Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Old Youth Hostel
Wandon
Rugeley
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS15 1QW
Tel: 01889 582166
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gareth 1 review from this member

 Extremely clean and tidy site and the staff were polite and firm with the rules.

Not sure why toilet blocks and play facilities could not be opened like other sites,
Never the less a great weekend had by my family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J053m1 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site set in woodland, site wardens absolutely great, very helpful.

Definitely recommend, mixture of young in camper vans, families and mature couples very nice balance of campers😄 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JethroT 2 reviews from this member

 Shame could be a lovely site.

The road (very close) is fast and noisy. The site gets over packed.

The toilets are shut for cleaning for a couple of hours, around the time most are leaving. Doesn't seem to be a noise policy

Would I go back. Probably not 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Graham 1 review from this member

 Travelled up on a Friday hoping to get in on another site we new but it was fully booked. So took a chance with this one and was not disappointed, it was fantastic so clean and spacious the shower block was spotless.

It has several fishing lakes and also play parked for kids to play in, a takeaway that sells hot food,

All in all it was one of the very best stays we had, absolutely loved the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynm 84 reviews from this member

 The setting of this site is spot on. Great accessibility to Cannock Chase & all it has to offer. The site is clean & well kept.

The warden was very welcoming & helpful on arrival. The facilities are clean & whilst they are cleaned between 10:30 & 12:00 the family room is left so at least you can access the loo.

The reason I couldn't score it higher was despite all they say about noise etc every morning of our stay we were woken by children playing & shouting just before 7am, far too early & despite several fellow campers by us raising it with the site office nothing was said.

This spoilt our stay. 8am fair game but that was too early. We taught our granddaughter from 2 years on about camping voice & never let her out before 9am to play Three families just sent their kids out at 7am without any thought for others & this appeared to be condoned by the site.

So sadly won't stay there again but if you are one of lifes early risers then this is the place for you. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Luckily we had a mid week visit which meant the site was fairly quiet

The site was really clean and tidy as were the toilet and showers. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A bit of road noise if pitched near it.

Overall made a great little base for the wife to see some of the area for her family history. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Silvertopsandra 8 reviews from this member

 Loved this site, everything one would expect from C&CC. On arrival were welcomed and offered a choice of several pitches, being mid October the site was not busy.

Facilities were clean, showers good. Laundry room warm and well equipped, there were dishwashing facilities which we didn't use.

Both the Reception and ablution block were sited in wooden cabin style structures in keeping with the forest. The whole area was clean and tidy both inside and out.

Lovely children play area, our grandchildren would have loved it. The site shop carried the basics, Rugeley and Cannock had main superstores, both a short drive.

Walks from the site straight onto the Chase, perfect for the dog and safe. Plenty of places to visit in the area, we drove to National Arboretum - very moving and well worth a visit.

The only comment worth noting is the main road, busy in morning and evening. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueb21 1 review from this member

 Beautifully clean site with excellent facilities. Host was lovely and friendly - even though we arrived during an England World Cup match (it was half time though so all good)!

Choice of pitch, anywhere our van would fit so that was lovely too. Phone and data signal non-existent but that's lovely if you want to 'get away from it all'.

The only complaint was that we arrived at 7:45pm and had to go off site to buy some things that we had left at home and decided to have a meal out - which meant us getting back to site at 10:50pm, cutting it fine with the 11pm deadline of the barrier being locked.

We had a car full of supplies and found the gate had already been locked so we had to park in the main car park and carry all our things across the site in relative darkness.

On mentioning this to the lady in the office the next day before we left, there was no apology for locking the gate early. Rather a patronising 'Oh did it (the gate) decide to go to bed early? Well thank you for letting me know'. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 31 reviews from this member

 A good, pleasant small site amongst the trees of a country park, with architecturally interesting new timber buildings. It has been a wet year, so the lower and far ends of the site were muddy. We were there in low season midweek, with about 15/20 other units, which in my book is about right for the site - I would not want to be there at the weekend or high season when I understand it is full, but my taste is to avoid crowds. The site managers were friendly and helpful. I do wish the club would not put so many lights around their sites, polluting the night sky - all campers carry torches don't they? I notice some glamping tents using up valuable pitches that could be used by tourers, especially tenters, for whom there does not appear to be much provision here. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jane77 1 review from this member

 I came to stay here with my friend and also my son who was five at the time.

It felt very safe and he enjoyed the play area and being able to bike around the site. 
via mobile


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cannock Chase Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rugeley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement