Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Old Youth Hostel
Wandon
Rugeley
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS15 1QW
Tel: 01889 582166
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 7 reviews from this member

Loved this site, everything one would expect from C&CC. On arrival were welcomed and offered a choice of several pitches, being mid October the site was not busy. Facilities were clean, showers good. Laundry room warm and well equipped, there were dishwashing facilities which we didn't use. Both the Reception and ablution block were sited in wooden cabin style structures in keeping with the forest. The whole area was clean and tidy both inside and out. Lovely children play area, our grandchildren would have loved it. The site shop carried the basics, Rugeley and Cannock had main superstores, both a short drive. Walks from the site straight onto the Chase, perfect for the dog and safe. Plenty of places to visit in the area, we drove to National Arboretum - very moving and well worth a visit.

The only comment worth noting is the main road, busy in morning and evening.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sueb21 1 review from this member

Beautifully clean site with excellent facilities. Host was lovely and friendly - even though we arrived during an England World Cup match (it was half time though so all good)! Choice of pitch, anywhere our van would fit so that was lovely too. Phone and data signal non-existent but that's lovely if you want to 'get away from it all'. The only complaint was that we arrived at 7:45pm and had to go off site to buy some things that we had left at home and decided to have a meal out - which meant us getting back to site at 10:50pm, cutting it fine with the 11pm deadline of the barrier being locked. We had a car full of supplies and found the gate had already been locked so we had to park in the main car park and carry all our things across the site in relative darkness. On mentioning this to the lady in the office the next day before we left, there was no apology for locking the gate early. Rather a patronising 'Oh did it (the gate) decide to go to bed early? Well thank you for letting me know'.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 30 reviews from this member

A good, pleasant small site amongst the trees of a country park, with architecturally interesting new timber buildings. It has been a wet year, so the lower and far ends of the site were muddy. We were there in low season midweek, with about 15/20 other units, which in my book is about right for the site - I would not want to be there at the weekend or high season when I understand it is full, but my taste is to avoid crowds. The site managers were friendly and helpful. I do wish the club would not put so many lights around their sites, polluting the night sky - all campers carry torches don't they? I notice some glamping tents using up valuable pitches that could be used by tourers, especially tenters, for whom there does not appear to be much provision here.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane77 1 review from this member

I came to stay here with my friend and also my son who was five at the time. It felt very safe and he enjoyed the play area and being able to bike around the site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

Just a perfect site for a weekend or longer.

We booked Cannock because:

1) Its a place I've wanted to visit.

2) we had booked tickets to watch the ELBOW play in the forest.

This site is ideal for those who love the outdoors, walking, cycling or riding. The site itself is wonderful, large pitches in a lovely peaceful setting. There is a little noise from the nearby road but not enough to distract you from the peace and quiet.

The facilities are new and exceptionally clean.

The wardens are very friendly, informative and very unobtrusive.

The dog walk: well its got to be the best we've come across, it takes you direct into the forest you can walk in all directions but a map is essential to avoid getting lost unless you wander in straight lines :)the site also offers a bike wash, Hope eventually they will include a dog wash with warm water.

There are two visitors centres in the area and a museum of Cannock Chase. The larger centre at Birches Valley offers Go Ape and a fantastic bike shop which also has bikes for hire. There is a café at both centres, but the one at Birches Valley is the best.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iowkiss 7 reviews from this member

A very welcoming site with friendly and helpful wardens. The site seems to be in a clearing of the Chase which gives the feeling of being in the middle of the forest. The site insist on 6mtrs between tents etc which allows a degree of privacy. The services are cleaned well daily with alternative arrangements when the toilets are being cleaned. The ground is, in parts, on a slight incline but a tent etc can be positioned accordingly. The office has a few basic supplies including milk. The staff don't bother you and they are usually there when needed. I camped during the high season(August)but even though I thought that the charges were a little high for the site. I would return outside the high season next time! Recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeghasmail 7 reviews from this member

Before the school holidays started this was a peaceful site - yes the road noise can be disturbing. But on the second weekend the school holidays had started and the site was far from peaceful. Children running around with water guns, and riding bikes around with no respect for others pitch space or possible damage to cars.

One reviewer had complimented the 6 metre rule. If there is such a rule it was not being observed on the weekend of 22-24 July!

We couldn't wait to leave for our next site.

I have marked the site 10 out of 10 for child friendliness. Less friendly with rules would be preferred.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alpinestomper 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site after enduring a rather hard time trying to find exactly where it was.

The road signs were not as expected from the Big Sites Book and I ended up phoning the site for directions – this was not good either as the wardens had only been there for a week or so and did not know the local area and didn’t really help us.

Anyway the site was very clean and tidy with the usual facilities all very good. The main road was a bit of a rat run especially during the early morning and again in the late afternoon. Also a couple of motor bikers were making as much noise as their machines could muster, so beware of a certain amount of road noise.

The site is situated a mile from the Castle Ring and is completely surrounded by mature trees with walks going off in all directions. A dog walker’s paradise with miles and miles of the Chase to explore.

Access was very easy.

A post office/general store approx. 1 - 2 miles away.

There is a very nice children's play area.

DTV and Sky were fine, but beware of where you set up as the trees will obviously reduce or wreck your reception.

Highly recommended – we extended our stay for a few days – but the rain won in the end.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spiritburner 17 reviews from this member

Our second visit, the first being in November 2015. The facilities were clean & more than adequate although I can see where past reviewers are coming from. Being dated or a bit basic isn't a problem for us. I found the toilet block combination a bit of a chore as I'm not completely used to having my reading glasses on me at all times & have a terrible memory for more than 4 digits. The solution is to carry the code on the slip provided & don't cut things too fine in case you forget the slip or your glasses! Our pitch was pre-selected by management & we had to use a little persuasion to be given a pitch with less shade. I had no joy but my partners charms worked & we enjoyed a few hours more sunshine. Unfortunately it was overcast for a lot of the time thereafter but not the sites fault! There is a bit of road noise & main road past the site seems popular with boy racers (as do a lot of roads around Stile Cop)but not overly bothersome & probably not noticeable if you're in a caravan or motorhome. Loads of woodland walks straight from the site. Plenty bridleways for cycling & the nearby Stile Cop downhill routes are a short ride (off-road) away. Great site for the Racers Guild of Cannock Chase races held throughout the year at Stile Cop (except the Dec & Jan winter races as the site is shut). There is a free bike wash on site. We have camped both times on grass, this time with a hook-up. Hard-standing is available. A lot of the grass pitches in the middle of the park look to be on a slight slope but not too bad. There is a playground but we didn't see this up close. They strictly endear to the 6m space between units which is great. No cafe/bar/entertainment & a very sparse shop. Not a criticism!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les and Jenny 24 reviews from this member

We were invited to join some old friends who had already booked as being members of the C&CC. On booking, we were invited to rejoin as our membership gave out last year but declined as we tend to favour privately owned non-club sites. It cost us around £10 per night extra but Hey-Ho, that’s a choice we made so no crying in the beer. Although during what is called ‘high season’, the site was all but empty during our stay (maybe the high rate?) with the odd coming and going of ‘one-nighters’.

The site is pleasantly located in a dell and basks in the reflected glory of the Cannock Chase forest which has several paths for the walker. Maintained to a decent standard, the pitches vary from hard-standing to grass according to taste. There appears to be only one drinking water point for the entire site which is in close proximity to the grey water and outdoor chemical dump – much too close and a tad unsavoury some might say. There was no option of a serviced pitch, something some would have found invaluable given the terrain and the distance to the tap. The sole general refuse (no recycling) bin is situated by the entrance to the site.

The toilet block is a wooden structure containing the laundry and washing up facilities. Entry to the toilets is by a small pushbutton coded lock – difficult to read unless you have perfect sight and it’s in daylight. At night, the poor lighting made it all but impossible to manipulate. On one occasion, a frantic lady couldn’t operate the code and luckily was rescued from her dilemma by a passing warden. On entering, the toilets are clean(ish) - apart from the one seat in the gents which had blood on it when we arrived & which was still evident some four days later. Metal fittings in the block have suffered the effects of corrosion and need to be replaced if only for the sake of hygiene. A few more towel hooks around the place wouldn’t go amiss either. The facilities are reminiscent of something from the 1950s with shower curtains and the kind of temperature control needing the strength of Superman to operate. My wife found the shower controls difficult to say the least therefore was unable to access any hot water so showered in the ‘van for the rest of the stay.

Apart from the toilet block and a couple of shelves of consumables in reception, there are no facilities on this site. The nearest shops and pubs are over a mile away - the Chetwynd Arms at Upper Longdon serves very good food.

Road noise is intrusive for a site so far from a town, the road passing within yards of the site is incredibly busy, even at night.

The site seems to be enjoyed mainly by dog owners who take pleasure in the many walks through the woods and by children with bikes who use the perimeter track for off road riding – neither of whom were a problem to us.

I have to say to both C&CC and CC, your sites are rapidly becoming eclipsed by some ultra-modern, privately owned and importantly, in these austere times, - more modestly priced sites now on offer – reasons why we avoid corporate club sites whenever we have the choice.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019