Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penvose Farm Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Penvose Farm Holidays Reviews

Penvose Farm Holidays
St Mawgan
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4AE
Tel: 01637 860277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Marcusopp 36 reviews from this member

 Penvose is OK. Nice to be able to use the fire pit and reasonably priced logs. Site is mostly flat in meadow field, but gently sloping in 20 acre field.

Toilets and showers good and never too busy despite the board masters going on in watergate bay.

The nearest beach (watergate bay) is 15 minutes walk, 25 mins to Mawgan Porth. No shops in or near site. Roads are tight and not great for walking and cycling.

The main problem is how exposed it is. Even light winds feel strong and there's no shelter (trees etc). Staff are lovely, Anne in particular. Loads of room, so should almost always have availability. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulined 2 1 review from this member

 We spent 2 weeks at penvose farm in august, had a great stay, the owners were very friendly and really made us feel welcome, pitches were very spacious we were in the top meadow field and plenty of space for ball games etc

Although very close to the airport did not find this a problem we enjoyed watching the planes

The shower/toilet block was so nice with piped music! very clean free showers, hair dryers could not fault it although ellsan disposal was quite a walk and would be nice to be at new toilet block

Fishing was very good well stocked lakes nice clean fish, catching on sweet corn.

Beach only 5 minutes away by car, 1. 5 miles if you fancy a very hilly walk! lovely beach and good body boarding!

Would definitely go back to this site and recommend it 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two weeks in my friend's caravan, which she stores on site at the moment, so we didn't choose the site at all!

The toilet block is cleaned regularly and has about 6 showers and toilet cubicles (Ladies). This was fine while we were there.

The chemical disposal point is a long way from the fields and a new one is desperately needed at the new toilet block.

The Newquay Boardmasters and Surfmasters Festival was on for the weekend, this transformed the site from nearly empty to full, mainly younger groups, but there were never any problems or late night noise.

The farmer/owner is very laid back and pleasant, he drives round site daily but is never in your face and there don't seem to be many rules about how much space you are taking on your pitch.

Small playground area but our daughter is older and didn't use this.

Very quiet apart from aircraft noise at the adjacent airport, but that didn't bother us - I love planes!

Not our usual choice of site, but we had a great time, flat pitch with EHU and water close by.

Can recommend Crantock Beach and Holywell Bay, and obviously Newquay which is 5 miles away. Nothing is within easy walking distance but that wasn't a problem.

The Travellers Rest pub nearby does lovely food, and is dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boudicca_trike 1 review from this member

 Hi, we have just returned from Penvose, this was our second visit to the site.

They have now a brilliant toilet and shower block, really impressed with the showers and free as well.

We have had the most amazing time. The fishing has been brilliant, my partner did a night fish and caught over 70 pound of fish, predominantly carp. The weather was just the best, the pitches for hook up electrics are huge, lots of space to do our own thing.

Hope to return again shortly.

The airport doesn't cause a problem either even though it is right next door, you soon forget it is even there. A good place to relax and just kick back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pw666 1 review from this member

 For me pretty much the perfect campsite. Camping with a group of friends and wanted a bit of space to chill out, have a beer and perhaps make a little noise.
 
This site was perfect as it has an over 25s field which is about 10 acres, and about 10 groups of tents in the whole thing! The facilities are basic (limited toilets and showers, one portaloo) and it over looks the airfield which is noisy when the planes come in (occasional, not at night), but all in all a great camp site if you want somewhere out of the way and chilled out. 
 
20 min walk to Watergate bay or 2 mins in the car (nice beach, nice bar, good restaurants/food). Cheapish taxi ride into Newquay if you want some nightlife (£15 between 9 people). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Md+d 2 reviews from this member

 A vast site with minimal facilities. Our dog loved it but not for us. The toilet block was basic and out on its own, by the fishing lake. The noise from the airfield next door was very loud and seemed to be non-stop. The tent next to us seemed to have been there for ages with rubbish strewn all around. Not the tranquil site that we'd hoped for. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burrows_phil 2 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay, well cheap at £5 a head per night. Not much lighting around so when we turned up at 11pm and tried to pitch the tent had a few problems. Lol. Great helpful staff. The fields are humongous so you can pitch up and have plenty of room around for privacy. Will be coming back again in April 2007 and prob August 2007. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Lioness178 4 reviews from this member

 This is the bestest campsite ever! I am surprised that there ar eno reviews here yet. Basically you can pitch anywhere you want in a massive field. When we went there was us at the bottom a few caravaners way up the top and a couple of campers to either side of us, but they were miles off, so we had plently of privacy. Reasonably priced @ £5, they have bottom showers and toilets and top ones. The owners are lovely, and you can even recycle your baked bean cans and water bottles if you like!

Really close to watergate bay (5 min drive) and about 10 min drive into newquay. One thing though, although didn;t bother me is that it is right next door to the airport and the RAF site, although they don't fly at silly hours in the morning! Definately coming back, oh and u can go fishing if you like, but I'm not really into that! Thank you Penvose for a wonderful holiday! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penvose Farm Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Penvose Farm Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement