Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Downpatrick Road
Killyleagh
Co Down
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT30 9TZ
Tel: 028 4482 1833
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 07/03 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Psstewart 4 reviews from this member

Superb 5 night stay in a well maintained campsite, with excellent facilities. Although, as previous reviews state, there seemed to be a long list of rules, it for everyone's benefit and ensures the high quality of stay that you enjoy. Toilet block surpassed anything I've seen and with the hookup and tap set up, adjacent to the pitches, it was perfect for our stay. Country park next door, onto the banks of Strangford Lough, was a nice 'settle in' bike ride. Location for exploring both the Mourne Mountains and the Ards Peninsula was superb, with plenty of shopping in nearby Downpatrick.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kennyo 5 reviews from this member

Great wee site staff are very friendly ablutions are of a very high standard. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early as the weather was against us haft rain for 2 days and the area our tent was in turned into a mud bath, but still enjoyed the site and the area will be back. There is a great country park 2 minutes from the site with a cafe during the day with mini railway and fantastic play park for the kids. Also has miles of walks. But for us one of the best features was the meadow where you could let your dog run free of lead, superb. Can't wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chellis 3 reviews from this member

Wardens not very welcoming when I arrived in the afternoon a couple of hours earlier than I'd indicated.

Toilet and shower block spotless. Closes for cleaning at a time to suit wardens not campers!

Long walk to bin at entrance, none by shower block half way along site, no recyling.

Torrential rain meant grass on matting was sodden with lying water but ground still hard enough to bend extra strong tent pegs.

Site felt very regimented and full of rules.

No play area for children, have to go into country park for this.

No visitor parking available apart from in Country Park Car Park which has a daily charge and is quite some walk away.

Dogs not allowed off lead in Country Park or substantial fine imposed.

Mobile signal poor and wifi only if next to reception building.

There is a dearth of campsites in this area so would stay again despite knowing the pitfalls as was clean and well run and is much cheaper than other sites convenient for Belfast.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AOKane 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in Delamont for two nights in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Facilities were first rate. Toilets and wash areas were absolutely spotless. There was even a vase of flowers by the mirrors. Each sink is contained within a little cubicle so you can brush your teeth in private.

There are lots of rules and regulations but as a result the place is clean, super tidy - not a blade of grass out of place - and it was really quiet. Saying that, there were only five other tents and about ten caravans on site at the time.

The kids were happy eating ice lollies from the little on site shop while we put up the tent on a large corner site with electric and water supply. Hard ground so we bent a few pegs in the process.

The site is at the entrance to a large forest park, with an ice cream shop, a little Thomas the Tank like train and a fantastic play park for kids of all ages. There are no play areas within the campsite for kids so be prepared for a walk to the park, train etc. (We didn't mind but some might. )

The place does seem a little regimental but we were delighted with the facilities, we felt safe with the kids, and they enjoyed the forest park etc.

Delamont is a short distance from the town of Downpatrick which has a beautiful Cathedral with the grave of St Patrick, Brigid and Columcille. A short ferry trip will take you across Strangford Lough to Portaferry and the Exploris aquarium which is a great day out.

Delamont is on our favourite list.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SandyM 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite on a tour of Northern Ireland in our campervan. Great campsite, very well kept and toilet block always kept clean and tidy - showers excellent with lots of toilets and wash room cubicles. Only small gripe is only hairdryer not working when we visited - no sign up to say how much money to put in - when I spoke to warden they hadn't realised it wasn't working and were going to put up appropriate sign. Access to Country Park which had great walks/activities, views from the top of the park and small train (think there may have been extra charge for this but didn't use).

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferryman1 1 review from this member

Have been to this site quite a few time. Lovely setting. Handy to all areas of interest, Mournes / Belfast and county down peninsula. Shower block kept very clean but they close it every morning for 1 hour between 10. 30 and eleven busy time. The current wardens have moved the bins down beside the entrance which means one long walk from the other end of site, previously the bins were kept near shower block in the middle of the site. As previous reviewer stated wardens are so so, unfriendly and very condescending, but don't let that put you off a lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eddtheduck 4 reviews from this member

Visited here for a weekend stay with wife and 2 kids. Over all this is an excellent site situated within the country park. Pitches are grass on matting. It was quite wet when we were there though the pitches remained fairly dry but we did find it quite difficult to peg the awning down due to the hard ground. Pitches had water, electric and waste drains.

The toilet and showers were immaculate as was the whole site. The country park is fantastic with great walks around the shores of Strangford Lough, a brilliant adventure playpark and miniture railway. Our kids absolutely loved it. Only downside to the whole thing was we found it too strict.

The wardens are always out and about and your nearly afraid to do anything in case you get told off. On arrival they showed us to our pitch and then proceeded to tell me how to reverse onto my pitch. I found them quite patronising. Overall the site is a fantastic site in a fantastic setting. Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Seagill 23 reviews from this member

Site:

Nice site right in Country Park; we choose pitch close to reception to get good WIFI (£2 a day)

Grass pitch on matting so motorhome was ok even though there had been continual rain

Facilities:

Excellent facilities and kept spotless

Rubbish placed one bin (no recycling?)

CDP OK; waste water on pitch but NO motorhome waste drain site

Out & About:

Castle Ward (NT) but doesn’t open till after 12

Strangford Loch, village and castle can be reached by car/bike

Would return if visiting this area again

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 41 reviews from this member

We arrived at Delamont in the pouring rain and although the ground was very wet, the pitches were not waterlogged. The friendly warden showed us to a pitch at the quieter end of the site (as we are old fogeys, no kids, no dogs).

As previously mentioned we found the showers and toilets to be excellent, plenty of hot water and no queues.

The walks around the Country Park itself were really scenic. Delamont was quite handy for Strangford/Portaferry and Downpatrick was an interesting little town, easily reached by bus which stopped right outside the campsite.

We would definitely recommend this site to our friends. And it came in cheaper than a lot of other sites in Ireland. Bonus being that it is a Camping & Caravanning Club site which can be booked and paid for before you leave home.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobelle 4 reviews from this member

An immaculate site with spatious pitches which are not too close together.

Staff are extremely helpful and available 24 hours as they live on site. The site is connected to the country park by a gate which gives direct access into the park and it's facilities.

Be careful to check the gate locking time as you could easily get locked in!

There is a shop on site selling the basics. The toilet and shower block is immaculate and cleaned regularly throughout the day.

The site is a little costly but definitely worth it.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!