Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Brough > Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park Reviews

Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park
Drain Lane
Newport
Brough
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU15 2QQ
Tel: 01430 440487
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

 Our first outing of 2016 so we didn't want to travel far and picked this lovely site. From answering the phone to arrival the owners were lovely.

The site is close to the M62 and like most things the noise fades into the background so isn't a real issue, nor is the fact that the toilet block is a little dated but who cares when you have lovely hot showers and clean facilities. One disappointment was the pot washing area was locked earlyish so had to wait for morning to wash up.

The site in fairness is better suited for caravans hence our overall score as the three tent pitches are furthest away from the facilities, but are lovely and flat, well drained and of a reasonable size. The site was surrounded by trees to protect from the wind and also separating the the play park.

Having boys (only our 10 year old came) we look for a nice area for them and he soon made friends, in the nice play ground, their was space for the kids to play football but wasn't big enough for cricket or rounders.

Many of the caravans appear to be semi permanent or locals who like and use the site, this included several static vans.

Adjacent to the site was a field for ponies and chickens with fresh eggs sold via an honesty box. Additionally was some lovely walks and lakes to add to the tranquil feel of the site.

Overall a nice site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs richards 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say about this site. I have been looking for it for 2 years and found it, what a great place. The showers are fab, so clean and the toilets are clean. The place itself is so well maintained it needs a award for best kept site. It's well hid but easy to find. The owner of the site is so friendly and very helpful. Cant wait to go back in two weeks time, we have found a place where we can keep going back. Love it. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy151 6 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a weekend at this site and I'd love to write how terrible it was, But that would be only to deter you from visiting a fabulous site and we could keep it to ourselves!

On arrival we were met by the lady owner who walked through the site pointing out all the important things(toilets, CDP, rubbish bins etc) She showed us to our pitch and made sure we were happy and then left us to set up.

The grass was lovely and short with a good kept hedges offering protection from the wind, not that there was any.

We were situated right opposite the play area which was fantastic for our 2 daughters, who were no sooner out of the car playing in full view of us whilst we set up. The pitch was a good size even for our Maritsa 700. It had EHU. The animals on site also provided hours of entertainment for us. Chickens which are the providers of the eggs that are sold on site in a little hut near the amenities block. Small horses which love to be stroked, and a few sheep in the same large area.

At the other side of the animals is two large fishing lakes which well away from the play area which gave us a piece of mind. We were also directed to a few walks in the area that give you a good feel for the countryside. There is plenty of wildlife in the area, wood pigeons, pheasants and much to our delight Deer! we saw a mother deer with her two young in the corn field on the Friday night. Then on the Saturday night we went looking for some more and saw another one!

The toilets/ shower block was always clean, plenty of hot water and toilet roll. It's central heated too which wasn't on but would be a nice welcome in the cooler months. The pot wash area was small but adequate. There was a washing machine in there (2. 00) also a fridge freezer and a pay phone. There was plenty of info leaflets for the attractions in the local area, plus on the outside wall was a chalk board with any local events that were taking place.

The nearest towns were Newport and Gilberdyke. They both had fish and chip shops, shops, butchers etc. Oh and pubs too.

The location of the site is peaceful and very little noise can be heard from the M62 which is only a five minute drive away.

The site is mainly tourers with 5 or so statics which 3 of them can be hired from the park.

The play area like I said is really good for the kids with a mixture of swings, slides, tower and a giant draughts set. There is also a large grassed area for football etc which is separated from the units by a large conifer hedge.

Overall this site is a true gem of a site. Quiet, really clean, friendly, nice location, good facilities, pleasant owners.

Most definitely coming back 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarebear8343 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic weekend here. Pitch was more than ample in size (we have a Vango Maritsa 600 therefore pretty big). Owners were more than accommodating in placing us right next to the play area as we have 2 kids. The play area has fantastic modern wooden equipment plus a draughts board & ball games field with football nets. There were also chickens, ponies & sheep which the children enjoyed feeding grass through the fence.

The whole site was very clean and tidy including the shower/toilet facilities and laundry room. Could do with having another washing up sink as we had to queue a couple of times, and also a tumble dryer would be good to dry towels after shower. The site was nice & quiet although it wasn't full, there was no road noise at all.

Lovely walks down the lane and round the fishing ponds. There is an indian, chinese, fish & chip shop, pizza takeaway and pub in the nearest village. Tried the fish & chip shop which was lovely. Overall a fantastic site and will definitely be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fitzyweb 2 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites I have ever been camping on. I went with my wife and 2 children aged 8 and 13 and with my wife's parents and grandaughter aged 7 for 2 nights, but we ended up staying an extra night.

