Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NJ
Tel: 0808 180 2767
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 15th February - 15th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Campingfamilyof3 1 review from this member

 Well where do I start?

I know that they only use the site for 4 week of the year but you shouldn't use it at all. Near a busy road and the noise from that and the function room is unbearable!

The ground is so uneven it's uncomfortable there is no fire extinguisher there is no pitches as such it's just pitch were you want we went out on Friday came back Friday night around 5pm and there is a tent near enough pitched on top of ours dog are running wild all in all I don't think they take health and safety seriously.

Now on to the on site facilities toilets in the arcade are are disgusting do they use a dirty mop to mop the floor it's smells awful? THE SPLASH Pool was freezing cold the shower in the pool area were freezing cold and the floors are dirty.

Arcade area at night is rotten rubbish all over the floors and machines and for security staff to turn around and say what do you want me to do about it was just no good enough will never use parkdean again after this awful experience lucky I like camping cause if I was a first time camper this would have put me off for life

We booked this last minute and the price we paid we wish we had book some where with no facilities as we spent most of our time crab lining and fishing in Scarborough

Don't get me wrong if it was maintained and set up correctly it could possibly be a nice cam site as its location is great for Filey and Scarborough.

All in all I wouldn't bother! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lufc71 1 review from this member

 Just come back from long weekend away at Cayton Bay. We stayed in a tent field which is situated behind the main entertainment building. Therefore if you are trying to get an early night then you have no chance as the music is blazing out until about 11pm. Then for about 30 mins you hear people coming back to their caravans and tents. If you pitch up at the opposite side from the building then you are very close to the main road and you can hear the traffic go past you all night. For some reason passing traffic at night beep their horns which is rather annoying.

The facilities are ok but they could do with a lick of paint. The indoor swimming pool is fantastic for little ones. Its not geared up for adults as it's only 1. 1 m deep. However its great for little ones.

The camping field only opens for the month of august so not much attention is paid. The toilet and shower facilities are ok.

We avoided the evening entertainment as its not our cup of tea. The park it self is in a good location and its close to filey and Scarborough. Overall not a bad experience. We paid 29 a night for two adults and two children which is not too bad at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gingerdadgos 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights this bank holiday weekend, on the whole better than I expected, camp field was well looked after and the warden did a great job keeping on top of everything, they do need more toilets and showers though as not enough for the amount of people camping. Plenty of space just pick your area, did like the fact the field remains mainly car free. Pool okay but limited opening hours and entertain meant awful and for this reason the felt it was very over priced for what you get.

Kids enjoyed the play area and the 'family entertainment area'= arcade. Had one breakfast in the cafe and was awful rude staff, very poor quality food both the way it was cooked and the quality of the food.

Shop well stocked and open long hours, good choice and not too expensive.

On the whole a better site than expected but still wouldn't go back 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ferrerorochelle 4 reviews from this member

 We were able to check in after 4pm and could not check in any earlier, although could still use playpark and get drinks until check in time. The park had lots to do for both our children.

The caravan was very clean and tidy. It was a little bit of a walk to the beach which was quite small but a nice beach with a small shop there too.

The on site shop was ok but overly priced for basic essentials, so we preferred to go into Scarborough to buy what we needed. The entertainment is excellent and has something for everyone.

We thoroughly enjoyed the park and were busy all week. Would be very likely to return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennab 1 review from this member

 I'm not a camping person and did think I wouldn't enjoy it. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and gave all relevant information. Showed us to our pitch and where toilets were etc. We were close to toilets and shower block and right next to the kids play area. My son who is 2 and half years loved this play area and would def recommend.

Our pitch was bigger than I expected, grass was in good condition.

My husband was impressed by the park and he is very much the outdoor type, being in the army he can sleep literally anywhere! His words were this is luxury.

Shower block was clean, they do provide mop and bucket to mop up after yourself ready for next person and are cleaned regularly.

The park was clean, tidy and quiet after 8pm which was great.

Shops/ local attractions are nearby, would def come back here. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahdonovan 2 reviews from this member

 This was are second time camping and we were horrified at the weather on the drive down to camp but it managed to stay dry enough to pitch are tent. We picked a spot close to the toilet facilities as we have 4 children. The camping facilities were good, toilets mostly clean showers hot, somewhere to wash up. The gentleman who cleaned them seemed to work night and day and did a great job.

The facilities at the campsite were good, the swimming pool, night entertainment, ball pool and park. Would go again but a bit would do a lot better if they had electric hook up.

All in all we had a good holiday there even though the weather was awful. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracier 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at Cayton Bay with 2 small children. The bad points to this site are the slightly sloping pitches and the close proximity to the main road - which does get noisy - however these are definitely outweighed by the many good points - firstly when we visited the site was perfect for small children to freely run about and play - and they made lots and lots of new friends. The facilities are basic but adequate and clean and are close to the field. The main complex is also close to the camping area - perfect in the wet weather! The shallow pool is ideal for little ones as is the outdoor play area and crazy golf. There are entertainment and kids clubs daily but we had plenty to so without these. This site is great once you get used to the noise from the road and from the club. My kids loved it here and we will book again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cml201 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night weekend break and had a great time. We were a little dismayed when we arrived to see the sloping camping field alongside the main road. We managed to find a semi flat pitch but it was at the bottom of the hill and closest to the road. Security ask you to move your car after pitching into the adjoining carpark which can be a bit of a nuisance and depending on where others chose to pitch, you may not be able to get your car back to your tent when you are packing up :)

Despite the thunder and lightening and the torrential rain, the pitch stayed relatively dry so we were relieved that it was free draining at least. The road however was a problem, if you are expecting peace and quiet and the sound of seagulls, you will be sorely disappointed as the traffic is heavy from about 5am through to 11pm ish. The field is also right next to the entertainment centre, good for walking distances but music can be can be heard until late.

The facilities are basic with 3 toilets and showers for each gender, 2 uncovered washing up sinks, with running hot and cold water, completely adequate for a short stay. We showered at all times of the day and evening and there was always hot water. Our cleaner was male and he worked endlessly to keep them in good order and always smiling too. The on site shop is reasonable, well stocked and in line with any corner shop.

The park itself is lovely and the entertainment is great. The pool is fabulous for the children, not much over a metre deep at the deep end, great slides and fountains. The surrounding areas aren't very clean and the mould on the windows is scary but the water is clean and the children loved it so much, I just tried to ignore the neglect.

The beach is a good 10 minute walk under the bypass for the aforementioned road, along another road, down a long track, down a thigh crunching incline with a few steps at the bottom but boy the beach is worth it. Golden sands, rocky crops and a few wartime vantage points (I think). Dog and child friendly. There is a car park here charging 2 per day and a little surf shop.

All in all, the tent area and facilities are an add on and you can feel it, not much care or attention has been given to it.

We still enjoyed it though and my advice is get there early and try to secure a pitch as far away from the road as possible (but then you are closer to the club house lol!). Filey and Scarborough 10 - 15 mins away and truly typical and fabulous seaside towns, Britain at its best. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiminwales1 10 reviews from this member

 This site opens up a camping field for 4 weeks in August. Because of this don't expect fantastic facilities but for the most part what was there was fine. Portacabin toilets and showers were ok, one wash up sink which got very wet and no tap for water - we used a small jug to fill the water bottle from the sink which wasn't great but we managed.

I'm not sure what the facilities would have been like over a rainy weekend but we stayed the bank holiday weekend which was mostly dry and they coped fine.

However, probably because of the lack of dedicated facilities the price was very good - we paid 112 for 2 adults, 2 kids and a baby for 4 nights over the august bank holiday and you get access to all the other facilities, kids club, pool etc.

I would say that the facilities are adequate if you are not paying a fortune but looking a bit tired.

The camping field was next to the main road and the locals seemed to enjoy beeping their horns at the campers but despite that and the fact that it was busy - it was quiet by 11pm.

The other downside is that you can't take your car onto the camping field itself - so you have to move all your stuff to where you want to pitch. When it was time to pack up as it was the last day that the camping field was open people ignored this but I guess normally you would have to carry everything back to your car.

The park and ride is very close to the site and a bargain (a few pounds for all of us) and so we didn't have to think about parking and traffic jams (bus lanes!) on bank holiday sunday.

English heritage had a pirate event on in the castle - 13 for the family and the kids loved it - highly recommended.

I would use this site again but we probably won't as we don't use the facilities that this type of holiday park offers and so it would be better for us to find a cheaper camping field. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The gang 1 review from this member

 Pitched near toilet bock which were very clean until 8.00 pm. 50 yards walk to main entertainment resident band and cabaret act very good . Pool slides shutes and water spouts ideal for kids indoor softplay area swings slides and climbing frames outside kids loved all these and they are free. There is an indoor amusements area which has a choice fron 2p to 1 slot machines. Most of the children's machines gave out tickets can be saved to purchase a free gift so take plenty of money. Filey is only about 7 miles away and has a lovely beach and a few pubs shops and amusements. Scarborough town centre offers a lot more but traffic can be very busy you would be better catching bus opposite caravan park. We all loved this holiday and would go back again 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5819 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements