Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park
Rosedale Abbey
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8SA
Tel: 01751 417272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
                8/10 from 98 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LouLiz 27 reviews from this member

 Staff very helpful. When I rang to make booking I was told they were full but they took my phone number and rang me back to say they had a pitch. Large site with a lot of seasonal pitches, pods and statics. We were at the very end of the site which was quiet and next to a stream but a long walk to the entrance.

The shower/toilet block was clean but when it was closed for 2 hour cleaning it meant it was a 5 minute walk to the only other one.

Village is lovely and we had lunch at Graze on the Green with friends who live locally. I can thoroughly recommend the food there. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Websterwoman 1 review from this member

 This site is absolutely amazing. So much so that we've visited 3 times this year. Twice camping and once in the pod.

As ever the staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help out, they always find the time to stop and say hello and ask if everything's ok.

I've read a few negative comments about the showers and the pot wash. From experience, me and my family have never faulted either. The showers are always piping hot and always clean as is the pot wash. It's not like your camping in the shower block, it's a quick shower and change. They are cleaned by the wardens regularly as is the pot wash area.

The Coach & Horses pub is my favourite. The food is delicious and cannot be faulted, the desserts are to die for, especially the Bailey's Creme Brule - devine. We have visited The White Horse at the top of Chimney Bank - it's worth the climb for the views and the wildlife (not to mention a cold pint).

My 2 daughters love the park, especially the newly added 'rice bowl swing'. They have made lots of friends over the years and meet up with them year after year. We've been camping at Rosedale for the past 4 years.

In my opinion the price for a family of four and a car is exceptional - far more value for money than other sites I've looked at.

Will I be returning? YES we will - already booked up for next year. Don't let the negative reviews put you off, check it out for yourself - you definitely won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Marknat1 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, beautiful grounds, great outdoor area for kids and pet friendly. Shop on site selling all your essentials. Showers, toilet areas very clean. Booked last minute into a camping pod - ACE!

Lot's to do in the area, two pubs on your doorstep both selling food. 40 mins drive to Whitby over the moors.

Very friendly and helpful staff, Rosedale Abbey is a lovely place. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, see you again soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DMKay 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting with a fantastic pub at the entrance to the site. (Lovely food). Although we were greeted with an abrupt manner, the rest of the staff were quite friendly. Very well maintained site which is long and narrow so it didn't feel busy and well positioned facilities for tenters. Good play area. The 'piss pass' (as it became known) was a nuisance.

Electricity was not included and 1 tokens are available from the shop. 2 complimentary ones were provided and these were ample for us. Sufficient showers and toilets but showers could do with an upgrade. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 The location of this site in fantastic set in the North Yorks Moors, it is a pretty site, the grass is well kept. Due to the rural location there was no mobile phone or terrestrial tv signal when we visited.

The pitches are not over big but mainly have nice views of the hills. The reception is friendly there is a carded barrier for extra security. The electricity is by card meter. The toilet and shower block was adequate the water was always hot.

The village of Rosedale Abbey is very pretty, the abbey stores and tearoom were friendly and stock a good selection of fresh food and homemake cake. The local pub The coach house inn served a great pint. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 79 reviews from this member

 We visited this site at Easter and I would personally like to thank the wardens for their help as we were running late in the holiday traffic.

The site is very nice and well kept and the village pub / shop are a few minutes stroll away.

My only criticisms are:

The toilet block needs a mop and bucket as the grass and dirt walked in was annoying.

Some extra hooks on the shower door.

And a shelf for shower gel / shampoo in the shower cubicle.

These are minor criticisms as I would love to visit the site and would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carltowse 3 reviews from this member

 The site is beautiful and very well maintained. The toilets and showers are spotless and the showers are some of the best I've come across. The park is great for the kids, too.

However, when we booked, we could only book for 3 nights when we only wanted 2. I booked a pitch for 2 adults and 4 children and an extra car which came to 117. We had a medium sized tent and a small tent and we were told we would have to pay for 2 pitches, but they did allow us to pay for 2 nights instead of 3 for the second pitch and they refunded the 15 for the extra car, but still ended up paying 154. For a 2 day camping holiday, it is very expensive.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dunnakeysontour 2 reviews from this member

 Just home from a two night bank holiday stay here. Was an absolutely lovely site, situated on the river bank, lovely open spaces for different units.

There was a lovely big play park for the children and the toilet and showering blocks were excellent. Warm and clean and well maintained. The site was well looked after and always someone on hand. Electric is pay as you go but very good value and we had a heater on all the time except the last day due to the weather being poor.

Good selection of shops for odd bits of groceries and for a small village a good selection of pubs! We went for tea at the white horse part way up chimney bank, very friendly and allowed dogs too.

The only criticism I would have is the dog walk is difficult terrain and up a steep hill which got slippy after the rain and was steep for my two year old daughter. A larger area for customers dogs would be ideal we just ended up walking to the reception/shop and back on the lead to exercise the dog when on site.

We had a lovely time and will be back 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Procjc 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over a Bank Holiday weekend at the start of May. Normally hardy campers, this was a first experience of a pod. Apparently the temperature had dropped to -4 the night before arrival, and it remained cold throughout our stay but the pod was surprisingly cosy.

We bbqd most nights and the pod had a lovely decked balcony area with picnic table overlooking the brook to sit out on.

Loo/shower facilities were clean, warm and with lots of hot water! There is also a freezer on site (free) for freezing ice blocks. The site also feels very secure as there is a security barrier on entry.

We were fortunate to coincide our visit with the Tour of Britain cycle tour which actually came through Rosedale Abbey so on the Friday there was a great atmosphere with the streets packed. Village store, teashop and two pubs in the village. We tried out both pubs for a beer (both fronted by slightly miserable Yorkshiremen), but preferred the White Horse Farm Inn which had great food and fantastic views.

Great walking and cycling routes in the area across the Moors fanastic (but hairy) freewheel downhill down Rosedale Chimney! Good location for exploring the North York Moors, Pickering and Dalby Forest plus not too far from Scarborough and the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper josie 1 review from this member

 Love, love this Site, I have two children aged 11 and 9 and this is their favourite campsite, we go every year.

Rosedale is so pretty, the views are stunning. There is a great play area for the kids it also has two goalposts so the children all play together and play football. My kids love the stream that runs around the site, it's only shallow so the kids love it, the kids can play all day long, and not once have I heard the saying 'I'm bored.' It's a great place. There is no phone signal and very limited Wifi, but to me this is a good thing, I go camping to get away from it all.

There are two pubs in the village. We like the Milburn Arms, the food is outstanding and it's child and dog friendly. There is a great pub up the hill too, you can do a nice walk to it.

In Rosedale itself there are two tea rooms, There is a very small shop in the campsite. We go into Pickering and use the Lidl and Coop.

Surrounding area is beautiful, you are not far from Goathland, the home of Heartbeat. Whitby isn't very far which is a lovely seaside town. Dalby Forest is a great day out for mountain biking, walking, great play area, go ape and paint balling. If you don't fancy such an active day, a short drive will take you to castle Howard, and even the lovely city of York. North Yorkshire is my favourite place in the world and never tire of the place.

To me Rosedale is simply lovely with breathtaking scenery. Well worth the visit. The campsite is great. You can pitch where you like, the toilets are only a short walk away, it is Pay as you go electric, we stayed four nights and used two pounds worth, so it isn't an issue. You do need to take 10 for the barrier and toilet pass but this is given back on departure, everyone is friendly well worth a stay. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Rosedale Abbey Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement