Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only ) Reviews

Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only )
Upton,
Exmoor
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 2DB
Tel: 01398 371199
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chatterboxajl 1 review from this member

 Great site. Just need to press hard to get the showers to stay on longer. They then stay on about a minute before you need to press again. Hard standing on all pitches so even if it is a bit muddy there is always a clean path to walk. Great friendly site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tall Mark 13 reviews from this member

 We were not blessed with good weather during our visit but what a very nice 8 night stay.

Pros

Close (really close) local pub - food average but friendly and good value.

Small but adequately stocked site shop, meats were good!

Site is very well looked after, with a handy but very small dog area, fab views over the surrounding countryside. Well laid out and peaceful

Friendly and helpful wardens

Clean and ample facilities with plenty of hot water (all be it difficult to extract)

Well situation for access around the area.

Cons

No dog walks near the site except along the local lanes, need to get in the car, there are plenty of good ones near by (there is a walk but the farmer has blocked it off - thanks). Not the sites fault

Ground was clay, got quite boggy in the rain, imagine it would be quite hard after a long dry summer

Ground was deceptively sloping

Showers stayed on for just about the time it took to press the button, turn around and put shampoo in, then turn off when you were completely blinded - please adjust the settings, I can barely get two breaths in in 10 seconds, let alone wash myself.

I never give 10/10, 9 is really exceptional, 7 & 8 are good scores and we would go back to this site. Sort the showers out and I'd bump it straight up to an 8. Thanks again for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ardral 1 review from this member

 I spent a few nights at this lovely (and very clean) site recently and it was an enjoyable and relaxing break.

I stayed in one of their static caravans rentals which was very clean and almost everything required. The only thing it didn't have was a frying pan, however, I'm sure one of the two owners would have found one if I had asked. My only real complaint with the caravan itself was the shower which was near impossible to get to a good temperature.

All that said, the facilities on the site are great. Shower block, washing up area, mini shop with essentials and a nearby pub (although I didn't use it).

PRO TIP: if you need internet access there is free WiFi on the site, however, only part of the caravan could get a signal and the bedrooms at the back could not. There is elaborately NO phone networks on the site. At all. So you will need to use the free Wifi for internet access and the telephone box for calls.

I really needed internet access for work so I brought a Wireless repeater with me which enabled me to put it in my car (where the free Wifi signal was strongest) and then it boosted and repeated the signal which meant I could EASILY use the internet in the back bedroom area.  


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hillie46 3 reviews from this member

 We love this site. It is set in beautiful countryside on a quiet road and is adults only. Whilst not a dog owner it is dog friendly and when we have visited all dogs have been well behaved. The campsite is immaculate, beautifully tended flower beds and lawns. The toilet blocks are spotless with lovely hot showers, even fresh flowers by the sinks. The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly and never seem to stop working. There is a small reception and shop selling the basics and a pub right next to the entrance to the site good ales and cider and decent, reasonably priced food. Loads to do in the area and lots of walks in the immediate vicinity. The perfect peaceful, relaxing get away. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dmfl76 1 review from this member

 We were fortunate to stay at Lowtrow Cross for the Spring Bank Holiday weekend having found it on this website.

For us, the main advantages to this site is that it is both adults only and also dog friendly allowing us to bring our 4 animals at no extra charge. There is as dedicated dog walking area situated below the tent field which also allows dogs off lead - ideal for first and last chances.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming and despite the fact we arrived late (due to typical traffic on the M5), they were on site in their own caravan to greet us and they maintained a cheerful presence throughout our stay and were particularly accommodating when we asked to stay late to make the most of our final day.

The Reception building includes a small shop selling the basics and also has a large number of maps and walking guides which they are happy to lend out.

The toilet block was clean and well maintained with free showers providing a decent flow at a good temperature. Surrounding the toilet block are washing up areas, laundry room and recycling bins. All very tidy and handy.

All pitches are hardstanding with generous grass areas between. They all have a water and electricity point nearby. TV hook-up is also provided, though we did not use this as we carry a satelite system.

Adjacent to the site is the Lowtrow Cross Inn which you can access either by walking back down the drive or through the gate in the hedge. We enjoyed a lovely, homecooked meal on our final night and would definitely recommend a visit.

For us, the only downside is that the majority of the site is sloping, not ideal for twin axle vans like ours. Nevertheless, we were very comfortable, loved the area and will definitely make the effort to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wazoo 1 review from this member

 Great site with lovely clean facilities. Helpful wardens who offered advice when we asked about local walks and longer hikes. Useful little shop for emergencies and some treats. We loved the icecreams. Good quiet site for exploring Exmoor. Bonus of the pub on our doorstep. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JGB50 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site with helpful, friendly wardens who gave helpful advice when required. There is a small shop which sells the basic items you might have forgotten. The views from the pitches are superb and toilet facilities spotless. There is a good dog walk on the site. In addition there is a pub next to the site serving good food. What more could you need?!

I've given it one star for child friendliness only because it's adults only! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulkimcox 5 reviews from this member

 We have just enjoyed a week long holiday at this fabulous campsite. Run by Anne & Allen the site is kept in immaculate condition. Most visitors seem to enjoy the more homely caravan or motor home accommodation and this site is well suited for them. It is refreshing that the site is equally suited for those who prefer camping under canvas. There is a slight gradient to the tent field which has been previously commented on, but it is very slight and not an issue. Allen is well equipped with packers of various thickness' for those who wish to level their 'furniture'. The views directly from the site are beautiful, and there is a fabulous stillness to the area with just the occasional interruption from the local livestock. The Pub is quite a gruelling 30second walk away (some of it uphill), which serves fine ales and excellent food. We managed to fit in two local walks; Tarr Steps and around Wimbleball Lake. Both were a little over 8 miles and easily achievable during an un-hurried day. If you are able they are both superb routes. We were lucky enough to see Kestrel, Goshawk (unconfirmed, but not a Buzzard), Red Deer, White Throated Dipper and Heron alongside all the more usual suspects. Anne & Allen run a small convenience cabin/office that has all the usual products to keep you going. In summary Kim and I enjoyed our break at Lowtrow immensely and will be sure to return as there is still a lot in the area to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Littlesmallwind 6 reviews from this member

 Having just spent a week here, I think that a review of the site from a tent user's point of view is needed. On the positive side, this is a beautifully kept site. The grass is lush, and the flowerbeds and the wild plant life are a picture. The showers and related facilities are first class, with piping hot water - always. We never had to queue, even though the site was reasonably full. The wardens are more than helpful. They really do go the extra mile, and are lovely people. The site shop is well provisioned, which is a good thing, as there are no very local shops. The pub next door is an added bonus to this site. Just a two minute walk, and has a well stocked bar. The food they serve is fantastic, and well priced given the size of the portions!

On the negative side, which only really concerns tent users, as vans and the like are able to level themselves, there is no part of this site that is level. Their website states that there are four level camping pitches, and two slightly sloping. The 'level' pitches are slightly sloping. The rest of the camping field is a hill! We were pitched on a bad part, but the next tent lower down the hill were especially bad, and they travelled for six and a half hours to get there. We did not have one nights unbroken sleep due to sliding downhill off the bed. By the end of the week, everything in the tent was heading downhill. I wish that I'd looked at the pitch before paying. I have given this a low rating as we don't like camping on a hill, and because I think that the website is slightly deceiving on this matter. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazzywazzywoowoo 1 review from this member

 This is a very peaceful site with very good facilities, they are clean and warm. The caretakers are very happy to offer advice on where to visit and help with anything they can. There is a pub at the site offering food if you wish to eat out. Being on Exmoor the countryside is beautiful and such a variety of wildlife. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only ) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lowtrow Cross Caravan Camping Site ( Adults Only ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Taunton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement