any additional cars. For safety the car park is locked at night after 10.

The staff are pleasant and extremely helpful. They will try to help if they can or direct you to what you need. The cafe is excellent for coffee and cake or a meal.

If you are polite, and respectful there are no issues, this is the place to relax and enjoy. If you want more luxury- don't go there because you will be disappointed. This site wins hands down over other more commercialised sites for its location alone.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanandavid 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location, stunning views and friendly owners, Mr and Mrs Price are very welcoming. The cafe is fab, lovely meals and friendly people. The closeness to the beach is incredible, just a short walk to a lovely, peaceful beach. The sunsets are superb. The beach is clean and you can walk for miles.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jandyj 1 review from this member

Wanted a short break away, somewhere beautiful and near the sea. Did a random web search for somewhere on the Gower and came across this site. Arrived during lambing season and fell in love with the site and the area in general. As a basic caravan site on a small working farm it offers a level of peace and calm that is not present in more hard-sell, competitive, all mod cons, sign-your-soul-away-before-you-can-enter camping sites.

Having just read the bad reviews about this site, I wanted to add my own comment.

If your idea of being rude is someone shouting from their car to get your attention, and your idea of being polite is someone shoving a credit card payment machine at you and giving you a list of site rules without even a smile or a hello or making passing conversation, then this site is not for you.

The owners, and the workers on the site added to our stay by chatting, and sharing news about the new born lambs in a way that made us feel that their business was not 'just about the money'.

If you are comfortable with the knowledge that by paying your money the owners of this wonderful corner of the Gower will share it with you, then give this a try, and respect the fact that you are camping in what is actually their home.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Talgarth19 4 reviews from this member

Booked 2 nights. We had to use concrete blocks AND chocks to level van. The showers were disgusting, gents had no door on cubicle! No loo paper in any of the toilets. We left after first night. Cannot believe these people run a site, especially charging 25 per night.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pscylo 4 reviews from this member

I'll keep this objective:

Good:

Free showers

Short walk to the beach

You can pay your deposit by credit card

Bad:

The card machine will be broken when you arrive so the balance will have to be paid in cash.

Shower times limited - not open after 8pm and not open from (IIRC) 11am to 4pm.

Shower and toilet blocks could be a long walk, depending on pitch position.

Electricity to shower and toilet block turned off at night.

Shower cubicles are not private - depending on how tall you are you would be able to see most of your neighbour's junk. In my case the cubicles only came to shoulder height.

Shower and toilet facilities have definitely seen better days.

No soap, paper towels or toilet paper provided.

50p charge for washing up water.

Gates are locked at 10pm, so no exit or entrance after this time.

No guests after 6pm (if in car will have to pay 3 parking fee).

Local beach is not really safe to swim as it's a tidal estuary - lots of rips and tows.

Nearest pub (pictured on their website - The Brittania), is probably a good mile away down the narrow entrance road.

Nearest sizable shop is a good 20 minutes away. Big supermarkets nearer 30-40 minutes.

Nearest kid safe beach, probably 25 minutes away.

Unfortunately most, if not all, of the negatives that you've read about this site are true. We had all of the above for the princely sum of 27 a night (the most I have ever paid for a pitch). It doesn't seem unreasonable to expect there to be toilet paper provided, hand soap, and hand drying facilities. To be able to come and go as you please seems a basic human right to me, and although being in by 10pm isn't a major issue (I have youngish kids), I can foresee a medical emergency requiring a quick exit which would be hindered by being locked, and days out will definitely be cut short.

I've never come across restricted times for showers. Having them shut at 8pm can certainly cut short your day at the beach. Had I known in advance that the local beach is not a swimming beach, I wouldn't have booked. Kicking guests out at 6pm seems unreasonable, and is clearly because of the manning of the office.

There is a small car park that they charge for use to access the beach (which is why there is a 3 fee) and your guest parks there. The office though is only manned to 6pm so the cars have to be gone from the car park by 6pm. If you charged by car and allowed the car to park next to the pitch they wouldn't have to dash off until 10pm.

I can't really speak about the conduct of the owners in general since I had little interaction with them, but I would say that shouting at my daughter (by the caravan door) from her car to 'get your dad out', is a bit rude. Beyond payment I had no interaction with the owner and although I understand that it is a business, receiving payment and paying out as little as possible seemed to be the prime consideration of the owner.

There seems to be very little done to actually make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Throughout the site there are notices listing various transgressions which will result in eviction from the site such as collecting hot water from hand washing facilities, or washing a wet suit out in the shower.

When you factor all of this in with the fact that it is very expensive, I can say that I would not go again and would recommend that you look elsewhere. With that said though, the chap on our neighbouring pitch had been 5 years running and other reviews have said the same thing. You can certainly work around the various ridiculous restrictions, but I for one would not choose to do so. It also seems unlikely it would be so busy if the restrictions were known of in advance.

All that said though it is a pretty area and if you're into surfing or the like, it's quite convenient for a number of beaches, so I guess it's likely that the number of people who will make do will outnumber those that won't. You get the feeling that it's a game of camping/caravan jenga with the owner; see what can be removed in the way of comfort, services and fun, and still keep them coming. Anyway, not for me in any case.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBarnes 1 review from this member

Just stayed here and the site is well located on a beach. Facilities basic but clean. Restrictions placed on when you can wash up and shower which is a little odd. Had to pay for hot water to wash up and only one sink working.

Overall the site could do better. Little things as mentioned above and the fact that pitches are not marked out so people basically pitch where they want. We had a group that pitched circa 6 tents right in front of us. Also, the grass had not been cut for ages so was considerably long.

Good friendly cafe on site.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019