Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Riverside Leisure Park Reviews

Riverside Leisure Park
South Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6NJ
Tel: 01668 281447  or  03300 535524
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 + statics
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 508 reviews from this member

Large site, mainly for statics but with a good tourer area with modern facilities.

Club house, bar, amusements and swimming pool all included.

Great value in the off-peak season.

Friendly welcome from staff.

5-10 minute walk into Wooler where’s there’s a few good pubs, cafes and a co-op.
via mobile

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Weston5 6 reviews from this member

Booked two touring pitches with my kids and my parents, for a few days over New Year, as they had entertainment on and it looked a nice site. Unfortunately it turned out to be the worst holiday we have ever had. We purchased tickets in advance for the NYE entertainment, however we had to queue on the night for 40mins, only to be told that they had sold too many tickets and there was no seats left so we couldn't get in! We weren't the only ones either, there were several families in the same situation, all left disappointed with nothing to do for NYE and left out of pocket. A staff member told us to speak to the manager, when we eventually found him he was unnecessarily rude and clearly didn't care. I asked him what we were supposed to do and he responded by shrugging his shoulders and said 'well you've had a refund haven't you?', when I told him we hadn't he told us to speak to another member of staff and walked away! We were left standing there with disappointed children and no option but to go back to our caravan to bring in the New Year.

As if that experience wasn't bad enough, the toilet block was disgusting. There was crusty faeces on the toilet roll holder, dirty floors and walls, hairs around the sink, all of which was there for the duration of our stay so can't even say it was a one off! The showers are push button and stay on a maximum of 3 seconds, yet they still manage to flood as the drainage is so poor. One shower head was on the floor with a tie wrap on it which must have been used to hold it up at one point! Needless to say we used the facilities as little as possible! The bins were always overflowing.

The amusements had very few machines, and at least 3 of them were not working. When we informed staff that the machines were swallowing our money but not working we were simply told not to use them, yet when we went the following day they were still switched on, swallowing other peoples money. Why they wouldn't turn them off or get them fixed is beyond me!

The pitches are also small and cramped, you can get your caravan on with your car next to it but if you were to have an awning up you would have to park your car on the road.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 14 reviews from this member

From the outside it appears to be quite a good site and did appear to be well maintained.

Everything was pretty much standard and acceptable apart from the lack of ground rules at the site. It seemed to be acceptable for ball games to be played in between the 'vans and kids were allowed to race about on electric scooters and motorbikes without any real regard for others. I'm not sure if this was due to poor parenting or the fact that once the site office and shop is closed there are no staff on site apart from at the bar/clubhouse situated across the road and 150 yards along.

It was a bit of a let down because the site has so many good qualities but has been let down due to poor site management. Hopefully this will be addressed.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

Booked for a short Easter break from 30th March to 1st April as not too far from home on first trip of season should any faults arise with the caravan.

Check in time could easily be sooner than 2pm but small quibble. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful but I am afraid that is about as good as it gets.

The weather was terrible, nobody's fault, but this resulted in areas of massive flooding across the whole site and it was impossible to go anywhere without wellies. The grass pitches were like the Somme and even 4x4s were struggling to get off even without being pitched up so I was really pleased I had booked a gravel pitch. Even so I abandoned any idea of putting the porch awning on.

The electric kept tripping off on Friday evening so much so that on Saturday the informed all the touring pitches that the electric was being turned off until Sunday. To be fair they did refund the cost of one night.

The touring pitches are very close together and it makes the whole place feels very cramped.

The site feels very tired with the shower block being absolutely filthy with toilet seats either broken or missing and the elsan point, well lets just say it needs some work.

There is a clubhouse which again is very tired and has seen better days but staff are friendly, the on site pool is very good but you are limited to 45 minutes per session.

Overall I would personally rate this as average at best, I normally don't stay on sites with clubhouses and this site did nothing to change my reasons for this.

I won't be rushing back anytime soon with so many other much better sites available for less money.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The mcquarrie 5 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at riverside. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful very clean site excellent clubhouse serving good food. Handy for many places to visit in Northumberland. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights on this site very clean site toilets & showers very clean.

Wooler 10 mins up the road good food in the pubs.

Very busy on weekends but still quite.

The only problem we where told we had caravan in the wrong place so took awning down moved every thing put it all back up then found we were not in the wrong place, their mistake. But we still enjoyed ourselves. Will we return, YES.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twocattitudesnorth 3 reviews from this member

We last visited this site several years ago with our tent. With this trip in mind we revisited for our first van outing. The patrons of the site I can't praise highly enough for helping us set up and then set off after our visit. Huge thanks to these folks! The site itself. Hmm. We felt penned in. The spaces between vans awnings and cars ain't great. In fact it's very poor. No room to move. No space for the kids to play near the van except on the road. Not good. Toilets and showers are very poor. Bar restaurant across road. Couple of play area for kids are good. Wouldn't return l.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angencraig 8 reviews from this member

Arrived at site to be told off by a member of staff as we had blocked her car in while we checked in, not a good start to break.

Beautiful little village, great pubs and shops very friendly, some lovely places to visit not too far away .

Downside to site were the showers, the shower curtain is far too short, water goes all over, no room to put clothes and towel. These facilities do not seem to go with such a lovely site as previous reviews from tourers these need to be looked at

We had no electric for hours on Saturday, no one came to tell us what happened and how long we were to be without electric.

This is a massive site, lots of spaces and we got put on a small pitch that we had to park car on another pitch, bit senseless

As if we have not had to put up with enough of disappointment at this site, there was no warning from site staff that the toilet and shower block was closed due to repairs - only to walk into the facilities to see men scraping walls. Why were there no signs the day before or a note from staff before this happened?

We won't return even though it was cheap

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stewart00 4 reviews from this member

Spent four nights at Riverside, and have to say the location is wonderful, the village of Wooler is lovely and the pubs all very child/dog friendly. We've visited this site many times before - the pitches on the site are fine, although seem to be geared more towards caravans now. The club on the site is ok, we didn't get to use the pool this time so can't comment. However I was very disappointed with the toilets/shower facilities. By 6 o'clock on our first night, two of the toilets had no loo roll, and the other had no seat. The showers obviously have new cubicles but only one had a shower curtain which meant that the other two couldn't be used as the shower soaked the whole cubicle with nowhere to put clothes/towels etc. Don't know if it's down to lack of staff but the facilities just weren't very well cleaned at all. There was a problem with the water while we were there which probably didn't help. We possibly will go back just to see if things have improved and the site has regained it's former charm, as we do love the location, but will be relying on any future reviews to see if there has been improvements before we book!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redscorpio 1 review from this member

Great site shame about the toilets to small only three. The clubhouse over a busy road not the best place to be coming out of with small children site very clean staff first class but would half to think twice if I would go back it would be safer if the clubhouse was on the same side of the site for tourers. Even if they had a set of traffic lights to get to the clubhouse or a shuttle service not safe because of being on bad bend to get to club

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019