Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park
Rosedale Abbey
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8SA
Tel: 01751 417272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Websterwoman 1 review from this member

 This site is absolutely amazing. So much so that we've visited 3 times this year. Twice camping and once in the pod.

As ever the staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help out, they always find the time to stop and say hello and ask if everything's ok.

I've read a few negative comments about the showers and the pot wash. From experience, me and my family have never faulted either. The showers are always piping hot and always clean as is the pot wash. It's not like your camping in the shower block, it's a quick shower and change. They are cleaned by the wardens regularly as is the pot wash area.

The Coach & Horses pub is my favourite. The food is delicious and cannot be faulted, the desserts are to die for, especially the Bailey's Creme Brule - devine. We have visited The White Horse at the top of Chimney Bank - it's worth the climb for the views and the wildlife (not to mention a cold pint).

My 2 daughters love the park, especially the newly added 'rice bowl swing'. They have made lots of friends over the years and meet up with them year after year. We've been camping at Rosedale for the past 4 years.

In my opinion the price for a family of four and a car is exceptional - far more value for money than other sites I've looked at.

Will I be returning? YES we will - already booked up for next year. Don't let the negative reviews put you off, check it out for yourself - you definitely won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Marknat1 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, beautiful grounds, great outdoor area for kids and pet friendly. Shop on site selling all your essentials. Showers, toilet areas very clean. Booked last minute into a camping pod - ACE!

Lot's to do in the area, two pubs on your doorstep both selling food. 40 mins drive to Whitby over the moors.

Very friendly and helpful staff, Rosedale Abbey is a lovely place. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, see you again soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting with a fantastic pub at the entrance to the site. (Lovely food). Although we were greeted with an abrupt manner, the rest of the staff were quite friendly. Very well maintained site which is long and narrow so it didn't feel busy and well positioned facilities for tenters. Good play area. The 'piss pass' (as it became known) was a nuisance.

Electricity was not included and 1 tokens are available from the shop. 2 complimentary ones were provided and these were ample for us. Sufficient showers and toilets but showers could do with an upgrade. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 The location of this site in fantastic set in the North Yorks Moors, it is a pretty site, the grass is well kept. Due to the rural location there was no mobile phone or terrestrial tv signal when we visited.

The pitches are not over big but mainly have nice views of the hills. The reception is friendly there is a carded barrier for extra security. The electricity is by card meter. The toilet and shower block was adequate the water was always hot.

The village of Rosedale Abbey is very pretty, the abbey stores and tearoom were friendly and stock a good selection of fresh food and homemake cake. The local pub The coach house inn served a great pint. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 74 reviews from this member

 We visited this site at Easter and I would personally like to thank the wardens for their help as we were running late in the holiday traffic.

The site is very nice and well kept and the village pub / shop are a few minutes stroll away.

My only criticisms are:

The toilet block needs a mop and bucket as the grass and dirt walked in was annoying.

Some extra hooks on the shower door.

And a shelf for shower gel / shampoo in the shower cubicle.

These are minor criticisms as I would love to visit the site and would recommend the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carltowse 3 reviews from this member

 The site is beautiful and very well maintained. The toilets and showers are spotless and the showers are some of the best I've come across. The park is great for the kids, too.

However, when we booked, we could only book for 3 nights when we only wanted 2. I booked a pitch for 2 adults and 4 children and an extra car which came to 117. We had a medium sized tent and a small tent and we were told we would have to pay for 2 pitches, but they did allow us to pay for 2 nights instead of 3 for the second pitch and they refunded the 15 for the extra car, but still ended up paying 154. For a 2 day camping holiday, it is very expensive.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dunnakeysontour 2 reviews from this member

 Just home from a two night bank holiday stay here. Was an absolutely lovely site, situated on the river bank, lovely open spaces for different units.

There was a lovely big play park for the children and the toilet and showering blocks were excellent. Warm and clean and well maintained. The site was well looked after and always someone on hand. Electric is pay as you go but very good value and we had a heater on all the time except the last day due to the weather being poor.

Good selection of shops for odd bits of groceries and for a small village a good selection of pubs! We went for tea at the white horse part way up chimney bank, very friendly and allowed dogs too.

The only criticism I would have is the dog walk is difficult terrain and up a steep hill which got slippy after the rain and was steep for my two year old daughter. A larger area for customers dogs would be ideal we just ended up walking to the reception/shop and back on the lead to exercise the dog when on site.

We had a lovely time and will be back 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Procjc 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over a Bank Holiday weekend at the start of May. Normally hardy campers, this was a first experience of a pod. Apparently the temperature had dropped to -4 the night before arrival, and it remained cold throughout our stay but the pod was surprisingly cosy.

We bbqd most nights and the pod had a lovely decked balcony area with picnic table overlooking the brook to sit out on.

Loo/shower facilities were clean, warm and with lots of hot water! There is also a freezer on site (free) for freezing ice blocks. The site also feels very secure as there is a security barrier on entry.

We were fortunate to coincide our visit with the Tour of Britain cycle tour which actually came through Rosedale Abbey so on the Friday there was a great atmosphere with the streets packed. Village store, teashop and two pubs in the village. We tried out both pubs for a beer (both fronted by slightly miserable Yorkshiremen), but preferred the White Horse Farm Inn which had great food and fantastic views.

Great walking and cycling routes in the area across the Moors fanastic (but hairy) freewheel downhill down Rosedale Chimney! Good location for exploring the North York Moors, Pickering and Dalby Forest plus not too far from Scarborough and the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper josie 1 review from this member

 Love, love this Site, I have two children aged 11 and 9 and this is their favourite campsite, we go every year.

Rosedale is so pretty, the views are stunning. There is a great play area for the kids it also has two goalposts so the children all play together and play football. My kids love the stream that runs around the site, it's only shallow so the kids love it, the kids can play all day long, and not once have I heard the saying 'I'm bored.' It's a great place. There is no phone signal and very limited Wifi, but to me this is a good thing, I go camping to get away from it all.

There are two pubs in the village. We like the Milburn Arms, the food is outstanding and it's child and dog friendly. There is a great pub up the hill too, you can do a nice walk to it.

In Rosedale itself there are two tea rooms, There is a very small shop in the campsite. We go into Pickering and use the Lidl and Coop.

Surrounding area is beautiful, you are not far from Goathland, the home of Heartbeat. Whitby isn't very far which is a lovely seaside town. Dalby Forest is a great day out for mountain biking, walking, great play area, go ape and paint balling. If you don't fancy such an active day, a short drive will take you to castle Howard, and even the lovely city of York. North Yorkshire is my favourite place in the world and never tire of the place.

To me Rosedale is simply lovely with breathtaking scenery. Well worth the visit. The campsite is great. You can pitch where you like, the toilets are only a short walk away, it is Pay as you go electric, we stayed four nights and used two pounds worth, so it isn't an issue. You do need to take 10 for the barrier and toilet pass but this is given back on departure, everyone is friendly well worth a stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisuk 3 reviews from this member

 The booking procedure for the site was very good - although there was a question mark as whether a camper van with driveaway awning had to pay more than a tent with a car and electric hook up. But we didn't :-). Post confirmation was received within a day or so. Hence 2 out of 10

The site is well organised, and efficient if not the most friendly/warm welcome. The shop is adequate as are the facilities. Quite expensive as sites go - if the customer service/staffing improved it would be worth paying the extra as the village is gorgeous: the little village shop/cafe friendly and lovely; The White Horse a short walk up the hill - but worth it - is really friendly and sells a good range of real ales and great food;. If you fancy splashing out on handblown glass or watch it being made in the village is the famous glass blowers - Gillies Jones; Loads of great walks in the area for all abilities; National Trust and English Heritage properties nearby; Cropton Forest Brewery for a brewery tour; and North Yorks railway to the coast makes a great day out. Pickering a market town with all the food outlets from small independents, market and supermarket.

There is a lot on the reviews about electric charges - we were sold 2 cards for the two days stay. The person who took us to the pitch inserted one of the cards but the person before us had left 1 pound credit and we only used 40 pence. The next person would therefore have 1. 60 credit and you don't get a refund on unused cards - so its worth checking; its not expensive, although in our view, an unnecessary add on given the cost of the pitch.  


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2371 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December