Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Grande Metairie

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Carnac > Camping La Grande Metairie > Reviews

Camping La Grande Metairie
Route De Kerlescan
Carnac
Brittany   (Browse area)
56342
Tel: +33 0230260229
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 574
Open: 27/03/2024 to 06/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TeamGray 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a static caravan but wished we had bought our caravan, as static wasn't that comfortable. The camping area looked ok and the toilets looked amazing! It looked like you could hire fridges and outdoor tables and chairs. We loved the site. Beautiful area for cycling and not too many hills. We cycled to the beach. The standing stones left Stonehenge in the shade. Our two boys loved the entertainment. It was a great show set in the amphitheater outside. Pool complex was fantastic. Not sure about the on site animals, I guess the younger children would like them. I thought they were very smelly. I disapprove of the visiting circus that seems to visit a lot of places in France. It was awful seeing the tigers in such small cages. We loved the high ropes course which was very reasonably priced and we loved zooming past the bar! Great authentic creperie just outside the entrance. Great family site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shastings 12 reviews from this member

 Depending upon what you look for in a site you'll either love or hate this place! We spent three weeks here in the summer and we're booked in again for 2017, so I guess we fall into the former category.

This is a very large, full blown holiday park with extensive pool complex, pony rides for the kiddies, bar, restaurant and so on. It is situated conveniently close (5 min drive) to a selection of beautiful sheltered beaches and the town of Carnac. This is great family holiday territory with a whole host of other attractions such as a zoo, high ropes centre and so on within easy reach. If you're interested, the standing stones of Carnac are literally outside the entrance.

Facilities are good, with sanitation blocks that are large, quite luxuriously fitted out and kept very clean (at least they were throughout our stay of three weeks in peak season). Demand on these blocks is low because, as with a number of French sites these days, most of the park is given over to static caravan type accommodation - more on. This later.

Touring pitches are reasonably generous starting at 80 square metres and going up to 120 square metres. We were a little cramped on our pitch (80 sqm), but we do have a very large tent, trailer and estate car, so I can't really grumble. For 2017 we've requested a specific, larger pitch and paid the extra cash to give us more room. All pitches are bordered by waist high hedges on at least 3 sides, so there is a decent level of privacy. Water access is frequently spaced around the touring areas. There are a number of trees around for shade, which was most welcome during August 2016. Vehicular access is good to all pitches and although you're welcome to park on your pitch, there are also car parks around if you'd rather have the space. As far as I could tell, all touring pitches have electric hookups and some have water/drainage for caravans/motorhomes.

On site entertainment is excellent: stunning pool complex, tennis, pony riding, fishing, play parks for the kiddies, bar, games room, outdoor theatre space (entertainment nightly), etc. There was even a visiting circus during our stay. The restaurant is decent enough, but a little pricey and needs to be booked in advance. There is Alsop a takeaway with chips, burgers, pizza and so on. There's also a good kids club.

The on site shop is quite large, with all the essentials, but with the usual premium prices. Croissants & bread, etc are baked on the premises daily and well worth the extra cash over local supermarket offerings. Access to local towns and supermarkets is good, with a very large E Leclerc in nearby Auray (20 mins by car).

The site is big enough to warrant taking bikes to get around.

Service is pretty good and staff polite. Our only gripe here was that some of the services (pony riding for example) weren't always open at the stated times due to staffing issues? A bit puzzling peak season but there you go. Nightly patrols ensured that the noise curfew was kept, so by 11. 30 the site was very quiet indeed and neither of our two young children were disturbed during the night on any occasion. There was a little noise later from a neighbouring site on Friday and Saturdays, but nothing incredible and pretty much finished by midnight.

I've read several reviews of this site complaining of its noise, general busyness and high kid population, but it is a holiday park. Yes there are lots of kids around as this is very much a family site and to be fair, everything about the advertising for the place screams family holiday. The trick here is to research where you're going and if you want somewhere quiet, then give this sort of place a very wide berth.

Having spent three weeks on this site in peak season I can thoroughly recommend it. Having said that, touring is quite clearly giving way to static caravan type accommodation run by people like Eurocamp and there are precious few touring pitches remaining. Unfortunate, but a sign of the times I guess.

Finally - expensive, but well worth it for a great family holiday in our opinion. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ammdkids 29 reviews from this member

 This was a nice site with an amazing pool- both outdoor and indoor. The kids loved the slides and lazy river and the indoor pool was lovely and warm. We stayed in a mobile so didn't use the toilet facilities. The park was a little disappointing and the bouncy castle wasn't free as on most sites. Pizzas were okay. The bar was nice and had a light show on which the kids enjoyed. The site although large was quiet by about 11pm. The mobiles were a little squashed together. The area is lovely and Carnac beach worth a visit. We would do a short stay there again but it was a little too cramped for a longer, relaxing stay for our liking. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rachel68 10 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from 2 weeks at La Grande Metairie. As 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 dogs, we all give the site a big thumbs up - we had a lovely holiday. There's plenty of entertainment if that's what you're looking for, a great pool complex, bar, okay restaurant (pizzas etc), well stocked shop and plenty to do off site - Carnac, it's beaches and the surrounding area is gorgeous and I'd definitely recommend a visit. Also great for cycling. The site has a free bus service to Carnac and Carnac Plage which was great for us and our children to use with their friends. We were glad we'd ordered a larger pitch as the normal pitches weren't that generous. Wifi was rubbish but they were fixing it the day we left. This is the standard and type of site I would expect from Les Castels and Eurocamp Independent - a great family holiday enjoyed by all! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russjmills 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite in 1975 when it was a pretty small site with a small pool and bar.

I was amazed when I went back last year to see that it had grown in to a massive city of mobile homes caravans and tents.

Whilst I was a bit upset at what used to be a charming little site changing in such a grand scale. If you like big sites with all the facilities and entertainment for the kids, then this will tick all of those boxes.

The pitch was smallish but well serviced and the staff were efficient.

Whilst I wouldn't go back, this is purely because I don't like holiday parks, but if that is your thing then there is little to dislike.

The surrounding area is still fabulous and the are some great places to go for a day out. This beaches and weather were lovely 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljhomer 3 reviews from this member

 Picked this campsite based on Castels reputation and having used Domaine les Ormes several times. On arrival the staff weren't as friendly but the reception was very busy, although going back to ask questions at any other time of day the reception staff didn't seem to be overly helpful.

Unless you book a premium pitch then you will get a pitch of around 100m2 - it was a bit of a squeeze for my tent and only just managed to get the car on too, had to park the trailer up in the reception car park. We booked with friends and paid extra to have 2 pitches together - their tent only just fit too (an outwell florida 8) so there wasn't an awful lot of room outside the tents for socialising - they were also on different levels so it wasn't like we could combine using both pitches.

Evening entertainment was okay and our combined 4 kids seemed to love it, we were pleased we were pitched away from the main bar etc as it could be very noisy. Kids loved the pool but take your own chair/lounger - people seem to lay out towels and disappear!

Weather was great, can't have wished for better.

Surrounding area was really nice and we had some good days out.

In all we had a great holiday but I don't think I'd go back mainly due to the size of the pitches, I guess we've been spoilt with other campsites! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

 Did not research before arrival entirely my fault. Visited on the strength of Castels reputation

Ideal for families, everything you could ever want from take aways to entertainment, very much like the costas, reps and kids clubs. Too large and commercial for me. Lots of letting units and ready assembled tents, e. Touring pitches were in the least popular spots of this busy site. ARRGH - Children, teenagers, noise, dust and this was early season. Dread peak time. Took the hit as I had paid for a week, packed up after 2 days and transferred to Les Druids, busy but more sedate. Stay away if you want relaxation and quiet.

Use this website to research as much as you can before you go. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stealthmackem 5 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic 10 nights at this site. The facilities are modern and clean, the shop is excellent and the pool complex the best on any site I've ever been to.

The pitch was a dustbowl, not a blade of grass on it, but that's to be expected at the very end of a particularly dry holiday season. My lawn is the same without folk camping on it! We had 24 hours of torrential rain in the middle of the holiday but the pitch was well drained and our kit kept us dry.

Vannes Aquarium and adjacent Butterfly Garden are good escapes from the rain.

Word to the wise, Sanitieres Block 1 was very busy, walk down to Block 2 for a much more relaxed and slightly hotter shower, only 1 min walk further from touring pitches toward statics (hence less useage I guess).

Pizzas, chicken, frites and crepes from the takeaway are all excellent, although the burgers were reheated and nowhere near as good. The bar is busy as you would expect from such a large site, and to be honest not my cup of tea. If you like line dancing and the songs from Grease, you may enjoy it more. Shame, as the setting and the drinks on offer are fantastic. I imagine out of season it's a great place to while away time and a welcome warm spot. The Blue Lagoon restaurant is very nice, good food and service and usually busy. Oddly, on special menu nights the usual menu is not available.

Plage de Men Du down the road is a beautiful beach and much quieter and closer than Carnac Plage. Take a windbreak as it's much more blowy than you'd realise from the sheltered campsite.

Carnac, Carnac Plage and Trinite sur Mer are all lovely places to go out for dinner with a good selection of restaurants. Carnac has a lively but civilised nightlife, great fun at weekends in particular. Locals are friendly and charming, although as always it helps if you at least try to speak French.

Quiberon is an excellent day trip (do the land train trip) and the beach and dunes around Locmariaquer are phenomenal.

Will definitely return to this site as there's a lot more to see than we could squeeze in during our short stay and I'm not convinced we would find better elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ehems 2 reviews from this member

 We originally booked La Grande Metairie as it was part of the Les Castels chain - a company recommended by multiple friends. We arrived in the rain after a long drive which dented our enthusiasm however we were immediately struck by the number of mobile homes on the site. We should have spotted this in the brochure (450 mobile homes out of 575 emplacements) as we were bringing our own tent to the site.

The Emplacement. Our emplacement was amongst other mobile homes and overall it was a reasonable size with hedge around it and lots of shade. We had an emplacement with electricity and water. The grass was quite bare as it was August and it was quite dusty in the dry and muddy in wet. Our immediate concern was the trek to the toilet block although that was not really a problem during 2 weeks.

The Toilets. We have 3 young children (4, 6, 8) and I found the toilets and showers to be always clean and regularly maintained. One advantage of being in the minority of users.

The Facilities. The swimming pool complex was great for the children and the swings / activities around the bar were good. I did feel that it was a shame that for such a big site there could not be more spread out around the campus. Other facilities like mini-golf and the tree adventure trail were in good shape as per the brochure.

The Region. Loved the region around Carnac - lots of great beaches around and things to do within an hour drive. Kids loved eating in the Creperies. Weather is not like the south of France and out of 2 weeks we only had 5 days of sun - given where it is geographically this is to be expected.

Summary. I wont be going back to La Grande Metairie and would not recommend it as a campsite. It is more somewhere for tour operators and mobile homes which takes away from it as a camping ground. It was noisy in the evenings and some of our neighbours in mobile homes were often drinking wine on their deck talking loudly after 11 which was not condusive for canvas walls and sleeping. The guests are generally English speaking nations and it did not feel like we were in France when we were on site. Where La Grande Metairie does work is for families with older children who can go out and meet others in a safe environment or for families that want to stay close to the site facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badger582 10 reviews from this member

 We returned to this site this year after having a short stop over last year, and this year were two parties of 4 adults and 3 children of ages 11, 8 and 6. The site is big and busy, but nicely nestled in the woods and the facilities are superb, and after 2 weeks of swimming, pony rides, trampolines, tennis, volley ball, table tennis, kids clubs, bmx track, zip wires, etc, etc, the children just didnít want to come home (and neither did the parents!). We had mixed weather (4 days drizzle) and then plenty of sunshine, but even in the rain there was plenty to do.

The pitch size was excellent, with enough space for caravan, awning, car and all the children's games, etc. The toilets were always spotlessly clean, and plenty of hot water at all times. The noise levels were kept to a minimum at night times, in fact security very nicely asked us to laugh quietly at 11.15pm at night, which we didnít mind as we hadnít realised what the time was! We ate at the restaurant twice and had superb meals and the staff were great.

The staff were always helpful and friendly, the children's club staff were fab, and the entertainment as a whole was good.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Grande Metairie and would definitely go back and stay again next year. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Grande Metairie child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Grande Metairie have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Grande Metairie?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Grande Metairie dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3540 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement