Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Chaponnet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Brem Sur Mer > Camping Le Chaponnet Reviews

Camping Le Chaponnet
16, Rue Du Chaponnet
Brem Sur Mer
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85470
Tel: 00 33 2 51 90 55 56
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 355
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travelinglight 6 reviews from this member

Good facilities on site with pool, flumes, children's play area etc. Close proximity to beach with free shuttle mini bus. Bar, restaurant, snacks. Shops near by and small market held in town once a week.

Mobile homes to rent and camping pitches.

One of the caravanners we met has been staying there for holidays for many years. She said with the increased amount of mobile homes going on the site they have closed some of the shower blocks. Luckily we were on a pitch near the one that was open. Good showers and toilets, washing up facilities, washing machine and sinks also in this block.

Pitches are of various sizes, some with hedges others open. We booked via the CCC.

Our pitch had hedging round. It was large enough to fit our caravan, awning and car on with a little room to spare. Our biggest problem was getting on it. The road between the pitches was just wide enough for a car. People pitched both sides of the road, so trying to back the caravan onto the pitch was impossible as either hit hedge or campers opposite. Luckily we have a motor mover fitted or would not have got on. Another British family who where there said they blocked the road for ages before managing to get their caravan on.

Lovely places to visit in area.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 5joga 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned after two weeks on the site with friends who rented a cabin straight from the site.

We had a wonderful time but do recognise the faults expressed by earlier reviewers - the site has the feel of a French 3 star rather than the 4 it has but it is so close to being spot on.

The team at the Reception were incredibly helpful including sorting us out with tickets for Puy du Fou.

The town is quiet but the Lidl served most of our needs alongside the market which takes place twice a week.

The site is large with the vast majority of pitches mobile rental units and all of the tourers at the back of the site. This suited us fine as our teenagers spent most of their time at the sports complex with their friends. The downside of it is the fact that the bins are emptied every night between midnight and one am. for more than twenty minutes. We did suffer some late night noise on site although I suspect that it was people on their last nights who were not concerned about site rules. The main noise comes from the entertainments at the neighbouring camp site.

During the first week we were mainly surrounded by French families which suited us really well but there appeared to be a bit of a shift in the clientèle and booking policy. Our later neighbours were two families with six kids on one pitch who were intrusive purely by the sheer number of them.

So a good three star site with nearby access to decent beaches but as a family who like the Vendee region there are better sites in the vicinity.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fbsf 2 reviews from this member

We booked a week at Le Chaponnet at relatively short notice (6 weeks) and managed to secure the last available pitch for a week.

There were good and bad parts to the site:

Bad:

The noise curfew at 11. 30 is only obeyed by the site bar - most nights there were groups of very loud French teenagers moving around the site anything up to 2am. At one point, there was a party going on with loud music playing until 2. 30am and no-one did anything to stop it.

The shouts/screams/chants/singing from the groups were so loud that even earplugs (we always take them as our tent is a little noisy in the wind) wouldn't block it out.

As this is marketed as a family site, this was a real disappointment and means we cannot recommend this site to families with younger children.

Also, if you are arriving after 7pm, your welcome pack (a brochure with your pitch number written on it) will be left with the bar staff (who aren't employed by the campsite) so you will be left to find your own way to the pitch.

This in itself isn't a big problem, but not being supplied with a key to the drive gate was. In the end, the barman reluctantly agreed to get his key from his car and let us in. The reason for this is that the reception staff require a €20 deposit, so cannot give you the key if they are not there.

Good:

The pools are nice, with the indoor and outdoor pools being nicely heated. The splash pool for the slide isn't heated, but as you don't spend a lot of time in it, it doesn't pose a problem. There were a few issues with late-teens doing daft things on the slides, but these were quickly stopped by the pool attendant. Towels-on-sunbed reserving seems to be the norm, so get there for 10am when the pool opens if you want a sunbed.

The pitch itself was a good size, with plenty of room for our 8-person tunnel tent, and car. Electric hookup was fine (6A) and we had a water supply on our pitch, which was good.

The shower/toilet blocks were kept clean, and hot showers were free and a good temperature. Individual sink cubicles with mirrors, shaving points and doors were also a nice touch.

The bar does pizzas/chips/crepes/galettes for reasonable - though not cheap - prices, and the bar prices are ok.

Shopping-wise, the site provides baguettes/croissants but nothing else. However, the town is only a 5-min walk away, with a very nice restaurant, bakery, butcher and newsagent.

On one side of the town there is a little amusement place which has a grocery shop (oddly, the only place to get fresh (non-UHT) milk) and there is a Lidl about the same distance the other way, which is very cheap and has an on site bakery for croissants/pain-au-chocolat etc (1/3rd the price of the site bar). Lidl also do a reasonable red wine at €1. 35 a bottle and Normandy cider at the same price!

The beach is walkable, but there is a free carpark 100yds from the beach, and a shuttle service from the campsite. It's a really nice beach with good waves. Down by the sea itself it's a bit stony, so wetsuit shoes (or similar) are a good idea if you fancy a swim or a paddle.

Le Grand Defi is about 10 mins drive away and great if you have active kids - lots of skywalks, zipwires etc. €16 for over 12s, less for younger kids, and if parents are happy to following them on the ground there is no cost. You are meant to have 3hrs for your money, but no-one checks and we stayed there for most of the day. Take a packed lunch though as the queue for the snack bar was horrendous.

In conclusion, if it weren't for the complete disregard of the noise curfew, this would be a nice site. We will definitely be coming back to the area as we loved it, just not to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davidparry2 2 reviews from this member

I have just spent 10 days with my 10 year old twins at this site and had a great time.

There are lots of things to do with the children ranging from on site facilities to the local beaches and many 'activities' - mine were intereted in the go-karting and shell museum!

The site had large pitches but beware if, like me, you are towing a twin wheel caravan as the pathways are very narrow and it was impossible to reverse the van directly onto our pitch. Fortunately we had some very helpful campers from Manchester and another group from Stuttgart, who helped us move the van on and off our pitch.

The only other negative for me was that the chemical toilet was not in the main block and I couldn't find an easy way to empty the waste water carrier(nothing near the pitches)

The main shower and toilet block is immaculate and plenty of room for all.

The pool and slides are undoubtedly the star attraction, along with the bar/restaurant and evening music entertainment.

The people on site do have limited english but, as everywhere in France, it is courteous to at least attempt to speak French.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshiremum 2 reviews from this member

Chose this site because we didn't want to have to move our camper much once we got there. We weren't disappointed. The site is in the village - five minutes walk to a large Lidl and even less into the village centre where there is a lovely bakers, nice bar, tabac, butchers. The twice weekly market is very good and pretty big. Well worth a visit. The cycle tracks along the coast are great. The campsite itself is large but not too large. Good pool and slides. Lots of activities. Nice bar and good entertainment. Didn't eat at bar but drink prices were ok and it was very popular. Toilets and showers were kept really clean and there were plenty of them. Some pitches looked a bit tight but ours was large (in the new area by the super pitches. ) Unfortunately we had no shade and it was really hot. Ground was pretty hard and stony so you need good pegs. You do get some noise from other campsites at night but it wasn't too bad and was finished before midnight. Overall, this was a great site in a lovely area. There were loads of places to visit nearby and I would be happy to go to this site and area again. (N. B. Our kids are 10 and 13 and they really liked the site too. )

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janienich 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at Le Chapponet and had a lovely time. The site itself is very clean and the pitches are spacious and private being separated by large mature shrubs and bushes.

The toilet blocks are ample and spotless even in the height of the season. BBQ areas are plentiful, although we had a couple on our pitch before we realised we were supposed to use the bbq areas and the information supplied was in French. Whoops! Think this is probably due to prevent fire due to very dusty ground at this time of year.

Did spend a lot of time sweeping out the van due to the dead grass and soil / sand but hey ho, we were in the Vendee!

Hookups are a mixture of 2 pin and 3 pin, but you can hire an adapter for free with a 40€ cash deposit. You also need to provide a 20€ cash deposit for the access key. Barriers are closed between 11pm and 7am.

The noise curfew starts at 12.30am, which for us was just too late.

You can hire bikes on the site, although they are not brilliantly maintained. If you are thinking of taking of your own bikes, do, we bitterly regretted it as there miles of designated cycling paths in this area and 10€ a day can get a bit steep.

The pool complex is still lovely and clean, however, there was no lifeguard when we were there and the jacuzzi was never working. The toddler pool was not heated and absolutely freezing. The slides were for children over the age of 7. There is a good sized well maintained park too.

We tried to eat in the restaurant one evening, but after arriving at 7.45 were told that we would have to wait until 9.30 to eat! We found the local restaurant up the hill and to the left was good value and very nice.

Brem itself is about 5-10 minute walk away depending on where you are on the site. There is a cafe and a restaurant. An excellent bakers and butchers (go there for your barbecue food, amazing!) and minimarket. Avoid the Super U/Leclerc etc in Bretignolle and St Giles on a Sunday and Monday morning. It was worse than Christmas!

The beach is 1.3km away, it seemed like a lot longer, probably because you have to walk through sand dunes to get to it. Follow the directions out of the back of the site though as the beach they send you to is far less crowded but there is no lifeguard. You can park bikes at the top easily, but we did get a puncture in our buggy wheel.

This is a site we would come back to, mainly because although Brem is small, it has good facilities, the best beach of the local four star sites, and is generally very pleasant.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rstorrie1 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Le Chaponnet for 12 nights from the end of July into August. The pitches are very good size wise but trying to position the van was very a nightmare.

The main entrance to the touring pitches is a single track road with hedges tight either side.

With the help of a passing Welsh couple we managed to site the van.

The pool area was always clean and tidy as was the site in general, although the water was always freezing, our youngest could manage 15 minutes at a time before coming out to heat up.

The village is basic with a bakers, butchers,local shop with the bigger Lidl's within walking distance. For main provisions a car trip to the bigger Super U's was a necessity.

We could not have stayed there without transport as we spend most of our time at either Le Sables or St Gilles.

The local beach (20 min walk) is quite stony and sore on the feet, the kids did not want to go back, however the waves were excellent.

There is a twice weekly market which was interesting.

There is a seafood kiosk in the town centre, we bought 1 kg of oysters for under £3 they were of top quality.

For going going back, not to this part of France, but would recommend if a beach holiday was your thing.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Few cloudy 2 reviews from this member

Ayed here for 2 weeks in July 2007 with wife and 2 children. First time to Le Chaponnet, booked through Camping Life. We were in a static mobile home, which was excellent; clean, airy, comfy and contained more than we expected in terms of equipment, fridge/freezer, utensils etc. There are 320 pitches, probably split 50/50 statics/tents and touring caravan pitches. Although I wasn’t in a tent, I was impressed with the size and privacy offered to each pitch. The site must have been there for many years as there are very mature hedges and trees, and it is these hedges that are used to divide up the pitches. So much nicer than fences! Finding the place was easy; we drove from Caen via Nantes and headed toward St Gilles Croix De Vie, a lovely town with at least a dozen restaurants, several supermarkets, post office etc. Also has a very popular market on several days of the week. Le Chaponnet is in Brem-Sur-Mer, equidistant between St Gilles and Les Sables d’Olonne. Good points;
Definitely an excellent aqua complex. The pool is clean, has a lifeguard and is well controlled, open 10am till 8pm. It is very well fenced in all round, and entry and exit into the pool area is only possible through one gate with a good childproof lock on it. Men can wear swimming shorts, no need to wear tiny Speedo trunks here if you don’t want to! A big sized swimming pool, a pool for the flumes, and a small baby pool.

Security of the site seemed good, barrier access operated by a key fob issued on arrival. No problems in the evening or at night with noise from other campers, teenagers, drunks etc. Visible security presence in the evening.

On-site bar just the right size for the site, reasonably priced, popular with all the people situated near us. Open till at least 11.30pm, later at weekends. Entertainment laid on about 6 nights out of the time we stayed. About half of the area given over to a restaurant, nice pizzas, popular with holidaymakers.

Very short walk to a super butchers, bakers, newsagent and snack bar in Brem. Lidl walkable in about 10 mins.

Would be a good base for exploring surrounding area of the Vendee.

Any staff we had reason to speak with (bike hire, tourist information etc) were very helpful and friendly. Also great with the children (10+11) who were able to go to the pool, games room, shop by themselves and we were not at all concerned re safety due to the layout and friendliness of the staff.

Barbecues are allowed on the site, small gas barbecues are provided with each static. Campers used communal barbecue area, seemed popular and just have to buy the charcoal and the steaks! Only not-so-good point; No beach close by, sea is about ½ mile away. We knew this from the brochure, took 5 mins to drive to one of the best beaches you could imagine. Some other points; The vast majority of people on the site were French, probably about 80%. Next biggest groups were the Irish and the Dutch. Didn't see any English in 2 weeks, met two other Scottish families.The site runs it’s own kid’s club. The leader is French with a Dutch girl helping her. My two loved it although think by the 2nd week they were less enthusiastic, possibly they repeated the same activities, I’m not sure.Due to the lack of British tourists the bar was more an area for entertainment and socialising, with alcohol taking 2nd place to that. Not unusual to see families at a table for a whole evening without any alcoholic drinks, ourselves included. Mainly wine if anyone was drinking.I visited 3 local wine caves with tasting sessions always available. Excellent taste, great prices.This was our 2nd visit to this area, stayed in St Gilles last year. This year hardly left the campsite as the pool was so nice and the weather so warm.Should mention we had no problems with traffic jams, although I think I am right in saying that the second two weeks in July beats the UK masses! Highly recommended and very French!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Celia 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site. Spent a week there. Previous review is a good summary of the site. However the site now has 340 pitches, which as a family we found too large. The site is rather spread out, some pitches have a lot of shade, others none. Exceptionally hot water at all times for washing etc. Excellent showers,individually temperture controlled. We felt the local restaurants were not worth trying so we stuck to the site restaurant which we found very pleasant and good value.

Some great beaches in the area, however it is a very busy tourist area, particularly around Bretignolles where we experienced heavy traffic, huge queues in Super U and very busy beaches. The beaches to the south are quieter and in a more rural area. Take your bikes, good cycle tracks through the woods to Olonne Sur Mer and further south.

Reviewer: jo and john 4 reviews from this member

Jul - Aug 2002
Fairly small site within walking distance of Boulangerie, boucherie, and La Presse. Likewise Lidl's is only a short walk away and a small cafe/restaurant.

There is a market in the town once a week and the nearest beach is within walking distance about 0.5 mile.

Excellent toilets facilities, never crowded even in high summer and immaculately clean. There a number of statics, French owned, as well as tour operators, KeyCamp and French Life. The touring pitches are dotted about amongst the other units which makes for quite a good mix. Generally Dutch, French, German and Brits.

High season activities, Bar/Restaurant/Pizzeria and take away. Nearest large resort is Les Sables 10 miles or Bretignolles about 2 miles. Where you will find the hypermarkets and banks and restaurants. Beaches are sandy and parking is free just get down there early to get the best spots. Staff are friendly and the place is well run and there is an indoor and outdoor swimming pool.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Brem Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5533 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019