Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stanford Hall Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Site Reviews

Stanford Hall Caravan Park
Stanford Road
Swinford
Lutterworth
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE17 6DH
Tel: 01788 860387
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 123
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theothertwin 9 reviews from this member

This site, once run by the Caravan Club, is well located near Stanford House, a lovely Georgian House.

The site is managed by a very helpful couple and they go a long way to make this site a relaxing place to stay. Whilst the changes to J20 on the M1 have reduced the number of visitors for some reason it is extremely popular with many seasonal pitches and returning clients.

The site shop is very well stocked and reasonable price with fresh milk and eggs locally sourced.

There are no showers or toilets on site.

The site does shows signs of under investment by the Stanford Estate and lacks some tlc. Whilst the early Spring weather has not been favourable the electric hook up points were very dirty and the general appearance, with regards roads and gardens, could be improved.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pottsie 1 review from this member

We had such a peaceful weekend here. Site was very clean and the staff were so friendly. Went to the local pub which was great place. Nice dog walks on site and around, order your papers from the shop for your stay

Recommend this site very much.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RusstheWelshman 9 reviews from this member

First, the good news. The welcome at reception was very friendly and the lady was very helpful. The location in the grounds of Stanford Hall is very pleasant and the dog walks are superb (albeit very muddy during our visit). The majority of the hard standings have their own dedicated water supply and and the Elsan emptying facilities are very good.

But, and it's a very big but, the site was a quagmire during our visit. Yes the weather was awful and one would perhaps expect the grass areas to be a bit boggy. The roads also had enormous potholes. Grass and weeds were growing onto the hard standings and the whole site smacked of a lack of maintenance. At 17 a night including electricity this is not a cheap site given that their are no toilets or showers so I would expect better.

The local pub, the Chequers, was okay, but spoilt by children running about. The pub is dog friendly.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SueCrox 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a lovely weekend at Stanford Hall. This was our first visit and it certainly won't be the last.

The site is very easy to access and the warden who was there to greet us was extremely pleasant and very helpful. We all loved Diesel the dog, who was always there to be fussed in the Reception!

The pitches are well laid out and spacious, surrounded by mature oak trees, giving it a lovely woodland feel. There are no showers or toilets, but the water points and waste disposal sites are ample and well kept.

There is no children's play area and no ball games are allowed, as there are some very fancy RV's sited here, but our children were happy to ride their bikes and climb trees.

There are lovely woodland walks nearby and a pathway leads through to Stanford Hall and the River Avon. A short 20-30 minute walk along the lane brings you to the local pub The Chequers, which is a lovely country pub, with an excellent children's play area and plenty of outdoor seating.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sananmalc 2 reviews from this member

The warden is very helpful and friendly, it was a busy time (May Day weekend) but no noise. The grass was well kept, although I felt there could be a little more width, the hard standings had more room. The Hall and grounds is great and the house has guided tours. The site is clean, there is no toilet/shower facilities so I felt it was a little overpriced. Many seasonal pitches, some could do with tidying their pitches - that is an observation. Lutterworth is the nearest town, (10-12 min car) it has plenty to offer; shop, pub and takaway wise.

We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs numnuts 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here over Halloween, nice pleasant welcome by the lady warden and easy check in, we were let in the exit and pitched opposite the exit.

Because of this we were unaware until the following day how incredibly bad the road around the site was, it was full of pot holes and the bumps were so high had we not been with friends in a 4x4 we would of been stranded until we left as our car wouldn't of made it over them, as it was our friends in a passat ground their car at every bump.

The ground was really boggy and there were lots and lots of leaves which held the moisture to the ground.

There was entertainment on the Saturday night which seemed good with bouncy castle trick or treat bar and disco but we didn't really participate so couldn't comment.

There was a rally on over the weekend so the site was full.

There were a lot of permanently sited units and it did appear that a lot of people knew each other.

The noise from the motorway was audible at all times.

The road where we were pitched near that ran to the hall was solid with traffic all Saturday and Sunday until about 5pm as there was an event on, this started at around 8am so not at all peaceful or relaxing! Driving from the site was not a pleasant experience due to the narrow road and the level of traffic

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maisiedoodle 4 reviews from this member

Just spent August bank holiday weekend at this site. It was well maintained and clean. It has no toilets or showers but all pitches have electric hook up and there are several water/chemical waste/bins/recycling points around the site. There is also a small shop and the owner is friendly and helpful. The site is on a country lane 3/4 of a mile from the village of Swinford (no shops in Swinford but a nice dog friendly pub), and less than 2 miles from junction 19 of the M1 (+ M6 and A14). When you are quiet you can hear the motorway but it's not noticeable most of the time. There are a lot of huge caravans and 5th wheelers which are obviously permanently sited there. There are trees surrounding the site and fields beyond those, you can walk through fields to Stanford Hall which has lovely grounds and is sometimes open to the public, entrance is free if you're staying at the site and take your payment slip. There are also a couple of routes to walk a dog from the site.

This site is OK as a stopover on a long journey because of it's proximity to the motorways, but to be honest I don't know why anyone would want to go there for a holiday because there is nothing to do in the area or on the site. We paid 51 for 3 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Antjack63 1 review from this member

Was really looking forward to our visit having read good reviews and the details on their website. It looked idyllic. How wrong we were!

The site is quite large and in a nice rural location

BUT

It's a dump! There was rubbish piled up the entire weekend at the bin points and not just the one near to us. All of them had rubbish piled all over the floor and the bins overflowing.

The site was badly maintained.

The chemical toilet points were disgusting, they stunk. Clearly hadn't been cleaned in ages. The whole place looked filthy.

Shop was ok. Not as well stocked as they claim on the website but still ok.

The place was just run down and tired. Won't be going back. Advise you not to bother with this place. Was more a gypsy camp with people living there than a touring park.

Sadly very disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NannaB 38 reviews from this member

Arrived Tuesday and staying until Friday. Nice site but glad now we couldn't get in over Easter. Apparently there were so many vans here the electric kept tripping. There seems to be loads of seasonal vans and really huge RV's and 5th wheel vehicles here and although it says in their brochure it's not a residential site, we have talked to quite a lot of people who live here permanently. Doesn't worry us as its a nice big site, good little shop which saved us as we had left our milk at home. There were a few Pygmy goats on Tuesday but they were taken away yesterday. There's a little above ground fish pond, one camping pod so far with a shower, tv, small oven, fridge and heating. They are still waiting planning permission for a toilet block, Swedish Sauna and playground which would make this site perfect. Although it is quiet during the day you can hear the hum of traffic on the M1 at night but nothing to concern yourself with.

We came so our 5 year old grand daughter could stay with us as she lives nearby so we know the area well. Lutterworth has a Morrisons, fish and chip shop on the market which seemed expensive and a swimming pool. Not much of a place to shop. There is a pub like a Wetherspoons on the roundabout where you see a plane. Meals ok and priced right. Coombe Abbey is a nice place to visit and we quite like Rugby where there are the usual supermarkets. Not far away is Foxton Locks which is worth a visit to.

We would come back again perhaps over Christmas to visit the family or even for our grand daughter to stay again, but I think she would be bored with no play ground.

Oh and special deal we had was 30 for 3 nights with electric and hard standing.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simond68 3 reviews from this member

Finally a site that is making a profit but not at the expense of the customer. A flat fee with up to two cars, children, dogs and awnings at no extra cost, that sadly the majority of other sites seem to think is a license to print money. All the staff are more than helpful, you get a welcome guide when to arrive that more than covers the basic info required. There's a small but well stocked shop and again not at a premium price, gas available and a small on site bar with good local ale of which I tried a few and again at a price cheaper than the local pub. I had a slight problem with a tv signal but there is a large selection of dvds you can borrow from the shop and books to borrow in the bar. All in all a very pleasant stay and with events on during the year including a beer festival, I for one will be back time and again as will the friends I went with.

Simon Dowdy

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019