This is a a site with a small number of camping pitches and mainly tourers. This site is immaculately clean. No litter anywhere and really well looked after which is a credit to the owners, who are very helpful.

The pot wash, toilet and shower facilities were also very clean, which makes a change from a lot of the sites we have been to where people don't care how they leave them.

The elsan and skip for rubbish is screened off so you wouldn't know they are there at all.

There is a lovely park for the children, a giant size draughts board and also a football area which the kids loved.

There are walks outside of the site up to the river and also a short walk away is an area with 2 nice fishing lakes.

There is a shop in the village as well as pubs, takeaways, etc which is about 1-2 miles away.

It is a very quiet site and very peaceful and relaxing.

I have already booked another couple of nights here as I am that impressed. If only there were more sites as good as this one. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ctwmillie 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, I couldn't pick a faulty if I tried. The site was very clean, Children's play area very clean, Toilets/showers very clean.

The lady and gentleman that owned the site were always nice and helpful. The lady placed us next to the playground so that my daughter could play and we could see her.

Lovely walk for the dogs. I don't fish so cant comment on that. You have to buy the free range eggs, we took some home with us. The owners had also put a bbq/party for the jubilee and we were made to feel very welcome, even moving the venue to the barn so that we were all dry as the British weather let us down again.

It's a very quiet site, so no parties or people falling about drunk. Its just very quiet and relaxing place.

Would highly recommend and we will definitely be going back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Scouser1012 1 review from this member

 We last visited this site 23 years ago and it was lovely then. We decided to revisit this year. It is still completely unspoilt as it was all those years ago.

The 2 new fishing pools are exclusively for the site users only so peg availability is really good and so is the fishing, if you are after carp in double figures then I would recommend Bakers 2 miles down the road.

The fish at Sandholme are newly stocked but the Carp and Bream are in really good condition. The fishing pool area and campsite is extremely clean and well kept,

the Toilets and showers are exceptional and central heated any one looking for a peaceful fishing or touring holiday will not be disappointed at Sandholme.

We will definitely be going back in 2012. The site is not very large so booking is a must to avoid disappointment, this site is definitely highly recommended by us. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparkles77 1 review from this member

 We had a great time at this site, it was lovely.

We were right next to the play park so the kids were able to go off while we pitched.

It was a great play park with football area and giant draughts which was fun.

They had Sheep and Pony's in the field next to us the Pony's came over to us when we arrived.

All facilities were very clean, toilets, showers and utility room all worked fine.

We took our dog so were happy to find a nice walk just at the end of the park up near the lakes where she was able to run free.

The site also had chickens, you can purchase fresh eggs each morning.

Hook ups are available at every pitch if needed, pitces are a good size.

The only thing that was missing was a little shop as its a pain to keep going into Newport.

The staff were friendly and helpful, we will be visiting again sometime in the future and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buckingham30 11 reviews from this member

 Our 5th visit to Sandholme and still excellent. Relaxing, peaceful & quiet, lots of wildlife. Saw a wonderful sunset one night.

Heard a cuckoo this morning and saw hares in the field and a brood of ducklings in the ditch.

I would recommend this site for both adults and children. Good clean facilities. Secluded yet 5 minutes from M62.Excellent for a weekend getaway.

Fishing ponds good for walking round.Take a visit to Howden, or Newport and Gilberdyke for local supplies.

Try the Gilberdyke Fisheries. Altogether this site comes highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ice Queen 5 reviews from this member

 Selected this site due to its reviews and wasn't disappointed.

Clean toilet and shower facilities. Bins and Elsan positioned out of view behind screening. Nice spacious pitches with water close by.

Even though there are high hedges and plenty of trees around, the site was windy as it blows off The Wold's down towards the site, so we used the rear door of our awning as we had to thoroughly peg down the front one.

There is a children's play area and a large field for football or rugby, both positioned away from the caravans. I would say its too far to walk into the nearest village, our kids did though and it took them about 40 mins.

There are plenty of walks for those dog lovers amongst us, but be aware that the fishing pond at the top of the long lane is very deep and not advisable to have your dog jump into it unless they are good swimmers!

Fresh eggs on sale, which are exceptionally tasty.

Our friends hired one of the statics for the weekend. They are a little dated, but clean and tidy nonetheless. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sandholme Lodge Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1753 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December