Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Only Camp Camping La Gatine

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Blere > Only Camp Camping La Gatine > Reviews

Only Camp Camping La Gatine
Rue Du Commandant Lamaitre
Blere
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37150
Tel: +33 02 47 57 92 60
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 270
Open: 01/03/2024 to 15/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 The site is still pretty much as described in my last review, though the grass was much shorter this time!

It was slightly busier than our last visit though calm and quiet day and night.

Some of the reviews on the ACSI card website are extremely critical of the shower and toilet facilities, but as on our last visit we found them to be cleaned regularly and perfectly acceptable - we both used them even though we regularly and happily use our on-board facilities if what is on offer on a campsite is not to our liking!

Overall this is a very pleasant, relaxing site to spend a few nights or longer, an easy walk into the small town and well placed for visiting this part of the Loire, with excellent dog-walking and cycling along the path by the River Cher. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 This site now belongs to the Only Camp group. We received a friendly welcome from the people on reception and when we saw them around the site, and we were able to choose our own pitch on arrival.

It is a large, park-like site, overlooking the river Cher, with direct access to the cycle/foot path towards Chenonceaux (locked overnight), and to the newly refurbished park area outside the site’s barrier controlled main entrance. The town’s outdoor pool, tennis courts and sports stadium are adjacent and there is an excellent bakers 2 or 3 minutes walk from the site (there is a bread service in July and August but not in low season). The rest of the small town, with shops, cafes and restaurants (including the Cheval Blanc which is now a Michelin listed establishment) is a 5-10 minute stroll from the site and there are pleasant walks in each direction along by the river, with lots of grassy areas by the paths. As previously mentioned, it is a short drive to Chenonceaux, Amboise etc and discounted entry is available to several of the chateaux from reception.

There are 3 sanitary blocks, one of which was open during our stay, with separate facilities for males and females. It was modern and obviously newly refurbished, with good, hot showers and cleaned twice a day.

The electric hook-ups were 8 or 10 amps and needed a French style connection. Although they were plentiful, you would need a long cable for some pitches. There were lots of water points around the site.

Although large, the site was very quiet during our stay with only a dozen or so units most nights. It is almost exclusively a camping and touring site, with just a few tents on stilts to rent, by reception. There is a small playground on site and a ‘relaxation room’ with a microwave, tables and chairs and local information etc. Where it is possible to access the free WiFi.

The grass was fairly long during our stay, but otherwise the site was well kept with attractive flower tubs, shrubs and trees.

This is an unassuming site in an excellent location and we very much enjoyed our short stay here - one to return to for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallybongo 1 review from this member

 We had stayed on this campsite in 2010 for 2 weeks. Excellent campsite, excellent facilities. Excellent Manager who was very proud of his campsite and very welcoming. This year, we returned for an 'overnighter' on the way back up to Caen from the Dordogne. The manager appears to have retired (possibly), but his replacement, a young man with a small family was equally welcoming and friendly. There is another Boulangerie in the town closer to the campsite than the original one, but the 'Cheval Blanc' hotel appears to have been shut down - very sad as the food and service there was a great experience! It really is a great area to visit and this campsite is a true gem. I love it. The River Cher is just as beautiful as ever, and the chateau Chenonceaux is stunning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caragana66 1 review from this member

 Spent 12 nights here. Didn't need to book as they said they are never full. Very flat municipal site site under trees overlooking the River Cher. Spotless toilet and shower facilities. Lovely flower displays kept by the manager. Quiet site with a mix of mainly French and Dutch.

Small play area on site. Crazy golf nearby as well as a small mountain bike circuit. Downside was that the nearby pool was closed for the summer for maintenance work. Site does not freeze cool blocks but sell 1.5ltr frozen water bottles for a euro. Washing machines 4 euros.

Intermarche ((east side of Blere)and Carrefour (west side of Blere) in town. Aldi and a local farm shop towards Montrichard. Boulangeire in town as well as smaller shops. Excellent market on a Sunday morning in Amboise.

Very convenient for visiting the Chateau in the area. We visited Chenonceaux to see gardens lit up - spectacular! Also Chaumont sur Loire to see festival gardens and Château de la Bourdaisière to see National tomato Collection.

A very secure, safe site with barrier entry. Gates to river and to car park behind Fouine Shop (sells everything!) to walk to Intermarche all locked at night

All in all would recommend for anyone with tent, motorhome or caravan. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ced1 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this excellent municipal site for 3 nights as we wanted a base from where to visit Chenonceau and Chaumont sur Loire. I think we paid 19 euros/night for an electric pitch (family of 4).

All pitches were under the trees and very spacious and the three toilet blocks were always spotless with plenty of hot water. Lovely floral tubs as other reviewers have noted.

From the site, you can access the river and could walk or cycle to Chenonceaux; it is also an easy walk to the centre of Blere and the boulangerie there for your morning baguette.

Our children enjoyed the small play area on the site but there are also excellent municipal facilities just outside - playing fields, another play area, mini-golf and an excellent and reasonably priced large swimming pool (the weather was very warm during our time here so we took full advantage of this).

In all, I would highly recommend this site as either a stopover or indeed a base for exploring this lovely area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emmitdb 9 reviews from this member

 This review is going to be short and sweet.

The review of Gary Thomas from a visit in 2003. Blere remains exactly as he stated it. It is very well maintained and the staff are just as friendly and hard working.

I would add in addition that there is a cycle path along the riverside giving access to the magnificent Château de Chenonceau.

The town has a tourist office that is open most days, even at the end of season. The staff there speak very good english and there is internet available for use at 1euro per hour.

When we were there the site was only half open but we were able to choose our own pitch. The staff were making a start on putting the site to bed but they didn't remove all the floral displays in one go. Each day they removed some of the plants leaving the more robust ones there for our continued enjoyment.

I would endorse Garys recommendation as to this place as both a stopover en route to say Spain or as a visit in its own right. 


Reviewer: Gary M. Thomas 2 reviews from this member

 August 2003
Summary
This is a very well equipped and cared for site that well deserves it’s 3 star rating. I have no hesitation in recommending the site to potential visitors and will certainly use the site again myself in the future.
Location
Bléré is a small town (population 4647) located on the River Cher, a tributary of the mighty River Loire. Bléré is situated about 7km (4 miles) west and downstream of the magnificent Château de Chenonceau. Bléré is also 25 km from Tours and 220km from Paris. It is ideally located for visitors who are "just passing through" or those who wish to stay for a longer visit and enjoy visiting the many beautiful Châteaux of the Loire area.
We stayed at the Municipal Camping Site at Bléré. This is an excellent 3 star site that has 270 pitches, most of which have some degree of shade. The site itself is excellently maintained by the friendly and helpful staff. It is really most attractive with many floral displays.
The site is situated on the south bank of the River Cher, from which it is screened by a magnificent stand of poplar trees. When we visited, our pitch was located about 15 metres from the river itself. The site is located about 400 metres from the centre of Bléré itself, where there are the normal facilities of a small French town (boulangeries, patisseries, butchers, post office, mini-supermarket, banks etc.) Also, within 1km of the site there are two larger supermarkets (Intermarche and Champion) both of which are very well stocked.
Situated adjacent to the campsite is a play area for young children, mini golf and the 4 pool outdoor municipal swimming pool. Campsite residents are entitled to reduced entry fees for the mini-golf and pool. The pool is open from 11.00 a.m. until 7.30 p.m. and the entry fee allows unrestricted use during these hours (i.e. there are no "sessions" - U.K. municipal pools please take note!) Snacks and drinks are available at the pool.
Facilities
There is an air conditioned reception area and also a TV and Games Room. In the TV / Games Hall there are pinball and video games, table tennis and table football. During our stay local vineyards had been invited onto the site and campers were able to sample the local wines.
The site boasts two toilet blocks; these are separated into Ladies and Gents areas, both of which feature three conventional cubicles, one "hole in the ground" style cubicle and one cubicle for small children (low seat). Additionally both offer private cubicles for washing and a number of "open plan" wash hand basins with shaver outlets. There is a plentiful supply of hot and cold water. The ladies area also provide ironing facilities (I wonder why these are not available in the Gents?) Around the back of this block there is a chemical toilet cleaning point and a bank of four urinals.
There is a newly built shower block containing about a dozen shower cubicles each for men and women plus a few "family" shower cubicles. The showers are free, but please note that toilet paper is not provided - so you have to take your own!
All these facilities are immaculate and spotlessly clean. They are cleaned first thing in the morning and on frequent occasions throughout the day. They are a credit to the site team.
There is a laundry area on site consisting of two laundrette type washing machines and a tumble dryer. The washing machines require the use of tokens which can be purchased from the reception area for 4€ (approx. £3.00) and the tumble dryer takes tokens costing 2.5€ (approx. £1.87). Washing powder is provided when you purchase the tokens. There are also sinks available for doing hand wash laundry and plenty of others for washing up purposes. Hot and cold water is available free of charge.
At strategic locations around the site there are waste bins provided for the disposal of rubbish (which must be in plastic bags). These locations all have water taps supplying drinking water and there are also many additional water taps located throughout the site. There is a bottle bank located near the main entrance for disposing of glass waste.
During our visit the grass was somewhat parched (not surprising as we were there during the hottest period since records started being taken in France). The ground was almost stone free making pegging out quite easy. However, small tent pegs did tend to pull out quite easily – probably due to the dryness of the soil.
Security
The site is open for cars etc. to enter and leave from 7.00 a.m. until 10.00 p.m. and entry is controlled by a barrier which is operated using a key card. A refundable deposit of 20€ (approx. £15.00) is charged for the key card. Cars returning to site outside these times have to park in the car park outside the entrance. Late and early arrivals have to make special arrangements with the reception.
Throughout the day and night staff regularly patrols the site and security is very good. The site is quiet and peaceful generally with very little noise from the occupants.
Clientele
The campers on the site were a very cosmopolitan mixture. During our stay I would estimate that the nationality of campers on site were roughly as follows:
· French 45%
· Italian 25%
· German 20%
· Dutch 5%
· British 2%
· Others * 3%
* Including Spanish, Portuguese, Belgian, Polish and Czech.

Everyone was very considerate and well behaved, and during our 18 days on site we experienced no problems whatsoever with rowdy or inconsiderate campers.

Electric Hook Up
Most (if not all) of the site is within reach of an electric hook up point if required. An adaptor is required to connect from the conventional French domestic style power socket to the U.K. style outdoor connector on the normal U.K. hook up lead. (Note, it is worth testing the supply to ensure that the live and neutral connections are not reversed - if so an adaptor lead with these connections reversed should be used. All the sockets on the Bléré site that I tested were correctly wired, however.)
Electricity at the Bléré site is available at three current ratings:
· 5 Amps - 3.20€ (approx. £2.35) per day
· 10 Amps - 3.80€ (approx. £2.79) per day
· 16 Amps - 5.40€ (approx. £3.97) per day
Note: all prices were for the 2003 season prices and assume an exchange rate of £1 = 1.36€.

For a more detailed account of the site together with photographs please see:
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/gary.m.thomas/camping/blere


 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Only Camp Camping La Gatine child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Only Camp Camping La Gatine?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Only Camp Camping La Gatine dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blere      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement