Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanford Hall Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth > Stanford Hall Caravan Park > Reviews

Stanford Hall Caravan Park
Stanford Road
Swinford
Lutterworth
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE17 6DH
Tel: 01788 860387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 123
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrewdelves1969 1 review from this member

 Lovely warm welcome on arrival from Sharon, had a small issues with my dog breaking his leads and escaping but Darren Sharonís husband resolved this too which I appreciated.

Lovely quiet peaceful place to stay and relax and all services are excellent from a well run site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kipladle 4 reviews from this member

 The site is a great rural location and the wardens are great, very helpful.

The only downside is the lack off showers and toilets.

We were visiting for the Bushcraft show and spent most of our time there.

We did visit the manor farm shop near by which had a nice gift shop and cafe. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Neilla 1 review from this member

 I love it here park well run and Iím Darren and Sharon are the main reason for this.

They are very hard working and approachable, the park is a true reflection of them and all the hard work they put in.

Canít wait to return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aceselect 13 reviews from this member

 We found the site by using UKCampsite. It was ideally located as we were visiting Kilworth House Hotel for a wedding during our stay.

I can honestly say, when we arrived, I have never experienced such a warm friendly welcome from a site manager, ever and I have been on lots of sites, It felt like we had known each other for years. She made us feel very welcome and explained which pitches were available for us to choose, we chose a hardstanding, pitch 47.

Reception houses a small shop with all of the essentials you could wish for, including home grown veg, eggs etc etc. The site itself is quiet and very pretty, a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches all with 16amp hookups.

The site has a number of seasonals including some 5th wheeler units. Pitch sizes are great so you never feel penned in or overlooked. There are two utility areas, bins, elsan and waste water emptying and fresh water taps.

Just at the back of the site is a great dog walking area which you can see Stanford Hall from also, there is a woodland walk too. On the Saturday the manager Sharon and her hubby put on an 80ís theme night, with music, fancy dress and food and drink and a great night was had by all.

As we had stayed more than two nights we got a free pass for a tour of Stanford Hall, we used this and had a great couple of hours viewing the hall and grounds. The tour guide lady needs to be commended too for her vast and detailed knowledge of the history of the house and family history.

Now the slight negatives, firstly there is a very minor constant hum from the nearby motorways, this though does not affect sleep or your enjoyment of this site as its distant.

The grass had been cut but they really need a mower that picks up the grass to stop it being paddled into your unit. The hardstanding pitch I was on was huge, but had weeds and large stones on it, these need a little maintenance.

The loop road around the park is badly in need of maintenance especially on the last corner before the exit, this is badly potholed, you can avoid this section by driving down the middle of the park field to the exit. The utility area fences could do with being painted.

I think itís about time the current owner realised the full potential of this site and make some investment in it, you cannot stand still in this game. Yes there are no showers and toilets but at £17 a night we knew this before we arrived and it didnít bother us at all. That said, if the owners invested in a small utility block, this would likely increase the business footfall.

Would I stay again, YES, in a heartbeat, we had a great few days there, nice and relaxed, everyone says hello and everyone there is very friendly. The site has huge potential.

The star of the show though is undoubtedly Sharon, an asset to the park, it was her day off when we left so didnít get to thank her for making us so welcome. Look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jesssoot 4 reviews from this member

 Never been on a site so badly kept as this one. Pitches not properly marked and certainly not kept nice, unmown grass, thistles everywhere and weeds, pot holes in the road, some quite deep,

Waste water for driving over with a motorhome unsafe ( didn't even bother to empty ours, )

Mostly residential site which some units were disgusting, scrap metal, junk, filthy caravans with just as bad awnings. WILL NOT be going back. If we could give a score of zero we would.

Over priced @ £20 pn, with no toilets or showers. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Theothertwin 35 reviews from this member

 This site, once run by the Caravan Club, is well located near Stanford House, a lovely Georgian House.

The site is managed by a very helpful couple and they go a long way to make this site a relaxing place to stay. Whilst the changes to J20 on the M1 have reduced the number of visitors for some reason it is extremely popular with many seasonal pitches and returning clients.

The site shop is very well stocked and reasonable price with fresh milk and eggs locally sourced.

There are no showers or toilets on site.

The site does shows signs of under investment by the Stanford Estate and lacks some tlc. Whilst the early Spring weather has not been favourable the electric hook up points were very dirty and the general appearance, with regards roads and gardens, could be improved. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pottsie 1 review from this member

 We had such a peaceful weekend here. Site was very clean and the staff were so friendly.

Went to the local pub which was great place. Nice dog walks on site and around, order your papers from the shop for your stay

Recommend this site very much. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RusstheWelshman 9 reviews from this member

 First, the good news. The welcome at reception was very friendly and the lady was very helpful. The location in the grounds of Stanford Hall is very pleasant and the dog walks are superb (albeit very muddy during our visit).

The majority of the hard standings have their own dedicated water supply and and the Elsan emptying facilities are very good.

But, and it's a very big but, the site was a quagmire during our visit. Yes the weather was awful and one would perhaps expect the grass areas to be a bit boggy.

The roads also had enormous potholes. Grass and weeds were growing onto the hard standings and the whole site smacked of a lack of maintenance. At £17 a night including electricity this is not a cheap site given that their are no toilets or showers so I would expect better.

The local pub, the Chequers, was okay, but spoilt by children running about. The pub is dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SueCrox 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a lovely weekend at Stanford Hall. This was our first visit and it certainly won't be the last.

The site is very easy to access and the warden who was there to greet us was extremely pleasant and very helpful. We all loved Diesel the dog, who was always there to be fussed in the Reception!

The pitches are well laid out and spacious, surrounded by mature oak trees, giving it a lovely woodland feel. There are no showers or toilets, but the water points and waste disposal sites are ample and well kept.

There is no children's play area and no ball games are allowed, as there are some very fancy RV's sited here, but our children were happy to ride their bikes and climb trees.

There are lovely woodland walks nearby and a pathway leads through to Stanford Hall and the River Avon. A short 20-30 minute walk along the lane brings you to the local pub The Chequers, which is a lovely country pub, with an excellent children's play area and plenty of outdoor seating. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sananmalc 2 reviews from this member

 The warden is very helpful and friendly, it was a busy time (May Day weekend) but no noise. The grass was well kept, although I felt there could be a little more width, the hard standings had more room.

The Hall and grounds is great and the house has guided tours. The site is clean, there is no toilet/shower facilities so I felt it was a little overpriced.

Many seasonal pitches, some could do with tidying their pitches - that is an observation. Lutterworth is the nearest town, (10-12 min car) it has plenty to offer; shop, pub and takaway wise.

We would definitely return. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stanford Hall Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanford Hall Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stanford Hall Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lutterworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement