Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Southminster > Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) Reviews

Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )
Canney Road
Steeple
Southminster
Essex   (Browse area)
CM0 7RS
Tel: 0343 178 7070  or  01621 731022
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Basic, 19 Electric, 25 Statics for Hire
Open: 13/03/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Georgy 1 review from this member

 To anyone who wants a holiday here. , DONT BOTHER! It will become your worst nightmare and a massive waste of time money and hope! The staff are incompetent useless and downright rude! The caravans are filthy unclean and facilities don’t work!

We arrived to wait for over an hour just to check in. Got to the caravan and there was dog poo outside. Fag butts. And just generally a shoddy mess.

We couldn’t go in the swimming pool as was totally booked up all week which no one had informed us off so kids were gutted. There ISNT a beach as stated on the website. It’s a boggy esterary! The entertainment was a total joke.

Nothing about this place was good at all so we left just 48 hours in. I wouldn’t go back if you paid me so beware of this place

It’s the crappest of the crap 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jbla 1 review from this member

 A bit disappointing, The swimming pool (the main reason why we booked) was very small and only open for the children from 10-5 with only a limited number of children allowed in for 45 minutes sessions that had to be booked but only 1 hour in advance.

Also, the pool was closed for a whole day for a few days. For this reason we ended up visiting a local leisure centre.

The park itself isn't bad, facilities are quite modern and clean, however the “lovely views” where just stones, hardly any water. Staff were helpful and friendly though.

Surrounding areas of Southend and Maldon are lovely and well worth a visit.

We will possibly return to Essex again but not to Steeple Bay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: FoxyCrome 4 reviews from this member

 Ok. We're not hard to please but we like to get what we pay for. Prior to arrival, we received a call letting us know of the planned 80's night in case we wanted to participate in the fancy dress, also a call letting us know that due to torrential rain, we may want to bring wellies as the park was suffering from 'lakes'.

Booked a Gold plus new 2016 static caravan. Expected, as pictured, a nice veranda with eating area and spacious living area. Upon arrival we had a bag of dirty linen outside our caravan which had metal steps to the door & no lovely outside area.

Caravan was clean, bathroom a little smelly, but I suppose that's the drainage of these units. Had a double duvet in a single cover so had to swap that with the spare single for pull out bed. (Which is so thin it's hard to sleep on if you're an average/bigger sized adult). Normal beds were actually very soft & comfy and shower is hot & well pressured.

Club house is spacious & food is nice, served in good time. No complaints from my fussy hubby, child portions are adequate and flexidine is worth it. We only bought 2 nights of 3, in case we wanted to eat out but there's not much locally.

Caravan is well stocked with cooking utensils though & there's cookable dinners to be found in the well stocked, reasonably priced shop. Arcade area needs attention. Quite a few machines were off, not delivering tickets or were just on but not working though the prizes for tickets are valued well and are easy to reach the required amount, (well easier & better than our local seafront anyway).

Club entertainment was always on, from toddlers am to kiddies disco to bingo to adult evening, bless em its corny but always on. Bar/reception staff are mostly ok. Young lady with long dark hair is faultless. Always there, always busy & always doing her best to please. Don't know what she's being paid but she deserves a rise! More mature

Lady on morning shift with short blonde hair, very friendly and helpful. Sorry I didn't get to thank them. The club house is a bit grubby, tables look clean but are sticky and floor constantly needs attention, I think maybe just a requirement of more staff?

The pool was delightful when the sun made an appearance, although it should be open longer. It has scheduled times but for instance, the sun came out at 4pm and it closed at 4:45 when the sun was still beautiful. Kids were disappointed but rules are rules.

It was heated comfortably and there are well provided loungers and chairs. Made me think who needs an aeroplane! Hahaha. Outside play area didn't please my 10 year old as she said it was slippery. Thin metal apparatus. I'm sure other children enjoyed it though.

Fishing lake was small but nice. Hubby tried but it rained after 10 mins. A couple of dead fish around but others seem to enjoy it too. It did pour down torrentially. The site was wholly waterlogged! 'Lakes' everywhere.

We were luckily placed but other caravans were surrounded. The touring field and grass to fishing lake were like bogs. Outside tables were surrounded and I think In general, the drainage needs to be upgraded or looked at or something because it was like I've never seen before. On the whole, we made the best of it.

My kids are a little old for the entertainment and didn't benefit from it so much as my youngest is 10. Others were having fun it seemed. By the way, the linen bag was still there when we left after having reported it the day we arrived! Cheers steeplebay. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Watsit35 8 reviews from this member

 We have visited Steeple Bay many times over the last couple of years, returning again Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend. Everything you need is here for all ages. Its a really relaxing place to be, lovely peaceful river side walks are perfect. Fishing lake, swimming pool, bar, entertainment and good food. You find it all here. Pitches are hard standing and good size. Easy access to fresh water and waste disposal. Added bonus for us is the locality, it's close but seems far away :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucky336 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here 2 years running as a big family group and will continue to do so as the camping field is a great size and so can fit our encampment more than adequately. Even when busy there is no need to be squashed together. Being able to take our dogs is also a great asset as they love the freedom of camping.

This site is on the estuary, it is fairly remote but that is not a problem as the site has everything you would need especially for a short break. The shop has all your basics. The clubhouse has your usual 'holiday camp' style entertainment which is great for the kids, a decent size bar where you can order basic take away food. We have noticed that after a Saturday night when the entertainment has been on, it can be very rowdy with young people hanging about outside and a huge amount of rubbish left the next morning.

The pool when the weather is warm (as it is outside) is great fun although a little on the small side for when the campsite is busy.

The toilets/shower and washing facilities although dated are kept fairly clean and there is definitely a lot of hot water.

The non hook up field is not flat and so trying to locate an area to get a relatively smooth groundsheet can be difficult.

As an all rounder I would recommend this site to anyone, but especially familes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Saf1 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here and the hardstanding pitch looked like it used to belong to a static caravan, there was a good few inches from the concrete and grass.

The shower blocks was very clean and there seemed to be lashings of hot water, but I think that the toilet block could do with some heating. The washing up block is very handy and clean again with lashings of hot water.

It was a shame that bad weather had left the site waterlogged but they had a tractor with a nice member of staff who pulled my caravan off the hardstanding and put it in the car park for me to hitch up save getting my car stuck in the mud.

The club house was nice with friendly staff and for the children they had loopy the rabbit which the younger children enjoyed. Will be making plans to go back there in the summer. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cllrclarke 3 reviews from this member

 The touring site is close to the clubhouse so on a Saturday night music is very loud until gone 12, that wasn't too much of a problem, it was the rowdy crowd arguing outside our tourer at 1. 30 in the morning for about half an hour that was so annoying. The touring site is the walkway for everybody from static caravans to the clubhouse. The site itself looks nice, but where the tourers are is not nice at all. The mens toilets have 3 showers, 3 sit down toilets and no soap dispensers, but was clean. Overall I will not be returning to this site, it is bottom of the league for touring caravans. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ukbill 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived there at around 5. 30pm and the pitch although hard standing was just enough for the motor home, and the surrounding area was total mud. We went to the club house where the prices are very expensive and cash only - they said they had a cash machine but its one that also charges for withdrawals. By 7.15 we had unhooked and left the site. Anyone there with a static van and children may find this place ok, but make sure you have plenty of cash with you 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biz1471 1 review from this member

 Having read reviews online I was seriously worried about what we would find when we arrived.

The driveway is very long but that does create a sense of isolation and calm away from the rest of the world. The first impression of the park - clean but not brand new.

Admittedly the caravans aren't all brand new and some look a little worse for wear but generally on the whole it looks like a typical caravan park.

The entrance is locked by a gate that you can get in via intercom. The reception and the rest of the facilities are well signposted and clearly directed.

My boyfriend and I camped on the very large field by the fishing lake. We collected our pack and were told to camp wherever we liked on the field.

The field is flat and well maintained, there was no rubbish and the lawn was being mowed as we arrived. I can't comment on the caravans but there was a well sheltered washing up shed that had 5 sinks in it. Attached to the side of that (behind another door) was the waste disposal.

The drinking water tap wasn't labelled but the staff informed us that it was safe to drink. The toilets and showers were kept in good order. They were visibly cleaned every day. The ladies toilets are locked by a code so only authorised people can use it. There were 5 toilets and 4 showers. Each shower had a cubicle door and also had a separate changing area attached.

We used the pool once whilst we stayed (the weather was torrential rain most of the time) admittedly it was cold but it was large enough to do a couple of lengths and was fully supervised by a lifeguard during opening hours.

There is a large playground for the children and entertainment was offered though we didn't go. The toilets inside the pub are of a far better standard than my local and the food is reasonably priced too.

There is a small shop located within reception which sells the basics that you need. The staff were polite, helpful and even froze our ice blocks for our cool box.

The area is lovely for a quiet stroll and you are literally on the sea edge! We visited Southend for a spot of shopping and a meal out. We also shopped at Maldon as it has a bigger supermarket than in Burnham.

Overall I would say that our stay was far better than we first thought. The facilities provided are more than adequate for camping - it's a pity about the weather. The site is obviously being improved as there was always people fixing things and mowing lawns etc. I would definitely recommend this site for campers and will be coming again especially at the price we paid! Great Bargain! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dkbcs 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site as it has its own boat slipway, and also seasonal pitches. In the brochure it sounds like the perfect camp site. This site caters well for static caravans but the touring field is in need of starting again

The pitches are set out very bad and had to ask people to move there cars and chairs so we could get our caravan onto a concrete pitch that is higher than

The grass and even with our 4x4 still caught the jockey wheel on it. The club was ok and food and drink was reasonable priced the swimming pool looked very good but was closed in October

We visited in September and the mens toiled door was broken and toilet was leaking onto the floor. It was still the same in October. Also there are only 3 showers and 3 toilets for men and same for ladies. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Steeple Bay Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement