Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caerau Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Caerau Farm Campsite Reviews

Caerau Farm Campsite
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BG
Tel: 01758 760481
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aberdaron59 1 review from this member

 How can a site go downhill so quick.

70% of the farm is a scrap yard old tractors And old boat trailers litter the site and Would be a real concern if you bring kids.

Toilet block was a disgrace 3 days nothing Then a bucket of disinfectant quick squeegee Then done ! and wasn't done again for the
Rest of our stay.

6amp electricity even the tv had to be turned Of to put the kettle on.

But ABERDARON is still a FANTASTIC PLACE. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dollydog1 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here Aug 2014 for a few nights with my family which consists of 2 adults and 2 children and also my friend and her family.

The 2 camping areas are lovely and look mowed. There is a small field for electric hook up and large field for basic camping. 18 for electric and 10 for basic.

The toilet block however could do with a regular clean as they got quite grubby with sand and mud. Maybe a mop and bucket could be left in shower area so people that are using the showers can give them a clean as well. Anyway I thought 10 was a bargain as I have stayed at some charging 28 a night.

There is also 1 sink where you can wash dishes and it has hot water. In there is also a washing machine and dryer. 2 to use the washer and 1 to use the dryer.

There is no playground but kids kept themselves amused by running around with other kids.

Plenty of shops down the hill which is a 10 minute walk. There is a Spar, butchers, bakers, chip shop and cafe. The beach is also a 10 minute walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roytjenkins 2 reviews from this member

 L have just returned from this campsite it is by far the worst holiday l have had. We were put in a field with an unbelievable slope trying to level van took forever. The toilet block is awful, dirty and full of flying insects. He has changed all his electric amps to 6amps from ten consequently it was tripping out every time you used even a small kettle The dogs there was unbelievable and some was just left to roam park, we often found dog dirt outside our caravan, very concerned of dangers to small children. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hvenes 1 review from this member

 First visit to Caerau Farm. There were two fields and the field we stayed in was lovely, very spacious and we could see the cows in the next fields. The views were lovely too. The site was very quiet and felt safe for the children to play around. There was a laundry room although I never used it so couldn't say how well it worked.

There were 2 toilets and 2 showers each for ladies and gents and there was a separate disabled room but it seemed to be out of order while we were there. I was disappointed at the cleanliness of the toilets/showers, they were always moped with jays fluid so smelt clean but were covered in cobwebs and the toilets/shower trays could have done with a good scrub. I could put up with them but you couldn't let the kids go in alone, just in case!

The walk into the village took about 10mins and the path led straight to the lovely bakery!. We have stayed at a few sites in Aberdaron before and this site was slightly further away but the hill was not as steep as the others so the walk back was the easiest.

All in all we will be returning to the site but wish they'd clean a bit better. I might offer to do it for a couple of free nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jccc 1 review from this member

 I stayed here at the end of July for 2 nights while on a motorcycle tour of wales. I found it to be a nice site. The toilets basic but clean. The owner was more than happy to let me have a look round first and very friendly. I had a nice flat corner pitch all for 7. 00 a night, I have paid a lot more money with a lot worse toilets blocks. From what I could see I don't think there's anything for small children to do on the site, but if you want a nice friendly camp site with just a 10 minute walk to beach or pub for some good beer & food, then it's worth a try 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PRYLLWYD 1 review from this member

 Aberdaron fantastic little welsh village. Plenty to do I was very surprised to see the beer was not over priced for popular village. Food good plenty of choice at either of the pubs and must not forget the chippy by the bridge.

This campsite on the other hand for my visit to Aberdaron did absolutely nothing for me. We had a two man tent and was in my mind charged far two much.

Campsite was very good well cut grass but unfortunately the amenities where a disgrace. There were signs saying to keep them as you found them due to refurbishment ! I would like to know when they intend to finish or start again.

Showers with unpainted/tiled floors and to cap it all for your fee to stay there didn't even supply a simple basic need Toilet Roll !

Will not stay there again ! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HelenH70 2 reviews from this member

 Alwyn's site is brilliant - our children love it there. They feel safe and its a happy site. The facilities are basic but serviceable and the welcome is always warm.

Aberdaron beach is a magical place and there is Abersoch nearby for those who miss shopping! Love sitting on the verandah at the Ty Newydd watching life on the beach. When the sun shines there is nowhere better! 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slumdog 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site on and off since 1970. It was the first place I ever camped as a child. It is still a really lovely place to stay. The facilities are all that is required and are kept more than adequately clean.

The beach at Aberdaron is a ten minute walk and is a great place to rock pool or lay about. Good facilities for boats etc. Handy too for Hells Mouth and 'Whistling Sands'. 18 miles from Pwhelli or Abersoch and lots of places to explore in any direction. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ann barlow 1 review from this member

 A basic site but everything you need for a relaxing break or holiday.
Toilet block, showers, laundry, disabled access, electric hookups, calor and camping gaz exchange. You must try the free range eggs.

Flat field for hookups overlooking 360 degree outstanding views.
Few minutes walk into Aberdaron village with shops, 2 pubs - both serve meals and post office.
The beach is ideal for families, spotless with crystal clear water perfect for all water sports and divers, it even has its own launching ramp if you own a boat.

Its a family only site with plenty of open space for the kids. A variety of animals as its also a working farm. Your hosts Olwyn and Ellin Roberts are the most friendly and helpful couple you could meet.
I will be back a few times next year, give it a try you won't be disapointed. 


Reviewer: John Patterson

 August 2003
Very basic site with room for several caravans on a level grass field including electric hook up. There is also a sloping field for families for tents motor homes and caravans not requiring hook up.
This is a working farm but is in a very pretty area and is ideal for exploring this beutiful area. The beech at aberdaron is only about 10 mins walk from the campsite and is quite pretty with crystal clear blue water and sandy beech. The beech slopes gently and is shallow ideal for bathing. Further out good snorkling can be had.
There is a small very basic shower block requiring 20p`s a chemical toilet emptying point and a laundry. There is no entertainment other than your own, which I think is great. GREAT VALUE 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caerau Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caerau Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Caerau Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement