Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hall More Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Milnthorpe > Hall More Caravan Park Reviews

Hall More Caravan Park
Hale
Milnthorpe
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA7 7BP
Tel: 01524 781453
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Binskip54 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site to spend time with our Grandaughter & her family, we arrived about 2. 30 on the Bank Holiday Friday. We were met by a very friendly lady who gave us directions to our prebooked pitch, it was extremely roomy & as it was an all grass pitch drier than we expected. Our Grandaughter arrived on the Saturday & was allocated a pitch next to us for her tent. The site was clean, tidy & much quieter than expected as we were within a tented area. The toilet blocks were roomy & adequate for what we needed, however a mop & bucket would have been useful to clean the floor as they tended to get a bit muddy. There was a large grassed area between the units which was great for children to play, however there were signs up saying 'no ball games' which was slightly disappointing as most children enjoy a game of footie or catch. The electric supply was Pay as you go, which we had never come across before, however a £1. 00 card did cover a full 24hr period, which was extremely good as being in a caravan we had a water heater & fridge running as well as the use periodically of our microwave. All in all I found it a very pleasant clean, quiet site ideal for touring the South Lake's & very reasonable in cost over a Bank Holiday. Would I book again 'Yes' would I recommend it 'Yes' did we enjoy our stay YES. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

 Stayed here For a one night stopover. The long single road off the A6 leading to the site is a bit challenging for a car with a large tourer. Hence 6 for access. The entrance to the site is very nice. The people on reception were very welcoming. We were given a grass pitch with electric in a large flat field. There were a lot of family tents opposite us and all seemed to be enjoying themselves. The toilets and showers and chemical disposal were ok and clean. We were told there is a better toilet block near to reception. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Singinglady 2 reviews from this member

 What a shame this site is so poor as the area is beautiful. We arrived after a long, tiring journey on Bank Holiday Friday up the M6 to receive a very poor welcome. The lady who met us (my husband and I plus our friends with their motorhome) hadn't a clue. We were told off as she was expecting us in a tent! Having asked for adjoining pitches when booking, that didn't happen as the pitch between the 2 of us had been given to someone else who had only arrived just before us. The lady didn't know anything about where we could fill up with water. She did however sell us electricity cards to top up at the electric points not telling us how to do this or give any information at all. If you choose to visit this site, do not buy these cards until you have checked the point on your pitch. She sold us 4 at £1 each but when we checked there was already well over £3 left on the meter. In our 4 night stay we used less than £1. We did get our money back when we left!

We knew that this site had a sister site very close by but we were told nothing about this. The next day we did ask to be told where it was and if we wanted to use the pool it was £5! We walked and looked at the site and it had a smart bar, small shop and a very good pool but we decided that £5 for a swim was excessive. The site does have tourers but is mainly regimented statics on grey gravel.

The pitches were ok; all gravel on a slight slope. The majority of the area we were placed in were seasonal pitches all with their individual gardens and gnomes! Behind us was a camping field which was full and noisy until at least 11. 30 pm each night.

The toilets were dated but on our first day were reasonably clean. A radio played constantly in the ladies; the showers were in individual cubicles with a handbasin which was good but then of course you hold up other people waiting if you clean teeth etc in the cubicle. The showers were push button with a set temperature. The end one was always cool and the push button needed pushing very regularly. The lights are on a timer so be prepared to shower in the dark when it goes off if there is no movement outside the shower cubicles to turn the sensor back on.

The toilets were not cleaned thoroughly and by our third morning 2 were blocked and the floor was very dirty. On the last morning the floor was worse, the timer switched the lights off during my shower, the water was cool and the hairdryer stopped working - we are in the 21st century for heaven's sake - just not good enough!

We left before our friends but I heard from her later in the day saying that the toilets still had not been cleaned and so she had complained!

This is a beautiful area and we enjoyed fabulous cycle rides and walks. We would never stay at this site again and would not recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catnip 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site over Easter weekend for four nights, this is our fourth visit.

We love it here, tent pitches are flat and spacious, facilities are spotlessly clean and there are showers in the toilet block and there are also separate showers with toilet and sink which is fab if you've got kids or like a bit of space, these also have heating which over a chilly Easter break was well appreciated. EHU is available and is well worth the extra £1 a night, although just this year you now have to buy electricity cards to top up. We only used a £1 over the four days and we had our heater on, fridge running and a light, as well as charging phones etc so excellent value.

Owners are lovely and very helpful, never had any problems with noise as a previous review stated. The site has a no music policy after 10. 30 and every time we have been these rules are adhered to. Fires are allowed if you have a fire pit and there's plenty of space for the kids to play, there's an area away from tents where there's a goalpost, swings, den etc, enough to keep my friends two kids happy and occupied. There are leisure facilities at the main site down the road but we've never been - good to know there's something though in case of horrendous weather but usually a pack of cards and some games is ok for us! Would well recommend this site if you like good, clean facilities without it being too commercialised, lots of space for kids to play and in a lovely quiet area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephen jones 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for an 8 night stay. Small home made play ground containing a small tree swing and a hut with a sand pit. VERY bad drainage as site flooded when we had heavy rain. Toilets and showers needed a 'good service' but were usable. (they came in handy for refuge and to dry out after the rain). Loud parties and noise were a problem and when the site manager was informed the next day, I was told that I could have moved had it been a problem, I did move. HOME

Don't think we`ll bother again as prices fluctuate depending weather you book through www. Or phone go to site itself. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Siepritch 1 review from this member

 This is a good campsite for families who are not necessarily looking for lots of entertainment or amenities on site. It is literally a large rectangular field enclosed on all sides by high hedges and trees.
 
The pitches vary in size and size of pitch can be requested when booking. We had a larger pitch which easily accommodated our big Vango 900. Only draw back was that this pitch, although big was next to the toilet block. Good for midnight loo trips but for some reason toilet blocks always attract children who play round them and this can be quite noisy for some.
 
The fact that it is just a field made it ideal for our children (2 and 5) to run around in playing games with the other children on site. However the bottom end of the field can get quite boggy after heavy rain so try and stick to the top half.
 
The toilets were clean and well maintained but again if you are pitched near the toilet block, the hand dryers can be very noisy!
 
There are also a limited number of EHU's so request when booking if needed.
 
There is a sister site about 5 min by car with a shop, bar and playground and these amenities can be used if you are camping on Hall Moore but we didn't bother as there is a Spar type shop on the A6 just before the turning for the campsite.
 
Overall, a great place to camp as a base for the South Lakes and good for families but not for those looking for a quiet, child free camp site! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campcapers 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in August 2007 for 7 nights. 2 adults and two children under 5.

Very basic site, but that was all we needed. Had the necessary - all washing facilites (inc. Laundry, showers, washing up etc) which had constant hot water and were clean although in need of a little paint here and there. Two blocks - one in the camping field and one in the caravan side which we could use both. Only had electric hook up for 4 tents and only one unit to supply them, so you needed a very long mains unit. We only had a 5 metre one, but luckily was there with friends who had a 10 metre one so we swapped. Couldn't have had electric if we had not.

No shop, playground or club/place to eat. But, if you are lucky with the weather (as we were) this wasn't a problem as the kids made their own entertainment and we ate at the local pubs or had a BBQ! The sister site to this which was a 10 minute walk away does have the above facilities, but have to say we only ate at the restauant once and although the food was nice was not very impressed with the attitude of some of the staff - we wanted to pay by card but they didn't have the facility for this, so they opened the shop and would not cook our food until we had been up there and paid for it in full!

The warden on the site was extremely helpful and even gave us ideas for days out. Found a lot of the places we wanted to visit were quite a drive away - i.E South Lakes Animal Park and Muncaster Castle but we coped.

All in all, a very enjoyable time was had by all, which was helped enormously by the weather! Would return again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SBDerby 1 review from this member

 Arrived on Monday evening to have the whole camping field to ourselves, stayed for 4 nights, by the end of our stay there were only 3 tents on the field.  So was nice and quiet for us.  Maybe the floods down south kept everyone at home or the fact that the signpost for the site doesn't show a tent symbol on it, so people only think that caravans are allowed on the site.  Only 6 hookups available for tents and these were on waterlogged/muddy pitches except for the one we managed to get on. The warden was always very helpful and even gave me some medicine to try when I fell ill.  The toilet/shower block on the caravan side was always clean with plentiful hot water at all times. Not much room in the showers in the block on the camping fields so suggest using the caravan side ones.  I noted that they have a planning application in for a children's play area (which would be good for the kids) and erection of timber lodges (not sure where they are going to go).  Will use the site again as a base for visiting the South Lakes. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scott1uk 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site twice in may on both bank holiday weekends, really spacious camping field ideal for ball games etc. Toilets were clean both times we went with a choice of two blocks, and John the site manager is really friendly and always busy making sure everybody is happy, and even advised us on things to do when it rained.
Great fishing lakes one for course and the other fly, overall even though the weather wasn't good we had a great time and are definitely going again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LAS1 5 reviews from this member

 As previously stated a field at the back of the caravan field, which houses vans that seem to be permanently stored there. Toilet / shower block on field - water flow a problem but ok. Clean in morning but quite often in evening had run out of paper. Advice is to use the shower block on the caravan side - much better, still had water flow problem but more manageable. Bar, park and shop on sister site - 5-10 min walk.
Bar a bit like something from a Peter Kay sketch! Shop and park good. A good community site. Everyone was entertaining themselves with outdoor games e.g. Cricket, rounders, football etc. Different groups joined each other and good fun was had. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hall More Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hall More Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hall More Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Milnthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement