Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh > Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Downpatrick Road
Killyleagh
County Down   (Browse area)
BT30 9TZ
Tel: 028 4482 1833
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 05/03/2024 to 26/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mereside 12 reviews from this member

 This site is the usual standard one expects from the Camping and Caravanning Club, although the facilities did not appear to offer the normal alternative when shut for cleaning, and 10:30 - 12:00 is not an ideal time - especially after a rough night crossing on the Irish Sea.

Shop advertises milk sales but it is only skimmed UHT and there is very little else.

Cycle path separate from the somewhat busy road into the village.

Delamont Country Park is lovely with cycle paths well surfaced but somewhat steep in parts.

Steamer cafe spotlessly clean but limited food - excellent bacon bap and cheese panini.

Good walks and well maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jnkwoo 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet relaxing holiday, toilets and showers well maintained,

Friendly wardens who welcomes you to the park and thanks you for your custom as you leave,

Would recommend to anyone wanting a few days peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arthurdent 25 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site 10 times or more over the years since its creation. Its in a good place, the country park of the same name that it is located in is nice, has lots of good walks and a really great playground plus a steam train if its running. There are also occasional watersports on the lough. Nearby Killyleagh has some good cafes and Downpatrick is fine for your supermarket needs. Castle Ward (of Game Of Thrones fame) and Mount Stewart National Trust properties are nearby.

Two things for us have changed over the years - the cost has gone up, the wardens attitude has gone down.

First I was yelled at for trying to get out of the car at reception. Apparently there was a sign at the gate with a paragraph or two in small print which I was supposed to notice, read and digest while entering the site, instructing me to not leave the vehicle. Pardon me for watching the road while driving.

Then, we had a couple of vans near us who were together, their kids played around our van, sometimes cycling between our caravan and our car repeatedly. Nothing was done. I dared to put up a tarp that I had converted to attach to the awning rail (its first outing) and I hadn't the first peg hammered in before the warden came running down the road to tell me I was now a fire hazard.

The toilet block is OK, maybe getting a little tired by now but clean. There really are no other facilities apart from the wifi. For me other sites have upped their game (Rushin House and Ballyness have been created since Delamont and are brilliant) and the C&CC have done nothing to keep pace.

The C&CC can be very expensive, even for members, compared to other sites in N. Ireland, well over 35 in peak. For non-members, it is 10 more than that. Nice site, but not worth it. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rabsnlinn 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. In beautiful surroundings.

Friendly helpful staff.

Immaculate facilities. Pitches good size with EH and drainage.

We will return many times I'm sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sjckayak 4 reviews from this member

 Very clean and well organised campsite with good toilet block. Belonging to a large organisation a little bureaucratic.

We stayed in a tent and the found us a pitch that was not muddy given the very wet conditions. The campsite is mainly aimed at Caravans and Motorhomes for which it would be very good.

If full the tent options would be quite limited. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psstewart 4 reviews from this member

 Superb 5 night stay in a well maintained campsite, with excellent facilities. Although, as previous reviews state, there seemed to be a long list of rules, it for everyone's benefit and ensures the high quality of stay that you enjoy.

Toilet block surpassed anything I've seen and with the hookup and tap set up, adjacent to the pitches, it was perfect for our stay. Country park next door, onto the banks of Strangford Lough, was a nice 'settle in' bike ride.

Location for exploring both the Mourne Mountains and the Ards Peninsula was superb, with plenty of shopping in nearby Downpatrick.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kennyo 10 reviews from this member

 Great wee site staff are very friendly ablutions are of a very high standard. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early as the weather was against us haft rain for 2 days and the area our tent was in turned into a mud bath, but still enjoyed the site and the area will be back.

There is a great country park 2 minutes from the site with a cafe during the day with mini railway and fantastic play park for the kids. Also has miles of walks. But for us one of the best features was the meadow where you could let your dog run free of lead, superb.

Can't wait to visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chellis 3 reviews from this member

 Wardens not very welcoming when I arrived in the afternoon a couple of hours earlier than I'd indicated.

Toilet and shower block spotless. Closes for cleaning at a time to suit wardens not campers!

Long walk to bin at entrance, none by shower block half way along site, no recyling.

Torrential rain meant grass on matting was sodden with lying water but ground still hard enough to bend extra strong tent pegs.

Site felt very regimented and full of rules.

No play area for children, have to go into country park for this.

No visitor parking available apart from in Country Park Car Park which has a daily charge and is quite some walk away.

Dogs not allowed off lead in Country Park or substantial fine imposed.

Mobile signal poor and wifi only if next to reception building.

There is a dearth of campsites in this area so would stay again despite knowing the pitfalls as was clean and well run and is much cheaper than other sites convenient for Belfast. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AOKane 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in Delamont for two nights in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Facilities were first rate. Toilets and wash areas were absolutely spotless. There was even a vase of flowers by the mirrors. Each sink is contained within a little cubicle so you can brush your teeth in private.

There are lots of rules and regulations but as a result the place is clean, super tidy - not a blade of grass out of place - and it was really quiet. Saying that, there were only five other tents and about ten caravans on site at the time.

The kids were happy eating ice lollies from the little on site shop while we put up the tent on a large corner site with electric and water supply. Hard ground so we bent a few pegs in the process.

The site is at the entrance to a large forest park, with an ice cream shop, a little Thomas the Tank like train and a fantastic play park for kids of all ages. There are no play areas within the campsite for kids so be prepared for a walk to the park, train etc. (We didn't mind but some might. )

The place does seem a little regimental but we were delighted with the facilities, we felt safe with the kids, and they enjoyed the forest park etc.

Delamont is a short distance from the town of Downpatrick which has a beautiful Cathedral with the grave of St Patrick, Brigid and Columcille. A short ferry trip will take you across Strangford Lough to Portaferry and the Exploris aquarium which is a great day out.

Delamont is on our favourite list. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SandyM 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite on a tour of Northern Ireland in our campervan. Great campsite, very well kept and toilet block always kept clean and tidy - showers excellent with lots of toilets and wash room cubicles.

Only small gripe is only hairdryer not working when we visited - no sign up to say how much money to put in - when I spoke to warden they hadn't realised it wasn't working and were going to put up appropriate sign.

Access to Country Park which had great walks/activities, views from the top of the park and small train (think there may have been extra charge for this but didn't use). 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Killyleagh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in County Down

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45490 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement