Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterrow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Waterrow Touring Park
Waterrow
Wiveliscombe
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 2AZ
Tel: 01984 623464
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (9)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gwen J 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Waterrow for 10 nights and have absolutely enjoyed our stay through the terrible winds and rain and also the lovely sunshine. This is a little gem of a site and canít fault anything about it. The standard pitch was excellent with plenty of room to manoeuvre. The facilities in the barn are excellent and absolutely everything you require and more, even the facilities for our four legged fur babies are more than I have seen on many other sites. All staff are very accommodating and helpful and we couldnít have asked for a nicer stay at this very relaxing peaceful site.

We can also recommend the food and drink at the Rock Inn just down the road and we will definitely return to Waterrow, such a lovely part of the world. Thank you Lynette and Jamie for sharing your wonderful site so we can enjoy. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Duckies 37 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 9 nights. We had a large pitch which was great. Staff friendly. Toilet/Shower block clean and tidy. Nice dog walk by the river when dry. Lovely fish and chip shop at Bampton. Hubby went fishing at Four Ponds Fishery and Cl site which he enjoyed. Found a lovely pub when out 1 day which had fantastic food and a great beer garden for dogs too. Taunton is a lovely place. Only negative was the tractors going past which was often and if tailors empty made a racket.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeparry 5 reviews from this member

This review is easy, excellent from start to finish. I could stop there but I need to type 200 characters. On arrival I asked for a pitch with satellite reception [something I should have made clear when I booked], it was no trouble and I was allowed to pick from three other pitches than the one I was originally allocated. The fully serviced pitch was level and well maintained and very generous in size. The facilities were very clean with loads of info on local attractions, a book library as well as videos and magazines.

The staff were very friendly and approachable. I thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucasdog 3 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site kept immaculately by Lynette, Jamie and their staff. The pitches are brilliant and we loved the privacy hedges and trees between the pitches. In response to another reviewer if the strimmer etc wasnít used the site would be a mess surely! The facilities are the best ever and lots of them even your own webcam on the nesting swallows fantastic. The shop in reception sells the basics plus lovely meat from the local butcher and also gorgeous bread too. The woodland walk is beautiful and so shady in the hot weather for the dogs. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly and go the extra mile to make Waterrow a success. The access is good and the site is lovely and tranquil with no children.

Love the site, love the area and the weather. Just do not understand the criticism at all. We will be back that is a certainty.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 81 reviews from this member

Really, really don't get the post by carit. We arrived at the site after a creulling 6 hour journey which should have been 3 hours. We were greeted by friendly, happy & informative staff. The site is immaculate & the pitches generous & well proportioned. Sadly we were to late with our booking to get a full service pitch but the hardstanding with ehu & tv point was more than adequate especially as there is spring water behind us to fill up the aquaroll with. The facilities are extremely clean & lashings of hot water free too. They are warm & I have no idea about the other posters comment they need updating as they were fine. The barn has been done out really well & as for tacky displays I couldn't find them. In fact the opposite I loved the photo display of the evolution of the park & all the information. I'll be honest we are on our 3rd day of 7 & I will write a further review after our stay about where we have been & eaten but I really wanted to put the record straight as I don't think this site should be dammed like that. This place is really great & I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone & indeed come back again.

Our week has been completed and we are now back home after a much less cruelling journey. As promised the second half of my review. This really is a first class site. As I said before the pitches are great, the staff friendly, helpful and pleasant and go out of their way to facilitate any query you may have. The facilities are spotless and not at all dated as previous;y posted by someone else. We had no trouble accessing them at any time and despite the site being full neither of us had to queue for a shower. Lashings of hot water too, hairdryers, beautifully stocked soaps, creme and cloths to wipe down sinks. One touch I really liked was that when the facilities were being cleaned there was another loo available. Many sites could learn from that. One idea I would like to suggest is a toilet in the ladies shower room as sometimes you can be in a state of undress and I didn't really want to run across the hallway to the loo!

There is so much to see & do not a long journey from Waterrow. We recommend the dark skies sites all listed ina leaflet. We found the Exmoor paper complete with map very helpful. We went on the West Somerset Steam railway, a day rover ticket means you can get on & off which we did, as described below. If like us you like to spend time on a beach with peace & quiet then Blue Anchor is the place. 2 cafes and a beach. Pick low tide times for sand. We went to Watchet, a lovely harbour too. We also visited Dunster Castle and Knightshayes, both national Trust places and had two lovely days. We drove across Exmoor, too hot to walk, and stopped off at various places. We can highly recommend taking the little toll road instead of Porlock Hill as the views are truly breathtaking, £3 well spent. Of course Lynmouth goes without saying as awesome. We also discovered several little brewers, whose bear is now residing in our fridge, not for long though. There are several all over the place. The closest being in Wiveliscombe.

Food wise we visited The Rock Inn twice absolutely gorgeous food, the chinese takeaway in Wiveliscombe was a good one too and the fish & chip shop was ok. We did buy meat products from the site as they we all from a local butcher and very good too. Oh yes ice cream from the site shop is a must too. So all in all, worth the journey and can highly recommend this site to everyone. We will be back hopefully this year but if not definitely next. Thank you Waterrow you have been our find of the year.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carit 3 reviews from this member

Sorry, but I don't get all the great reviews. We have just returned from a weekend stay. The site is nicely laid out, and the pitch was ok, but for £30 a night I expected better. The staff we happened to see were polite but fairly indifferent. But the idea of this being a 'tranquil' site is rather far fetched. Dogs barking, and what we believed to be a parrot screeching was drowned out by the site staff using a strimmer on a sunny Saturday afternoon? The main road is metres away from the site so road noise can be heard throughout the day and night.

The toilets block was probably modern some years ago, but is now looking rather dated. A few photos of the area stuck in the entrance makes it look tacky, and a broken coffee making machine adds to the drab surroundings. Not worth the price. Sorry.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 14 reviews from this member

We visited here for 3 nights on 28 February, arriving at the same time as the Beast from the East, the coldest weather for many years, snow, blizzards and frozen rain, oh joy. We were very warmly welcomed by the site owners and shown to our pitch. The temperature was below freezing and everything was frozen, this did not stop the owner from defrosting the water supply to our pitch allowing us to take on water. We woke up the following day to about 6 inches of snow, a complete white outÖ very beautiful viewed from the cosy interior of our motorhome. We didnít manage to explore the entire site, this we decided to save until another visit. The showers and loos are located in a barn where there is also a seating area and local tourist information. The facilities we did use were warm and spotless. This was an unusual visit but one which was made special by the warmth and friendliness of the site owners and helpfulness of other visitors on site. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montboy 1 review from this member

We took advantage of the winter 3 for 2 offer and enjoyed the site so much we have booked for a longer stay later in The year.

The area has lots of interesting places to visit and the town of Wiverliscombe is great. Pubs dog friendly with good food and local beers.

Towing to the site is easy and the owner was very helpful on arrival. The site is quiet as it should be being adults only, facilities are good and pitches quite spacious. We've been touring for quite some time so we know what a good site is all about, this one is better than most.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Phil blewitt 1 review from this member

Wow what a great site owners James and his wife are great very welcoming and helpful facilities are first class clean and well maintained, site is well laid out with great pitches all with TV hookup would definitely recommend it is one of them sites that you do not find very often a credit to the owners plus there is a pub just down the road

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 34 reviews from this member

Here for new year at a gem of a touring park. Full to capacity we have to agree with all the accolades that preceded this review. Our hosts have really gone the extra mile to make this an exceptionally nice place to stay. They even laid on a new year celebration at a nearby hotel including coach travel to and from. Unfortunately we couldnít leave the dogs so had to pass on this. Many of the other visitors have really pushed the boat out with decorating their vans and pitches, itís very colourful and cheery.

We have visited nearby Wiveliscombe and recommend the White Hart and the Bear for eats and drinks, The Bear is a bit basic but the fare was good. We also tried the local Ďpubí The Rock Inn and fell foul of the miserable harridan that runs the place as we committed three cardinal sins by not pre booking, not being residents of the establishment and having the audacity to take our dogs with us. Suffice to say after a very unwelcoming reception and the feeling that we were inconveniencing them by wanting to eat there we left.

Coming back to the locale we spent a lovely day at Dunster, mooching round the boutique shops and cafes and a very pleasant walk around Dunster Castle and the gardens. If the weather had been kinder we would have carried on to the beach afterwards but retired to the Luttrell Arms for a superb lunch.

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977