Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Aberystwyth Holiday Village

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Aberystwyth Holiday Village Reviews

Aberystwyth Holiday Village
Penparcau Road
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 1TH
Tel: 01970 624211
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal Pitches Only
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 76 Reviews
                7/10 from 76 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Adam2306 1 review from this member

 Really nice site with friendly staff and a great location.

Stayed for four nights and plenty to do in the local area for families.

Can't wait to stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gayle and john 1 review from this member

 Boss. kids love it, made loads of friends love the entertainment, cant wait till summer again

Staff on site 24hrs, everyone is friendly

Definitely 10 out 10

Town is a short distance from park 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HighSlayer 7 reviews from this member

 This is an update to my review from last September.

I have just tried to book the site again and found out that this site is no longer operational as a tourer/camping site and now only accepts full 12 month seasonal bookings at a cost of 995

As such it is no longer a camping site :-)

As this is the only site within walking distance of Aberystwyth we are pretty gutted to hear of this decision. As the town has no long term parking (2 hours most places, a few with 3 hours) then access via vehicle to visit our son and his family is also not possible. Very upsetting news :-( 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HighSlayer 7 reviews from this member

 I'm finding this a difficult review to write as in some ways this is a great site but in others it is simply terrible.

I booked online via their website and a big reason for choosing AHV was that they have a swimming pool and gym. As a diabetic on a health kick these were great pulls for me. However, having e-mailed to ask the opening times I was told that the Gym is closed outside school holidays and the swimming pool is only open on a saturday plus a couple of hours on a sunday.

This meant only 1 use of the pool in the week I'd be there. It didn't mention that on the website which I felt was very misleading (they did mention entertainment was only available during the holidays which was fair enough as I didn't want that anyway). I felt this was unfair as the site was more than busy enough for the pool and gym to have been open. It was the week the kids go back to school so lots of adults away camping

Prices out of season were very good. They were basically charging just 10 a night including awning, 2 people and EHU. These are things they generally charge extra for.

On arrival reception was closed (between 1 and 2) so I had to wait almost an hour to check in. I was then told where the EHUs were and that I could choose anywhere I wanted, which was nice.

Got on, got set up, nice pitch. The site itself is set close to the river though you cant actually see the river unless you climb up through a hedge/trees to it. One problem we had as the week went on is that there was just no organisation whatsoever and they just let everyone pitch wherever they wanted. Lots of people just stopped one night then went.

On one occasion when the site was almost full the 'chap on the jeep' told a guy with a huge caravan to park in a particular spot which was right in front of 2 motorhomes, meaning there was no way for them to get off. Obviously they complained and the guy had to move, but by this time there were hardly any hookups available - it seemed nobody was keeping check at all.

1 morning we got up to some noise and found another tent pitched so close to ours that their guy ropes were coming past our guy ropes. That was neither safe nor polite, especially as they were quite noisy (but fortunately also decided to go after just one night)

The facilities had good and bad points. On the plus side they were plentiful and clean, regularly checked and with plentiful, good quality toilet paper. Plenty of showers, sinks, urinals and WCs.

On the average side the WCs were tiny - so small you couldn't get in or out without straddling the toilet. Also you are squashed up against the toilet roll dispensers when sat down which is uncomfortable and meant you had no choice but to go left handed, if you get my gist!

Likewise the showers - you couldn't get in or out of the door without stepping into the shower tray as they were so cramped. The cubicles themselves would have been an ok size apart from the massively oversized full bath size plastic shower curtains used. They were 3 times the necessary width meaning that they curled right into the cubicle and touched you the whole time - a very nasty experience in a shared facility. Due to the tiny space there is no way to keep things dry unless they are hung up and there is no stool to help those who may struggle doing everything standing in a slippy wet cubicle.

Then there was the temperature. In the mens the showers were so blisteringly hot that it was not possible to get underneath them. I'm diabetic and need to be really careful of scalds and skin problems and even as a grown up I screamed the first time and was bright red where the water hit me. I had to stand on the opposite side of the shower and splash water towards me with my hands. This was the entire week. Mentioning it at reception got a blank look - they didn't care.

Conversely the women's showers were the complete opposite - for the whole week the water was cold and my partner ended up waiting to visit our son (which is why we were in Aberystwyth) to shower there.

Also the water in the utility room was almost completely cold the entire week and unsuitable for even the most basic of washing up.

The week we were there it was very warm but rained virtually every day. The site does get waterlogged easily though once the rain stops it drains away fairly quickly. It stayed squelchy the whole week though.

There is a shop on site which has a range of camping bits and bobs though very little in the way of food. They do offer an icepack freezing service but it is a bit of a rip off at 30p per icepack per day. The lady who runs it is friendly and helpful

There are also laundry machines on site though apparently they were quite expensive and it was cheaper to walk into town and use the proper launderette there.

There is a children's play area but it looked pretty grim and was waterlogged most of the time.

The site has free wi-fi and we mostly had no trouble connecting and doing the usual facebook/whatsapp stuff

So - the site could be a very nice one if they paid a little attention to the facilities and put some effort into controlling numbers. When quiet, the site is pleasant. When busy, not so much.

It is a good value site but suffers from a lack of identity. It's a site which wants to thrive when busy but puts no effort into a good service when busy. When quiet things are a lot better but then there is even less effort.

If the owners read this then please, please sort the water out, cut all the shower curtains in half and look at marking out pitches properly. Those things alone will help make your site a much nicer place.

I'd like to say I'd not ever go back to AHV but it is the only site within walking distance of where my son (and new granddaughter) live so I may well be forced to return. However I'll also be spending a lot more time researching alternatives 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roxy90 3 reviews from this member

 We only had a brief 2 night stay at this campsite for a family graduation at the local uni. The overall feel for the site was good. The staff were friendly, it was clean and well maintained. The location was in easy walking distance of the town and beach (bit of an uphill trek though). We didn't get much of a chance to used the on site facilities other than the shop which was stocked quite well. The pitches were generous in size and we had plenty of room.

The only major con I could see was the showers. A lot of the reviews on here complain of cold showers but we had the opposite problem of it being to hot! With not temperature control they were actually too hot for a comfortable shower. I felt very shower for one mother who was trying to wash her young daughter in the too hot water. The child was screaming due to the heat and had to have a wash in the sink instead.

Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and I would consider going back again. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andreo 12 reviews from this member

 My most recent stay was two nights either side of the May Day holiday weekend.

Since a couple of earlier visits in the last 15 years in company or by myself I noticed that the site seems to have been improved since then. Some years ago the field and the surrounding area of the town were flooded, and the opportunity has been taken to improve the drainage - I saw no waterlogged ground this time and also I camped next to the river without incident.

I had no problem with either of the two ablutions buildings. The facilities were modern and clean.

The on-site pub was revamped a couple of years ago and now has an 'island' bar. It was very quiet on the Monday evening with only a couple of locals in, however I only called in on the way back from the town centre. The club only opens in peak season (Whit holiday onwards). I didn't need to use the shop but it seemed to stock a wide range of goods and also has a coffee machine.

There is free wi-fi over much of the site but it is understandably weak further away from the buildings, so anyone wanting it will be wise to check the signal strength when choosing a pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jeannine 1 review from this member

 Loved this place so much we sold our house and moved here permanently. The site is kept very clean with excellent facilities such as club and pool. Our family came to stay and commented on how the toilet blocks were kept spotless even after the morning rush. Plenty to do for all ages with Aberystwyth main town a short walk away.

As a place to live you are well looked after and help is always on hand while settling in. Wish we had moved here years ago 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christopherowens967 2 reviews from this member

 Right positives first! Easy access n well signposted close to town centre and shops beach front.

Given the weather at the time ground draining well only slightly wet underfoot. Reception greeted by older bloke not sure if he was owner or warden told basically to follow a dis interested biker the security guard??

First impressions not great.

Showers step up into troughwrap round curtain no solid doors n pretty dam cold.

Did have shop and clubhouse on site but didn't use them

Pitch was very close to other campers and noise rule didn't seem to exist. Seemed to be a case of cram em in and leave em be.

Overall ok for overnighter but wont be using this site again 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 Perhaps we visited on a bad day, as it was the Tuesday after a bank holiday, but we were not impressed with this site. The charge was more than we had paid anywhere else, yet there were overflowing rubbish skips on site, the dog exercise area was very small and the dedicated dog dustbin there was also full to overflowing with dog waste; there was no hot water in either showers or handbasins at 7 am so we were unable to even have a decent wash. There was a club house but we arrived late and tired so did not visit it, and we left early after only the one night feeling very disappointed. It is convenient for the town, being just a short drive along the road. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Harlie1108 2 reviews from this member

 Although in a static we used nearly all of the facilities, found the toilets and showers clean and fresh and the site in general was well kept and the views are great as you can see over the valley to Aberystwyth with some of the beautiful architecture it has.

The staff were polite and friendly and prices in the bars and cafe were good. On the negative side the buildings that house the pool and bars are not pretty to see and some of the people holidaying there were rather coarse to put it mildly. Staff wearing t-shirts with 'Security' on them did nothing to enhance a holiday atmosphere but neither did they stop children running around the bars and screaming obscenities at each other, after experiencing it twice it put us and our children off going back. The same children also took over the play area and my youngest was nervous to play there, a great shame for her and also that it was allowed to happen.

The walk into town was a little hilly but only took about 10 mins. Walks at the entrance from the site took you into fields and woody hills and round to the sea wall which has fantastic views from the beach over to town. Whilst we were there the porpoise were close to the beach which was a treat to see.

Aber itself is lovely with fantastic restaurants and good shops, the castle ruins are well kept with a great children's playground at the base. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aberystwyth Holiday Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Aberystwyth Holiday Village have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aberystwyth Holiday Village?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Aberystwyth Holiday Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements