Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of River Tilt Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Blair Atholl > River Tilt Park Reviews

River Tilt Park
Bridge Of Tilt
Blair Atholl
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH18 5TE
Tel: 01796 481467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 36
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 27 Reviews
                6/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Fifiball 1 review from this member

Had a wonderful stay at this stunning location again, celebrated Christmas here with out dog and parents.

Surrounded by brilliant walks and great visitor attractions, and the beautiful river tilt.

Comfortable caravan with everything we needed.

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 10 reviews from this member

This site looks impressive at the entrance, not a leaf, litter or weed to be seen - because it's the sales showroom area for the statics.

But the tourers are corralled in by the statics either side like green walls very close on all sides, didn't need to pull the window blinds down much we could only see tree tops above the statics.

The toilet /shower block is appalling, the windows won't close and there's no heating on even though it was 6 degrees overnight, the fittings appear to be a mix of leftover parts, the water was cold, the hand dryer was cold and there was a meter asking 20p's for hot water to wash the dishes! Tourers very much the second class here.

The checking in process was focused on payment, no information except an out of date, inaccurate site plan to show the pitch and the issue of ONE key to the awful toilets/shower facilities. For this a charge of 23 pn.

The only good point was having a water tap on the pitch. This stop was 1 of 15 sites we stayed on as part of a month long tour of England and Scotland.

It was the only disappointment and really spoilt stay in beautiful Blair Atholl. Blair castle is a must to visit absolutely wonderful and good value.

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lolabell 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights, we were allocated a pitch next to the toilet block which was good.

The pitches are small and compact, no room for an awning, just enough space for the car.

The toilet /shower block was clean, plenty soap and hot water.

Only downside, it was mid September and I found it cold after showering, no heater on although there was one but not in operation.

Nice clean site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nwaddrof 3 reviews from this member

Upon arrival at River Tilt we experienced our first hurdle, finding the entrance. The sign post on the main road sent us down a lane where we saw a sign listing many holiday parks then immediately after an entrance to Park Royale on the right. It wasn't until we reached the golf course at the bottom of the lane that we realised Park Royale must be the entrance for all parks. Luckily there was enough room in the golf course car park to turn around.

Once we arrived we pulled up before a large barn with the River Tilt sign on. We first thought this was reception but it wasn't. Reception was a small room opposite, half hidden by plantation with a tiny 'reception' sign on the banister for the steps.

The reception was adequate but not welcoming and we were issued with decent maps of the site and keys for the gates & toilet block. We weren't offered any information about the local area and there weren't any leaflets available either.

Our pitch was a decent size with water, electricity & drainage, which was great and all for a reasonable price. From the front window we had an ok view of the hills, a little obscured by the static vans in front and a train line about 15 metres from the van. The trainline is set below the level of the campsite but is still pretty loud. I grew up next to a trainline so it didn't really bother me but it was noisy enough that it was worth a mention, especially through the night.

The ladies toilet block is small with only 3 toilets, 1 shower and a disabled shower. However with many pitches fully serviced and the majority of the campsite being statics it seemed to be enough. 2 toilet cubicles were large with sinks in and one very snug with a sink outside. A major issue for me, especially with 3 young kids, was there was no soap at the sinks and the one hand dryer in there was about useless. The block was a little tired looking but clean. Showers were free with a push button but only lasted seconds with each push so made it difficult to wash properly. The water was luke warm at best and the shower room had little heating so overall it was a pretty unpleasant experience. We showered in the van.

The only bins are located in the refuge centre at the entrance to the park. The touring pitches are at the very back of the park so a fairly lengthy walk just to empty the bin. There are no recycling facilities either.

The chemical toilet disposal point was dreadful and inadequate. It was around the side of the toilet block and didn't have an outside light so it was unusable past around 5pm. It was a standard toilet in a tiny cubicle and a wooden bar over the top with a sink tap fitted to it. This made the pan area about half the size of a standard toilet. We had to stand outside the cubicle and stretch in balancing the toilet cassette over the small space trying not to splash it all over our legs and feet. There was barely enough room under the tap to rinse out the cassette or diluted the cassette fluid.

The site itself was not at all as I expected from the picture painted by their website and the Camping and Caravan Club listing. I was expecting a very picturesque, secluded site next to a meandering river with walks and hidey places and a play-park for the kids. It boasted a pool & spa as well as a restaurant and WiFi access. In reality it felt cramped by the mass of static vans and roadways with the odd tree mixed in. There were few open views (we were lucky to have one), walks or places for the kids to play. We couldn't even find an open area for the kids to run around.

Our pitch was one of 3 between a terrace of statics but there was also a small field dedicated to tourers and motor homes. Most pitches were occupied by seasonal tourers.

The pool & spa are not included in the touring pitch fees but this isn't mentioned on the website. At 18 for a family 1hr session or 55 for a family 3 day pass it seemed pricey, especially as the kids just wanted to go for a swim. A swim only option is not offered. I got the impression it is not owned by the park and it is open to the public.

We walked up to the restaurant on our first day only to find that kids were not permitted past 6pm without prior arrangement (it was already past 6:30). It looked on the pricey side too. Luckily Pitlochry is only a 10 mile drive away so we went there instead. If reception had been any good they'd have told us there was a chippy within walking distance just over the bridge, which unfortunately we didn't stumble upon until our last day.

There isn't a shop on site as listed either. Instead it is a small Spar on the main road that is not open very late.

The WiFi had a good signal but was pay as you go so we didn't bother ringing up to see how much it was. We had enough mobile data signal to do what we wanted anyway.

In summary, River Tilt Park is in a good location for visiting the area around Pitlochry but is very geared towards the seasonal/static holiday maker rather than touring. I would also say it is aimed at older couples and definitely not families. We barely saw a sole the whole weekend and usually the kids are off making friends. We would not here stay again and would not recommend to a friend. In fact we went home a day early because of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night on our way to John o Groats. Two of my sons were cycling LEJOG. Good access for caravans off the main road. Plenty room to park before the barrier while booking in. Friendly reception. Lots of static caravans. The site was quiet while we were there. We had a good size, level, fully serviced hard standing. Facilities were and nice and clean. We arrived late and left early so I did not have a walk around the whole site. The area has wonderful views and Pitlochry is well worth a visit. We have been to Pitlochry before. Very good overnight stop and a good base for visiting the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 19smiley68 2 reviews from this member

This site is predominately for statics, however it does have a small very enclosed section for tourers and tents. Unfortunately this appears to be occupied by people who stay for the whole of the summer season, normal campsite etiquette seems not to apply e. G. Noise after 11pm! Facilities on the whole were good and clean and Blair Atholl is lovely. Would not visit this site again as we did not fit in with the cliche of the seasonal stayers!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

Very inefficient booking/enquiry system managed to lose our booking twice so we arrived unexpectedly for an overnight transit stop. Fortunately the had a pitch spare and very good it was too (fully serviced) just outside the main touring compound which was crowded out. Facilities basis but clean and obviously being improved but the shower only stayed on if you kept the button pressed so a one hand wash was called for. A lovely little town to walk around plus walks beside the river upstream gave you a pleasant circuit.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lord thomas 1 review from this member

River tilt caravan park is a very nice well maintained park. Where it all goes wrong is the constant work ongoing on the site. Jcb dumper trucks running around all day long. Not the best place for a quite relaxing break.

If the noise of the trucks doesn't get to you the high pressure washer ritual will get to you o the sunday morning bright and early. There should be a speed limit in the park as young kids and dogs are around. But sadly this is not the case.

Depending who you deal with on the reception will set the mood not really a friendly bunch at all. Its such a shame because it can be a great place with beautiful surroundings.

Would I recommend this site to anyone. If you are passing through them maybe. But if you have the misfortune to be tied to a contract with a static caravan then this is where its very expensive and frankly not value for money. Please be aware of the hidden costs.

Or the fines that will be imposed at the whim of the park owner.

Please don't let my personal review put you off the park. However its open and honest something that was never displayed from the park management over the years we stayed there.

Kind regards

Lord thomas.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Texastom 7 reviews from this member

Good site, good location, good staff. Being a CCC member and over 60 I got two discounts which always helps. Really good hard-stand site with column pole incorporating water, power and drain at bottom. No sign of drain area for motor-homes, but no problem if you have a pail or bucket and you can empty into drain. Chemical toilet disposal in nice discreet area and spare toilet for use when cleaning taking place. Have to comment about dish washing as you have to pay 20 pence for hot water, electric is included so use your own hot water and if you're pushed for space take them to area to wash and then back to van to rinse. Pity we didn't find out about pool and spa until we were leaving.

All in all good site with good walks and good facilities, will return!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 19 reviews from this member

We spent one night with our tourer. We had arrived without a booking as we had no wifi available previous to our arrival. The lady booked us in for one night and gave us a pitch in an area which was not an area to be allocated as it said 'no dogs' at the entrance. However nobody else appeared to be staying there.

Toilet block was clean but does need to be upgraded. I was shocked to find no soap dispenser and no hand towels or drier. Never been in a site without these facilities. We did manage to get a good Wi Fi provider though. There was a restaurant just outside the site gate but it doesn't open Monday or Tuesday. Guess who couldn't get a table? There appeared to be a swimming pool in the same building as the restaurant but we were not advised it was for our use.

We had a lovely walk along the River Tilt. We then hunted for a cash machine, an ice cream and somewhere to have a bite to eat. Take note there is a cash point just past the post office on the left hand side of the road. There's a chip shop if you turn right along the main road. There's an hotel on the left hand corner go right and you'll soon find the chippy. Hope you don't get lost with my directions.

Don't think we will be back.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is River Tilt Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does River Tilt Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to River Tilt Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is River Tilt Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blair Atholl      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition Wokingham 21/03 to 22/03
Berkshire - Approximately 100 different tents on display, plus accessories in our 5000ft2 camping shop ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020