Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Kilkenny > Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping > Reviews

Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping
New Ross Road
Kilkenny
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 86 8308845
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pcllim 1 review from this member

 What a truly beautiful site tucked away with mature trees with ponies and horses on basically a working farm,

Facilities were also lovely and clean and people very friendly,

Had two nights stay,

Biked into Kilkenny twice with ease, plenty to see and visit,

A truly wonderful stay, good value for money, with no added extras, which Ireland see to do!

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hatjoepeg 5 reviews from this member

 Clean friendly site

Excellent location close to main routes so some traffic noise but immaculate facilities

We were on the hard standing lower area that was immaculate and loads of bins etc 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vally 14 reviews from this member

 We only stayed one night here but it was lovely, well kept grounds, and roomy pitches.

I had a knee injury while there and the warden helpfully found us a pitch near to the toilet facilities so I didn't have far to walk. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

 Can't rate this site too highly! Pitches are in a few sections, each screened from the other, so it doesn't feel cramped.

Pitches are largely level, with water nearby, electricity optional, so you don't pay extra for it if you don't need it.

The facilities are great with free showers (you don't always get that in Ireland), an electric socket in the ladies with a mirror by it so you can use your hairdryer, games room, campers kitchen etc, etc even having a covered picnic area!

The walk into town is indeed about 25 minutes and you come back past a garage with shop for any essentials. The proprietor, Dan, was helpful and friendly.

Definitely worth a visit, and for 20, it is extremely good value. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hamlet21 4 reviews from this member

 The site has an upper and lower level, with the upper closer to the showers and provides better internet connections.

The shower block is clean and well maintained and there is also a room where TV is available.

Dan who owns the site is pleasant and very helpful and describes 2 different ways to walk into the town centre, each one taking approx 25 minutes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit to this site and we will probably visit again at some time.

We arrived before reception had opened but pitched on the camping field where there was plenty of room. There are separate areas for caravans and motorhomes. The site is pretty level. The showers are free and very warm and the facilities are always clean. There is a kitchen area and sitting room area also.

The site is about a 20-25 minute steady walk into Kilkenny itself. Either along the main road which is quickest or alongside the river which is most scenic.

Kilkenny is a great place with a lively nightlife, plenty of eating and drinking places and plenty of shops. The surrounding area is great for cycling and walking.

Dan. The owner of this site is a very friendly chap and was full of suggestion of places to visit and things to do.

Great site in a great location 😁 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazza42 17 reviews from this member

 We visited Tree Grove campsite over the May Bank Holiday weekend when the town was very busy with a big hurling match and a music festival going on.

There doesn't seem to be any formal booking procedure, but I had received a couple of friendly emails from the owner who answered any questions I had.

He was waiting at the Reception building when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful. He showed us the top field which was mostly occupied by caravans and tents and we were able to choose where we wanted to pitch.

We chose an empty spot, away from the EHU hookups but as the afternoon went on we were soon surrounded. However, there was plenty of room around us. The whole site is on a gentle hill and the fields are terraced, so most pitches seemed to be flat. There are some hardstanding pitches on the lower levels, some appeared to have taps as well as EHU.

Even though there was a large group of 20 somethings by us we were not bothered by any noise from other campers over the weekend. As we were on the top terrace, we had some road noise (the site is just off the town's ring road), but it wasn't too bad.

The toilet / shower / washing up block was basic, but very clean with individual shower rooms rather than cubicles which I liked. My only grumble was that the showers were not warm.

It's an easy walk into Kilkenny from the site and there is a garage a few minutes walk away if you need any supplies. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 When we arrived there was no one at reception just a sign saying to choose a pitch. We managed to get a hard standing pitch on the lower level. We didn't have any problem with road noise. There is a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches.

Our pitch was fairly level. Each pitch had power and water but you could not hook up to the water. Still it was nice to be close to water.

The owner came round later to see if we were OK and gave us a map of the area. The showers were clean and free and plenty of hot water. There was a common room but we didn't use it.

We couldn't get satellite TV but phone and internet was fine. We did see others with satellite TV so maybe it was just our pitch. There is free WIFI on the site but we couldn't log in from our pitch

It is a 25 minute walk into Kilkenny. The town is very pretty with lots of shops and pubs. There are no pubs close to the site. However, there are loads of taxi's around and they charge 6 euro one way. We went to 2 pubs in town.

The Left Bank is a really nice bar that serves meals as well. It is opposite the castle. We also went to the Kyteler's Inn. We had a fantastic night.

There were a couple of Irish Musicians on that played lots of sing a long songs but also played different instruments. It was really busy but was a great atmosphere. Would recommend it.

We visited Kilkenny Castle. They have 1 free entry day a month and we were lucky that we went on the free day.

We went to Waterford but, other than the Waterford Crystal showroom, it was pretty ordinary.

We went to the Rock of Cashel and Hore Abbey. They were worth visiting and next to each other.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 20 reviews from this member

 Good site, pleasant helpful owner. Facilities plentiful, clean but dated. Very reasonable and showers are free too. Choose a pitch on the lower terrace to mask some of the road noise.

Pleasant walk into Kilkenny either by the road or along the river path. Interesting mixture of shops including National Craft Centre opposite the castle.

Castle itself set in beautiful park with walks and places to rest and relax. All the shops were closed on the Sunday as the town exited to Dublin for the All Ireland Hurling Final.

On the following day traffic was dreadful as the barriers were being erected, ready for the returning heroes parade! However I guess this was an a typical weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 A good site, reasonably priced (this was our 1st day ever camping in Ireland, so were still getting used to how generally expensive things are compared with the UK!), very helpful owner. I was camping with the chap, who is a bit of a connoisseur of grass for tenting, and gave it the thumbs up. It was still quite early in the season, so there was plenty of space to choose from.

The fridge/kettle, roofed picnic tables and common room were a very nice touch. The weather was fine and we spent most of our waking hours in Kilkenny, but I could imagine the shelter would be wonderful to have in more typically Irish weather. The leaflets and maps in the common room were a great source for planning our trip, not just the Kilkenny bit.

The only slightly odd note was a bloke with a well-used tent who seemed to spend much of the time walking round the site with a rucsac. Employee? Semi-itinerant worker in the area? Fellow tourist? He did get a bit snappy when I cleaned up the table the Chap and I had made a meal on. Not sure what was going on there.

Kilkenny itself is the big draw, and has plenty to look at. It's a pleasant and easy mile or so walk into town: the Chap normally doesn't even like walking, but he was happy to do it.

Just a note if you want to do the brewery tour: you need to wear proper shoes ie not sandals. I couldn't because I wasn't. Then again, a minor restriction because you've been able to wear sandals in Ireland in May could be considered a nice problem to have! 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tree Grove Kilkenny Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kilkenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement